Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Good game

Cork were outstanding but limerick considering even second string side, cork had too but limerick were terrible
    I expected limerick win this but imo even this game tj clearly hasn't clue tactics match up all wrong in full back line was dreadful yet waited age make a change
    Hardly tactical genuis in challenge even imo

Cormac Murphy was outstanding
    Cork at last made statement intent in full back from say one he needs games, one or two blips but very good overall regards cahalane
    O donoughue fine game at half back as did burke
    Kearney turned easily at times
    Not senior standard. Burke is but still better ahead him at present

O shea had blinder game midfield

Anthony Spillane I have always praised he was superb with luke o farewell, lovely goals

Horgan spot imo serious three

Good work out, collins fine debut in goal, farhill o connor showed promise high ball winning it in he's time on I think it was him
    He would be cork intermediate bar injury last year
    Cork made subs also but good win
    Ucc next up Thurs, then ul waterford crystal then WExford end Jan in cit and ballyhale are lined up also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

great to see Peter Kelleher(Kilmichael) involved. Serious unit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

He didn't merit even a mention from TTM. Maby he didn't start?

It's the eve of the senior football season... Tommorrow it starts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

Anyone have Limerick team lads ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Can you imagne what a good manager would do with the talent we have in football at the moment ...any decent manager should at least make us a top 4 side with the talent thats there ....my biggest fear is Cuthbert will end up regressing most of the players in there careers ....it looks like the hurlers are going about things far better ...its great to see some of those young players getting a cut at this level ....mind you i think young Peter Kelleher is a better footballer..and should rattle the midfield position on the u21 football team this year .....great also to see Luke Farrell back if he stays 100% fit he will go very close to starting again ...just neaver gets a break from injury ..hopefully now he will ....i have great time for him.

Dunno about Kelliher as a footballer.
    I saw him live twice, in Knocnagree for Macroom college v Dingle and he got cleaned by Barry O Sullivan who constantly jumped from behind him and caught every ball above his head. Failed to learn much about mid field play that day.
    I'll forgive him Thurles with Cork minors where he met Colin O Riordan of Tipp who gave an exhibition of all that is best in gaelic football.
    I heard he is a decent hurler so maby he should stick to the small ball unless he improves considerably and learns to use his powerful frame a bit better.

On the eve of another cork senior football season, after time of reflection on the panel and team for tommorrow im  disappointed by the football team selection  thats imo resembles of jobs for the boys in Bishoptown lad and skiberren lad wouldn't imo make cork junior team, with greatest respect these players yet there playing above imo other better players

Just to be clear I have absolutely nothing at all nothing against those two players, and they are fine club servant etc but I have seen nothing to suggest there inter county senior elite standard and I don't blame these I blame management for asking them to job they simply won't be allowed do against top team's.
    So why play them tommorrow.

People well say no season let's stop negative view support boys or agenda against them or management

Nobody is saying don't support boys as like I said I'll still support them games. Point Is realistic calling something that wrong wrong and there's world difference been negative with cause then actually being realistic what you see you before you
    The agenda of any true cork grass roots fan is demanding cork simply be as good as they can be and cork football not failing this talented group of players imo they

Kerry are even amused at cork team, ist time ever said go for look kerry gaa website forum, and they find this team strange, seriously this is becoming complete unbelievable of a set up that have no tactical clue, no concept judgement players no realistic aims no perception of what cork senior elite players requires and imo just my opinion they totally disrespect ethos and value of the cork famous red and white jersey means in giving practical any lad a run out with cork despite not doing it for club
    I talked few kerry men real astute gaa people there view with gould and cussen, is that cork best midfield??

Remember ireland handing put caps to every sub standard rubgy player early nineties
    To play at elite level imo you even if not best against opposition you must Justify it be being best pick available in your county your country at that time

If these guys are so good why didn't any get nominated even mention cork club teams year. Or any report I read in matches, very rarely I saw them mentioned

Now don't mind this stuff well hear, there looking good In training. And maybe manager see some potential we don't
    I heard same nonsense last year
    Running around cork, or cit etc doing running drills fine, fitness these lads up to it in that regard yes but there's more to being a footballer than fitness

Also remember if panel I'd made up of sub standard players like some here easily stand out in trial matches in training against each other is just incorrectly in I can't imagine intensity from what I seen before is tough to challenge these lads speed of thought or football skills so picking on training despite Club form showing them be sub senior elite standard is waste time imo

I have followed cork team through thick and thin, any every grade in I seen poor managers at times,but in the poor set up imo this set up has actually become, is it any wonder ronan Mccarthy left!!!???
    Yes apparently work commitments, usual line when selector leaves mid term

Ccb said ger cunningham on website left cork hurling work commitments yet he's practical limerick manager as we all know

Hopefully crowds will still go to support the players as it's not their fault and they deserve support as they really need it

I really hope the cork ex greats stand up If results are poor and actually questions this set up and hopefully really good gaa men we have in cork,Will they  please for the love of god ask hard questions if poor results continue purely on the field of play ,and do ruthless assement like kerry or Kilkenney would do, nothing personal toward cuthbhert etc just follow Elaine Harte motto eleven years ago cork ladies and keep emotions aside and just do what needs to be done and this total imo lack real direction within cork football continue, just  ask why some players purely based on club form being average, get picked yet dinnen and laoire don't get fair chance and others

The irony is some and I said this before is some cork gaa fans who are soccer fans with teams abroad wouldn't long be questioning why their club picked or bought poor players yet right on their doorstep and oh manager is poor we want,they literally burn your ear going on bout they demand more of their club,fair enough, but yet greatest respect imo those English soccer clubs are far far distance away how many games actually go and see over understandbly logistics reason yes , but in my opinion same attuide is not done in football it's always erra give them time, applaud their passion etc etc despite year after year after year after year we watch our near neighbours in kerry do a number on us yet it's Ah sure look kerry are kerry cork are cork, let's get behind our boys and sure this any given sunday talk in we may surprise ourselves in a Munster final and even surprise kerry too in the process

I listened to news talk the other day think was on today fm heard mark Lawrenceon describing Newcastle fans in he said it's fine support their team all well and good but they need to add realisim too in some time they heads in clouds so to speak
    I instantly thought cork football, no realisim associated with it majority time imo.

Cork football will always be cork football the poor old relation as the attuide or culture imo absolutely all all wrong at senior and despite the preaching from day one regards values and cork would entice fans back etc etc I don't mean be blunt but actually the opposite is happening cork football fans very disappointed by current state and I said this before if cork don't act fast get new management next year this core group young lads will be lost simply as suffered like their past cork heroes regular huge defeats to kerry and kerry will have like kerry ladies v cork tipp v cats ar senior, and previous kerry teams an inferior complex over cork senior football that with kerry having minors coming through next few years with good under twenty ones a vice grip on munster football cork simply won't be able to break

I want cork won senior hurling title but guaranteed that happens cork football will go way down the order again if football results are poor
    Imo there's enough talent for cork to do both successfully

In 2030 then some will say cork should won all ireland as that's barometer some expect I'm cork one in twentieth years lovely jubbly cork football rocks
    Kerry probably have at least five by then though.

People seem oblivious to that fact
    Like in a game of football or hurling two counties you don't try and chase are kerry and Kilkenney both on and off the field other wise you resemble a dog chasing he's own tail you do it in simply you won't catch them and that is golden rules in gaa bar the odd odd rare exception.
    No one doubts some lads picked for cork their passion and commitment
    I'd regards myself as extremely passionate but I m not cork footballer
    You need so much more so much more to play in this great red and white jersey.

This team picked worst thought it would be if im honest
    I had expected hayes gould cussen but talking about being surprised with others

Daniel hazel no offence to him never played intercounty for cork I don't think so, is around twenty five or so so never showed much potential before imo
    Course I love him to make it but standard in gulf to senior is immense for a lad never on the radar
    People incorrectly naively will say seamus harnedy example, he'll be a bolter
    Harnedy always known by any known cork fan with ear to ground in he's starring for cork intermediate teams and played development squad under walsh. Problem wasnt he was unknown just Denis walsh and ger Fitzgerald spectaculary couldn't see what stood before him give a decent  run of games

Imo ger dismal run four years cork is perfectly portrayed in not giving once second time to seamie who stayed on bench any game yet epic munster final v limerick cried out for him in same night extra time cork lacked physically and lehane sick in lead up taken off brought back on
    Harnedy had potential that yet he developed but he was there in raw potential , rarely do you come out of nowhere

Is he the best half back even without other cork players
    O Sullivan clyda worth go
    Killan hanlon kilahannig not senior elite no. But I said before from minor cork and under twenty one last year where he I thought had fine session and was unfairly dropped early v roscommon despite playing out position half forward. He's better than hazel or bit cut and drive I'm him I'd have him at midfield over cussen any day as least he's young you may may have chance develop he's talent
    He's tigerish on break ball and mobile great engine
    He'll unfortunately never develop cork standard probably in not in college as far I'm aware, not sure on that exactly so won't get exposed top level football as avondu unlikely go far
    I would like see him with cork junior though as I said before I see potential, yes rough around edges but he has potential
    Just twenty two, way younger than hazel or cussen who imo very late improve

Price was there year last year and done well,very agile made three brilliant saves, dabbled bit soccer, but unlikey make cut so why not call up one under twenty ones current keeper panelist Anthony kidney from that great great passage club or martin from great nemo as there lads huge potential so give them a run our as you can develop them

Padraigh Hodnett like wise I think is not senior elite standard
    I mean if you call up these what about Colm tucker o brien nemo imo a fine half back, i mentioned him before , tough as nails

Paul flynn Ballyclough who actually won sigerson with cit and all ireland under twenty one with cork and played senior but never given real run under Counihan, is much better than lad he called up

Desmond when did he stand out??? He is named at corner forward but clear as day imo he'll play a auxiliary back in two man full forward line as play half forward for town but cork essential have with Kevin driscoll, durrant and Desmond with cussen middle third now packed with work horses,and cussen well he's not a work horse but point is all have no creative instinctive

The blanket is fine but like putting a blanket over you're bed is no use if gaps appear and you loose heat or you put the wrong side on first

People must realise a blanket defence isn't just cramp bodies back, it requires a focus, temperent a certain attuide in a player, and manager must know what position to put lads in the blanket
    It's like you build a house you have all materials you must still have a concept and the mechanics of mind of how to build it

Manager must imo have an understanding of good coaching to fully utilise the blanket
    Example of good blanket is Davy Fitzgerald and mcguinness, they know how to utilise it
    Derek mcgrath at waterford trying it but can't utilise it or mcgeeney imo also

If in rugby you pick in every position of your backs, crash bang wallop up the middle backs number twelves in james Downey as an example , you get turnover after turnover and go nowhere.
    Not Downey fault it's just the player style he is

This cork half forward line imo resembles that all huff and puff and energy but bar the elegant o rourke lack real guile and poise and creative minds as well as creative feet
    Balance is all wrong imo too many ball carriers in essence
    Who besides o rourke can kick fast ball and spot deliver forty yard defence split pass with perfect execution and accuracy?????

I expect lot running through the middle and off loading In place but Mary I if they have sweeper shore up middle cork half forward line won't as simply can't regularly this line scorers from long distance as bar o rourke there asking guys do job they simply can't do its not their strengths

You see at first glance people look at half forward line say ah don't worry in they won't start in June.

My angle of thought is is go deeper, whatever bout playing talent surely even the dynamic they see of half forward line is a huge huge worry in they have two workers but no creativity, there view on certain style is evident imo
    I hope to be wrong
    The view is durrant is creative, i don't see it imo.

Is this going to be the half forward line dynamic all year!???

Look at Donegal system all half forward can kick and create at pace and in touch space , kerry like wise
    Paul galvin imo hugely portrayed as one trick poney in work horse but he could actually play good football and while greatest respect I wouldnt wamt be stranded desert island him I'd have him on every single team every day week three hundred sixty five days year simply for he's attitude. He has dog within him in he's steely but he's football skills are sublime.

There's a myth that galvin wasn't a typical kerry football model, yes to a point but he won them more all irelanda, no way would they won without him
    He was their Roy Keane. A perfection of simplicity but he had so much more also.

In fact imo very few forwards you could say make kerry team other counties, galvin not only made kerry team  but in fact would have walked on Tyrone team in their day when other pure kerry football forward some had talent but we're soft within

Jamie o Sullivan should hope it's wet day he's fine in, but he's centre back on dry fast ground, he'll be in for a long long day against any top class centre forward imo

There's plenty other options why not give them games The mallow man , cork under twenty one panelist ryan harkin a game if available

Not over a token jesture over playIng in Mallow but because he's actually better than Desmond or cussen.

Lovely footballer , tough will work and drop back but more importantly far more creative than Desmond or durrant and has two feet and can actually kick a ball which is what a footballer should do just my opinion

O donoughue be fair deserves he chance but bar one display v Donaghey isn't full back but it shows the management up really and truly in one game they rate him

I studied football  this year and I realise that james o donughe full forward or brogan etc would destroy o donoughue as he's too slow on the turn but you play donoughue has a buffer centre back, in a sweeper centre back imo you actually utilise he's strength in he's reading of the game and strength and drive and toughness and he could be an inter county footballers and you minimize he's weakness one v one.

Clare hurling and Donegal with Thompson and bulger even kerry this year with sullivan reinvented them by playing them in a position to utilise their strengths and nullify there weakness

Cussen wasnt believed in by jbm hurling. Morgan didn't rate him highely and even Counihan didn't so that'd three managers don't rate him I'n he's big game temperament is questionable yet he's Brought back in. And he's at age he won't improve now imo

He was absolutely destroyed by Aidan walsh in the last club game I saw of him v Glanmire last year in cold November in Mallow and will come up against better midfield pairing in moran kerry. Kavanagh Tyrone,Thompson Donegal   mcxauley dublin, o shea mayo who will just be tough not just on the outside but also in the inside and greatest respect to cussen they won't give him a ball but wait and see he's a certain starter come may imo

Cussen v kilmallock had great chance to win the game but like always last minute when the need was greatest he missed an easy point

Gould, temperent is lacking for kerry in killarney they well and truly have he's number
    Kerry certainly won't bring the star to midfield to deal with him means me they don't regard him as a danger, in Buckley and Moran will think Xmas came early and will destroy such a pairing and god I get nightmare thinking what tommy walsh or maher if needed would do to cork pairing midfield
    You can take it gould is certainly starter.
    Maguire may force himself in but I can't see cussen being over looked
    Wait for the talk cussen flying in training hopping of the ground
    Papers in national media I'm surprised havent done the line on him yet, the reinvention man, cork answer to the star.

Lads in elite sport I rarely believe in fairy tales or turn back time,the nearest some cork will get to turn back time is if they play Tina turner a great great now I mean great singer, her version of the song on the team bus imo

Kerry have four good options at midfield we have too poor ones with Sean dinneen and laoire disgracefully treated last year much better
    Rory deane when fit if anything like last year go by won't start many games either

Kevin o driscoll could not start last year any of the big games ,  what has he done to merit a recall???

John hayes I said plenty regard him before, people know my view
    I said many times a terrific coach imo he could be but how many chances does a player gets?????

Durrant is he the ist kerry man since james o shea play with cork senior??he as sub won munster title 2002 with cork senior

Now james o se actually had real under age pedigree for kerry but still couldn't make it and certainly was a poor choice from Larry Tompkins Considering better in cork
    It was sheer desperation and panic out Tompkins.

This stems like they  pick ballincollig and ex kerry man and pick unknown so they may say well we're picking Club champions and trying every Club in the county but that's not imo way it works
    You pick on talent and also the level of actually development you can get out of he's potential to senior elite standard
    I call it the scope of potential to develop in a player

Like goal mouth said cork hurling and more so In football gave players too many chances and are not ruthless enough when needed

Imo it's very hard for some cork players get look in with cuthbhert but clear as day for others it's actually harder to get off the cork team

Cork probably beat Mary I but if Mary I are any way half decent and have good coach would beat that team but Mary I are poor and just trench cup team so I doubt it but this could be dour sunday and cork will have empty the bench to won
    Now not with fifteen minutes to go hopefully.

Tippeeary would beat that team hands downJust my opinion and Colin riordain if played midfield would destroy gould and cussen together on he's own imo

Every cork game this year has to have a meaning to it sense direction simply cause cork football so far off the standard and imo team picked here is greatest respect to team meaning less going forward as cork won't have any realist chance getting any new lads up senior and why play these games unless you get something out them
    Clare have opted out but they will play challenges bit under ephie know what their doing
    Our crowd Are going through motions.

Kerry won't take this seriously as start playing soon after coming back from holiday, won't need to take it seriously as they actually have a spine to their team and the time fill I'n the gaps
    Tippeeary only team imo beat cork so if cork beat kerry I hope no over exaggeration talk that cork turned a corner, cork training last two months, kerry just back.

What a brilliant mesormic, inspired, awesome, wonderful story and journey of cork ladies and bring tears to my eyes, splendid article in examiner By eammon ryan
    If cork senior football had such a figure
    If cork ladies are playing championship next year same day as men I'm going to the ladies this time if clash as I belive in ladies set up, easy choice imo.
    It's not,that I'm not supporting the cork cork men it's simply when given a choice I imo would be choosing imo the better set up

See the part in the interview where ryan said you must have no ego he openly admitted he made dopey mistake he's words in a game
    Now compare and contrast that to cuthbhert recent interview I Read just recently, one where the nearest he came saying cork had poor season was he said they had a topsy turvy season
    http://m.independent.ie/regionals/corkman/sport/mayo-rally-saves-corks-season-30871779.html

Again like he always has done failed take ownership like even jbm said I made mistakes, its was we didn't protect ball, we didn't keep ball, we didn't perform at all all, nothing like I make appalling decisionsWith management regarding midfield that I blatantly ignored game v game or treatment of laoire or sullivan or dinneen
    No admittedly sole responsibility imo like eammon ryan, jbm and Jim gavin and there all proven management yet they all credit due fully admit when they made mistakes
    Cuthbhert refused to apologise cork fans last year poor season.

It was if we take away the last twenty minutes v dublin. Take away the kerry performance, we actually had a good seasons he thinks.
    Are they actually serious??
    That's like saying the captain titantic was great until he hit the ice berg, or I would won the race if my horse didn't hit the last fence and fall.
    Imo if and buts, no reality imo.
    It always cork were never that bad under us.

He mentioned dualism didn't work, bingo wow, finally, but in fairness from day this silly idea got airborne I said in post done showing every senior game hurling and football challenges etc that preparations would suffer this time lady year ,I'm just a fan yet I knew this was destined to fail cuthbhert cork senior football manager either didn't see it or just didn't want to see imo and I'm not sure which is which worse tbh . But all we heard well review every few week, yet he's said it affected them in they just had two sessions with football up to the tipperary game and a week half duals up to kerry
    Whos fault that???He allowed it so I don't for a second say he cling that excuse
    Also in fact walsh cameo dual star saved cork so cuthbhert imo need look more team selection for tipp games as imo that's was major part in the dismal performance we had.

Imo he got to take ownership for he's fault, he allowed dualism on he's side

He could said no. Not allowing it, even if lads went hurling, at least you could planned with fully committed lads for season but instead had bit part players

What did fully committed dinnen and laoire I wonder think,they committed  fully  and got little chance yet others half hearted commitment get played no problem
    He said dualism has to be reviewed.
    Let's be crystal clear as walsh said and jbm said the players led by walsh ended dualism, so unlikely he ended it so no absolutely no credit to him or jbm dualism ended as players not them ended it
    Jbm no reason end to a point it when he saw more hurlers to an extent as was always going to be the case
    Did Jim gavin allow it
    No he did not.

Even ger cunningham said dublin just in job they would have no dualism players and even if gavin did it allows it, cunningham wouldn't entertaining it
    Typical he clung to straws the defeat to mayo by a point we could of won and felt cork deserved to win it and sure kerry beat mayo, replay in like we weren't far away all ireland I got impression
    As I clearly proved other day mayo dominated cork in open play absolutely dominated cork and fully deserved the win.

And  now kerry hammered us and would have again in Croke Park if we met as we couldn't compete even at home in cork. Sorry we did compete , we competed for ten minutes.

I remember saying I was shouting for kerry In kerry v mayo in the lead up to the game here as I knew if mayo won the all ireland he's use excuse that cork were point of all ireland champions and some in Cork would cling to it

Same token I want ballyhale to  destroy kilmallock should they meet , simply as otherwise we will hear oh sarsfields close to an all ireland pushed kilmallock to extra time.
    Imo. That would be a view with no logic.

I any day of the week would go for kilmallock and Mayo I like them but no way even against kerry and Kilkenney teams The great enemies simply as they winning will just give moral victory fans cork reason to cling though and refusal to accept reality so cork then suffers imo in the long run so only reason I went kerry and went for ballyhale is is show how far cork teams really are actually off the top so we can improve rather than foolish naive cling to the immaterial and non value waste of time false dawn moral victories which as I have been proven correctly time and again some in Cork will do.

cuthbhert did say he felt this year cork were entering the season outside top four team, well then surely he'll 'll admit past year was a failure as prior to he's arrived cork were top four material
    As I said judging by the team for sunday and players on the panel cork imo learned nothing from last year

As for answer to have cork gone backward since 2010
    Imo the last three years of Counihan cork remained static as a top four team and never progressed and while it's better cuthbhert it shouldn't be seen as acceptable just cause cuthbhert term so bad so far
    Cork should imo won another all ireland then

Since cuthbhert cork have regressed hugely and at least Counihan didn't entertain nonsense of dualism and whatever he's faults tactically cork had least spirit and organisations under him
    Would I want him back, certainly not as imo cork deserves a top top class manager and when he was in charge I wanted him not get a new term as cork hasn't had a great tactical genuis since Mr cork football imo the legendary one and only Mr billy king Morgan and I want one in cork.
    Cork senior football team don't even have a set coach, in everyone seems be doing a bit Of main coaching and cork are down one coach  last year in Antrim s and c is gone but ronan mac also but just Flanagan I's I'n.
    Just my opinion but again cork lackingCompared to others before ball is even kicked.

Look at Laois hurling lost flangan, but have cheddar the passion pride Laois hurling, then ger cunningham ul limerick, padraigh fanning ex waterford top coach joined and s and c also
    They had video analyst even training camp in the ul, yes it was short in the summer but they stayed in top top limerick hotel also Video analyst was outscored I think but put up hotel also.
    No expense spared.

They had Donal o grady doing work development squads in possessions game before Xmas, you got admire hunger and want and desire for excellence, they may fail but there leaving no stone unturned.
    A credit they are imo.

Derek mcgrath apparently wants under twenty one with waterford hurling
    I'f he gets it cork have no fear come July as Liam Hayes Damien irwin tactical out think this manager Imo
    I can't see it though. could be wrong but I doubt paddy ryan will be giving him the role.

Cork ist game Was today  in hurling v limerick. Hurling season up And running and today was win with goals.
    O farell looked hungry, had a want and desire today which absent made heart grow fonder after he's absence so I have no doubt he's the talent once he's becomes old luke like today ruthless goal machine conviction, no soft scoring options with a focus and consistency imo id be seriously starting him ahead pat horgan v Kilkenney
    Horgan needs a wake up call, drop him, v Kilkenney could be the making of him.
    Cork must continue to be ruthless in every game

Anthony Spillane and Colm Barry will get more game time in next games , hopefully and I expect them to in the waterford crystal.
    Shame about Colm Spillane being injured, if he gets clear run he'll be back on panel   very much apparently part of their plans

What a terrific hurler he is, he has intercounty senior written all over him imo everything you want in a hurler he's got it all
    Anthony is the same,huge talent.
    Lordan hopefully get games

Thursday night play ucc canon Michael o brien cup, I'd say a big crowd so soon after passing great canon (rip)
    Waterford crystal then
    31st play WExford then
    WExford be a good challenge match there improving fast and good set up imo
    Cork two years ago played Galway champions st tomas preparing all ireland semi final In a challenge match late winter and doing same this time playing ballyhale shamrocks who will play a strong team so ballyhale have lots inter county lads real good test for cork
    Excellent choice well done cork getting play these guys
    That shows imo good strategic planning in challenge matches picked imo all excellence choice bridging different challenges, limerick grunt and physically was tough today in parts , WExford tactical cuteness and athletics if dry day more guile and poise of hurling than limerick imo ballyhale typical Kilkenney teams everything you want.
    While you can't get carried away you I always advocate you can get key indication from certain things in these games
    Im hearing landers doing good so far but proof pudding is never in the wrapping or on display in the shop windows it is in the eating really and truly so Kilkenney league game and clare and Dublin ist three the ultimate test imo.
    So far credit due good start.
    Should beat ucc and Ul that's three wins in a row.
    Unlike football while I still have doubts over few at least most called up and played today hurling wise have potential to develop and no lads from previous failed campaigns under previous manager's recalled by jbm even though he's retrial likes Murray he tried before.

As for peter kelleher imo he's a lot work on yes In football but much better option than in hurling, but under gene and Sean hayes under twenty one football he'll improve imo immensely.
    Having said that with senior football scence understandbly he may go hurling and maybe jbm can develop him.

Cuthbert and co should resign NOW ....that team picked today was picked by people that have no clue about players ....no disrespect to the players themselves .......this is getting worse and worse .....joke shop only that its serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

McGrath Cup (2nd half,71 min) Cork 7-20 MIC 0-4 #CorkGAA2015 Cork play Tipp next w/e venue Tbc

7-20 to 0-4 a non game ....was Pat Flanaghan any where to be seen today ? Any idea whos doing the coaching ? cheers lads ...it will take a good side now to stop us winning the McGrath Cup title !

Talk is cork v tipp in Mallow next week???
    Anyone confirm please

Saw him at Minor. Very physical, good striker and good in the air. Looked slow to get going though.

Thought Kevin O'Neill was the best half-forward prospect from that group. Would be worried about his progress if he isn't playing for university or for Cork, Watergrasshill has had a fair few talents over the years that disappeared after Minor/U-21.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Orizio wrote: »
    Saw him at Minor. Very physical, good striker and good in the air. Looked slow to get going though.

Thought Kevin O'Neill was the best half-forward prospect from that group. Would be worried about his progress if he isn't playing for university or for Cork, Watergrasshill has had a fair few talents over the years that disappeared after Minor/U-21.

THINK he's CIT, great engine on that young fella great worker

Seven twenty to about four points

Minimum win imo was achieved least five goals and and ten point margin exceeded but these Mary I we're poorer than I thought with greatest respect to them as said these lads hadn't trained and farce was worse when couldn't even field a team up til last minute and apparently struggled to actually do so and match programmes had no listing for Mary I team and even talking people didn't recognise many Mary I that how poor teams they were
    They had no organisations at all
    Mary I should stick to hurling and they will imo make waves with awesome cian lynch this year certainly not in football won't even go far in the trench cup
    Never again I'm wasting money going to these games if trench cup teams playing cork

Top colleges are not
    great but you'll get a bit of a game but trench cup team playing a senior cork team is a joke imo.
    Mary I boys body language they did not imo look like they would loose sleep over this game and it's understandable lot these guys are not senior players so interest hard to come by for them.

I was right john hayes does john hayes type absolutely brilliant in these games like last year and said he get one three he got more today I think but look this lad is all due respect no where near what you want in killarney

Look at cork goal scorers today it says it all about this match
    Defenders eoin cadogan,Jamie sullivan, John hayes hardly elite, Colm o driscoll done what done v college last year got goal, doc got goal, and Desmond, majority wouldn't score bar doc possibly in the big games

Mary I got one point ist half three second they're that poor
    I geuinely feel for them in there second tier college team and limited resources but they shouldn't be allowed in this competition next year as it does cork no favours at all all and waste time these come mallow and Mary I get no benefit at all from this
    You're better of even doing away ist round games even with out Mary I and just semi if you have to as least you get competive games

I hope cork people disregard this game and cuthbhert also does , as Mary I challenge were non existent
    Tipp will provide real challenge to cork and imo today is bad for cork as cuthbhert will picked players on today game as imo he can never differentiate between games and judge each game on its own merits imo and if half these start v tipp, tipp will win

Today was waste of every one time but hopefully it will not convince cuthbhert and some, he has bit of redemption and usual blah cork played nice footballer this time year, vibes good,Lesson learned,spirt good etc etc
    No imo more to prove before that can be said.
    In fairness he did say in paper interview today was no benefit, well see now though team picked for tipp as few these lads can't start imo

Tippeeary more of a  true test who they will meet next week

O donughe used he's bulk  well and has potential without a doubt as centre back imo

Galvin fine game , no opponent but done what expected going forward but galvin proved himself last year.
    Hazel okay but just okay I'm sorry against poor opposition is not what I expect.
    Very light, very one dimensional imo
    Jamie sullivan won lot ball and looked composed but never tested going backwards, imo better centre back very slow on the turn but has strengths good coach could utilise
    Hodnett okay but nothing to defend but lacked anything imo going forward

O driscoll limited going forward but looks real deal these games,these are he's comfort zone but like last year not elite senior standard
    Cussen won lot ball as was allowed to, no one challenged him but kicked away some horrendous ball, won't get away it v tippAnd he won't win enough anyway as Colin riordain will destroy him in the air and too tough for him.
    Gould was fine. Busy and looked good.
    Again we know he won't survive v kerry in killarney In June
    But wait people naively and foolish will belive cussen and gould turned corner today and deserves run next week.
    The usual talk to justify it is I think the lads look more mature, more fit, more composed look more hungry
    Let's keep this real, Mary I we're very poor and had no interest.

Corks apparently answer to Paul galvin durrant won lot ball but to be be fair easy win it against a poor team. Credit due he done what you would expect today but today done minimum standard yes but he's still to convince me in bigger games.
    I think cork have better cork players.

Offered no creativity bar moments running through non existent defending, so yes he win ball but no creativity imo
    Of course balloncollig support will laud he's display and jennings who imo was very shaky ist half and is no corner back , he'll get cleaned in a game if he starts there at corner back against a top intercounty forward.

O rourke class above everyone such elegant poise and guile
    Desmond some poor wides as I said isn't a scorer but yes got a goal but this was a game where anyone would score goal.

No way would I start him v tipp
    I remember years ago matt motysn,the aussie winger getting three tries for ireland v Argentina team. Around thirteen years ago so puma's were then poor rubgy country to now in weren't as good and pretty poor yet at game I was at and some guy who clearly hadn't real knowledge regards rubgy told me  we have our David campese.

I wasn't naive or foolish like the older fella to get carried away on one sub standard meaning less end game.
    Mostyn even struggled at connaught in essence
    But I do well remember reading articles national dublin media glorified this apparently new found golden boy

Mostyn yes scored for ireland but never scored again, as he simply was not good enough
    If you looked with any common sense, Mostyn tries were walk is, All made by the genuine genuis of a young young teenager some fella called brian o driscoll
    When Mostyn played against aussie in a real test he was horrendous, our David campese so to speak didn't even get going and if was any good aussie would kept him.

It's the same concept here today imo Desmond got a goal but wont do against top team's
    Missed a lot of easy scores and one more goal.
    You see if you take in just like motysn tries the concept and reality and assess logically imo I think Desmond will struggle v Tipperary and I don't belive he showed anything today to suggest he's up to it or imo we have better like regards durrant and Hodnett and hazel also
    Yeah today job done but today was no test at all

Hes goal shouldn't cloud the wides or he's wasting of possession at times

I think players some picked it's not really reflection on them in more so reflections management as they pick team and they imo poor judgment if think cussen and gould cork careers can be suddenly be reborn and likes others who Club form been just at best soild can some how be senior elite intercounty players in not against the Mary I, sligo etc but the real top elite top four teams in ireland or even top six
    How would cussen or gould fair v Galway currain or flynn???
    I think badly imo
    I pray Colin riordain starts next week for tippeeary as real test for them but I don't think he will as tipperary beat kildare hastings cup under twenty one, play Longford next Saturday at five, he's captain that team highly unlikely he'll be asked play imo that game sunday just twenty or so hours later when they don't have to play him in
    Gould cussen never had problems winning ball, it's when pressure is on and the need is great as past shows they haven't consistently performed at the elite elite level imo.

Tippeary next sunday at two in Mallow. Thank god we have a real team as today's was a waster of time.
    If cussen. And gould performed v riordain, Kavanagh, Thompson, mcculey, o shea etc then I'd have no problem starting him in championship.
    My fear is cussen will not perform at midfield but then will be thrown in full forward.

Also today from game its clear as day Flanagan is doing mainly a fitness side etc as once the match was on cuthbhert was doing all work ably assisted by Don Davis etc , so come match day cuthbhert has taken on lead role from what I saw
    Cork couldn’t perform last year with ronan mac better coach imo than cuthbhert, does anyone think we'll do better with cuthbhert trying to be the tactical main man ?????

If as cuthbhert says lessons were learned from last year surely I hope they realise kerry won all ireland with top top proven coach in cian o neill and truly truly brilliant absolutely brilliant manager in fitzmaurice.

One worry is cuthbhert is apparently seeing cadogan in a different role for cork . Huge huge huge worry.
    You really couldn't make this up if true.
    Cadogan is full back or corner but just wait for it he'll be seen as a half back when we have dearth of top half backs like loughrey, Clancy X 2, bod, young Sean white, conor Dorman, Kevin crowley yet we have huge shortage in full back line in natural corner backs and full
    We have full back line with two best man markers in cork yet like shields last year, we play him at half back and play half backs like Dorman, loughrey at corner and donughe centre back full
    Jennings wouldn't offer the same as cadogan inside
    No point moving cadogan to out strengthen another other aera if you make another aera weaker over he's loss

Cuthbhert management imo has habit not only failing to solve glaring obviously problem but actually imo makes problem don't exist by messing with cork full back that is just fine imo
    Cadogan is not potentially great going forward and actually looses ball lot attacking half back
    Cork don't need cadogan at half back all need do is to find the correct balance of pace, strength, composure, dog, steel expierence and attacking balance and defending balance with all three having cohesion and understanding of half back play.
    This management all credit due at the end of the day never ceases to amaze me to be be fair.

Kerry under twenty ones drew with roscommon in their ist game in the hasting cup.
    Obviously I can't comment wasn't at it but I said it before I don't rate darragh o se as manager and I geuinely belive cork v kerry this year in cork is cork to loose.
    Darragh can play all the challenge games etc etc, but if he can't game manage or read a great in flow or pick the best team it won't make a blind bit of difference
    Kerry have no one in management I fear,cork have two in hayes and gene that imo are top top coaches with proven management career unlike o she.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/passionate-coughlan-bringing-science-into-the-game-305119.html

Brilliant read on coughlan
    Huge loss to cork gaa
    Tbh I mentioned him numerous times this thread last year And always felt cork media never gave him profile he deserved he's getting it at last

Valid point regards watergrasagill Jonathan Halbert senior panelist before an example

Harty next week ard scoil meant be lining up game cork minors not sure if going ahead
    Ard scoil beat clare minor last week few points in Minor with most big guns playing

Hamilton will take huge confidence from luke meade three goals the weekend
    Meade done good but imo midfield half forward he's best position, must be ist Hamilton lad since pat kennellally play senior for cork

Anthony Spillane looked good, Cormac Murphy, cahalane, o shea and barry when came on.
    I think they have real potential.
    Frahill o connor also.
    Cork have build real depth in the panel, Saturday was good ist step
    Limerick were not full strength but still core them played minor and under twenty one.
    Lawton didn't impress me at all at all when came on.
    You look at lynch for limerick just out minor, meade hat trick, farell just back from injury, barry Spillane making debuts and all made big statement, lawton expierence and exposed corl panel few years didn't do what I expect
    I font think he even scored
    Frahill o connor debut much better game
    Said it before lawton not cork material
    Lot lads gave cause to start the next day. Lawton imo gave every cause not to start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Hamilton will take huge confidence from luke meade three goals the weekend
    Meade done good but imo midfield half forward he's best position, must be ist Hamilton lad since pat kennellally play senior for cork

Eamonn Collins and Michael Cahalane are two Hammies alumni to have played for Cork since since Kenneally

I am glad you said that Michael Sheilds and Eoin Cadogan are a must for the Cork Full back line ...they are our two best and toughest backs ....Cuthbert did mention that they used Cadogan out the field to give him lots of ball practice as he has missed lots of training because of been in Armagh...i hope thats all it is .....i believe that Dan McEoin was there yesterday training with a seperate group along with Brian O Driscoll , Sean Kiely etc....some of these players are tied up with the Colleges for the McGrath Cup...

Great read in sunday independent yesterday on Tracey Kennedy and Jordan women roles at top table in gaa.

Good to see
    Also article on jbm son barry murphy soccer careers they just finished in England sunday times, great read imo
    Coughlan imo terrific coach guaranteed he learned lot from Donie Buckley also
    That's like I always said ist thing manager does to win fans in soccer he buys top player makes a real of statement intent, gaa manager does more in the appointment of a top coach
    Ger blue ist Job made some statement intent by the appointment of ed coughlan
    So it's easy why players fans give cunningham a year's and two as they have proven record
    In cork case reason imo people so criticism current set up in football is most of that set up haven't any proven record last year or this year, yes Flanagan brilliant record be fair. But how much real input has he tactical wise,my concern.

Early yet but I see Tyrone beat armagh.
    They will pose real problems for cork in Omagh and Colm Kavanagh and mcnulty are a formidable midfield.
    Cork can have all the forwards they want but I fear no possession at primary source and high turnover count is huge fears I have from last year
    Good coaching could rectify that though.

My apologies I forget about valley rovers collins, i always rated him player think got bullet goal in league final v Waterford I think
    I was all thinking more also for senior down the line in championship , cahalane yeah played in the league would've made its without a doubt

Thanks Denis

Any new regards harty cup venues please??

rle Iarbhunscoileanna CLG
    MUNSTER GAA POST PRIMARY SCHOOLS FIXTURES
    All games at 1:30pm unless otherwise stated
    Dr. Harty Cup Under 18 1/2 A Hurling Quarter-Final Draw
    A Hamilton High School Bandon V Ard Scoil Ris – January 14th at 1:30pm – venue TBC
    B Rochestown V Nenagh CBS – January 14th at 1:30pm – venue TBC
    C Castletroy CC V PS Youghal – January 14th at 1:30pm – venue TBC
    D Thurles CBS V Gaelcolaiste Mhuire AG – January 9th at 1:30pm in Kilmallock
    Corn Uí Mhuirí Under 18 1/2 A Foot

I was right said last week don't be surprised with a Friday game least cork have chance see two teams in action

Corn Ui Mhuiri fixtures for the 21st. of January....

Rochestown v. Col. Na Sceilige

Clonakilty CC v. IS Killorgan...

Best of luck to both Cork Schools....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

TTM, small point but slightly harsh on Mary I I feel..on balance they probably should have opted out of the competition, but they had 4 lads who played with the Kerry u21s on Saturday and 3 or 4 others with other teams also, so they actually wouldn't be that bad with proper preparation. Whether they will get that or not, I don't know. Last time they probably had a proper run at it was a few years ago, when Donie Buckley was with them..no coincidence they won the Trench cup that year. Paddy Kelly was one of their main men that year.

If Cork field a similar team next Sunday and Tipp are anywhere near full strength, it will be a far sterner test obviously. I don't think a loss would even be the worst thing if you saw enough to make a call either way on some of the players being tried out. Looking at tonights Echo there was huge praise for all of them, which isn't being very realistic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

Canon O’Brien Cup - Cork v UCC Thursday 8th January

The Cork Senior Hurlers open their season with a challenge game v’s U.C.C. in the Canon O’Brien Cup at the Mardyke, Thursday, January 8th at 7:30 p.m.

Cork Senior Hurling Team

Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
    Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
    Colm Barry (Castlelyons)
    Stephen McDonald (Glen Rovers)
    Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
    Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
    Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
    Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
    Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)
    Seamus Harnedy (St.Ita’s)
    Bill Cooper (Youghal)
    Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
    Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)
    Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
    Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Couple odd positional moves but it's the time of year to try things out I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Figsy32 wrote: »
    Canon O’Brien Cup - Cork v UCC Thursday 8th January

The Cork Senior Hurlers open their season with a challenge game v’s U.C.C. in the Canon O’Brien Cup at the Mardyke, Thursday, January 8th at 7:30 p.m.

Cork Senior Hurling Team

Anthony Nash (Kanturk)
    Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
    Colm Barry (Castlelyons)
    Stephen McDonald (Glen Rovers)
    Cormac Murphy (Mallow)
    Lorcán McLoughlin (Kanturk)
    Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
    Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
    Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)
    Seamus Harnedy (St.Ita’s)
    Bill Cooper (Youghal)
    Brian Lawton (Castlemartyr)
    Darren McCarthy (Ballymartle)
    Paudie O’Sullivan (Cloyne)
    Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

Couple odd positional moves but it's the time of year to try things out I suppose.

agree with you - few interesting movement in backs, Aidan walsh played half back at minor and was handy apparently, can't fault dem for looking at new options

Dan mceoin yes I think was in the other ptich Training.
    Good to see also Paul flynn ex cit sigerson winner and Ballyclough and cork under twenty one etc I think from a distance twas him,he's back on the panel.
    If it was him, I must keep eating carrots as I have great eyesight

He should get run over gould or cussen
    We don't know if flynn is senior but give him a chance at midfield as imo we know cussen and gould won't do in June

I see benefit in this for mac eoin in can't play Mary I He's injured should have played  if fit in should played for cork ahead of hayes and Desmond simply cause you look at mac eoin done in it in Minor all ireland final v Tyrone done it v kerry in under twenty one in kerry and then all ireland final under twenty one so logic imo is he's way more pedigree than Desmond no offence to Desmond and mac eoin should been bloodied yesterday as mac eoin has senior written all over him

That man is credit to himself, spent numerous times early morning spinning etc loose extra pounds and he's top top shape and he's some talent
    Real toughness in him and just what you want v kerry or up the north.

Now cork don't need full forwards but I'd have him sub over hayes any day of the week
    Dan type player that actually go through motions in challenge games imo but big games proven proven performance club and county the last few years

What I like about Dan is not just he's attuide but I really like he's legs.
    He has awesome legs I mean great really great legs I'm huge fan off, as he has Such power in he's legs and strength and has such pace in he's shot. I love watching him kick a ball.
    I have never seen as much power in a shot imo

I'm huge fan of him as a player.
    Slightly non cork, but that was some farce where Fermanagh named their team and yet had fifteen changes starting team. I geuinely feel for journalists cover that game

Any one know what happened??illness cover in the panel or late with drawl or just a dummy team
    Must surely be a record for any team in a team named but none of the named team actually started the game.

http://www.eveningecho.ie/2015/01/05/cuthbert-upbeat/

Ciarraluaith I agree, didn't think it's realistically good be judging lads on Sunday and saw other piece in the echo where all new guys got good ratings
    My apologies you have good valid points In Mary I may rattle trench cup if they go for it as with kerry lads. Leonard also and have limerick under twenty one who missed sunday have few lads and if mac eoin is fit could rattle it but going back to the cork game they had no such strength and interest in it
    I think there great college but shouldn't enter this competition in mcgrath cup next year

In this interview I see it's more positive from cuthbhert but I don't see it yet on the field
    The mention of kerrigan and kelly goulding unconfirmed when they be back is huge worry in just my fear will kelly be back???? and goulding

I still can't fathom why goulding was given clearance to miss this competition when cadogan, shields o rourke had all equally long season yet there back.
    Kerrigan was training at start with them I don't see why he should be left off break unless injured.
    I'd expect goulding and kerrigan to come back alright definitely.
    Cork season ended early unlike kerry last year so kerry have excuse to rest player

Like it's January in fairness not long to championship now
    Look at jbm hurling I don't think anyone was given time off.
    Brian murphy a great great I mean great now, player last year waited til spring announce retirement but most cork knew he'd call it a day

Hugely concerning cuthbhert special single out of cussen they in he's impresses he's display
    Reminds me last time recalled cork senior hurling I said exactly same thing now as said then
    Jbm said felt he was good and after ucc game felt made mistakes year before
    Jbm learned as year went on only played him once absolutely has to with horgan sending off and load injury
    He never played championship after that
    I think he'll start for cork in championship despite how he plays league as imo form means absolutely nothing to current cork criteria picking the team if you go last year and this year
    I knew twould happen and I'm not surprised in the slightest cussen gets good reviews in the echo , meant be impressive display.

This in other papers has been done with cussen time after time in hurling and football He's so tall people loose realistic judgment imo of him as a player
    You judge your players performance by judging he's direct opponent.
    O driscoll cork lads greatest respect hardly in top ten midfielder in cork
    Leonard be fair has pedigree from corofinn but hardly elite top under twenty one midfield in the country
    Cuthbhert lauded him with praise in he offer cork something different, a very good footballer underrated, uses ball well, and defo have another look against better opposition he said.

I said it every league hurling game or even challenge where he got two goal in cloghduv v tipp in hurling challenge in may two years ago on the eve of the championship and following day cork paper blew him up, he wouldn't do it senior elite hurling I posted here in the championship
    Unfortunately and I get not one ounce of joy to say I was right.
    I wanted him to do well but just knew he wouldn't.
    Against limerick as a sub he just didn't get involved.
    No surprise never used in the all ireland finals then.

What Is the fascination with him. In he gets chance after chance after chance with football and hurling cork teams others can't even get on the panel
    Nothing against ladas he's geuinely meant be lovely fella but management are completely wrong
    I'm not sure tipp midfield sunday but hopefully peter acheon plays as with no riordain cork need to be tested
    People may wonder why do I keep mentioned cussen
    Answer is simple. I only mention him primarily because and soley he's kept been blown up by different people as cork great hope when purely on field of play he's record proved hes not up to it
    I'd like to know what kerry people here think of he's chances against moran Buckley etc???

Firstly contary to cuthbhert who thinks he underrated he wasn't rated yes highly by jbm, Counihan etc so all threw can't surely be wrong?????
    Pat ryan naturally sarsfields will rate him as he's manager he said this year should been on the cork team.

Did he or did he not get completely destroyed by Aidan walsh last year in a club game, he just didn't want to know physically wise
    Cussen apparently was surprised cuthbhert called him up, all credit to cussen be fair he didn't expect it either, he's not the only one surprised imo
    He was always better hurlers than football so couldn't make it hurling wise football imo he won't

Secondly just my opinion he didn't actually use the ball very well overall yesterday what about wasted possesion he kicked away at times
    Thirdly what does he offer cork different???
    Imo nothing.
    Yes he's new under cork football of cuthbhert Reign but played in 2007 and under Counihan Then after tried as full forward also and failed as cork also tried ridiculous notion of walsh and murphy at full forward just cause kerry done it and we're successful
    Imo it shows how naive cuthbhert is in they think cussen is cork Donaghey

Counihan imo was never a tactical genuis but you look at players he picked beto be fair all had a work ethic and desire to work work work etc
    Counihan dropped masters and then cussen as imo those two didn't work hard enough for him
    This Is my point, he's work rate or temperament in big games won't change now at he's stage in he's career.
    Jbm dropped him as wouldn't work. Look at Cooper, cussen imo is far better hurling man skill wise.
    I said it many times cussen has the skill.
    Cooper however will develop as he's a trojian worker and tough as nails from he's rubgy background and but for a serious backs injury would be more of a complete hurlers but he'll get there he just needs game and landers I hear doing lot work on he's striking.
    He has it, attitude, desire. Want, he's a warrior.
    I remember crying out here this very thread at half time cork v water. I said bring on copper
    And I was right.

Not that I'm great more so anyone watched Cooper could see he's potential
    Cussen can't reinvented he's attuide now in big games imo.

Kissane was reinvented by Counihan at late stage yes but kissane with clyda always had work rate. Heart of a lion etc
    Kissane football was developed be fair to Counihan he deserved immense credit for that
    Problem was as the game evolved kissane wasn't cork best option after 2010 unless cork played a blanket he'd been brilliant.

I don't think people actually fully understand the quality Donaghey has in different skill set of the game or realise murphy walsh and cussen had not same balanced skill set as them for full forward and make no mistake you read it here first when cussen struggle he will be shifted in full forward which means cork will actually then means one of Hurley or o neill, doc or even Hodnett,mac eoin looses out

If cork want their carbon copy clone of Donaghey they will never get him in only one mike Gibson, one Roy Keane, one Maurice Fitzgerald etc but they will get a player close to him in Dan mceoin.
    He's big, awakward to handle, he's beautiful to watch in the sky, like an air bus a380 in the sky in he's powerful, can carry huge work load, rides out turbulence as a cruising speed but more importantly on gaa field rarely does he crash and burn.

Self praise is no praise tbh but I must praise myself in I said cussen would be profiled in the media, look one game in and imo it's like cussen is corks answer at midfield and all talk about a second coming etc

He may be a towering figure in size but people get fascinated with bulk but no good if he doesn't have dog of steel within which he clearly doesn't In big games like Buckley maher etc

Compare him to padraigh lucey of kerry a towering young lad now with geelong in the afl, but never really made it ucc under Morgan or even kerry
    Morgan didn't get carried away by such a towering figure
    Morgan you see was a great great I mean really really great manager

And I think if lucey came home he wouldn't be picked by fitzmaurice imo and he's tall very tall
    He's fairy tale romantic story if ever you want one , went on the recruit an aussie reality show for afl got picked from that by geelong
    He may and I hope he does do well in the afl
    I really hope so but you wonder was that just geelong doing afl irish connection thing, in will he actually be major player there
    But fitzmaurice imo doesn't do emotions that's why he's a great great I mean really great manager

There's more to Gaelic football than towering figure.
    Pity our  men in management don't realise that like great Morgan who can differentiate between physically big players and other ABSOLUTELY VITAL TRAITS ELITE SENIOR FOOTBALLERS MUST HAVE.
    Football is a simple game yet some over complicated it imo.

At least thank god we have eammon ryan staying on ladies manager. Now that's a great great great great really really great manager.
    I geuinely belive honestly cork ladies would actually give thecork men lined out yesterday a serious run for there money in a game of football that's imo no exaggeration at all or trying to be smart or insult the men, no just on game football id say ladies would win that game or come close

As for the post that Kevin o neill hurling was best prospect from he's age group in Minor half forward ball winner imo I would disagree.
    That age group included Michael cahalane far far better than o neill who yes is good but no where near cahalane, now cahalane did play one game at centre back but that was down to a manager that had no idea the best places for players as show by he's absolutely baffling team selection not once but time after time after time with not one cork team but actually three cork teams.

Trevor horgan imo much better than o neill also in that panel.
    I do agree o neill could develop further and had real potential yes but as the point was made he's not in college as far as I'm aware
    I would love to see him with the cork Intermediate team and get games.

Jbm said tonight in the echo he'd pick same team for Saturday for waterford crystal as last Saturday where possible so as you would expect it's a new team to a point for game in canon Michael o brien
    Hopefully huge crowd turn up   late great man deserves it
    Tyrone armagh had eight thousands while meath Westmeath was delayed yesterday half hour over big crowd so while Thursday may not get same number I think any game once there's good reason can bring in a huge crowd and imo be big crowd three nights time

Looking at who's available from who started saturday for the ul game saturday

Ucc are not out this weekend or are cit but some cork lads be with college's in this competition

Patrick collins likely be college where does attend ???
    Fresher may be available

Will kearney available after injury
    Before got injured I didn't think he was great

Cahalane should start full back and he needs games

Killan burke ucc should be unavailable
    Sean o donughe ucc should be available as won't playing fitzgoibbion cup likely fresher ucc
    Cormac Murphy who was outstanding again, likely be with ucc so unavailable
    Brian o Sullivan ucc I'm unsure if he's still in ucc in been there a while may be available, I think he's gone so would be available for cork

Rob o shea ucc unavailable
    Brian Murray available I think left college
    Peter kelleher ucc available as fresher
    Andy walsh should be available
    Alan Frahill o connor available
    Anthony Spillane ucc unavailable
    Luke o farell should be available
    Luke meade harty cup quater final Wednesday week so remain be seen cork will play him saturday v ul. Likely be unavailable
    Dayne lee likely to be unavailable also over harty cup Friday even if they loose be unfair to ask him play a day later

Colm barry who had a fine game as a sub is likely to be with Mary I v Tipperary Friday night.
    I'm only giving my view lot guessing here so I must point out team I think will start I could be wrong of course For Saturday game

Jbm said more regular lads be picked for Thursday night canon Michael o brien cup and expectation strong side close regulars he stuck to it all credit due or so as they will correctly want to honour the late canon and ucc probably have rob o shea , cadogan , lehane, Spillane, lining out as there not out til next week in the waterford crystal cup

Saturday v ul be more experimental with around ten of the team id guess that started v limerick starting
    I'd expect glen o connor and Paul haughey to start

As for the team for Thursday brilliant,it picked now as generates interest for the game and it'd picked strong team only right to respect the canon imo

Good full back line, I'd wonder
    Why Is Joyce corner back??!
    Yes he'll be fine in the game but that's not the point, the point is he's not a corner back as proven last year v tipp or even in under twenty one v tipp four years ago

Colm Barry awesome player. Great game saturday, interesting hoe he gets on, I seen him full v tipp at minor and v clare under twenty one and I don't think he's a full back
    But he's worth a run in corl need cover for cahalane and barry is with Mary I from weekend on
    Interesting see if played Friday night day after for Mary I v Tipperary.

Mcdonnell fine
    Murphy had to start and clear as day imo line start v Kilkenney as he's flying in training and in challenge v limerick
    He won't be with cork saturday as with ucc so clear thry wanted him get more game time as only other game he start will be imo v WExford end month before league opener
    Lorchan fine centre back as half back he's only position.
    He'll go short for puck outs

Walsh I's fine half back and will be brilliant so not huge shock as he played kanturk there this year v blarney gave exhibition , and for cork minors also played half back alongside Paudie sullivan and Adrian mannix

Kearney and coughlan fine at midfield
    Coughlan seem light but he's not has real dog and bite, touch and score long distance he'll relish this role.

Half forward line copper harnedy fine and copper needs games buy will get better and better
    Lawton no way should he be there, imo not good enough, well see now Thursday, I don't see it in him
    Darren Mccarthy should be half forward instead him with luke starting as he's needs games
    Good see Paudie starting
    Horgan dreadful dreadful call as he talk the the talk paper today. He'd want to realise all he says about driving on he actually needs do it himself as at Club and county he imo had from play poor season

Playing him in this game is poor call from management as he'll do what he does light up game. And go missing then the next big game.
    He should be dropped and told he's place up for grabs and I actually think it would make him as a. Better player but he plays as if he thinks he undroppapple.
    Cody would dropped him I guarantee you with he's attuide long time ago and I think horgan would came back a better play but cork imo are molly codling him.
    Horgan all star eight years on panel, cork must demand and expect more

Good team overall and huge improvement from last year in jbm direction and attuide is better with picking lads have real chance make panel championship and overall two games nearly in couldn't fault teams picked and there doing all expected of so far.
    You see this unlike the football has a direction to it

Went to watch ian walsh play last night under twenty one football, worth long journey, in Michael won glen ville cup game handy but walsh loaded midfield
    He's bigger than he's cousin Aidan and but for bad injury would be better again
    He's on cork under twenty panel trialing and he should be he's win ball but he's mobile but fast for a big man and savage work rate and good kick passing
    Midfield of him and Ian maguire be untouchable for cork imo
    Barry kennellally cork minor sub keeper just sixteen played half forward.
    Strong for he's age.
    Michael were better team, credit due , i had no real interest bar to watch walsh

Talking about Aidan walsh he's younger brother not lad Paul played last night but much younger brother is meant be real deal, mark my words future cork minor hurler in a few years.
    Unbelievable talent has it all.

Cork tipp clonmel sunday

Now they will be tested talk was cork tries for mallow but tippeeary refused and correctly so as last time cork played them in the competition they lost in cork
    I'm delighted it's in clonmel as take players out of their comfort zone

What do you think lads of Denis Hurley calling George Durrant as the young player to watch for Cork footballers this year ?...interesting ....also on Michael Cussen a much maligned player to be fair to him hes been asked to play senior intercounty football coming from a Intermidate a club football a big step even if he was good enough ....you know its funny but Cussen by now could have two senior All-Ireland medals one each code ...football loss in 2007 and hurling loss in 2013 ! on saying all that i dont think for one minute think he is going to make it now ..with respects to him. TTM i not sure but has Aidan got only one brother called Tommy now thats some name Tommy Walsh !! great to hear that he is so promising ..what age now ? Also i often wondered what happened Ian Walsh the first Cousin ...i saw him play for Kanturk against Kilworth in the county hurling final of 2012 i think and he impressed me hopefully he can stay injury free now ...what was his serious injury that stopped his progress ? Cheers !

CORKDOUBLE wrote: »
    What do you think lads of Denis Hurley calling George Durrant as the young player to watch for Cork footballers this year ?...interesting ....also on Michael Cussen a much maligned player to be fair to him hes been asked to play senior intercounty football coming from a Intermidate a club football a big step even if he was good enough ....you know its funny but Cussen by now could have two senior All-Ireland medals one each code ...football loss in 2007 and hurling loss in 2013 ! on saying all that i dont think for one minute think he is going to make it now ..with respects to him. TTM i not sure but has Aidan got only one brother called Tommy now thats some name Tommy Walsh !! great to hear that he is so promising ..what age now ? Also i often wondered what happened Ian Walsh the first Cousin ...i saw him play for Kanturk against Kilworth in the county hurling final of 2012 i think and he impressed me hopefully he can stay injury free now ...what was his serious injury that stopped his progress ? Cheers !

CD............Very old but very true saying............PAPER NEVER REFUSED INK. Explains Hurley's balderdash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Smith614

the Michael Moynihan article with Ed Coughlan in the examiner was hard reading. In fairness these lads know how to promote themselves and talk crap. Sorry but i thought it was a complete waste of space in the examiner. Fair amount of waffle in it. I heard a well known sports psychologist giving a talk recently and it was hard to believe how anyone could buy into some of the rubbish he was on about.