Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Just shows how bad the standard is nowadays in the BDO.
    Despite that bloke being so bad, it still took 'Wolfie' (BDO poster boy) 26 darts to win the leg.
    Imagine how badly he'd be humiliated in the PDC!

Bad? the lad was so drunk he could barely stand up let alone see the dart board.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

menoscemo wrote: »
    In his last professional match in 1990 he said: "I've had 24 pints of extra strong lager and eight double vodkas and I'm still not drunk."

Like something I would come out with trying to get into a nightclub
    years back :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Today the plan called for 14 miles "long run".

Spent the morning taking down the xmas icicle roof lights and other assorted electricity munching twinkling displays.

Felt good when I eventually headed off 2pm. Started the run at Rossaveal cross and did a 7 mile out and back run up Seanadh Pheistin. The sensation of feeling good was to be very short lived as after only a couple of metres it became clear that I had tightened up considerably overnight and I felt very stiff and lethargic from head to toe. I knew that it was gonna be a struggle but I haven't been hitting my planned long runs lately so I was determined to suck it up and get it done no matter what. At least it was a beautiful sunny day to have a difficult run :)

I'm gonna try and do as many of my long runs over this route as its quite hilly and should be beneficial for Boston.

Todays 14 miles was the longest run since Valencia and it felt it! Best thing that can be said about it is that its in the bank.

Splits:

TbL

Today the plan called for the 4 mile nursing home special.

Today has been a crazy busy, I was up really early to travel to London and once there was caught up non stop till almost 9pm. At this stage I still had a few hours work to do so I though of canning/ deferring the run, instead I grabbed something light to eat and hit the hotel treadmill. Staggeringly boring as the gym is tiny, no music or anyone else on there and the telly was broken. Spent just over 39 mins watching the luminous numbers very slowly tick up to 4 miles.

Back to the room to do some auld man stretches while listening to Black Sabbaths, "Paranoid". I'm about as supple as a rusty iron bar and need to work more on this!

TbL

Today the plan called for 4/7 easy miles am/pm. A very late night last night and another manic day at work meant that I didn't get out at all this morning.

I got moved across London, near Heathrow and it was after 8 by the time I got to my hotel on Stockley Road. Before I got too comfortable and lazy I put on the gear and headed out. Ran by Stockley park and continued on passing areas that could be euphemistically described as needing some maintenance! Maybe it's coz I'm trying to manage my diet better at the moment, and I'm going through junk food cold turkey but there seemed to be a huge concentration of fast food joints of every conceivable variety.

I manfully ignored the greasy aromas and continued on some of the paths were in terrible condition and I had to concentrate on my foot placement. Went a little past Uxbridge before turning around and retracing my steps back to the hotel. Was happy with the run as I ended up getting 10 miles done @ 8.32

Happier with the last few days and although it's not huge mileage things seem to be coming together a bit. Last 5 days I've done 8, 10, 14, 4, & 10 miles.

Finished up with a swim and jacuzzi in the hotel.

TbL

Plan today called for 8 miles easy.

Got up early this morning for this one as if I didn't get it done early I wouldn't get it done at all as I'm flying back to Shannon this afternoon and heading to Dublin via Connemara later tonight!

The early morning daylight confirmed last nights impression that the area was ascetically challenged (ie. a **** hole) :) and I was happy enough that I was able to get into Stockley park and off the bad paving after a couple of miles. The park seemed to be very big and incorporated a golf course and some soccer pitches. There were hardened gravel paths for most of the run but it got very mucky and slippery in places. It was enjoyable enough but it would have been much better if there were tarred paths!!! Don't know how ye XC boys claim that ye enjoy running through all that mucky mess, shower of feckin masochists :)

A couple of times grey squirrels darted across the path in front of me, got a awful fright the first time it happened. Ended up enjoying the few miles in the park if not the terrain!

Durning the run I also noticed that there seemed to be an inordinately high number of quality cars parked in driveways of houses that could only be described as dilapidated, maybe it's just a random thing but it stuck in my mind as being curious.

Didn't quite manage the 8 miles but got 7.76 done @ 8.18 (would have been a fair bit quicker only for the XC sections!)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice going, C.

Have ye no grey squirrels in the bog at all? Plenty of them around the capital.

Murph_D wrote: »
    Nice going, C.

Have ye no grey squirrels in the bog at all? Plenty of them around the capital.

Tnx Murph,

Never sighted one in all my years running through Boggerland.

Are you sure you auld eyesight isn't letting you down and it's those big vermin rats that you're seeing on your runs through the capital!

TbL

Today I was to be reacquainted with those magical mystery sessions with coach, that I so enjoy!! Hadn't done one in a long time and I never know what's in store till I actually turn up.

I was supposed to drive to Dublin last night but as it was my daughters birthday yesterday I decided instead to push out my meetings a bit and drive up this morning to get the session done.

I've had cold sores and other assorted blisters around my lips/face since Christmas and haven't been able to shave over my lip for a few days. The end result is a dodgy tash! I look like a member of the dodgier band "The Village People", and when Ecoli opened his door I could see he was wondering "what the fcuk is that!" But of course he was too polite to mention it, might have been a different story if I was running with some of my less civilised Boards running dates :)

Session was to be a 2 mile wu/cd followed by 6x1k(ish) off two minutes recovery. We set off on the warm up running past the two lad water charges protest at the end of his road and on to the "other side" of Tymon Park.

The loop had a bit of an incline at the start another in the middle and a nice section of downhill to finish. There was a bit of wind to contend with and the odd tight turn too.

Found the first one tough and wondered how I was gonna manage 5 more. The 2 & 3rd reps were the easiest and I really started to struggle on the 4th but with Ecoli shouting encouragement and reminding me about form I managed to get through it. The 5th had me almost puking and if I hadn't Ecoli with me I wouldn't have finished the session but I soldiered on and got the 6th done. Walked for a bit afterwards before finishing with a cool down jog. As usual got some great analysis and advise and despite finding it a tough session I was buzzing that I'd finished it as it's the quickest I've run in yonks!

I've looked over my log from the last cycle and with over 15 weeks to go to Boston I'm in much better shape than I was at the same time last cycle. Running mojo is also starting to come back in spades. (But not enough to take up Yaboya 's offer of a few miles tonight, I'll catch you again P)

Next session I'll bring my Indian headdress and leather shorts and test Ecoli's politeness :)

Splits: for .66 mile rep

VILLAGE PEOPLE LYRICS

"Y.M.C.A."

Young man, there's no need to feel down.
    I said, young man, pick yourself off the ground.
    I said, young man, 'cause you're in a new town
    There's no need to be unhappy.

Young man, there's a place you can go.
    I said, young man, when you're short on your dough.
    You can stay there, and I'm sure you will find
    Many ways to have a good time.

It's fun to stay at the Y.M.C.A.

They have everything for you men to enjoy,
    You can hang out with all the boys ...

You can get yourself clean, you can have a good meal,
    You can do whatever you feel...

Young man, are you listening to me?

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

You turned up for your running date with a dodgy tache - please tell me Ecoli didn't offer you a rub down at the end!! :D

Seriously though, good to hear that your mojo is back!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 558 ✭✭✭ECOLII

Next session I'll bring my Indian headdress and leather shorts and test Ecoli's politeness :)

:eek::eek::eek:

Do and you will be shipped off to Camp Turd

ECOLII wrote: »
    :eek::eek::eek:

Do and you will be shipped of to Camp Turd

Haha

Wouldn't that make a pretty threesome, Meno could wear his Mexican gear :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭SamforMayo

Jaysus you after making me spill my tea laughing, and laughing is not good as I have a sore tummy and now I have spilt tea as well!

Tnx Murph,

Never sighted one in all my years running through Boggerland.

Are you sure you auld eyesight isn't letting you down and it's those big vermin rats that you're seeing on your runs through the capital!

TbL

Apparently there are still a few red squirrels left in St. Anne's Park, but the grey lads are everywhere and have pretty much driven them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Murph_D wrote: »
    but the grey lads are everywhere

That's true, and not just of squirrels in St Anne's :P

The plan today called for 4/7 easy miles am/pm.

Was very tired this morning and just rolled over and hit the alarm a smack when it went off early this morning (I've given Mrs TbL enough warnings that she shouldn't shake me so much when trying to wake me :) )

To get any sort of mileage done today I had to take a longer lunch break because I'd some work related stuff to finish tonight. Headed to the UCG pitches in Dangan to get some miles done. It was very wet and wild and the gravel paths and trails were fairly waterlogged but at least the trees around some of the pitches provided some cover against the wind. Spent the first few miles skipping over and around puddles before just sucking it up and accepting the inevitable soaking. Durning daylight hours this place is usually very busy with walkers and runners but there was hardly a soul about.

Had very low expectations for this run but apart from the irritation of bits of gravel getting into my shoes I enjoyed it and ended up doing 11.18 miles @ 8.07 pace. Happy with that as I covered off the total daily miles after initially setting out to do the 7.

TbL

The plan today called for 4/7 easy miles am/pm.

Was very tired this morning and just rolled over and hit the alarm a smack when it went off early this morning (I've given Mrs TbL enough warnings that she shouldn't shake me so much when trying to wake me :) )

To get any sort of mileage done today I had to take a longer lunch break because I'd some work related stuff to finish tonight. Headed to the UCG pitches in Dangan to get some miles done. It was very wet and wild and the gravel paths and trails were fairly waterlogged but at least the trees around some of the pitches provided some cover against the wind. Spent the first few miles skipping over and around puddles before just sucking it up and accepting the inevitable soaking. Durning daylight hours this place is usually very busy with walkers and runners but there was hardly a soul about.

Had very low expectations for this run but apart from the irritation of bits of gravel getting into my shoes I enjoyed it and ended up doing 11.18 miles @ 8.07 pace. Happy with that as I covered off the total daily miles after initially setting out to do the 7.

TbL

11 miles - long lunch break??? That's a bleeding half day ya took!! :D

Tom Joad wrote: »
    11 miles - long lunch break??? That's a bleeding half day ya took!! :D

Haha J,

remember I know where you work and 90 mins is definitely a half days work for ye lot alright :)

TbL

Haha J,

remember I know where you work and 90 mins is definitely a half days work for ye lot alright :)

TbL

Touché

Plan today called for 2 mile wu, 5 miles @ 6.40 pace and 2 mile cool down.

Now that the kids are back to school after Christmas its back to the Saturday routine of ferrying kids between all sorts of different activities. I had a very short window to get this done as I'm away with work from tomorrow afternoon for the week, I've no brownie points left and besides Mrs TbL was going on the sauce tonight.

While one of the kids was getting a lesson in Spiddal I was instructed to start running homewards! After a quick change into the gear I was off. I very quickly realised that as I was runing directly into the face of serious wind that I'd no chance of hitting the tempo target. There was also an uphill drag that I had to contend with for about 80% of the tempo session. Decided to run by effort (and by Jezus it was an effort when the wind wss gusting! ) and concentrate on getting a decent session without the pressure of the watch.

Despite what look like very poor splits I'm really happy with that session, as I got absolutely no respite from the wind, had an incline to contend with and on mile 3, I got flagellated by hail stones. The missus passed me at the end of the 5 mile tempo and pulled in a mile up the road to wait for me, so I only got a mile cool down done.

Only down side from today is that the dodgy tash may have to stay for a few more days as the lip sores got an awful battering from the wind and are all cracked again!!!

tempo (effort) splits:

Total miles 8.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭dintbo

You gotta love the wind, it's like free resistance training!

I flew into Dubai overnight for a few days warm weather training/work :)

Sunday: plan called for a 14 mile Long Run but I ended up with a spousal telepathically enforced rest day. I had great intentions of getting this done but I got a long list of jobs to do before I headed to Dublin. On the one occasion that I inched towards the gear and runners I got the eyebrow half raised look that told me it was game over, ball burst and to just suck it up.

Landed in Dubai around 8am local time and cleared through the airport very efficiently, jumped in a cab and made my way to the hotel. The hotel is a resort style hotel on one of those artificial palm islands on the Old Cresent Road. Dubai is new, big brash and impressive but after the initial wow factor I'm not so sure there's much too it if you scratch the perfectly manicured surface.

Plan today called for 4 miles easy.

I checked into the hotel and tried to get a few hours kip as I didn't sleep on the flight but it wasn't happening so I decided to put on the gear and get a few miles in. There is a paving tile footpath that runs along the seafront of the hotel that seemed to be a few miles long so I decided to go on an initial recon to get my bearings. The temperature is 23• but there is a very strong breeze that was keeping me cool. The sea spray was coming over the sea wall and I got a nice few sea water soakings. Was passed by a fair few very impressive cars along the way, I doubt there's too many cars on the road here that would struggle to pass their NCT!

Finished up with 6.2 miles @ 8.27

Had a swim in the sea straight after in the stretch in front of the hotel. I was the only one swimming and I was being watched by 3 lifeguards! It seems they do everything to excess here :)

TbL

Are you there for long? Get yourself to Meydan on Thursday for the racing carnival. Free admission ;)

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Are you there for long? Get yourself to Meydan on Thursday for the racing carnival. Free admission ;)

I'm here till Friday P.

Any racing tips :)

TbL

I'm here till Friday P.

Any racing tips :)

TbL

Yeah, don't listen to mine :pac:

Dubai. Was there a few years ago and have to say I hated the place. A bling-tastic shrine to vulgarity built on something akin to slave labour, with a climate almost literally from hell.

Enjoy yourself though! At least you found a good spot for a run, which is something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭viperlogic

C, what kind of industry are you in with all this travel if you don't mind me asking?

viperlogic wrote: »
    C, what kind of industry are you in with all this travel if you don't mind me asking?

I could tell you but I'd have to kill you K :)

Broadly, Financial Services.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

I could tell you but I'd have to kill you K :)

Broadly, Financial Services.

TbL

When did you change from the Escorting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

I ran the "arms of the palm" myself in summer 13, was surprised by how uneven the roads out there are, it seems the whole palm is returning to the sea.

If you have time, checkout Ski Dubai, in the Mall of the Emitates. Great fun...