Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Late Late Show: January 23rd 2015 (Mod Warning #Post 369)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,133 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Why is she talking about this now if it happened 10 years ago?

Book maybe ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

Me.

Just she is recalling every specific detail very calmly.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

Bring back Evanne...now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Brave girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Cosmo2013

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    I follow the news sites every day but this is the first I've heard of this - jesus!

I read somewhere she was interviewed on his show on the radio during the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,486 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

thunderdog wrote: »
    Just she is recalling every specific detail very calmly.....

I've heard of that.. it's like they become detached and it's almost like they're watching a video of the incident as they recall it

Probably the mind's way of coping with it. Awful stuff though. God love her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Invincible

Book maybe ?

Or film maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Same here. Tubs must be listening to different news bulletins than the rest of us.....

I think it was on tubs show, but it shows how highly he rates his own show when he describes it as something the whole country was appalled by (shockingly appalling by the way) but He needs to realise that there are another 4.45 million people that never heard about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

The first guy that she praised was the gyno? What was wrong with the guys pushing the wheelchair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,566 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Sounds like the Portuguese police are rubbish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Cosmo2013 wrote: »
    I read somewhere she was interviewed on his show on the radio during the week

She was. Dunno why she is on again, harrowing though it is. It's a bit voyeuristic hearing it again tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Invincible wrote: »
    Or film maybe.

In all fairness, a book or film "publicity idea" is a bit harsh...

Let the young lady be heard and give her a chance to be heard....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭Cosmo2013

How did he know her name?

Why doesn't he ask her this... and how would he have known her room. More factual stuff for background info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,118 ✭✭✭✭neris

so she gets attacked/raped and the mother decides she,ll travel out the day after the father. this is a wind up/staged/promo thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Agreed, maybe she is trying to highlight the ineffectiveness of the police in Portugal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Invincible

Time will tell, hear her out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭bigdaddy2010

But why would you come on TV to talk about this. I find the whole story a bit surreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭roshje

neris wrote: »
    so she gets attacked/raped and the mother decides she,ll travel out the day after the father. this is a wind up/staged/promo thing.

ah jaysus cop on

GDY151

The amount of gear it sounds like the lad brought would have looked out of the ordinary would it not? Where was the CCTV, where was security you normally see at these complexes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

The first guy that she praised was the gyno? What was wrong with the guys pushing the wheelchair?
    Sounds like the Portuguese police are rubbish.

I know two Spanish cops in Malaga, I got to know them on holiday here years ago. It's nuts what they see every day with tourists and they become very immune to it. Seriously crazy stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

It was the first available flight for both of them. It was during peak holiday season, there was probably only one seat available on each flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

JM Skipton wrote: »
    I think it was on tubs show, but it shows how highly he rates his own show when he describes it as something the whole country was appalled by (shockingly appalling by the way) but He needs to realise that there are another 4.45 million people that never heard about it

2FM is a no-go area for any self-respecting person out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

She went back and lived in an apartment where she was raped and tortured by a man who was never caught?

Something doesn't add up here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭jos28

I heard the radio interview and both her parents obviously wanted to get there asap. It was high season and they couldn't get on the same flight so her Dad went ahead and Mam followed on the next flight. She said her Mam had a horrific journey on her own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,118 ✭✭✭✭neris

maybe you had a bdsm fetish that you couldnt cope with

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭edelweis

cofy wrote: »
    It was the first available flight for both of them. It was during peak holiday season, there was probably only one seat available on each flight.

Or, her parents could be divorced. No shame in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

So she hung around not knowing if she might be attacked again?............something doesn't add up here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Red Kev wrote: »
    I know two Spanish cops in Malaga, I got to know them on holiday here years ago. It's nuts what they see every day with tourists and they become very immune to it. Seriously crazy stuff.

Like what?

GDY151

I know if it was my daughter and she was raped in a foreign country I certainly wouldn't allow her to stay there afterwards.

On the other hand when someone is over 18 it's up to themself but I would encourage them to get out of the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 826 ✭✭✭edelweis

So she hung around not knowing if she might be attacked again?............something doesn't add up here!

Ah here, you shouldn't have to flee from a country to prove you're a victim of an horrendous crime.