Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

davycc wrote: »
    Have fun in work suckers! I'm single and have retired very early in life so every day is a easy going lazy feckers wet dream :-)

You mother****er. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Pity about the lot of ye, I was back last Tuesday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

YbFocus wrote: »
    Pity about the lot of ye, I was back last Tuesday!

I'd a week off, then counting the weekends I had a total of 9 days away from the place.
    Came in this morning and saw the usual faces and almost thought "fcuk this I'm going home".

bear1 wrote: »
    I'd a week off, then counting the weekends I had a total of 9 days away from the place.
    Came in this morning and saw the usual faces and almost thought "fcuk this I'm going home".

I finished the evening of the 23rd and was back for the morning of the 30th.
    Just felt like a long weekend :(

Lads when any of you are in breakers can ye keep an eye out for an e36 like my own?

I need a few bits

I've been a passenger in a car all day. Noticed lots of things that I normally don't notice driving.

•Even though a certain community in rathkeale love their high powered motors, they also love The Ford S Max. I've seen at least 10 of them today. Mostly white.

•There are far too many 151 Dacia Dusters in Limerick.

•Petrol can be got at 1.249 now! Diesel at 1.199.

•A 151 bin lorry can look about 10 years older after only a few days of use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Was going to do my faulty ignition coil today until I went down to get one and some inconsiderate jerk decided to buy them all this morning :pac:

New bonnet badge and wipers on now though, wipers make a world of difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Lads when any of you are in breakers can ye keep an eye out for an e36 like my own?

I need a few bits

List out what you need I'll have a looksee

dgt wrote: »
    List out what you need I'll have a looksee

Hey man didn't realise you had one :)

1. If i could find m tech bumpers front and back I'd be laughing.

2. Standard 323/325 exhaust.

3. Cream leather door cards and two clean front seats.

You better not be going out of your way man!

davycc wrote: »
    .. I'm single and have retired very early in life

Out of pure curiosity could I be so rude as to ask what age group you are? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Augeo wrote: »
    Out of pure curiosity could I be so rude as to ask what age group you are? :)

Way to barj in and ask him personal questions out of the blue!
    You're a wild rover altogether!
    (edited to add the :pac: smiley as this was meant as tongue in cheek only, for clarification I wasn't having a go)

Was only being nosey :D

Hey man didn't realise you had one :)

1. If i could find m tech bumpers front and back I'd be laughing.

2. Standard 323/325 exhaust.

3. Cream leather door cards and two clean front seats.

You better not be going out of your way man!

I've had my nosey here

None of the cabby left, was a 323 with M-kit. Car was rolled, had white leather, purple. Baled :(

I'll keep you in mind on my galavanting :D

dgt wrote: »
    I've had my nosey here

None of the cabby left, was a 323 with M-kit. Car was rolled, had white leather, purple. Baled :(

I'll keep you in mind on my galavanting :D

Crap well thanks a million man!
    I owe you one!

Crap well thanks a million man!
    I owe you one!

Ah no yer grand I enjoy having a nosey :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Day 4 of not having a serpentine belt; the motor factors has since given me a 4th belt which again, is too short, upon bringing this one back they insisted that it was the right one and would fit the car, clearly it doesn't

The saga continues tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Day 4 of not having a serpentine belt; the motor factors has since given me a 4th belt which again, is too short, upon bringing this one back they insisted that it was the right one and would fit the car, clearly it doesn't

Order it yourself online off a Saab specialist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Which sick saab was that for?

Reminds me of the oil filter saga I went through with the GMC, three different (wrong) filters that were supposed to fit my GM.

Order it yourself online off a Saab specialist.

They don't have it, the right one's been supposedly ordered for tomorrow, after me telling them the code a heap of times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

120.9 for daysul in rathoath this evening. Sound. Not even worth using the green stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Anyone know anything about opel corsas?
    Mates wife was going round a roundabout today and the steering lock locked:eek:
    it has since been towed to an opel garage where they have said it might be the loom which they will gladly change for 1000 euro :eek::eek:
    its a 10 reg daysul corsa (1.2 i think)
    do these have steering system issues like the older passat? any recomendations for a good indy/auto electrician around the clondalkin area?

I'm not too sure whether diagnostics showed a wiring fault or they are just stabbing in the dark. Ill know more tomorrow.

Can you get the lenght online and count the ribs?
    Try going to another motor factors and asking for an (eg.) 1590mm 4pk belt or whatever.

Maybe their system is wrong!

Can you get the lenght online and count the ribs?
    Try going to another motor factors and asking for an (eg.) 1590mm 4pk belt or whatever.

Maybe their system is wrong!

System is wrong! the belt is 6pk2425 they gave me 6pk2868 (a v6 belt) 6pk2413, 7pk2868 and hopefully tomorrow I'll have the right one tomorrow, from a different crowd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,815 ✭✭✭✭Dord

This is just perfection (IMO) :D

2.3L aircooled engine inside that puts out 500hp!

german-look-beetle-desktop-wallpaper-15-630x396.jpg

pred racer wrote: »
    Anyone know anything about opel corsas?
    Mates wife was going round a roundabout today and the steering lock locked:eek:
    it has since been towed to an opel garage where they have said it might be the loom which they will gladly change for 1000 euro :eek::eek:
    its a 10 reg daysul corsa (1.2 i think)
    do these have steering system issues like the older passat? any recomendations for a good indy/auto electrician around the clondalkin area?

I'm not too sure whether diagnostics showed a wiring fault or they are just stabbing in the dark. Ill know more tomorrow.

Update on this, Opel Head office have come back and said that they have never seen a problem like this on that model corsa and will fix it for free! Their current quote to replace the loom is 1500. Nice one Opel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,291 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I wonder if they'll do a recall...

colm_mcm wrote: »
    I wonder if they'll do a recall...

Must be afraid of the legal, it only happened today:D

Still fair play, try get anything from Vw/BMW!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Death,
    Taxes,
    The Monday back after Christmas.

I don't think I'm on a high enough floor of the building to guarantee death by jumping out the window.

I strongly considered diving head first out a window today

I'm home nearly three hours and still have a headache

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

pred racer wrote: »
    Must be afraid of the legal, it only happened today:D

Still fair play, try get anything from Vw/BMW!

VAG are one of the good ones! I've gotten loads out of warranty from them on one particularly bad car!

It's good they stood over it though - that's a scary bill on a fresh enough car.

Stheno wrote: »
    I strongly considered diving head first out a window today

I'm home nearly three hours and still have a headache

Try opening it first next time:p

Same here, first day back for all the carpet dwellers today, with a list of all the crappy jobs they were too lazy to get us to do before Christmas :rolleyes:

And yes I was in work when they were all stuffing their pie holes!