Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

What salary are you on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭SuperO'B

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Also, to back this up, if you like your job and don't let let it control you then it's also not an issue to be monitoring work at home. If you are genuinely interested in your job and interested to do the best you can then what's wrong with having a responsibility outside of normal work hours? It's a matter of time and priority management to make it work without impacting social/domestic life. Having to do this means there is clearly responsibility involved in your job and for me, responsibility brings with it satisfaction when things go right. Obviously when things don't go right then that brings a stress with it but that's part and parcel. I think if you show genuine effort, interest and a hard working nature in any position, even when things don't go right then you'll always be given the benefit of the doubt and you can build on that failure.

People spend half of their lives working, try do the best you can at it and make it worthwhile and rewarding, regardless of what the job is. You'd be surprised what doors open for you when you have a positive and make-it-happen mindset. I went to college and worked with some guys who always seem to have things fall into place for them but that wasn't an accident. They were/are hard working people that make things happen and show an interest.

"The harder I train the luckier I get" and all that stuff...

The Cool wrote: »
    I'm 25 and I've just finished my first year as a freelancer, and have totted up a total of €20k this year.
    It's been a tough run, particularly seeing my friends in their 3rd or 4th year of good jobs, going on holidays and starting to save towards a mortgage (!) while my boyfriend is helping me pay the rent, I have no social life, etc. But I love what I do, have a great work-life balance as it's all on my own terms and feel like I'm on the right track. Before this I had an office job for a year which paid €23k and between commuting in and out to work etc it just didn't feel worth it.
    Insanely jealous of the people my age on €50k+ but hopefully I won't be too far behind you!

Fair play, it takes a lot of balls to go do it yourself. I still haven't worked up that courage yet but would like to in the future :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,019 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Gits_bone

I'm happy with that tbh. Will be getting a nice chunk each year and can zone out in the evenings and weekends.

The people who "enjoy" their work on the big money, are few and far between. Most people on the big bucks are management where they have to deal with things they'd rather not.

Health issues come into play as well. Feeling tired on a Thursday evening yet still thinking of work? You'll end up looking like a 60 year old at 50.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 57 ✭✭world_weary

so do JPM ( or citi , morgan stanley , meryl lynch ) make you stay on late on a regular basis ?

only kidding , i take it you work for one of the main wall st banks

im 37 ,earn around 45 k per year but my net worth ( including my house ) is around 1.5 million euro ( property and equities )

if i was even reasonably bright , id be worth double that considering i had so much cash at my disposal from mid 2011 when stocks were for nothing compared to today , waited far too long to spend some of my cash after getting lucky during the boom with a property

whoever said its more important to work "smart " rather than hard hit the nail on the head

i think bright people will do well no matter what and average people will just do ok regardless of what opportunities tap them on the shoulder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭happysunnydays

Sure look, its not all about the money.

Sure you keep telling yourself that there, good lad! Newsflash, money makes people happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

OSI wrote: »
    Don't be too jealous. Between the ages of 22 and 26 I've gone from ~20k to ~56k and it really makes less of an impact on your life than you hope it would. Sure you might wear nicer clothes and drive a nicer car, but your actual life doesn't change that much unless you're incredibly disciplined, which is hard to be in your 20s. You'll still get to the end of the month and wonder where your money went. You'll just have more crap built up in the corner.

That never changes - 20s, 30s, 40s 50s !!:)

Just under 70k myself in a promoted PS grade including all allowances/annualised hours (overtime) etc. Single income household since Mrs got laid off a year and a half ago.

It used to be ok until USC and Public Service Pension Related Deduction kicked in :mad:

Cumulative pay this year so far (includes Christmas Eve/Day etc) is 5793.68
    Cumulative mandatory deductions are 2106.97 of which 788.20 is USC/PRD - money we used to have in our pockets but no longer do :(

Sure you keep telling yourself that there, good lad! Newsflash, money makes people happy.

loosing money makes me more unhappy than making it makes me happy

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Not necessarily true. Money takes misery away from poor people. Studies have shows there is no noticeable difference in people who earn a pretty decent wage, vs multi billionaires. In the US it's about $75k - after that it makes little difference. Often very rich people are miserable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Robin Williams is still laughing.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

Zascar wrote: »
    Not necessarily true. Money takes misery away from poor people. Studies have shows there is no noticeable difference in people who earn a pretty decent wage, vs m billionaires. In the US it's about $75k - after that it makes little difference. Often very rich people are miserableulti.

In that case
    they can give their money to me so they can be happy again :L I'll try not to be to sad spending it all on holidays, nice cars and hookers

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I was thinking about the whole salary vs happiness thing today and thought of some of my friends.

Some have had children and sacrificed earning more to spend more time with them, some have had relationships break up and chosen to not advance in their careers due to wanting to invest in the children of those relationships etc

So while one can say everyone can advance, sometimes there are genuine life reasons why they don't or won't.

I know with my partner and I, there is a large gap in what we earn, and neither of us would be happy with the others lifestyle and how we rate work as part of our lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 180Bhoy

Im on 8k from Social Welfare. Would love to swap income with some of ye big earner's for 1 year, just to see the difference in lifestyle. Any of ye have any work for me? Il cut yer lawns or wax yer yachts for €8 an hour..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭shedweller

Boy this thread is interesting! I like!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭coopdog85

Was earning €26,000 at home. Still living at home & working a dead end job which I hated. Was sick of seeing friends & people I was in school with earning near enough the same money as me but they were happy as they had a career. They were earning that money in a job which they chose to do, not in something that just happened to come about which is what happened to me. I had no debt, no ties & I worked for 18 miserable months to save up enough money to disappear with & start fresh. Decided to head to America to see if I could make a go of things. Here just over 5 months & things are going well. I've landed in a job where the money isn't great at the minute but it's an improvement on what I was on at home & it will continue to rise. I'm out of the rut I was in & I had the balls to stand up & make a decision that will benefit me in the future & not be content to just float through life. My plans are work here for long enough to get the relevant experience needed to be able to go back home, command a respectable wage, settle down & hopefully marry the local girl I've met here.

Money isn't everything lads, job satisfaction is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,592 ✭✭✭Northern Monkey

That never changes - 20s, 30s, 40s 50s !!:)

Just under 70k myself in a promoted PS grade including all allowances/annualised hours (overtime) etc. Single income household since Mrs got laid off a year and a half ago.

It used to be ok until USC and Public Service Pension Related Deduction kicked in :mad:

Cumulative pay this year so far (includes Christmas Eve/Day etc) is 5793.68
    Cumulative mandatory deductions are 2106.97 of which 788.20 is USC/PRD - money we used to have in our pockets but no longer do :(

Not strictly true. PRSI is rolled up into the USC now, so some of that number would have been a deduction anyway. I agree though, hate USC!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭christy02

180Bhoy wrote: »
    Im on 8k from Social Welfare. Would love to swap income with some of ye big earner's for 1 year, just to see the difference in lifestyle. Any of ye have any work for me? Il cut yer lawns or wax yer yachts for €8 an hour..

Unfortunately you get the 8k for nothing. We have to work for our wages. Anyone on 70k plus as already said is very rarely a 9-5 role. We have responsibility and are accountable for results.

Long hours in work and on laptop at home as well. Stress levels high to go with it.

That for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,800 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

In the company my wife works in, the secretary was getting paid more than I do!

I work hard and I have responsibility...more than my pay reflects. The plus side is that I like what I do and I get on with the people I work with.

Financials come into it more now with a newborn so how you weight things up changes as time goes on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Do you think though that the satisfaction comes from their success rather than their money? Take Bill Gates for example. Does it really matter to him if in the morning he makes another 5 billion quid? Probably not, but to make that extra 5 billion he would have had a successful share deal, or came up with a new idea or completed a large sale. I would think that the satisfaction in that case comes from the actual act that generated the money, rather than the money itself. The money is just a useful scoreboard to people like him at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Stheno wrote: »
    I was thinking about the whole salary vs happiness thing today and thought of some of my friends.

Some have had children and sacrificed earning more to spend more time with them, some have had relationships break up and chosen to not advance in their careers due to wanting to invest in the children of those relationships etc

So while one can say everyone can advance, sometimes there are genuine life reasons why they don't or won't.

I know with my partner and I, there is a large gap in what we earn, and neither of us would be happy with the others lifestyle and how we rate work as part of our lives.

^This, big time.

As somebody said on the last page, the high earning jobs are the ones where you don't leave your work in the office at 5pm and forget about it til the morning - it becomes an integral part of your life etc. And that's fine, if that's your priority and what you get joy from in your life. But I would be like your friends, Stheno - when I have kids, being present for them will be my priority. At 5pm every day I would be heading home to get those precious couple of hours with them before bed, end of story.
    My situation is a bit different now as I work from home but again - nowadays I often work days on end, through weekends, because the more work I take on, the more I get paid. But when I have kids I'll be making sure to leave family time in my schedule, even if that means missing out on money.
    There's a certain lifestyle that goes with earning six figures and it's not for everyone.

christy02 wrote:
    Unfortunately you get the 8k for nothing. We have to work for our wages. Anyone on 70k plus as already said is very rarely a 9-5 role. We have responsibility and are accountable for results.

I worked since I was 16. Left go from work last june. Isnt this why I payed tax for 11 years?

Upon reading your post again. Yes ye do work hard for the big salaries. I would too if I had the opportunity. Unfortunately I wasn't willing to make the sacrifices when I finished school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Converted back to euro, I'm on around 48k (£36k). I'm 30 and a software developer, but I'm only in my third year as a full-time developer - only finished my masters at 26 and worked in QA for a bit after that. Would be hoping to go to around £40-45k the next time I move jobs - I'm in London and there's loads of work here.

I think it depends on the person but once financially sound on a mediocre level it's more the achievement or success of reaching that level that interests me. My girlfriend was kind of at me because I talked a lot about a job/position I was aiming at based on the salary that goes with it with the salary being the goal. I was trying to explain to her that it's not really the actual money, it's the achievement that goes with reaching it.

I got offered the position and salary at the end of the year and when I was telling her she couldn't understand why I wasn't more excited about it. I just said that I had gotten it now so it's not really that exciting and was wondering what I would aim at now to have as a target. Don't get me wrong, it's a great position to be in to get decent wages but the excitement is more associated with the success of reaching it than actually getting the money. Similar to the bill gates comment above but maybe on an unimaginably smaller scale :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,250 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Converted back to euro, I'm on around 48k (£36k). I'm 30 and a software developer, but I'm only in my third year as a full-time developer - only finished my masters at 26 and worked in QA for a bit after that. Would be hoping to go to around £40-45k the next time I move jobs - I'm in London and there's loads of work here.
    What are the hours like for software developers in general? Sorry for the generalised question but just a rough idea. Want to get into it but I know I wont stick to it if Im stuck in the office until 7-8 and beyond every night unpaid no matter how much the base salary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

The big money is in the financial sector and they work crazy hours - 50-60/week is nothing unusual at hedge funds and also at small start-ups. I'm with a relatively big telecoms company and I work a fairly standard working day, 40 hrs a week unless there's a crunch to get something released.