Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial things that annoy you Part 27

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Reduced fat coleslaw. It tastes like armpit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Reduced fat coleslaw. It tastes like armpit.

How do you know what arm pit tastes like may i ask ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,215 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Operation Transformation. The scare-mongering and X-Factoresque back stories put me off it completely.

Had bus journey to hell today. All the fookers were on my bus, BESIDE ME AROUND ME . Loud ones, drunk ones, smelly ones.

The drunk was the worst though, I wanted to bust his mouth, he was disgusting pig of a man sitting right across from, got too ****ing familiar. Hate people like that :mad:

rant over.

I like dreadlocks by the way, if they are kept nice, and I think some women can really rock them .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

davidk1394 wrote: »
    How do you know what arm pit tastes like may i ask ??

It tastes like armpit smells and if you can smell something you're breathing it in, so that's how I know.:p It's not like I've got some weird kinky fetish or something.(at least not that I'm willing to discuss here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I go into a supermarket, last week
    there used to be 5 tellers there to serve you,
    now now there s 6 self service scan machines .
    And 1 person at 1 register,
    I wonder who is gonna buy all the goods in the shops,
    when there,s 1000.s of people who lose their jobs due to automation.
    Companys seem willing to spend any amount to devise ways to relace workers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

riclad wrote: »

In fairness, they must be spending less than the staff cost or else they wouldn't be doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭loubian

Being blamed for things in work, bring told it's on record that you were at fault, then you check the record and it wasn't you but the person blaming you in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Jake1 wrote: »
    Had bus journey to hell today. All the fookers were on my bus, BESIDE ME AROUND ME . Loud ones, drunk ones, smelly ones.

The drunk was the worst though, I wanted to bust his mouth, he was disgusting pig of a man sitting right across from, got too ****ing familiar. Hate people like that :mad:

rant over.

This video may make you smile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

In that case you may as well say do away with PCs and bring back rooms full of typists in offices. Get rid of the computers and calculators so we can have dozens of clerks in every business adding up figures and filing paper every where. Ban email so people will have to be employed moving messages around the country. It's progress. Online shopping has an even bigger impact on local jobs than an automated cashier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Its a persons fault that a machine can do their job. Using your noggin is thankfully, something that a machine can never replace. Doing mindless repetitive tasks is madness in fairness. We were not put on this earth for that. The staff should be trained to maintain and improve these auto checkouts. That will keep their job and then some.

But no, blame the machine. Its evil sure...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭danrua01

These are ways to save money, and make more business.

Its a persons fault that a machine can do their job. Using your noggin is thankfully, something that a machine can never replace. Doing mindless repetitive tasks is madness in fairness. We were not put on this earth for that. The staff should be trained to maintain and improve these auto checkouts. That will keep their job and then some.

But no, blame the machine. Its evil sure...

Just you wait for the BoardsForumResponder5000!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 405 ✭✭danrua01

People who ring me and explain their issue. I tell them the resolution. They explain their issue again, in more depth, with information that is irrelevant.

Stop wasting my time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,787 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

Forgetting to bring my prompt cards on the day I have to make a presentation and having to cobble them together from notes I have lying around. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

It is a TA of mine that I have to share breathing space with people write the "word" gaurd (when referring to "Garda" or "guard")

When the hell did this become so common?

My tea keeps going too cold.
    Can you get a little under-cup heater thingie (like a hot plate) that keeps it warm all morning?
    Maybe it could plug into a usb?

/visits kickstarter...

hot dang!!
    http://www.amazon.com/Desktop-heated-coffee-tea-warmer/dp/B0046DNT4Q

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

People on trains that bring a picnic on the train with them. You'd swear they were going to be on the train for the rest of the month

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,580 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Children staring!

Got up to give my seat to a woman here in the doctors surgery, she said she was grand, so I suggested the child could sit down instead...

She hasn't stopped staring at me since, like one of those village of the damned types! Please stop! :o

Children staring!

Got up to give my seat to a woman here in the doctors surgery, she said she was grand, so I suggested the child could sit down instead...

She hasn't stopped staring at me since, like one of those village of the damned types! Please stop! :o

People staring full stop, it's so rude! Being eyeballed by some creptile obviously hating on my good looks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

From LinkedIn this morning, one for some here - ONW, possibly?

"If you want to optimize your Twitter experience do what you do in real life: mute insane people."

LINKITUDE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭veryangryman

People on trains that bring a picnic on the train with them. You'd swear they were going to be on the train for the rest of the month

Might have missed breakfast? Half hour extra sleep and your journey not slowed down.

My TA. How anyone is willing to pay the extra for the train over the bus. Almost every single annoyance (and some more re: drunk people, more packed carts etc) is on the train - the notion of comfort on this is long gone.

"A grand way to travel" GTFO

Might have missed breakfast? Half hour extra sleep and your journey not slowed down.

My TA. How anyone is willing to pay the extra for the train over the bus. Almost every single annoyance (and some more re: drunk people, more packed carts etc) is on the train - the notion of comfort on this is long gone.

Guilty as charged. The only times I've ever been on trains in this country I've been pissed as a fart. The commuters probably weren't best pleased.

If you've time to make sandwiches, a flask of tea and pack crisps and other stuff I didn't see surely to god you'd have time to have a bowl of cornflakes.
    Train is great. I would hate to be stuck on the bus for an hour longer than it takes the train

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Got stuck behind a complete dunce this morning who decided the experience of driving in the snow is greatly enhanced by not bothering their bollix to clean the snow off the windows. All back and side windows were covered and only a patch had been brushed off the front windscreen. I hope they ended up in a fcuking ditch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,202 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

gramar wrote: »
    Got stuck behind a complete dunce this morning who decided the experience of driving in the snow is greatly enhanced by not bothering their bollix to clean the snow off the windows. All back and side windows were covered and only a patch had been brushed off the front windscreen. I hope they ended up in a fcuking ditch.

With every hoor's ghosht flogging ice-scrapers and 500ml of Holts de-icer for a couple of shillings there's no excuse for this sort of thickness. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

gramar wrote: »

Worse when they are on the motorway and all the roof snow slides off nearly killing the poor fcker driving behind them at 100kmh. :mad:

If you've time to make sandwiches, a flask of tea and pack crisps and other stuff I didn't see surely to god you'd have time to have a bowl of cornflakes.
    Train is great. I would hate to be stuck on the bus for an hour longer than it takes the train

Picture the scene - it's 19:30 on Wednesday evening and you've Coronation Street on the tele and a nice cup of tea beside you, but you're not curled up on the couch.

You're in the kitchen, with a sliced pan and a butter knife.

You carefully assemble your sandwiches, tenderly wrapping them in foil, while taking in the latest events from da street (I presume that's how they refer to it). You pop the sandwiches in the fridge, wash and dry your flask and pop a tea bag in, stick some crisps in a bag. You put the bag beside the fridge and the flask beside the kettle.

Roll on to Thursday morning. It's 7:00. Would you rather:

- Your alarm starts blaring and you jump out of bed, organising a hurried breakfast before making a break for the train station, your mouth still scalded from the cup of tea you guzzled down far too quickly.

- You sleep for another 30 minutes. Pop the kettle on, take the sandwiched from the fridge and pop them in the bag with the crisps, fill your Thermos and get out the gap in five minutes - with a nice leisurely breakfast to enjoy on the journey.

?

I envy the shit out of these organised types personally. In fact, you're right, it is trivially annoying how much better at life they are than me. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I have just got the same Super Valu special offers magazine through the door with the post for the 4th time this week FFS. I'll see the offers if I'm in there thanks very much. Time for a No Junk Mail sign I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Simple really - it takes up to an hour to cover just under 6km on the bus to work during rush hour, it takes 10-15 minutes on a bike (if you have a death wish), 20 minutes on the train, 30-35 minutes running, or roughly one hour walking. The bus is the "but I like the misery" option.