Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Late Late Show: January 23rd 2015 (Mod Warning #Post 369)

• 23-01-2015 7:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭

Hello, it's getting late and nobody wants an "I can't believe there isn't a thread Where is the thread?" thread, so here is a hastily cobbled together thread.

Random Fact of The Day as a salute to Welsh Megaman: The word Penguin comes from Wales. The (now extinct) Great Auk was called 'penguin' (Pen= Head, Gwyn =White) by Welsh settlers in Newfoundland (either because of its markings or after White Head, an island in the area). The name was then applied to other birds which were believed to be of the same family. The original usage is now obsolete, but the word lives on in relation to the Antarctic sea birds.

Ian Puleston-Davies (Owen from Coronation Street) and Mikey North (Gary from Coronation Street) plug their new Stage Show, which is all about Coronation Street. And RIP to Anne Kirkbride AKA Deirdre Barlow/Rachid/Hunt/Langton

Director Tomm Moore, producer Paul Young and actor David Rawle from the Oscar nominated 'Song of The Sea' will discuss the nomination and their chances.

Athlete Olive Loughnane probably won Gold in the 2009 World Athletics Championship this week. :confused: Ah, the Russian drug cheat was disqualified so Olive looks set to swap her Silver for Gold. Just Say No, Kids.

RTE sports Journalist Evanne Ni Chuillin is on I'm not sure why.

Hazel Behan will retell her harrowing personal story, which was featured on Ryan's Radio show this week
    http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/radio/tubridy-floored-by-bravery-of-woman-sharing-her-harrowing-rape-ordeal-live-on-air-30921788.html

There is also "a performance by Stomp, a trad session and a focus on enterprise included in the line-up"

There may be more, but that's all I've got.

I'll be honest with you, I'm going down the Pub but I hope you all have fun.

Be Excellent to each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Party on, dude!

Edit: I'll be just saying no myself this evening. Anything soap-y is one strike. Misery, two strikes. Several people I don't know...yeeerrr out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Mohammed Wept! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,322 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Aw thanks Skid, for the random factoid :D

Now, if you please...bunneh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Party on, dude!

Edit: I'll be just saying no myself this evening. Anything soap-y is one strike. Misery, two strikes. Several people I don't know...yeeerrr out.

I was trying to be positive but it's not good at all, is it?

Maybe they have a secret guest who will be fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 davidgrace

I'll tune in for the Anne Kirkbride tribute actually. I was a big fan.

Aw thanks Skid, for the random factoid :D

Now, if you please...bunneh :)

Ah alright then. Stop The Lights! :D

mus+bunny.JPG

Skid X wrote: »
    I was trying to be positive but it's not good at all, is it?

Maybe they have a secret guest who will be fantastic.

It'd wanna be Clark Kent with a big revelation to save that televisual train wreck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Bunneh "send your money to me" Carr!!

Very good Skid, very good!! :)

**I did the last bit in Gaybo's voice for you Skid!***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

RTE sports Journalist Evanne Ni Chuillin is on I'm not sure why.

I am predicting misery slot. She suffered PND after her baby. Or maybe speaking about her brother - he committed suicide, RIP.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/evanne-ni-chuilinn-opens-up-about-the-suicide-of-her-brother-this-year-29869164.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

mmm Evanne....

article-2231227-15F6B4BE000005DC-882_634x446.jpg

Bunneh "send your money to me" Carr!!

Very good Skid, very good!! :)

**I did the last bit in Gaybo's voice for you Skid!***

Ha, thanks. RTE should scrap the new Saturday Night Lottery Show and revive Quicksilver. Big Money could be won!!
    Quicksilver was the longest running quiz show in RTE history. It was developed by its host Bunny Carr. The show gave rise to the catchphrase ‘stop the lights’. The contestants came from the studio audience as their ticket was picked out of a drum. Blue tickets for the men and pink tickets for the ladies.

Contestants would have to answer questions it win cash prizes starting at two pence and rising to five pounds. They could pass on a question and stop the timing lights diming on the game board by stopping the lights. There were thirty lights on the board and the quicker they answered the question that more lights left still on for the next question.

If they were playing for 10p and there were 18 lights left on that meant that they had won 18 x 10p, one pound eighty. Often the nerves or panic would set in an they would leave with that amount without going any further.

http://ibhof.blogspot.ie/2013/03/the-history-of-irish-tv-quiz-shows-part.html

Hmmm...I don't think it's listening to the sports you were that evening AD!!.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,421 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Do the Late Late Show producers head to the RTE canteen every week and just put on the show whoever happens to be there at the time and pay them?

That would be affirmative kermit. ;)

I doubt they pay them, they just love the freebies.....:pac:

M

Dermo Bannon is on SNS, new series of Room To Improve kicking off Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

Dermo Bannon is on SNS, new series of Room To Improve kicking off Sunday.

Free glass boxes for everyone in the audience !

jos28 wrote: »
    Free glass boxes for everyone in the audience !

No curtains, long kitchen counters with no Aldi specials or clutter, Ikea pictures and patio doors to outside with token tree and little water thingie....thought with the water charges that might be dumped! :D

Can't wait! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 brianpierce

davidgrace wrote: »
    I'll tune in for the Anne Kirkbride tribute actually. I was a big fan.

Does anyone know if there was a thread set up to discuss the passing of Anne Kirkbride?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Evening all.. this should be good for the craic tonight (the thread that is!) :) First though, the end of a Quantum Leap episode on SyFy

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Evening all.. this should be good for the craic tonight (the thread that is!) :) First though, the end of a Quantum Leap episode on SyFy

"Oh Boy - Al, I seem to be a very thin man talking to a lot of miserable people in some kind of strange televised therapy thing"

"Sam, Ziggy says it is imperative that you get out of there immediately! No good ever comes from there"

Does anyone know if there was a thread set up to discuss the passing of Anne Kirkbride?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057364975

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=93916873

_Kaiser_ wrote: »

Top scientists from across the globe are STILL trying to work out the headf*ck of the series finale!

"Oh Boy - Al, I seem to be a very thin man talking to a lot of miserable people in some kind of strange televised therapy thing"

"Sam, Ziggy says it is imperative that you get out of there immediately! No good ever comes from there"

Pat: "And thank you all for watching over the past ten years. You're new host will be in the chair in September."

Sam: "Oh, boy..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Top scientists from across the globe are STILL trying to work out the headf*ck of the series finale!

I thought his final leap was onto the bridge of a starship.....didnt end well. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,345 ✭✭✭buyer95

Joe.ie saying Evanne is on to reveal something about herself. Let's hope she chooses to go Toireasa Feiris and appall the nation with something truly revealing! Initially thought this was another "coming out" but apparently she's married with a kid, so that rules that out. Or does it? Stranger things have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Evening all, looking at the guest list i have got that down hearted sinking feeling,pretty much the same feeling I get anytime mark Cagney appears on screen

Evening y'all!

*waves*

JM Skipton wrote: »
    Evening all, looking at the guest list i have got that down hearted sinking feeling,pretty much the same feeling I get anytime mark Cagney appears on screen

He'll just spend his time trying to upstage Mr. T and trying to make RTE think he's the best thing ever!!....;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Evening all, Olive looks very elegant.

I saw Olive on Lucy and Martin the other day, she was a lovely and charming girl.. :)

Best of luck to her, Blast those dam cheaters.... :(

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 55 ✭✭johnny drive by

Walking definitely has to be the most humorous sport in the Olympics! Look so unnatural!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Evening all.

Nice to see Olive has put on a bit of weight since then. She looked emaciated.

If technology allowed it, Sonia O'Sullivan would have 2 Olympic gold medals now 1992 & 2000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Evening all!

Oh wow, Olive looks lovely.....a little bit of extra weight suits her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,220 ✭✭✭jos28

buyer95 wrote: »
    Joe.ie saying Evanne is on to reveal something about herself. Let's hope she chooses to go Toireasa Feiris and appall the nation with something truly revealing! Initially thought this was another "coming out" but apparently she's married with a kid, so that rules that out. Or does it? Stranger things have happened.
    She is going to tell us all about the trauma she endured while making the decision to cut her hair.

hqdefault.jpg

Evening all.

Nice to see Olive has put on a bit of weight since then. She looked emaciated.

Hiya Harry....:)

I always used to fret about Sonia!.....:o

Olive is a lovely lady :)

Walking definitely has to be the most humorous sport in the Olympics! Look so unnatural!

Reminds me of Monty Python's Ministry of Silly Walks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Cant wait for Ryans in depth questioning here !
    evening all

Sport can really be fecked up at times......

Such a terrible feeling to be cheated for a medal by a baddie...... :(

M

I do think there should be a specialist version of the Olympics where it's pure performance enhancement drugs, those banned from the regular Olympics could participate. Sort of an X Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭tampopo

Evening all, evening all. She looks well in retirement...

Sport can really be fecked up at times......

Such a terrible feeling to be cheated for a medal by a baddie...... :(

Still haven't forgotten about those pesky Chinese :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

tampopo wrote: »
    Evening all, evening all. She looks well in retirement...

I semi-retired from walking a few years ago. I just drive everywhere now.

Still haven't forgotten about those pesky Chinese :mad:

I'll never forget the American talking about the "alleged" Michelle's performance.....:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Love the photography slot!

M

Olden school, I do like these slots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

Man dickie bow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,029 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Did Deirdre ever have a scene with Owen or Gary in Corrie?

I do think there should be a specialist version of the Olympics where it's pure performance enhancement drugs, those banned from the regular Olympics could participate. Sort of an X Olympics.

Did you ever hear the tommy tiernan sketch where he says they should just let them all take whatever drugs they want and if someone can do the 100m in 1 second so be it