Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,301 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

The big thing against LVG right now is that most of our big players are back from injury and fit and it's nearly February yet we are slowly getting worse as the season unfolds.

The excuses are slowly running out. Last night he blamed the referee, the opposition fans, the pitch and the defensive organisation of the Cambridge. He's starting to sound slightly pathetic at this stage.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭KH25

I agree with a lot of the previous posts here that the problems aren't the defenders. Now, Jones was awful in terms of passing tonight so I think it's fair to criticise that. Same for Valencia as he was absolutely dire as an attacking outlet.

My biggest worry is that nobody is looking for the ball and trying to go through the other team with it. It's like the players are afraid to lose possession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Has any journo asked LVG why he chose Jones for corners?
    There is plenty wrong with Utds play but to have your center half taking corners i seriously cant understand it. Jones is more likely to win you a header in the box then any of the midfielders there last night. Crazy crazy decisions. Moyes would be hounded over it, but because LVG talks a good game in terms of tactics etc etc he gets away with it.
    He's trying to reinvent the wheel in some terms.
    Put a f**kin midfielder/forward out to take the corner, and put your center half in the box. Not rocket science, and absolutly no excuse otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭ericzeking

People are over doing it on Jones. ..he defended well when he had to. He's a blood and guts type defender not a Rio style ball playing centre half...he shouldn't be tasked with setting up our attacks with 'good' passes, he needs to be given simple options by our midfield.

Not denying he played some poor balls last night but players who are better technically than him played some muck passes too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Has any journo asked LVG why he chose Jones for corners?
    There is plenty wrong with Utds play but to have your center half taking corners i seriously cant understand it. Jones is more likely to win you a header in the box then any of the midfielders there last night. Crazy crazy decisions. Moyes would be hounded over it, but because LVG talks a good game in terms of tactics etc etc he gets away with it.
    He's trying to reinvent the wheel in some terms.
    Put a f**kin midfielder/forward out to take the corner, and put your center half in the box. Not rocket science, and absolutly no excuse otherwise.

Fairly sure it's a right footer thing...with last night's line up it was either him or tony v....not saying I agree with it btw

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Robson99 wrote: »
    The Jones and Valencia bashing going on over the last couple of pages is funny. Blame two of the back four when the four in front of them were pure muck. Carrick, Fellani and Di Maria are the ones who done sweet F.A in the game. Janazuai has had very little game time. The back four and DeGea done what they had to do.
    But we create only a couple of chances against L2 opposition, fail to score and we blame the CHalf and R Back. Dear oh Dear
    Oh don't get me wrong they were all **** but Valencia and jones have to go, surely you're not gonna dispute that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

10945599_10153039147384914_1077118730195415827_n.png?oh=bc0b5117ffc78312658cd448a688890a&oe=552E5FE5

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Lemmy Scott

At the very least a player should be able to pass the ball 5 yards -jones cant do that hes useless -and whats he doing taking corners when you got better options out there to take them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

ericzeking wrote: »
    Fairly sure it's a right footer thing...with last night's line up it was either him or tony v....not saying I agree with it btw

That still doesnt explain why he was tsking them last week when Rooney was on the pitch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭Robson99

People are over doing it on Jones. ..he defended well when he had to. He's a blood and guts type defender not a Rio style ball playing centre half...he shouldn't be tasked with setting up our attacks with 'good' passes, he needs to be given simple options by our midfield.
    Nail on the head. IMO Carrick has never been good enough doing this for us. Keane always commanded the ball of our centre halves, Scholes likewise, but Carrick tends to shy away from it. Jones is not the best on the ball but is a good defender. NFS Carrick and Fellani should have the balls to accept responsibility for dictating the pace of the game against the top teams let alone Cambridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

The problems? Everyone is pointing fingers at the players - and rightly so. But the whole squad is under performing as a whole. The problem is the fuvking manager, can't believe how many of you lot are so blind you can't see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭Robson99

Oh don't get me wrong they were all **** but Valencia and jones have to go, surely you're not gonna dispute that?

I d get rid of neither. Evans is worse than Jones and Blackett is as slow as xmas on the turn, these are the two which I would get rid of. And God help us if we are depending on Rafael to stay injury or suspension free for a season.
    We need Jones and Valencia in our squad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

kstand wrote: »
    The problems? Everyone is pointing fingers at the players - and rightly so. But the whole squad is under performing as a whole. The problem is the fuvking manager, can't believe how many of you lot are so blind you can't see it.

I'm a non-Utd fan but I gotta agree with this.

That's not to say, it's over for LVG. It probably just needs to click a bit as it has done for Liverpool in recent weeks.

Utd have a really really strong first team squad. There's something about the atmosphere or game plan that means they're not playing as well as they should.

Last night Valencia, Jones and Carrick were the only outfield players active when Fergie was there. Everyone else has been brought in and is a good player.

Player quality or spending is not the problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

kstand wrote: »

To a certain degree, Id agree. Tactics have been off, the persistence with 3-5-2 , playing our best players out of position etc however against a team like Cambridge, with the squad we had out last night, it doesnt matter what the tactics were, there is no excuse for not beating them, that rests entirely with the players imo.

Starting to get a pain in me bollix with it at this stage though. I certainly dont want him sacked, I think that would be a massive mistake and put us back to square one however if we dont get CL this year (I still feel we will) I think given the investment, the Board may not be as forgiving.

Still, at least we gave the mouth breathers something to gloat about on a crappy Friday night, we are good like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Not denying he played some poor balls last night but players who are better
    technically than him played some muck passes too.

Ive said this twenty pages back. The defenders are being asked to play these precise passes and are just not doing it. Think the midfield is escaping the wrath of a lot of people. No one showing for the ball in midfield at all these days. Think of Rio or Vidic coming out of defence and Keane snd Scholes always made themselves available. Not happening or happening very rarely any more.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Ive said this twenty pages back. The defenders are being asked to play these precise passes and are just not doing it. Think the midfield is escaping the wrath of a lot of people. No one showing for the ball in midfield at all these days. Think of Rio or Vidic coming out of defence and Keane snd Scholes always made themselves available. Not happening or happening very rarely any more.

Would agree. Not saying Jones had a good game, but why were he and Rojo having to make runs forward? It's the same as has happened under Moyes and Fergie in his latter years; our midfield is being bypassed for whatever reason, and we're relying on our defenders like Jones to suddenly play these killer passes that few defenders could.

Also, the corners...it's not as if Jones was scoring on the receiving end of corners, nor is it that our usual corner takers were bagging loads of assists. Personally, I have zero problems giving someone new a chance at the corner taking....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,058 ✭✭✭✭adox

Not denying he played some poor balls last night but players who are better technically than him played some muck passes too.

I agree to an extent, he defended pretty well for the game and read a couple of situations and extinguished them before they got serious but it was those four or five passes that he just completely misplaced that stand out in most people's memory I'd say. He couldn't make 5 and 10 yard passes, giving the ball straight to the opposition and on one occasion a 5 yard pass to a Utd player ended up going out for a throw!!!

Now I agree he's not a Rio type player but he can pass the ball 5 and 10 yards. Hell he can hit a cross field pass pin point plenty of times too. I don't buy that because he's not great on the ball that he can't make those passes. The worrying thing is it stinks of lack of concentration and application, which is very worrying at this level.

There was a lot more wrong with the team last night than the defence, the midfield was woeful but it's hard to get those images of Jones looking like he'd kicked a football for the first time in his life out of your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

A big part of United's problem at the moment is the lack of link between the CBs/Carrick and Di Maria/Forwards. Before he got injured Herrera was bridging that gap very nicely and also injecting a much needed energy into the team.

Not sure why he hasn't been in the mix the last couple of weeks but I think he would make a big difference in the middle if playing well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,609 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Herrera should have started.I can't believe he is getting so little game time.At least he is willing to look for the ball too many of the midfielders shy away and that makes it more difficult for the defender's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Lads I honest dont know what to think of utd at the moment :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Headshot wrote: »
    Lads I honest dont know what to think of utd at the moment :(

I do, they're playing sh*t football leading to sh*t results. That game last night would be the least of my worries, that kind of thing has been going in for decades, they will most likely be torn apart in the replay at OT. I'm much more concerned by the league form, the 2-0 win over QPR riled me more than a scoreless away draw at a League 2 side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

The team is pressing too far up the pitch that doesn't suit the players. There is no room in behind for rvp and falcao to run into, di maria is getting the ball with his back to defenders and no space to move into. The cb's are playing on the half way line with no one to pass to except the black hole that is valencia out on the wing. Carrick and herrera should be the ones getting the ball in that position and force the opposition to step forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

keane2097 wrote: »
    A big part of United's problem at the moment is the lack of link between the CBs/Carrick and Di Maria/Forwards. Before he got injured Herrera was bridging that gap very nicely and also injecting a much needed energy into the team.

Not sure why he hasn't been in the mix the last couple of weeks but I think he would make a big difference in the middle if playing well.

I'm kind of baffled why you wouldn't just get Mata in a central role. Utd have great attacking talent but need a playmaker to knit it all together.

He wasn't good enough for Jose tracking back but that's not to say he couldn't be effective there.

IMO an attack of...

ADM - Mata - Rooney
    Falcao

Would more or less guarantee CL qualification.

The problem with 4-4-2 is that there's no Scholes.

All that said LVG is considering things beyond the knowledge of boards.ie and there's a huge chance it'll all come good.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I would rather offload Rooney and get a proper winger rather than shoving Rooney into yet another position he isn't capable of just to get him in the team....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

I'm surprised there's no positive talk in here about the overlaps and link-up play we saw last night. It wasn't anything special, but it was a big improvement on recent weeks imo. At some points in the second half I actually made some "ooh" and "ah" sounds as I saw our attacks developing. I don't remember doing that in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,867 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

gosplan wrote: »
    All that said LVG is considering things beyond the knowledge of boards.ie and there's a huge chance it'll all come good.

That's the thing really. I was saying all summer that what United fans hoped LVG would do this season and what he would be hoping to do himself were probably very, very far apart.

It was always highly probable that it would look fairly bad for long stretches this season for the simple reason that that's what it's always like when he takes over somewhere.

Maybe this is the one time he will finally be exposed as a spoofer and it won't click, but I really doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭dor843088

Pro. F wrote: »
    I'm surprised there's no positive talk in here about the overlaps and link-up play we saw last night. It wasn't anything special, but it was a big improvement on recent weeks imo. At some points in the second half I actually made some "ooh" and "ah" sounds as I saw our attacks developing. I don't remember doing that in a long time.

You should come watch the 5 a side I play in every week, there is the odd great link up play . The only thing is we dont have any players that get 250k a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,066 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

keane2097 wrote: »
    That's the thing really. I was saying all summer that what United fans hoped LVG would do this season and what he would be hoping to do himself were probably very, very far apart.

It was always highly probable that it would look fairly bad for long stretches this season for the simple reason that that's what it's always like when he takes over somewhere.

Maybe this is the one time he will finally be exposed as a spoofer and it won't click, but I really doubt it.

You can't really call someone who has a multiple league and cup triumphs in extremely difficult leagues a spoofer. Perhaps he's stubborn and his tactics won't work in England but it's hardly being a spoofer.

I think people are forgetting we are unbeaten in 14 and one if the best defences in the league.. It will take him a year or so to get fully into it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

I think people are forgetting we are unbeaten in 14 and one if the best defences in the league.. It will take him a year or so to get fully into it

I think you're forgetting Southampton...