Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - Read Mod Warning in OP 7/1/15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

J. Marston wrote: »
    Arsenal winning this is a disaster.

They won't win though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

A disaster???????? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,902 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

adox wrote: »
    A disaster???????? :confused:

We aren't going to win the title, so the other 3rd/4th place hopefulls losing is better than City losing. Arsenal winning this is not a good look for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,057 ✭✭✭✭adox

We aren't going to win the title, so the other 3rd/4th place hopefulls losing is better than City losing. Arsenal winning this is not a good look for us.

Yeah I know all that and it's not the result we want but....a disaster?

Hardly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Arsenal are one point behind us now and they always get top four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭Quandary

If LVG drops this insane 3 centre backs crap we would most likely make top 4 at a canter. If he persists with it then I would be genuinely worried about our chances.

On an unrelated note, Cazorla is having an incredible game against City. Quality player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

And there starting to get into form which is worrying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,594 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I think it just serves to highlight the points we've dropped over the last few weeks and how we should have taken advantage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,234 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

There's two frequent posters in here that over exaggerate, especially when being negative. Often worded in a tabloid journo style.

Now I know I don't have to read there posts etc but it gets very tiresome

Disaster me balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭edgecutter

Wouldn't worry to much about them, we need to concentrate on ourselves and we will get there.

Besides Arsenal's worst enemy is coming, February :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Arsenal play better football and are slowly getting players fit, we need to be worried now, Southampton got through their tough period relatively unscathed and have favourable enough fixtures from here out

5th place would be a disaster, let's hope Van Gaal starts getting the team right and soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

They won't win though.

Don't take betting tips from this guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

great result yesterday, was looking like a 0-0 until we went 4 at the back and finally got rid of this 3 center backs nonsense.

we were shocking for the first 55 minutes (though were improved after half time) but i thought we were excellent after that and its as good as we have played for months, Newcastle game aside.

if LVG persists with that s*ite hoofball game, we will not finish in the top 5 so its up to him now to sort it. if we dont finish top 4, its his fault and theres no excuse for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Arsenal only a point behind now, played great today

nuxxx wrote: »
    Arsenal only a point behind now, played great today

They really were very impressive alright but City were utter muck. Watching city today reminded me a bit of how we played at OT against Southampton.

LVG really needs to wake up and smell the 4-3-3 now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

Top 4 getting very close now - we absolutely have to win our next few games .. Those 3 points yesterday are priceless given Arsenal, Southamption, Liverpool, West Ham and Spurs all won.

LvG has to cop on now and leave the ego behind, the PL is a different kettle of fish then every other league in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

A stinker of a week, a stinker of a month, a stinker of a few games. These I can handle, you shouldn't get to have a stinker of a season. It's why we still have Valencia in the team, it's why Nani and Anderson are still on the books. United need to be more ruthless, I'm fed up with holding on to mediocre players because they had a good season a few years back. We should be aiming for the best available in each position with the money available and wages offered. It's no use having a frontline of Falcao, Rooney, RvP, Di Maria and Mata with Jones Evans and Smalling at the back. Some of these lads would be laughed out of any of the big clubs on the continent.

Ah it's a fair opinion I guess, these stinkers happen though I still have fath in our options I just don't trust them to stay fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,236 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Hope it doesn't come to this but if we miss out on 4th I presume LVG will be sacked and possibly the likes of Di maria will be off?

billyhead wrote: »
    Hope it doesn't come to this but if we miss out on 4th I presume LVG will be sacked and possibly the likes of Di maria will be off?

Don't see anyone giving us 68m for him. LVG will be lucky to keep his job.

I'm not overly worried about an Arsenal win today. Win, lose or draw today they are going to be top 4 rivals for us by the time April/May rolls around.

What I do like though is City losing, here's why;

It opens up 2nd place as a possibility to a few teams including United. Up until a couple of weeks ago it could be said that Chelsea and City were out of sight of the rest, but City have dropped silly points like ourselves recently against teams such as Everton and Burnley.

They've lost today at home vs Arsenal, and their next league game is away to Chelsea on January 31st. Anything could happen with the result of this game, but it isn't highly unlikely for City to drop more points here. 3rd placed Southampton have Swansea at home next, and United have Leicester at home. It is quite possible that the gap between 2nd and 4th could be as little as 4 points going into February.

Of course, for us to challenge City and Southampton for 2nd, there are some tactical adjustments and improvements needed on our part. However we do have a kind run of games coming up the next 6-7 weeks, kinder than Southampton who have QPR away and Liverpool and West Ham at home in February. They also have West Brom away on Feb 28th which could be a tricky fixture by the time it rolls around and Tony Pulis has further instilled himself at that club.

I'm not counting City out, to do that would be foolish and a win for them vs Chelsea will bring them to within 2 points of the top. I just think it's a very interesting league at the moment and anything could yet happen between 2nd and 8th, there are possibly 3 out of the top 4 spots still up for the taking.

If we don't make top 4 with the level of investment this year then I don't think too many people would complain if LVG got the sack.

DDG, Rooney, RVP, Mata, Di Maria, Falcao, Herrera, Carrick, Fellaini, Blind, Rojo, Shaw, Rafael etc....

Considering we are out of all but the FA cup, not getting top 4 with that list of players would be completely unforgivable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Messi on a hatrick now. That transfer price just sky rocketed :-D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Headshot wrote: »
    Messi on a hatrick now. That transfer price just sky rocketed :-D
    Yep.

Actually no, not really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

All my work to include a smiley meaning I was being sarcastic was for naught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Our nightmare March and April could be softened by the fact that up to 5 of our opponents could be involved in European action the week we play them, 4 of which will be directly after their game and some sandwiched in between European games.

For it to happen, Chelsea, Liverpool, spurs and city all need to advance one round, Everton two rounds and the draws going our way.

Could look something like this
    Europa league
    spurs
    Europa league
    Liverpool
    city
    champions league
    Chelsea
    Europa league
    Everton

Forgive me if I'm wrong here and I'm aware that Spurs and Liverpool could be week earlier/ later due to the rotation of the draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Neither Carrick or Rojo have looked so consistently inept in possession as Evans and neither are making such high profile mistakes so regularly either. Anyone can have an odd slip up here and there, especially in a team not functioning too well but there's a point where you have to say f*ck that, this is just not acceptable to continue with.

How long has he been in bad form though? Half a season? In a new, dysfunctional, formation; adapting to a new style of football, while also missing time with injury and playing in a completely unsettled defence. I've never rated Evans particularly highly, so I can't defend him very much, but for the people who did rate him to lose faith in him so quickly doesn't make sense.

I'd understand wanting to replace Smalling or Jones because of their injury problems, they're very frustrating in that regard, especially Smalling. In terms of their quality though, they are not the problem right now. The problem with this team is the clusterfùck the manager is making of the midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Rob Thomas

stankratz wrote: »
    I'm not overly worried about an Arsenal win today. Win, lose or draw today they are going to be top 4 rivals for us by the time April/May rolls around.

What I do like though is City losing, here's why;

It opens up 2nd place as a possibility to a few teams including United. Up until a couple of weeks ago it could be said that Chelsea and City were out of sight of the rest, but City have dropped silly points like ourselves recently against teams such as Everton and Burnley.

They've lost today at home vs Arsenal, and their next league game is away to Chelsea on January 31st. Anything could happen with the result of this game, but it isn't highly unlikely for City to drop more points here. 3rd placed Southampton have Swansea at home next, and United have Leicester at home. It is quite possible that the gap between 2nd and 4th could be as little as 4 points going into February.

Of course, for us to challenge City and Southampton for 2nd, there are some tactical adjustments and improvements needed on our part. However we do have a kind run of games coming up the next 6-7 weeks, kinder than Southampton who have QPR away and Liverpool and West Ham at home in February. They also have West Brom away on Feb 28th which could be a tricky fixture by the time it rolls around and Tony Pulis has further instilled himself at that club.

I'm not counting City out, to do that would be foolish and a win for them vs Chelsea will bring them to within 2 points of the top. I just think it's a very interesting league at the moment and anything could yet happen between 2nd and 8th, there are possibly 3 out of the top 4 spots still up for the taking.

This is nice thinking but fanciful. The focus for the next 10 games needs to be to consolidate 3rd. City are dropping points but their squad is miles better than ours at the moment and they are more capable of a run of wins at this stage than we are. At the moment, no one would back us to collect more points than them between now and the end of March.

UTD is very much a work in progress and LVG needs to realise its about playing to suit the personnel and not imposing formations which don't work.

We're not on course to get anywhere near enough points to do any better than 3rd. And at the moment, 3rd would be a fair result for the season.

Rob Thomas wrote:
    This is nice thinking but fanciful. The focus for the next 10 games needs to be to consolidate 3rd. City are dropping points but their squad is miles better than ours at the moment and they are more capable of a run of wins at this stage than we are. At the moment, no one would back us to collect more points than them between now and the end of March.

I don't think they're miles ahead it term of quality. There just more organised right now.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,995 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Re. Defence vs City's.

That's all down to De Gea. Not the defenders....