Did you ever have a "Ferris Bueller" day off from school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Yeah, lots of them.

Hated school with a passion so on the fine days would pass the time in the sunshine we seemed to get a lot of back then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭William F

Use to never go in on Mondays, I hated them. My parents were always away early Monday mornings so there was no one there to check up on me. Use to stay home watching the History Channel and eating cereal all day. Probably learned more at home than I did in that stupid excuse for a school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Mitched once in my life and got caught. I wasn't a very successful Ferris.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Speaking of high school movies, The Breakfast Club is thirty years old next month, scary stuff.

I loved that movie when it came out. Watched it recently though...it has not aged well.
    But Molly Wingwald ...Gggrrrrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,240 ✭✭✭Markcheese

I put an Escort van on blocks on stuck it in reverse once, bastard of a thing fell off and cleaned a wall.

Did the speedo read 88 mph in reverse gear ?

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭dueaug

Myself and a friend were giving out about having to go back to school after lunch one day saying if we had the money we would head into town instead. Found a tenner at the lights to cross to the school looked at each other and just ran past the school gates :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Yep, most times ended up in Dr Quirky's or Barneys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭Puibo

Did you get a leech attach itself to your goolies and find the body of a dead kid?

Probably still looking for that jar of pennys too!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

In secondary school in Galway and was repeating the leaving as I was too young at the time to enter the course I wanted to do (I started school at 3). Had the points for my course so I spent my year basically playing sport and dossing. Had some craic. Met a girl at a career fair in the RDS and started seeing her regularly so for the few months we went out i'd hop on the train in Galway, head to Dublin, meet herself who was also on the hop and just hang about and do "stuff", incl obligatory Ferris Bueller style museum visit. On said visit we were looking at a picture of flowers and she said "I could do better than that". The artist? Picasso. How we laughed....

Fun times indeed. Didn't get caught. Maybe that's overstating it, I went to the Jes. Anyone who knows it will know the staff were shall we say "relaxed" to put it mildly! Your education was your own responsibility not theirs so as long as your grades were fine you could get away with murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Yes, Ferris Bueller days off were very common in 1970s Ireland...

There wasn't a weekday where adolescent males weren't spotted wearing trench coats driving classic cars with attractive young women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I only went on the hop once from school, I went to the Rathdown sports day. Bunking off school to go to an all girl schools annual sports day is worth the risk, even if id been caught nobody would have really minded. Great day had if i remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

There's no reason you can't still do it. Pull a sicky from work but arrange a load of interesting stuff to do. you could even get a cheap flight to london (or somewhere else) and fly back the same evening.

Make it the most epic sicky ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

One of the times, we bunked off, spent the day in the local playground, hanging out, smoking, thinking we were awesome. About 1 in the afternoon, we were sitting on the swings chatting, and suddenly noticed our entire year, along with 5 teachers including our year head, entering the playground. Never before have I run so fast.