Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Same as the green one 2.3T :)

Why is it more expensive to insure?

What year is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Why is it more expensive to insure?

What year is it?

I've no idea to be entirely honest! its the same year 00 same engine, its probably cos its a dark blue :o so far a few people have mistaken it for black, so now i get to use this where ever it happens :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

So then there were two...

Passat-car-trailer.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

From reddit

XzrefPO.jpg

Polish driving license under UV light! :D :cool:

Anyone here have one to check?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Two of a kind!

QSQPokml.jpg

NZiAhs.jpg

Also got him to look at my un-openable boot.

He got the boot open, found a broken wire and soldered it together. Apparently a common enough issue.

Checked it in the garage and it seemed grand. However, on the drive home I kept getting warnings on the dash that my boot was open. Got out to close it, but it's already closed!

So now i have gone from having a car with a locked boot, to having a car with a locked boot, and everything else open, because the car won't lock the doors if it thinks the boot is open! :mad: Back to mechanic after lunch, so... :(

The car was brought back to mechanic after lunch, and I still haven't gotten it back. I heard from him today and he said he was over with the local Peugeot dealer getting a wiring loom (which apparently didn't fix things).

From what I understand, he's managing to fix it, but only temporarily. Then it goes back to the boot being locked and unopenable again for no apparent reason.

He's had it two days now, and it's still an open-ended issue. Not looking forward to the bill. :(

The car was brought back to mechanic after lunch, and I still haven't gotten it back. I heard from him today and he said he was over with the local Peugeot dealer getting a wiring loom (which apparently didn't fix things).

From what I understand, he's managing to fix it, but only temporarily. Then it goes back to the boot being locked and unopenable again for no apparent reason.

He's had it two days now, and it's still an open-ended issue. Not looking forward to the bill. :(

Feck sake :( does anyone know anything about it on the 407 forums?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,406 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Dord wrote: »
    [...]

Anyone here have one to check?

Checked two, although issued earlier than that one (2004 and 2005). They have UV-visible elements, but different ("PL" on a kind of background).

Feck sake :( does anyone know anything about it on the 407 forums?

Not really. Most are saying a wire breaks in the boot, causing the lock to not function. Which seemed to be the case alright, but it didn't fix anything when it got sorted.

It's just the one problem I really didn't need. :mad: Anything mechanical i could have dealt with. But on open-ended issue like this is just too much for my head at the moment, I think.

I just hate that the boot had to break instantly after the new battery went in (the battery being the last thing on my 'to do' list). The 407 is like the ultimate troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

joujoujou wrote: »
    Checked two, although issued earlier than that one (2004 and 2005). They have UV-visible elements, but different ("PL" on a kind of background).

I wonder does the irish card have anything. Don't have a UV light to check though.

Not really. Most are saying a wire breaks in the boot, causing the lock to not function. Which seemed to be the case alright, but it didn't fix anything when it got sorted.

It's just the one problem I really didn't need. :mad: Anything mechanical i could have dealt with. But on open-ended issue like this is just too much for my head at the moment, I think.

I just hate that the boot had to break instantly after the new battery went in (the battery being the last thing on my 'to do' list). The 407 is like the ultimate troll.

You've clearly never owned a saab so :pac:

I'll ask a guy i know tomorrow about it and see if he might have an idea, he's a bit of an electrical master, used to work for renault :pac:

You've clearly never owned a saab so :pac:

Yeah, but does the Saab have a big stupid smile on it's face every time you look at it!?

D929F4222097487DBBB013301974B036-0000333410-0003658388-00800L-23D17DF0E0954B01B9E3A70E0B65DA78.jpg

It looks like this fella > :D

I'll ask a guy i know tomorrow about it and see if he might have an idea, he's a bit of an electrical master, used to work for renault :pac:
    Well mechanic reckons its something to do with me having changed the battery (and i'd presume he's right). Apparently you can't just go changing batteries in these cars, you have to have them wired up to something or some nonsense. Just fed up with it.

Oh Rav4.. what a mistake I've made..

05-cryingman-290212-de.jpg

The joys of motoring eh? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Need to get 4 tyres tomorrow for the Focus. Does the sidewall thickness make any difference, apart from being a tad dearer? 16 rims, 55 on the back, 50 on the front. Personally, I rather having less sidewall.

The joys of motoring eh? :rolleyes:

It makes you thankful, though, for people like yourself and forums like this where you can vent and rant and read and learn and such.

I know I've been moaning about the 407 a lot lately, but I still enjoy reading up what other people are doing.

The general feeling I'm getting from the forum lately (and i could be wrong of course) is that there's a bit of a separation in the members.. everyone either seems to be looking to buy a new/different car and have a few quid in their back pocket to spend, or their having problems with their car or looking to address issues.

Again, could be just the threads that I'm clicking into, and posts I'm reading, but most people seem to be having some hassle. Even DGT was giving out about getting the runaround after going to see a car that he was told was driving, but wasn't.

Seems January is being a cold month in many ways...

Which is good. Makes me feel better. I want everyone to have worse luck than me :pac: :D

Need to get 4 tyres tomorrow for the Focus. Does the sidewall thickness make any difference, apart from being a tad dearer? 16 rims, 55 on the back, 50 on the front. Personally, I rather having less sidewall.

You'l feel every crack in the road so! I've been told lower profile tyres tend to do that, don't hold me to that though, i could be entirely wrong

Ya that's what I was told too, but surely there's not much difference between 50's and 55's. Still plenty of sidewall, you'd think you shouldn't be feeling everything with a smaller rim, as opposed to a 19 for example.

I went a size up on my front two tyres. People on here and the fitters of the tyres all said it wouldnt/shouldnt make any difference.

However, for a couple days after having them fitted, there was a loud 'thumping' noise when the front of the car would drop (speed bumps most notably). It disappeared after a while, but i have to blame the tyres as it only appeared when they were put on.

Also, when you turn full lock, there's a squealing noise (sounds like the tyres rubbing).

So although the size difference is negligible, I'd be hesitant to go up a size, anyway. But that's just me.

EDIT: Sorry.. ignore me, I think I completely mis-read your question.

No not really, I wanna come down a size :pac:

Ya that's what I was told too, but surely there's not much difference between 50's and 55's. Still plenty of sidewall, you'd think you shouldn't be feeling everything with a smaller rim, as opposed to a 19 for example.

Oh no not at all, sure I've a lower profile on my 900 and its 5mm? lower but they both look the same like

The 50's are on the front and 55's on the back. Looking at the car from the side, there looks to be a bit of a difference, the front looking better. Maybe that's also due to the front of the car being heavier than the rear.

Well i suppose it's be best to ask at the tyre shop!

Yar, I enquired a while back when getting a puncture fixed. I said will it make much difference, he said no, a fiver

You shoulda said "ah well then you can afford to get that smart arse of yours looked at" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Is there 205/55/16 on your car as that's about the most common size on irish roads making it the cheapest size or are they 215/55/16 like some fords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

The size of the sidewall depends on the width of the tyre. To be honest if they are the same width I'd prefer the slightly better ride as you're not going to get any noticeable handling gain. If they are not the original size there'll be a slight speedo inconsistency too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Collected the exhaust today, perfect nick!
    Fermoy is a distance away!!!
    Fitting in the morning :)

Anything strange happen here today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

YbFocus wrote: »
    Collected the exhaust today, perfect nick!
    Fermoy is a distance away!!!
    Fitting in the morning :)

Anything strange happen here today?

You should have given me a shout that you were down here! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

You should have given me a shout that you were down here! :P

I was with a friend in a Primastar at 7pm in the worst weather in living memory, really? :D
    On another note, bmwhaus is fantastic, I should have joined much earlier when you said!