Customs.

• 18-01-2015 07:09AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭

Watching an Australian customs programme,as you do at 6am.
    Struck me that none of these people have obviously ever heard of the interweb.One guy had a knuckle duster,others had a tiny amount of cannabis and some sort of banned seed.

Ever been caught with something you shouldn't oughta have had ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Irish customs are notoriously laxed, that's how the Kinahan's get all the dope into the country. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Irish customs are notoriously laxed, that's how the Kinahan's get all the dope into the country. :eek:

I know it's awful we cant be drug free like rest of the civilised world :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭sabat

Every one of those episodes is the same. Always with the Chinese grannies smuggling food.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭FluffyAngel

I got caught with 90 kilos of dope ...

i hope that nobody ever has to go through what i experinced ,it was demeaning to the body and soul
    friends looked at me and shyed away

it eventually ended up in court after 5 years and the judge (god bless his cotton socks) saw sense and gave me what i deserved

that day i walked free from court was the sweetest ,kindness moment of my life ..
    The air was different ,people were kinder

Each step took on a whole new meaning

dare i say it ,i felt free

il never forget the judges parting words to me ,Dave your now a free and divorced man ..enjoy ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭chrysagon

I got caught with 90 kilos of dope ...

i hope that nobody ever has to go through what i experinced ,it was demeaning to the body and soul
    friends looked at me and shyed away

it eventually ended up in court after 5 years and the judge (god bless his cotton socks) saw sense and gave me what i deserved

that day i walked free from court was the sweetest ,kindness moment of my life ..
    The air was different ,people were kinder

Each step took on a whole new meaning

dare i say it ,i felt free

il never forget the judges parting words to me ,Dave your now a free and divorced man ..enjoy ...

yer ex weighed 90 kgs...:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

sabat wrote: »
    Every one of those episodes is the same. Always with the Chinese grannies smuggling food.

Yeah some Ozzie prick shouting at some asian grannie

"Hey Grannie ya can't take an orange off the plane. Now we're genna havta strip seach ya and send ya back home"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Caught that show once or twice. Australian customs and immigration staff seem highly competent. Ever see the clip where they rumbled the Irish chap?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 126 ✭✭harrymagina

Got charged a fortune for 200 anal plugs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Yea the USA with its war on drugs, billions spend fighting it, use of foreign countries armed forces, all in a bid to stop the flow of illegal drugs across its borders is doing such a fine job.

It's good job for them they are not up against the Irish gangsters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭The Royal Scam

I remember last year there while queuing to get onto the boat in France. There was 3 armed guards like swat dudes going around the cars and sussing shīt out. 2 of them had sniffer dogs.
    1 of them was working the cars and the other was walking along the top of an artic.....
    When I arrived back in Ireland we were met by the equivalent. A big chunky lad with a Garda windbreaker doing the perfect slouch on plastic chair and a dog fast asleep with it's 4 legs up in the air on the ground beside him.
    Welcome to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I remember last year there while queuing to get onto the boat in France. There was 3 armed guards like swat dudes going around the cars and sussing shīt out. 2 of them had sniffer dogs.
    1 of them was working the cars and the other was walking along the top of an artic.....
    When I arrived back in Ireland we were met by the equivalent. A big chunky lad with a Garda windbreaker doing the perfect slouch on plastic chair and a dog fast asleep with it's 4 legs up in the air on the ground beside him.
    Welcome to Ireland.

Wish I lived in drug free France...what's with all the Irish customs bashing ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

realies wrote: »
    Wish I lived in drug free France...what's with all the Irish customs bashing ??

They are not very good. The GNIB lads in the passport control huts barely even look at your passport when coming in. Compare and contrast with the Australians immigration and customs officials.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

realies wrote: »
    Yea the USA with its war on drugs, billions spend fighting it, use of foreign countries armed forces, all in a bid to stop the flow of illegal drugs across its borders is doing such a fine job.

It's good job for them they are not up against the Irish gangsters.

What I'm saying is that Irish customs is not up to scratch, I've come back from places and have had a sleepy guard half checking passports and grunting. It's bloody ridiculous, I want to be searched and have sniffer dogs and custom officers go over my luggage.

We're seen as being soft in these areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭relax carry on

What I'm saying is that Irish customs is not up to scratch, I've come back from places and have had a sleepy guard half checking passports and grunting. It's bloody ridiculous, I want to be searched and have sniffer dogs and custom officers go over my luggage.

Customs aren't in charge of immigration issues, that's the Gardai. And you want everyone coming to Ireland via airports and ports to be searched? 1 Are you OK? 2 How would you fund this and the avalanche of complaints this would entail? How would you get around EU legislation re the freedom of movement within its borders?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

They are not very good. The GNIB lads in the passport control huts barely even look at your passport when coming in. Compare and contrast with the Australians immigration and customs officials.

Coming back from a trip a few years ago and it was only after we'd got through the GNIB checks I realised myself and my son had each other's passports - all the same I was flattered the copper thought I looked 14!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Rabo Karabekian

I presume they are checking your details when you're on the plane. If you're coming from somewhere dodgy or your flight itinerary history is interesting, this would probably be flagged. But coming from an EU country with all the checks done, then you're free to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

The best one was my wife's friend coming back from her holidays. As she neared the customs clearance she started to go through her handbag to locate her passport. She was tearing through the bag at a rate of knots and was getting agitated that she couldn't find it. The customs official looked at her and then says "ah sure go on ahead, you look Irish enough"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Our GAA club went to Coventry one year for a weekend. One of the guys had to pull out at the last minute and another lad took his place. Couldn't change flight details so he just travelled on the other guys passport and no issues in Shannon or Coventry for passport check.

Like everything else with Australians they are a pain in the arse when it comes to customs too judging by that programme.

I'd much prefer it here where you can walk into the country with out automatically being assumed to be a criminal. There shouldn't even be border control on flights form within the EU to Ireland anyway and from Flights outside the eu they do check more. Just be thankful customs don't check more or all the cheap clothes and electronics we buy in the US would be more difficult to bring in too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Anyone remember the episode where they had the Irish redhead guy on and used subtitles to explain what he was saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,581 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Got a talking to for not declaring a box of chocolates when arriving in australia

I was able to hang on to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Anyone remember the episode where they had the Irish redhead guy on and used subtitles to explain what he was saying?

I had trouble catching most of it in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,585 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

What is the deal with that? Is there a warning on the Chinese Dept. of Foreign Affairs website saying "Australia is experiencing severe famine. Bring as much food as you can carry or you may starve to death"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Collie D wrote: »
    What is the deal with that? Is there a warning on the Chinese Dept. of Foreign Affairs website saying "Australia is experiencing severe famine. Bring as much food as you can carry or you may starve to death"?

It's usually frog gizzards and lizard eyes and other such obscure and appetising animal parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,613 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

If you're coming from somewhere dodgy or your flight itinerary history is interesting, this would probably be flagged
    I doubt it as they have never stopped me :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

kneemos wrote: »
    It's usually frog gizzards and lizard eyes and other such obscure and appetising animal parts.

They are usually items which cost a small fortune in Australia and are usually brought in illegally for restaurants in Australia, they seem to think that the grannies won't get checked but when they have several times their bodyweight in luggage it is going to raise an eyebrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,079 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

I traveled to Australia in the middle of the Foot and Mouth crisis. By God it was madness on the Oz side. Thought they were going to put us into quarantine.

That show is gas though, "Step away from the Noddles, Granny"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Frogeye

Welcome to Ireland.

But sure hadn't the french lads done all the work on their side so why did he need to bother? Efficient use of resources if you ask me. No point sniffing you twice!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Tope

Here’s an odd one, maybe someone can figure out the reasoning behind it. I went to Amsterdam last year, and while waiting to board the plane in Dublin airport (after check-in), a couple of customs guys with a sniffer dog came along and we all had to line up and let the dog sniff us. They didn’t stop anyone and off we went.
    Then after arriving in Amsterdam, there were plenty of guards with sniffer dogs around Schiphol train station (attached to the airport) – I saw one girl get stopped and searched when the dog took an interest in her backpack.
    But on the flight home a few days later - me slightly nervous as my (empty) coat pockets were exuding a suspicious aroma - we didn’t see one sniffer dog. None in Schiphol airport, and none in Dublin when we arrived home.

What’s the logic there, eh? Surely searching people arriving from Amsterdam would make more sense? Or do they think giving us a warning sniff on the way out would be enough to discourage any funny business on the way back?