Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What salary are you on?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

As said it depends on the company and how they are doing, if I come in at 8 I leave at 4, 9, I leave at 5 etc. it's not long hours for me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Reading this thread as an intern with no idea if I will be kept on or not and seeing these salaries is making me very depressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

180Bhoy wrote: »
    I worked since I was 16. Left go from work last june. Isnt this why I payed tax for 11 years?

No that's not why you pay tax. You pay tax to run the country. Vital services that you may need at some point and will be grateful for.
    Its not a saving scheme so you can use it when unemployed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 774 ✭✭✭CarpeDiem85

That's pretty much what PRSI is. The clue is in the name. The majority of people want to work, more jobs need to be created by this government. It's as simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭irishguy

Jude13 wrote: »
    My salary is directly related to billable hours for which it is quite easy for the client to know if I am over charging. I was in the 140 - 150 category last year however I am going quite grey.
    May be setting up my own firm where my pre tax salary will be circa 60K however some months if the Client doesn't pay on time I will have no income. If there is a profit at the end of the year it will be split with my partner.

Big risk, big reward.

What do you do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭nogoodnamesleft

Working in the UK for the past few years. Prior to that I worked in Ireland for about 5 years pittance (it was in the region of 27k p.a.) but I got good experience in the area I was in. I was made redundant and had the opportunity to further my education. I was earning nothing but luckily I had savings to sustain me for the year. Now at 31 I'm on approx 52k EUR basic with a promotion due in 6 months which will push me to 65k EUR. Luckily for me I'm in a specialist area of engineering with limited candidates with the required skill set.

Regards work ethic. I have worked since I was 16 in pubs and earned the value of money. I have seen first hand how some "celtic tiger cubs" from affluent backgrounds have a sense of entitlement but have no work ethic to get them there. I know a few that are happy for the bank of Mom and Dad/the Dole to tide them over. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭wally1990

24 years old, started working for a business outsourcer in May 2011(wages are crap) started on minimum wages as customer service rep then moved on to a product specialist role, I'm currently studying accounting too. In October 2013 got promoted to team leader in credit management with a salary of 25k p/year (still not great but it does me) and now I moved into a new collections role with responsibility for the team to collect 1.4 million a year but my salary is 25k and bonus of €700 p month now extra if hit top targets are hit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭NapoleonInRags

Not strictly true. PRSI is rolled up into the USC now, so some of that number would have been a deduction anyway. I agree though, hate USC!

The OP wasn't referring to PRSI but the Pension Related Deduction (more commonly referred to as the Pension Levy). This has been an additional tax applied to all PS workers since 2009 which has actually nothing to do with pensions.

When combined with the USC and the other PS pay reductions, it is a particularly nasty pay cut which will hopefully be removed shortly with the unwinding of FEMPI.

My current salary is €78k - but to be honest it's more like €70k because of the pension levy. It probably sounds like a great salary to some people earning less. But supporting a wife and three small kids and paying a 2006 level mortgage means that things are always very tight indeed :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭LaGlisse

On about 40k, base of around 30k + health insurance, bump it up to just over 40k with overtime. In a comfortable rut at the moment, not much opportunity for progression but have a 3 day work week which means I have a fantastic work life balance at the moment. I would love to make a change though , was a lunatic in my 20's and did not maximise my potential in uni or work, how I hung on to my job through that period I don't know. Head far more screwed on now but going back to uni seems daunting and expensive, addicted to that paycheque now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

The OP wasn't referring to PRSI but the Pension Related Deduction (more commonly referred to as the Pension Levy). This has been an additional tax applied to all PS workers since 2009 which has actually nothing to do with pensions.

When combined with the USC and the other PS pay reductions, it is a particularly nasty pay cut which will hopefully be removed shortly with the unwinding of FEMPI.

My current salary is €78k - but to be honest it's more like €70k because of the pension levy. It probably sounds like a great salary to some people earning less. But supporting a wife and three small kids and paying a 2006 level mortgage means that things are always very tight indeed :(

That was my point. When I was in 20's and earning 20-30k it seemed a fortune. Certainly had more cash in my pocket than now.
    Supporting family on 80k is not that easy.
    Don't know how some manage on a single income of 40k and I know lots do.

That said we choose to be a single income household so kids are not in a creche.
    Good to be able to have that choice. I know lots don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

A 'How big is yours' thread if ever there was one.
    LaGlisse wrote: »
    On about 40k, base of around 30k + health insurance, bump it up to just over 40k with overtime. In a comfortable rut at the moment, not much opportunity for progression but have a 3 day work week which means I have a fantastic work life balance at the moment. I would love to make a change though , was a lunatic in my 20's and did not maximise my potential in uni or work, how I hung on to my job through that period I don't know. Head far more screwed on now but going back to uni seems daunting and expensive, addicted to that paycheque now.

Based on your wage and working hours alone, that sounds like a perfect sweet-spot.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

It always baffles me how people choose careers with totally crappy pay and then complain about it. Some fields are just known for low wages and limited scope, its worth doing some research to find what might be better pay, and better suited to your and the lifestyle you desire. Obviously not everyone is suited to some of the higher paying fields - but there are certainly very wide variances across fields between how much you can earn vs how hard you have to work and the pressure you'll have to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,458 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

I'm on just over 20 k a year, pay a mortgage and run a car and pay in to a pension on that and there is a bit of OT at various times during the year which helps.

I come from a very poor backround so was never used to money and make what I earn work for me, it's a no frills lifestyle but better than being in trouble with debt like a lot of people are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

Jesus lads , no option for an hourly rate :(
    As and when your needed too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

Im on 46k a year, 39 hour week, short commute and a lot of perks. Buuuuuuuuuutttttt.......my office is full of b!tches and theres a lot of nasty people working with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭Mehaffey1

36,500 euro by Total Package Value ie free accommodation, power, firewood etc.

Thanks boards, making me feel terribly underpaid now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I'm on just over 20 k a year, pay a mortgage and run a car and pay in to a pension on that and there is a bit of OT at various times during the year which helps.

I come from a very poor backround so was never used to money and make what I earn work for me, it's a no frills lifestyle but better than being in trouble with debt like a lot of people are.

Respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭experiMental

Thargor wrote: »
    What are the hours like for software developers in general?

It varies greatly. I work in the area myself. Sometimes you will have 8 hour days. Other times you will have 12 hour days. It's not a matter of hours, but it's a matter of how fast can you do the work and how well you can manage your time.

On some occasions, you may have days when you just can't do anything. But that's generally not a great sign.

In Microsoft, for example, you can have 5 hour days if you are on track with your projects during quiet periods. In other companies, you probably won't have the same luxury.

In general, though, hours and pay in software development are much better than in most other sectors.

--- - -- - -- - - - - - -- - - -- -

On another note, I find it interesting that there 35 people earning over 150000 Euro, but there are just about 57 people ( at the time of my count ) that are earning between 80,000 and 140,000 Euro. Are those that earn over 150000 mostly entrepreneurs and company owners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

Thargor wrote: »
    What are the hours like for software developers in general? Sorry for the generalised question but just a rough idea. Want to get into it but I know I wont stick to it if Im stuck in the office until 7-8 and beyond every night unpaid no matter how much the base salary.

Roughly 8 hours a day on average I'd imagine. Software companies tend to be fairly flexible re. working hours. Occasionally working later or earlier is required, but definitely not a common occurrence in my experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

I also live in 20k per annum and live in Dublin but even so, I think you have more on your plate than me. Fair play.

I too have embraced a no-frills lifestyle and it's actually not too bad. Plotting my next move though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Roosterreid

€62k..... civil engineer; 37.5 hours per week

Originally from the North, but living in Scotland before move... and it's so much more expensive here. Cars especially are ridiculously expensive in comparison. But I love life here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    I also live in 20k per annum and live in Dublin but even so, I think you have more on your plate than me. Fair play.

I too have embraced a no-frills lifestyle and it's actually not too bad. Plotting my next move though!

Not trying to be a smart-a** here, but I'm interested in how ye are getting by on Salary of 20k. Firstly, its really about 17-18k when taxes are paid so what sort of things does a no-frills lifestyle on 18k per year entail

Off the top of my head ....

Grocery shopping .. visit three or four different supermarkets to get the bargains/specials in each one and maybe grow your own veg.

Clothes shopping .. No new clothes .. thrift shop stuff only...or maybe Penny's as a special treat.

Socializing .. are you joking ?, that'll be never.

Drink ... none or maybe one can of Beamish per week from Lidl.

Love life ... I assume you are single..and always will be?

Friends .. none :-(

Car .. a complete banger, with street cred = zero

Household bills, (ESB, Telephone, gas, Broadband) .. pay them occasionally and only when they are threatening to cut you off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,250 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

bcklschaps wrote: »
    with street cred = zero
    Tell us about all your "street cred" and how you got it bcklschaps?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Not trying to be a smart-a** here, but I'm interested in how ye are getting by on Salary of 20k. Firstly, its really about 17-18k when taxes are paid so what sort of things does a no-frills lifestyle on 18k per year entail

Hmmm.

*Spider senses tingling

I noticed the lack of debate on the new Criminal Law (Sexual Offences) (Amendment) Bill 2014 which will seek to criminalise the purchaser of sexual services while exonerating the seller of sexual servies.

Does this not seem a little crazy to anybody ? Take for example illegal drugs, as far as I am aware, buying or being in possession of illegal drugs is a minor misdeamour but selling them is a much more serious crime (at all levels from street pusher to crime boss)

Now I know it is a crime to run a brothel etc. etc. but the bottom line here is that if you are a sexual services sole trader so-to-spaek it is not a crime to sell sexual services.

If you look at the gender breakdown here (not scientific) but I would estimate 99% of the purchasers of sexual services are male and probably 80-90% of the sellers of sexual services are female. So it does strike me as hardly a gender neutral bill ? It is clear to see for some time how strong the feminist lobby is in Ireland and any government is wary of even being seen to offend "Mna na hEireann", but really is nobody going to speak up for the "Fir na hEireann" here ? surely if we are going to criminalize the purchasers of sexual services why not equally criminalize the sellers of sexual services.

My own humble opinion is that the purchasers of sexual services are equally as vulnerable as the sellers of sexual services, and if this bill is passed into law the purchasers will become even more vulnerable.

Think of the following two scenarios

1). Stag party guy. On his last crazy weekend of freedom, has a drunken fling with a prostitute. He gets busted, gets a criminal conviction, a criminal record, maybe even listed as a sex offender ..all of which will affect his employment prospects, all his future relationships, he may even be hounded out of his home by vigilantes after the local Garda Sergeant discloses his details to anybody who asks for it.

2). The lonely bachelor/widower/divorcee. For a bit of companionship this man, occassionally hires a prostitute. The prostitute knows its a crime for the purchaser but not for her, so she blackmails him for more loot.

Food for thought ?

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

I live in Dublin and on a net salary of €18,228. I go on 3 holidays in a year. Eat out usually twice a week, though trying to cut down, live 5 minutes walk from town. It's very doable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Ctrl Alt Delete

€57,000 in procurement before bonuses

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Gits_bone

mikom wrote: »
    Hmmm.

*Spider senses tingling

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Absolutely of no relevance to the point he was making.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭SuperO'B

Grocery shopping .. visit three or four different supermarkets to get the bargains/specials in each one and maybe grow your own veg.

Clothes shopping .. No new clothes .. thrift shop stuff only...or maybe Penny's as a special treat.

Socializing .. are you joking ?, that'll be never.

Drink ... none or maybe one can of Beamish per week from Lidl.

Friends .. none :-(

Car .. a complete banger, with street cred = zero

Household bills, (ESB, Telephone, gas, Broadband) .. pay them occasionally and only when they are threatening to cut you off.

I bet they sound like nicer people than you do even though they're on 'only' €20k a year. Maybe some people are not interested in flashy cars, new shoes and best of all...'street cred'. That is by far the most stupid thing I've ever read on boards. The idea that someone has no 'street cred' because their salary isn't seen as high. Have you a website I could check out where it would tell me what my street cred level is currently at?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

I am 17, soon to be 18 and made €15k+ in profit last year from my own online business which I'm pretty happy with. Nothing too major, just a small venture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭LaGlisse

Sam Mac wrote: »
    I am 17, soon to be 18 and made €15k+ in profit last year from my own online business which I'm pretty happy with. Nothing too major, just a small venture.

That small venture sounds good to me. What type of business is it and how much time do you put into it? ( if you don't mind me asking?)