Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,474 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    The 96fm report at 4.30 went as follows.....

...in the Harty cup today the score was Are Scoil Rís one hundred and sixteen Hamilton one one nine...

Jesus wept !!

same thing used to happen years ago on bbc final score from northeren ireland but that time it was most likely presented by some good old fashioned prod who had no time for our reckless republican past time!!!

but for a local station and especially in cork to get it wrong like that is laughable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭rughug

same thing used to happen years ago on bbc final score from northeren ireland but that time it was most likely presented by some good old fashioned prod who had no time for our reckless republican past time!!!

but for a local station and especially in cork to get it wrong like that is laughable

Anyone for cricket boys......ffs some of those radio presenters especially on red fm are a bunch of soccer loving nitwits ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭shockframe

Yesterday one point play was disgrace no matter when was as this was a division four team
    Great comeback wait til kerry
    Seriously we got take another hammering in kerry and relegated be division two which will in two years be harder get promoted from but likes yourself say wait til damage I'd done that imo will be irreversible to cork football
    Just cause you fail to see or simply don't want to don't expect grass roots knowledge fans do same with respect.

I wouldnt be at all surprised if the next Cork Kerry meeting was close.

Why? Kerry would have been anxious about Corks underage success and their lack of talent compared to the noughties. Now that Cork look to be in such a heap Kerry know that keeping Cuthbert in as manager is the worst thing for Cork and a good thing for Kerry.

If Cork are beaten out the gate in championship or suffer a few beatings then calls for change grow but if their close it will be another term.

Kerry are fully aware of whats going on with their neighbours and not likely to be pulling all the stops to hammer Cork.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 34,938 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

shockframe wrote: »
    I wouldnt be at all surprised if the next Cork Kerry meeting was close.

I would be totally shocked if it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Lehane should be back in action next week after having his laser eye surgery. He's vital to both Cork and UCC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Last week Cuthbert told the Southern Star that the team was close to where it wants to be ....yesterday 7 days later he tells the press we have a long way to go ....this is a bluffer of the highest .....look at his record ....last year the biggest defeat to Kerry in a Munster final since 1977....yesterday the first loss to Waterford footballers since 1957 ....he should be very very proud of himself .....our only hope now is a players strike ...i mean it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭zetecescort

whatever about Cuthbert, his selectors are destroying their reputations as fine footballers the longer they stay onboard. surely the penny has dropped with one or more of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    Last week Cuthbert told the Southern Star that the team was close to where it wants to be ....yesterday 7 days later he tells the press we have a long way to go ....this is a bluffer of the highest .....look at his record ....last year the biggest defeat to Kerry in a Munster final since 1977....yesterday the first loss to Waterford footballers since 1957 ....he should be very very proud of himself .....our only hope now is a players strike ...i mean it.

And he will be breaking another record in 2 weeks - if/when Dublin beat cork it will be the first time since 1983 that the dubs have beaten cork in cork..........we really are in some ****ing heap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

whatever about Cuthbert, his selectors are destroying their reputations as fine footballers the longer they stay onboard. surely the penny has dropped with one or more of them?

Cant understand this, Ciaran o Sullivan was a hero to me as a player, what is he doing with this set up? as for davis seems to wear his skib hat a lot with cork, while sexton always gave everything when he played and surely he knows having been with larry the damage a bad manager does to a squad?

Cork v Clare fixed for Sat 24th at 1pm in Mallow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Cork v Clare fixed for Sat 24th at 1pm in Mallow

I thought it would be mallow alright said last night
    I heard it on grape vine

sean mac wrote: »
    Cant understand this, Ciaran o Sullivan was a hero to me as a player, what is he doing with this set up? as for davis seems to wear his skib hat a lot with cork, while sexton always gave everything when he played and surely he knows having been with larry the damage a bad manager does to a squad?
    Sean sullivan was my hero too great minds think alike

What an elegant footballee, awesome technical ability some mover on the ball and what a football brain
    Nearest cork half back to paid o se (rip) and tomas o se

But he's never managed senior or minors club team even

They were asked so they accepted
    I don't blame them in few kook gift horse in mouth

I blame Cuthbhert for picking them and I blame ccb for picking Cuthbhert

Sullivan should know about playing lads out position at least in he was played centre forward by Tompkins and made look average when he was impressive half back of sustainable elegance, guile, poise poetry in motion

Sullivan could been goods coach if developed but he ran before he walked

Sexton good football man but no coaching expierence but eoin imo would been good development squads but not rushed to senior

Davis is poor he's interview even last year after a mcgrath cup game was uninspiring
    Tactical mastermind I doubt it
    Very passionate yes no doubt bout game and a gentle man absolutely but no coaching expierence

I have never seen such an inept performance in management selection and when five were announced last year they were being labelled the famous five all they were short was timmy the dog

It reminds me fai telling Irish soccer nation we will deliver a world class management
    Steve Staunton and bobby Robson (rip)
    Moral victory loss Germany ist game but was it draw or late win faore islands being rock bottom Irish soccer

Cork football reminds me similar scenario

However in Irish soccer at least ex pundit and media didn't go along with the trail for long they soon began question results and criticism results

No such thing exists in cork senior football

Just watched donal og and Valerie mulchay on documentary

Brilliant piece so proud of them both cork truly blessed have such wonderful ambassador for cork gaa and indeed cork sport in general
    Both are inspirational people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 ANNONCORK

Smith614 wrote: »
    Lets worry about who we have and not worry about those that aren't there. A good intermediate final in Cork doesn't make any player the answer to Cork troubles. I would like to see him involved to see what he could achieve.

Think he may have proved himself on other occasions than just that intermediate final with all respects!. Just asked incase anyone knew they reason why??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,193 ✭✭✭lukin

Just watched donal og and Valerie mulchay on documentary

Brilliant piece so proud of them both cork truly blessed have such wonderful ambassador for cork gaa and indeed cork sport in general
    Both are inspirational people

Yeah I agree. Cork have the first openly gay male sportsperson and the first openly gay female sportsperson. Fair play to both Donal Og and Valerie Mulcahy.At least we are first at something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

ANNONCORK wrote: »
    Think he may have proved himself on other occasions than just that intermediate final with all respects!. Just asked incase anyone knew they reason why??

And when exactly were those occasions?

TTM... Just a query. You posted at half time of harty match in Charleville yesterday , you mentioned the cold etc . 5 mins later you had a big article about Cork hurling. Half hour later u gave us the result of harty match. I wonder were u at the match at all?
    By the way gallant performance from Hammies but lacked the bit of physical presence of ASR. They found it hard to get past ASR half back line in 2nd half. Horrid cold for young lads to hurl in but credit both teams for great contest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

TTM... Just a query. You posted at half time of harty match in Charleville yesterday , you mentioned the cold etc . 5 mins later you had a big article about Cork hurling. Half hour later u gave us the result of harty match. I wonder were u at the match at all?
    By the way gallant performance from Hammies but lacked the bit of physical presence of ASR. They found it hard to get past ASR half back line in 2nd half. Horrid cold for young lads to hurl in but credit both teams for great contest.

twas bitter cold alright, and fair play to Hammies they fought hard but short a bit of punch up front

Ardscoil impressive but notes strong as last year id say - bit of bust up early on before dey settled and up totime of lynchs goal Hammies were with them although under a bit of pressue goalie made some fabolous saves

ASC will be hard to stop

Yes I was smith replied poster, wasn't that long really article and belive not in actually while spelling never great fast enough type as seem I do lot posting then posted it as half time you know there's break in play and by way was in stand for match seen as you asked
    You look at my posts this is not first time do that

Just prove see long article preview I done match
    I didn't do that half time

If time do them on spot

Has done week in advance
    Saved draft then posted yesterday hardly done it one day
    Think it well know I go harty cup matches by post here
    As you'll see posted bout two player performance half time did I or I did not and not just cold so yes I was there smith

Yes smith I posted results full time
    Brief report I'd day took me less two minutes if even

Why sudden interest smith all sudden recently bout me which with respect isn't first time

This is twice now within week you're making incorrect assumption me at matches

Just cause what you didn't see me typing it at match, you looking for someone In crowd typing ?

Last week you said I was at half time left ptich do report

I never leave ptich half time do game

This is not the ist time with respect you made assumption on me incorrectly

Bitterly cold charville so cold barely type
    Half time 8ard scoil to hammies seven

Epic game cracker

Nothing in it Hamilton can win this started well

Luke meade and Chris o leary having awesome games

They can win it

Full back line holding well and puck outs good also

)

Fao smith

Didn't be fair just mention cold

If you can do better update half time smith fair enough you do it

Ah man, calm down. With the cold yesterday typing a h/t report takes some dedication. OI hopped it to filling station for a cuppa tea instead, should have brought u back 1. How many of hammies lads would make cork minor team?
    ASR not as strong as last yr and themselves and Rochestown should be a cracker. Rocco have a right chance. Rocco forwards will be better than hammies. Unfortunately for hammies the postponememt from last week allowed Lybch enough time to recover from injury picked up over xmas.

Smith I have huge time for your posts we have had many a run in but as you know we often shared info here and info got you regards clem smith I greatly appreciated
    But I'll disappointed by your last few posts

Others I'd expected of not you

You say calm down
    Im perfect calm
    But did or did you not ask me a question!?? Be fair now please
    Now I had two choices ignore your post!! Or reply

You know when you asked me questions regards club involvement bout weeks back I didn't answer and you asked same questions three times at least that I actually had to answer as said it would just go on and on
    You then made false perception I had no involvement club
    In that post and last week and now today called me out by name Thinkstoomuch with direct posts

So I can't win in I don't answer you persist with?? I give you answer you don't like I'm said calm down
    You asked?? Gave you answer nothing more or less

If I ignored your quest today you either keep asking or else think I was avoid question
    I answered a to clarify and b out courtesy

You wanted an answer so I gave you one, I'm sorry not answer you wanted

I can't win either way
    You have made incorrectly assumption on me which your fast to do and I proves you at game
    Were you at the game???
    Why didn't you post half time I could ask but I didn't

Do or have I made same assumption towards you
    No I have not or would have common courtesy and respect not to
    You seem more interest in my posts than talking gaa by trend your posts last while imo

I challenge your views as you do mine and we actually agree good bit time but there difference then in making personal assumptions

Look at my posts most matches again I many times done half time and after match. You say it's dedicated, I'll be honest I don't expect thank here, as said before never here make friends or enemies
    My agenda is gaa nothing more nothing less

I post straight away when can as simply huge huge love gaa and particularly cork school games and know from experience not going games how hard it get update or report straight away so I just post it as for genuine fans who huge interested school hurling etc
    School hurling imo more profile gets better
    You should know by now my posts huge advocacte harty cup and I have huge interest in them so shouldn't be a surprise

In case you may want know as you seem have particular interest, im unsure can make school games tommottow bit if can I'm undecided football or youghal game
    I hope go mallow Saturday though

As you will know from going matches quite common occurrence as many here will agree in sure that at half time or full you have not one bit many fans texting close relations or friends match updates that couldn't make it or do other stuff half time at match on phones and some even ring
    Yes some even ring people
    There's dedication there also not just me
    I post here as I have interest cork gaa
    Look at my history here I don't post any other single thread bar gaa
    Shows my interest gaa thread here

I feel for any lad seen on phone after match or half time posting as thry will be thought of as Thinkstoomuch
    By that logic must be quite few thinks around

Thanks but no thanks for offer tea smith
    I had bottle water with me yesterday so I was fine and if needed tea one lad with me could whipped over road petrol station get me cup tea

In relation to your post regards gaa match itself

Hammies will bar of leary be imo only minor cork

Reilly I think under age I'm not sure but despite brilliant game yesterday and glad played large parts full forward hard see him make panel ahead other cork lads

Meade over age

Kelleher under age but huge competition ahead him

Mackey, grimes casey will start limerick imo

Lynch Gillane are over age
    Houinhan will but where half back or half forward

I agree richedtown can win and I belive they will win
    And I agree lynch being fit had huge bearing on game and if it was last week hammies would won

Just prove many posters who seem quick to point out when I'm wrong I'll take lead role

I got yesterday match wrong in my prediction, yes THINKS WAS WRONG AND I'M NOT ALWAYS RIGHT with match predictione but I'd love meet some one that is

twas bitter cold alright, and fair play to Hammies they fought hard but short a bit of punch up front

Ardscoil impressive but notes strong as last year id say - bit of bust up early on before dey settled and up totime of lynchs goal Hammies were with them although under a bit of pressue goalie made some fabolous saves

ASC will be hard to stop
    Richedtown will win it

I noticed huge difference in Ard scoil this year to last not same invincibility about them

Meaney will start imo as richedtown gave him half last week clearly in mind two weeks time

I belive they have challenge lined up so he'll get game time

If he starts midfield break even and I think richedtown stronger physical wise with lot cork hurling and imo will win and I see one richedtown selectors there game yesterday so he'll have home work on Ard scoil done
    Be close but I think they will win it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

TTM anynews on what you said last week re good news on the way for Cork GAA.....we could do with some ..more so in football !!

The 2 boylans playing for ASR in harty this yr are sons of Dave Boylan who played for the successful Midleton teams in the 80s.
    OK TTM ....truce. Wont be at hurling tomorrow but hope top get to mallow Saturday at 1.

The 2 boylans playing for ASR in harty this yr are sons of Dave Boylan who played for the successful Midleton teams in the 80s.
    OK TTM ....truce. Wont be at hurling tomorrow but hope top get to mallow Saturday at 1.
    Fair enough thanks
    I was never at war with you ist place lad

We challenge each other views we opposite sides with Cusack fair enough but we're right side most time same side

Clare will be great test cork

As regards football fall out from Sunday or lack attention in media doesn't suprise me imo

Waterford deserve immense credit but cork should be more focused on cork not Waterford and all I saw today lauding Waterford but no real criticism cork performance which he deserves be fair

Journalists entitled their opinion fair enough
    I would have disagree with headline today though mcgrath defeat no biggie

I think if you look at team picked, complete playing out position least three quarters team in not one game but last two games, the non fixing midfield and the no defined state play and no coach then huge huge concerns
    Also factor in held score less from play one half football last week
    Once is accident twice is a trend in new Zealand rubgy
    Imagine day all black beat ireland in Rubgy
    They though Dougie howlett after french defeat world cup was bad in airport incident, thry will be an outcry in national media as no all black wants record ist team beaten by ireland in test rubgy
    They have standards they set
    Cork attitude defeat is okay don't read much in it
    Imo it'd acceptance cork can be beaten by lower division teams
    This is with respect Waterford football
    If ucc go for it they will destroy Waterford but judging by fact ucc due play cork final tonight and Waterford wouldn't agree to it I say ucc may not take it seriously and that's Waterford only hope

Cork had no excuse as training last twelve weeks
    And lads fighting for places
    Has anyone yet criticism management does anyone know have they read in media??!
    Why can't cork football be judged on results and defeats are ignored yet victory lauded to no extreme
    I was talking ex kerry under age player today and said attitude cork football is problem and unless it changes cork football will always be poor relation.
    The lad said kerry won't say public but most kerry fans think cork senior football is a joke at moment

A very valid points was made though cork won you're expected to you loose it'd crisis and no win situation

My counter debate is while valid points the fact is this was Waterford div four team, new coach and cork training last three months approx and one point play is appalling as fact certain players are being played with no real justifications on performance

Also huge worry I's Cuthbhert saying last week cork close be where wanted be but now yesterday long way off

Dublin are coming and coming and there going give cork harsh lesson

There's comparison to kerry last year
    There way off imo
    Kerry had proven all ireland winning coach ciwn o Neill and fitzmaurice learned great jack
    They turned it around but they older team
    Cork have no one in management capable turning it around imo
    Cork struggle break down blanked defence again and have always done

.Cork coming in under radar won't work as kerry strive for perfection and won't let cork do number them

No kerry team wants be one looses record in killrney and fitzmaurice doesn't want be that manager
    A mention was made cork die hard had bonus of kerry looking like they were not going well
    Talking few cork men grass roots never ever beloved kerry were gone
    I said kerry would beat cork and beat mayo
    Many other cork lads same as o niell top top coach

If cork are beaten to Dublin will that be time worry!!

If not then when????
    Monaghan??
    Tyrone etc

Moral has be low after Sunday
    Players are not fools either
    Likes Clancy dorman,o dridcoll maguire coming from brilliant professional set up under Morgan at ucc must see huge drop standards when come cork set up

Course players won't say it publicly but thry must know standard are not what expected

A year has passes with numerous mistake by management and yet rarely it's questioned.

This result could I agree be blessing in disguise if lessons were learned from it

Nothing has shown me though management learn from mistakes

Example one
    Midfield being awful every game last year despite not playing leary or dinnen

Playing corner backs half and half backs full or corner

Here we are in no defined system play
    Are we wearing a blanket or football going to be nakedly exposed in white heat championship by being too attack minded??

Have management learned from player management??

Judging by reference to o Connor missed free seems my view blaming him
    Mentioned players made mistakes
    But who picked the players???
    Two taken off showed nothing suggest merit chance

Why wasn't o rourke played earlier and why when team craved creativity
    Why are we hearing two different tunes regards dualism!!

Management said thry ended it
    They did really!!???
    Jbm Walsh said players ended it
    So who do we belive

I watched charlie other night TV
    The one theme he was even open questions yet he though he had power of untouchable and end he was forced resign

Bertie after him and many more politicians from all parties

Cork senior football management imo on the contrary has luxury no other team in sport seems have, a total immunity to valid criticism on performance alone

Fair enough thanks
    I was never at war with you ist place lad

We challenge each other views we opposite sides with Cusack fair enough but we're right side most time same side

Clare will be great test cork

If we agreed on everything we might as well not even log on or express opinions.

Munster GAA Post Primary Schools Dr. Harty Cup Senior A Hurling

Quarter-Final Castletroy CC V Pobalscoil Na Tríonóide
    When – Wednesday January 21st at 1:30pm
    Where – Cahir
    Referee – Noel Cosgrove (Tipperary)

Munster GAA Post Primary Schools Corn Uí Mhuirí Senior A Football

Quarter-Final Clonakilty CC V IS Killorglin
    Where – Clondroihid
    Referee – Richard Moloney

Quarter-Final St Francis Col Rochestown V Colaiste Na Sceilge
    Where – Knocknagree
    Referee – Derek O’Mahoney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Munster GAA Post Primary Schools Dr. Harty Cup Senior A Hurling

Quarter-Final Castletroy CC V Pobalscoil Na Tríonóide
    Where – Cahir
    Referee – Noel Cosgrove (Tipperary)

Quarter-Final Clonakilty CC V IS Killorglin
    Where – Clondroihid
    Referee – Richard Moloney

Quarter-Final St Francis Col Rochestown V Colaiste Na Sceilge
    Where – Knocknagree
    Referee – Derek O’Mahoney
    Good luck to all Cork Schools and hopefully Youghall can join Rochestown in Harty semis - weather could be problem again

don't know how Clonakilty are but surely a fighting chance against Killorglin do I think there a repeat schools so would have a lot on the age

Some acheivemen if Richestown get to S/f but I think twill spoil them for hurling if it hey do but the lads have to have theire chance at football too - Tis hurling will suffer the lovngerthere at the football
    There record at football last few years desperate apart from Frewen last year but it's a talented group of lads so they could do to again tomorrow

Anyone at them might put up a write up