Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

My favourite girl from work. She is sex obsessed.
    She's watched the 50 shades trailer about 8 times today, that fire song from it and beyonces slowed down version of crazy in love is on loop all day. Enough!! Then we have a full and frank discussion on porn being healthy, how masturbation is healthy, how she hopes they didn't show all the hot parts in the trailer. Wondering how sex can be so passionate without leaving the woman paralysed. Good Lord.

Snort. She'll be stuck to the seat after :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

jimgoose wrote: »
    'Said, chief. I'd insert a fourth category there, b.1) They know perfectly well where you are and what you're trying to do, but have no idea that they're supposed to allow you to merge safely, either by adjusting their speed or changing lanes. They assume you'll just have to treat the merge as a left-turn. :pac:

Also: People who try to "help" you by surrendering their right-of-way. This happens a lot in the various one-way systems around Limerick city-centre for some reason. Some reprobate will stop dead and start waving and grimacing frantically for you to move ahead of him, whereas if he may just take his right-of-way when he has it traffic would flow properly the way it's supposed to and you'd have less fender-benders caused by amateur gawbeens like him directing traffic from inside his car!! :mad:

While we are on the subject of merging on to the motorway.
    Motorway speed limit is 120kmh which would indicate that traffic on it will be moving pretty fast in all lanes.
    Why then do some muppets decide merge on to the Motorway at 30kmph causing all sorts of chaos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

While we are on the subject of merging on to the motorway.
    Motorway speed limit is 120kmh which would indicate that traffic on it will be moving pretty fast in all lanes.
    Why then do some muppets decide merge on to the Motorway at 30kmph causing all sorts of chaos?

They're Driving Safely, by presenting a rolling obstacle out-of-the-blue slap-bang in the middle of the driving lane of a motorway. Because Speed Kills, chief! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,707 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

'Said, chief. I'd insert a fourth category there, b.1) They know perfectly well where you are and what you're trying to do, but have no idea that they're supposed to allow you to merge safely, either by adjusting their speed or changing lanes. They assume you'll just have to treat the merge as a left-turn. :pac:

Only they're not "supposed" to let you merge. It's up to the person merging to find a space to do it in; the person already on the mainline has absolutely no obligation to change lanes to let you in and I'd argue that people doing this is a large part of the reason half the idiots in this country have no idea how to merge safely in traffic conditions that mean the person in the driving lane can't move over even if they wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,816 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Some do that. But to be fair, many sliproads onto the M50 make it really tough to reach the speed limit by the time you join. Best example is the Dundrum northbound sliproad - it goes uphill. I find it hard to reach 100kph (the limit at that area) in my 1.4 Focus.

Drove around Italy two years ago. I was shocked at how well behaved the drivers were on the motorways, considering the awful reputation Italian drivers have. I couldn't believe at how accommodating they were for allowing merging. Didn't matter if it was an oul Italian granny in a Punto or an artic, they all moved aside for you. Also, all sliproads are downhill and feature a straight section allowing plenty of time to pick up speed and merge safely.

TA: Nation of drivers with a bad reputation being far better drivers as a whole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,347 ✭✭✭LynnGrace

Loud phone-talkers. It's not necessary to raise your voice above normal conversational level to be heard on the other end of the phone, yet some people think having a mobile to your ear means you have to shout.

I was waiting for a bus one evening in Baggot St when a girl standing nearby, waiting for a different bus, started yelling at the top of her voice into a mobile. She seemed to be trying to shout loud enough to be heard on the far side of the city, without the phone. People were actually looking at her, wondering why she was yelling.

The best bit was, as I boarded the bus, along with other bemused people, she shouted ' oh I'm getting funny looks here. People don't realise I'm on the phone'.
    It would almost have been worth my while to let the bus go without me, in order to point out that she was the one who didn't seem to realise she was on the phone.

Some do that. But to be fair, many sliproads onto the M50 make it really tough to reach the speed limit by the time you join. Best example is the Dundrum northbound sliproad - it goes uphill. I find it hard to reach 100kph (the limit at that area) in my 1.4 Focus.

Ah, I know that sliproad well-drive it every morning.
    If you stay in the left lane of the slip road you have a 200mtre straight stretch after the top of the hill to get up to speed before you have to merge.
    But if you stay in the right hand lane on the slip road you have to merge at the top of the hill which can be hard for a less powerful car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Little scrotes on the luas. About 5 of them got on, two girls three lads. Scruffy little ****s, decked out in jd sports finest, hair cuts on people I've only ever seen selling carpet and I'm no mystic meg but the only thing I can see for their future is shooting heroin into their eyeballs and government funded sprigs. Pushing each other into other people and when one of them bumped into me I said excuse me do you mind and they all started laughing and the one standing on the step kept stepping back down onto my foot/into me on purpose. I'm raging I didn't say something else to them or push them back or something but I am a wuss

Dial Hard wrote: »
    Only they're not "supposed" to let you merge. It's up to the person merging to find a space to do it in; the person already on the mainline has absolutely no obligation to change lanes to let you in and I'd argue that people doing this is a large part of the reason half the idiots in this country have no idea how to merge safely in traffic conditions that mean the person in the driving lane can't move over even if they wanted to.

"Supposed" is the wrong word, yes. But most civilised people in most civilised jurisdictions show a level of courtesy in these cases, rather than the more typical clodhopper "I pays de tax Joe so dis here bitta road is mine, dammit!!" you get around here. :pac:

I just spotted what I took to be a lovely wedge of Gouda in the fridge. My yelp of delight morphed into the annoyed grunt of a bear getting stung while raiding a beehive as I discovered it was a quarter of a turnip. A fcukan turnip, I mean come ON!! :pac:

I just spotted what I took to be a lovely wedge of Gouda in the fridge. My yelp of delight morphed into the annoyed grunt of a bear getting stung while raiding a beehive as I discovered it was a quarter of a turnip. A fcukan turnip, I mean com ON!! :pac:

What kind of a sick fck would put a quarter turnip in the fridge. Wrong on so many levels.
    No offence intended like.

This whole "no regrets" thing. I regret everything, I'm like a heroin addict, or a compulsive eater or something. I know what I'm doing is wrong but I can't help myself. I get paid on Wednesdays. Which means I should have cash monies to my name right now considering I have yet to pay my phone Bill and buy food. I have 13 euro in cash, and about 8 euro left in my account. What do I have to show for my full time wage that I got today? I spent 55 euro on a Jo Malone candle, I bought two Mac lipsticks, I got a charlotte tilbury lipgloss and lipliner, and I got a pair of shoes. So for the next 6 days I'll be eating pasta and noodles and apples, and wiping my ass with 1ply bog roll but that's all fine because at least I have a ridiculous candle and a pair of designer shoes i probably won't even wear outside because I might damage the sole. I keep spending until I stand there HOPING my card doesn't decline or melt. And then when I walk out of the shop I just feel guilty. Not happy or excited. Just guilty.

What kind of a sick fck would put a quarter turnip in the fridge. Wrong on so many levels.
    No offence intended like.

<HARRUMPH> I'm afraid that's, er, classified! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

My TA, I'm on the edge, like the smallest thing could make me flip. I feel like your man off of Falling Down. I'd love to trash the house. Take that Mo' Fo's! Only I'd be the one cleaning it up again. I'd love to do it though just to see their faces. It started with getting a face full of dust and dirt earlier when emptying the Hoover into the bin outside. Then a f**king lamb chop spat fat all over me. I f**king hate lamb, it smells so bad :(. F*ck, f*ck, f*ckety f*ck , I think I'm getting Tourette's :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I just spotted what I took to be a lovely wedge of Gouda in the fridge. My yelp of delight morphed into the annoyed grunt of a bear getting stung while raiding a beehive as I discovered it was a quarter of a turnip. A fcukan turnip, I mean come ON!! :pac:

I got a terrible amount of abuse in the US of A for mentioning that turnip is possibly my favourite veg.
    'Around these here parts, that's what we feed our donkeys' was the response I got.
    They didn't comprehend my witty response of having the best fed donkeys in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭MsBubbles

Lexie take the shoes back buy decent groceries with that money. Ta I'm so fcukin sensible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

People (usually drunk) who ask the question "am I right?" In a loud annoying and often aggressive manner - fu¢kwads.

MsBubbles wrote: »
    Lexie take the shoes back buy decent groceries with that money. Ta I'm so fcukin sensible

I couldn't bring myself to do something like that. There's food like pasta and **** at home. I'm feeling much better. Look how good the lip enhancer is!!! Who needs fillers?!
    http://tinypic.com/r/96b49k/8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

Knackers down the back of the bus spitting on the floor, playing awful tunes on their phones and being loud and annoying especially in the morning. Please go home and and drink a large amount of petrol as natural selection is not making you extinct quick enough for my liking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I got a terrible amount of abuse in the US of A for mentioning that turnip is possibly my favourite veg.
    'Around these here parts, that's what we feed our donkeys' was the response I got.
    They didn't comprehend my witty response of having the best fed donkeys in the world.

Don't get me wrong - I love turnip, but it's not Gouda, dammit!! And the Americans are probably too innocent to realise a swede is a rutabega is a turnip. Dolph Lundgren certainly is, anyway... :D

yeah, and the fookin candle. 55 quid, they seen ya coming.

Turnips. Satans food.

Disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Jake1 wrote: »
    Turnips. Satans food.

Disgusting.

And the fcukin smell of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

The fact that whenever I close the boards app and open it again later, I end up on the first page of a thread instead of where I was. :/

Also, it's only Wednesday, is this week ever going to end?

Had a small healthy dinner tonight and now I want chocolate!!

Jake1 wrote: »
    yeah, and the fookin candle. 55 quid, they seen ya coming.

It's the lime and basil one it smells unreal to be fair.
    What's with all the turnip hate though?
    TA that my puppy is walking around with a permanent erection.

I am TA (Trivially Amused) that your dog is walking around with a permanent erection. Hope you are not expecting guests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

What's the point in having a €500+ plus fancy phone when you can't ring anyone on it? Buy some credit ffs.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Thanks Boom_Bap I now have a mental image of you flexing your guns while brushing your teeth :D

http://rs1img.memecdn.com/How-to-brush-your-teeth-like-a-man_o_127094.webp

TA that the girl I prefer to go to for my waxing went and got herself pregnant and is now gone on maternity leave, leaving me high and dry.