Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What salary are you on?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Fair play to you. My advise is keep at it and try to get a few online businesses going. I wish I had of done that, I had the ability I just never bothers and didnt want to risk it. I met people who have a few online businesses that almost run themselves and they travel the world and work from their laptop. What a life. Keep it up mate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

bcklschaps wrote: »
    Not trying to be a smart-a** here, but I'm interested in how ye are getting by on Salary of 20k. Firstly, its really about 17-18k when taxes are paid so what sort of things does a no-frills lifestyle on 18k per year entail

Net pay per month: €1546

No car.

Rent: €525 per month

Groceries/transport/bills: I budget €425 per month, sometimes less than that. I eat well, I mostly don't eat crap food. I bring in lunches to work and mostly cook all my meals. I've never been later paying bills.

Loan repayment: €150 per month

These are the costs that happen every month.

They come to €1100.

This leaves €446.

I try to save €150 a month.

So that leave €316. I don't really drink, it's amazing how much money that frees up. I get to eat out a bit, go to the cinema, met friends for coffee. I might also save a bit extra if I can.

I am very good at figuring out how to bring bills down. The household electricity bill for mid-Nov to mid-Jan was €152, and bear in mind we run everything in the house off that, we don't have gas.

I don't have a telly service and don't miss it. Another huge saving. We just have internet and Netflix.

I live with my boyfriend. He earns €35k, but we pay equal rent and he doesn't supplement my income in any way. He pays more towards the groceries because he eats three times the amount of meat I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

LaGlisse wrote: »
    That small venture sounds good to me. What type of business is it and how much time do you put into it? ( if you don't mind me asking?)

It is a fairly niche market that has yet to really take off in Ireland, so the majority of my sales come from US buyers. I put quite a bit of time into it over the first few months, website, online store, PayPal & Stripe links etc. but now its just something I do for an hour or two each evening, preparing orders etc. I enjoy it and I have built a nice customer base from it also, many of whom are now regulars to my store.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭moc moc a moc

Sam Mac wrote: »
    It is a fairly niche market that has yet to really take off in Ireland, so the majority of my sales come from US buyers. I put quite a bit of time into it over the first few months, website, online store, PayPal & Stripe links etc. but now its just something I do for an hour or two each evening, preparing orders etc. I enjoy it and I have built a nice customer base from it also, many of whom are now regulars to my store.

Camgirl?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

Camgirl?

:D very funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 Boardrat

Laglisse, what do you do if you don't mind me asking? I'd love to work 3 days a week on a viable salary (30,000 def would be for me, working for a lot more hours for a lot less at the moment for a charity),

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭Hibernosaur

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    I live with my boyfriend. He earns €35k,

So you've a combined income of 55K. No great mystery how you can afford to save there.

As single person renting their own place on your salary would really struggle though.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

So you've a combined income of 55K. No great mystery how you can afford to save there.

As single person renting their own place on your salary would really struggle though.

They broke down exactly how they can save without a bf already?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,159 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Didn't realise there were so many poor people about.

God, I hate the poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    Net pay per month: €1546

No car.

Rent: €525 per month

Groceries/transport/bills: I budget €425 per month, sometimes less than that. I eat well, I mostly don't eat crap food. I bring in lunches to work and mostly cook all my meals. I've never been later paying bills.

Loan repayment: €150 per month

These are the costs that happen every month.

They come to €1100.

This leaves €446.

I try to save €150 a month.

So that leave €316. I don't really drink, it's amazing how much money that frees up. I get to eat out a bit, go to the cinema, met friends for coffee. I might also save a bit extra if I can.

I am very good at figuring out how to bring bills down. The household electricity bill for mid-Nov to mid-Jan was €152, and bear in mind we run everything in the house off that, we don't have gas.

I don't have a telly service and don't miss it. Another huge saving. We just have internet and Netflix.

I live with my boyfriend. He earns €35k, but we pay equal rent and he doesn't supplement my income in any way. He pays more towards the groceries because he eats three times the amount of meat I do.

Impressive.

So the key is

- No Drink (save a few grand per year) and
    - find someone to live with (half your rent)

That won't work for everybody though.

Personally I need to get out of my head at least one night a week, just to feel like I am not a pure slave to the machine...and sharing a gaf with some else is grand, while its working out .. but that doesn't always last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.
    None of these things are a waste of money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,251 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Sky is a total waste of money these days. Even if I was getting it free Id still prefer to download everything and watch it whenever I like with no ads. Lunch out every day is also a total waste of money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

There's not many people I know who can afford to rent a place by themselves in Dublin and that includes people on good salaries. Like I said, my BF and I pay equal rent, he only pays a bit more for groceries.

My life is a bit constricted at the moment - I probably won't get out the country this year - but I'm cutting my coat according to my cloth. People do waste huge amounts of money on rubbish though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭InReality

42 people telling porkies ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭LaGlisse

Thargor wrote: »
    Sky is a total waste of money these days. Even if I was getting it free Id still prefer to download everything and watch it whenever I like with no ads. Lunch out every day is also a total waste of money.

+ 1 million. I'm only on the bare bones package and have it down to 20 a month and still feel like I'm being ripped off. Only for saorview having pisspoor reception in my houseand me being too lazy to pick up a new aerial I'd get rid of it tomorrow.
    Don't drink myself though (used to) it's scary how much money you can literally piss away with that. I actually used to think everybody who could afford nice things was selling drugs, then I gave up booze and I could afford nice things too

• Site Banned Posts: 30 Jack the Box

87k per annum. 10% bonus. 12% pension. VHI for me and family paid for. Work in IFSC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭maninasia

Over the last few years I've earned 40k/year, 60k/year, 80k per year and 0k per year. How much difference in personal happiness did I feel...not a lot. I had a sense of satisfaction when getting a job but that wears off. You still have to turn up and do a days work..or more.
    In the end you kind of revert to mean. :rolleyes: Also, when you get older, you may have more responsibilities, the money comes, and the money goes. It's nice to have some savings so yer family is more secure though. For me recently, I've been thinking about things I want to DO, more than the money I earn. I mainly work to earn for my family's sake, but dreams are made of more than money. Sometimes you realise you only have so much time to do things. Time is more precious than money. Time gives and time takes away. When people are gone you can't buy that time back. All the the money in the world can't buy job satisfaction, it can buy lots of things, but not that, interestingly. If you hate doing something you will still have it if you are earning 10k/year or 100k/year or 1 million a year. You still have to show up and do the work. You will still have to deal with assholes. You will still have doubts and worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Paul.k.b.90

Less than 35k but VHI for me and 3 other family members, 10% pension and 10% pay rise per year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

33% pay rise over the last 18 months. Not gonna talk figures though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 478 ✭✭thenashlegend

SuperO'B wrote: »
    28 and making just over €150k. It doesn't matter how much you earn, it's about being a nice person and whether it's enough for the individual person. Some people will never be happy and some people will be perfectly happy on a lower wage. It's all relative, money doesn't equal happiness.

By no means an attack on you, but I did laugh to myself when I read your post. :) Isn't it funny how someone earning over €150k can tell others it's not about how much you earn, but how nice you are?

I can't help but think I'd be a much nicer, more generous person if I was earning €3000 per week as opposed to a means-tested rate of jobseekers allowance while I search for summer work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 yc02

I'm on about 100k. It's a 75k base and quarterly bonuses that rounds it up to approx 100k - but I certainly do not feel "Rich". I know people think that anyone on this sort of money is rolling like a celebrity but it's not like that for me. I still have to watch my money all the time. I do have a lot of outgoings though - I bought an apartment as an investment 10 years ago I have to top up the mortgage by quite a bit. I support my parents and give them a chunk as they don't have much money. I also partially support my girlfriend as she is a student. I do live in a nice apartment but it's nothing spectacular - and I still have a flatmate to share the rent. People think that if you are on 100k you'd be driving a brand new beemer or something but my car is more than 10 years old.

Now before you get your violin out I do realise how lucky I am to be earning this money - but I've worked very hard - and smart - to get here. I purposely went into a career known for good earnings potential, I worked hard and also changed companies a number of times to get different experience. Went through a few really tough jobs on far far less money. I made some bad decisions and never saved much until recently, but I'm doing well now. I don't work very long hours and I love what I do so I'm incredibly lucky an I thank my blessings every day - but still even on 100k I still feel miles away from being Rich. I'm a long way from being able to buy a nice house where I'd like to live. I'm not a first time buyer so 20% is going to take me a long time to save for this but I'm saving as much as I can - 1k per month and an additional 1k every quarter. I suppose if I was not saving and spending all my money I could have a pretty lavish lifestyle - but I'm in my 30's have to think about the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,260 ✭✭✭Elessar

yc02 wrote: »
    I'm on about 100k. It's a 75k base and quarterly bonuses that rounds it up to approx 100k - but I certainly do not feel "Rich". I know people think that anyone on this sort of money is rolling like a celebrity but it's not like that for me. I still have to watch my money all the time. I do have a lot of outgoings though - I bought an apartment as an investment 10 years ago I have to top up the mortgage by quite a bit. I support my parents and give them a chunk as they don't have much money. I also partially support my girlfriend as she is a student. I do live in a nice apartment but it's nothing spectacular - and I still have a flatmate to share the rent. People think that if you are on 100k you'd be driving a brand new beemer or something but my car is more than 10 years old.

Now before you get your violin out I do realise how lucky I am to be earning this money - but I've worked very hard - and smart - to get here. I purposely went into a career known for good earnings potential, I worked hard and also changed companies a number of times to get different experience. Went through a few really tough jobs on far far less money. I made some bad decisions and never saved much until recently, but I'm doing well now. I don't work very long hours and I love what I do so I'm incredibly lucky an I thank my blessings every day - but still even on 100k I still feel miles away from being Rich. I'm a long way from being able to buy a nice house where I'd like to live. I'm not a first time buyer so 20% is going to take me a long time to save for this but I'm saving as much as I can - 1k per month and an additional 1k every quarter. I suppose if I was not saving and spending all my money I could have a pretty lavish lifestyle - but I'm in my 30's have to think about the future.

Fair play mate. It's always one of perspective - everyone is different. I'm on just over €30k yet similarly manage to save 1k a month. Admittedly, I don't have many outgoings.

Someone on 100k is not necessarily rich, or even well off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 yc02

Absolutely right about perspective. A 10k paycheck sounds amazing until the taxman takes literally half of it - and your outgoings take half of what's left within the first week. Then you are left with not much more than an average waged person. Serious respect to anyone who can save 1k a month on a 30k salary. Definitely do what you can to minimise your outgoings. I wish I had of done that and saved more when I was younger.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭PutDownArtist

Currently netting 9672 pa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭ALS

54,000 gross ... Train driver

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 135 ✭✭PutDownArtist

ALS wrote: »
    54,000 gross ... Train driver

That's a hell of a lot for such an easy job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭fergus1001

Zero euros I'm just graduated and i'll be lucky to get 22500 a year starting off I'm a forester and hope to get into coillte and make 55-70 k down the line

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭doc11

Elessar wrote: »
    Fair play mate. It's always one of perspective - everyone is different. I'm on just over €30k yet similarly manage to save 1k a month. Admittedly, I don't have many outgoings.

Someone on 100k is not necessarily rich, or even well off.

100k is an amazing salary and you'd be well off by most PAYE workers standards nevermind the million or so depending on welfare. You'd never be "rich" relying purely on a PAYE salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

70k gross. No savings and lots of personal debt. Plus a mortgage. Always scraping by.