Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

using your PhD title

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭Darkest Horse

ewinslet wrote: »
    If you've gone through the misery of 4 or 5 years of a PhD, then you should definitely use the title. People will think you're a twat but feck them. I know I'll be using mine.

If it's misery why are you doing it? Mine is tough, challenging, frustrating, etc, etc but I chose the path because, ultimately, I love it. I don't get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Isn't professor someone who is a lecturer in the US while only a handful of people get it here?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Asarlai wrote: »
    You mean academic publishing or some other form of publishing?

That's another thing that is part of the 'silliness' at least in my experience. For example, if an English professor is going up for tenure, much credit will be given for critical theory, critiquing the work of others, etc., but if she writes a well-received novel or poetry, it doesn't seem to stand for as much. At least that's what my colleagues in English tell me.
    No, sorry for the confusion, I am a writer. I write poetry and have been published since 2010. What with the academic publishing I would not be high enough up in my education or otherwise to be so. I do believe though that being widely published, even in poetry, is received quite well. Hopefully anyway :) I do know that I could not possibly critique the work of others unless I educate further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Asarlai

Isn't professor someone who is a lecturer in the US while only a handful of people get it here?

Yep, about right. 'Professor' is the generic term equivalent to 'lecturer' in Ireland.

Within professor, so to speak, you start at Assistant Professor (usually for 6 years, until you get a permanent (tenured) position or you're out), then you're called Associate Professor, and if you want to get promoted, after X number of years (your choice), you can apply for promotion to 'Full Professor'.

Yes, I definitely think only real doctors should be allowed to use the title.

So only people with a Phd then??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I cal myself "Doctor" and I don't even have a doctorate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Something which interest me is that in Ireland after successfully completing a degree in dentistry you get a bachelors of dental surgery (bds). However in America you get a Doctorate of dental surgery (dds) and any further study is considered post doctoral study !
    Quite a large discrepancy really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    Something which interest me is that in Ireland after successfully completing a degree in dentistry you get a bachelors of dental surgery (bds). However in America you get a Doctorate of dental surgery (dds) and any further study is considered post doctoral study !
    Quite a large discrepancy really.

Yes we should sort that out. :)

Definitely. No later than Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Definitely. No later than Monday.

It genuinely keeps me up at night . .:P

EoghanIRL wrote: »
    It genuinely keeps me up at night . .:P

Well, don't beat yourself up about it. I'm sure if you decide to go for a career change, there will be plenty of time to get your teeth into whatever you choose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Zemuppet

Yep, about right. 'Professor' is the generic term equivalent to 'lecturer' in Ireland.

Within professor, so to speak, you start at Assistant Professor (usually for 6 years, until you get a permanent (tenured) position or you're out), then you're called Associate Professor, and if you want to get promoted, after X number of years (your choice), you can apply for promotion to 'Full Professor'.

Always wanted to know why that was. Cheers for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Reality_Check1

I get the impression reading this thread that people dont have a problem calling those with PHD's Dr.

But people with PHD's have a problem calling medical clinicians Dr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭micar

I have dealt with a client at work who has financial services type Phd . He specifically requested that he is referred to in all correspondence as Dr.... He's is a kno#!!!!!!!

I work with a girl who has an IT type Phd who never uses it and gets really embarrassed I'd we even mention the title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

You address me by my proper title, you little bollocks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

In some cultures using the title Dr affords deference and privileges. Handy for blagging upgrades on planes and tables in restaurants.

You'd at least want to learn the Heimlich manouver though if you are going down that path.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

Actually, I was just having fun with the "Professor Asarlai". Here in the US, professor is the generic term given to everyone, like lecturer in Ireland.

Good luck with pursuing your MA and maybe PhD. I know it can seem easy for me to say, but I'm a great fan of going for it.

In france ' professor' is reserved for the ultimate status... school teacher. Goddam right it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Know a few people with them and they're called doctor in professional or academic context like their website or in official correspondence and so on. No way would they go around asking to be called doctor otherwise, as they're not prats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Never in a social setting.

sometimes in a professional setting. Ze Germans and a lot of Middle Eastern countries are a bit obsessed with quals so using the PhD can be advantageous. Likewise in academia in the States it seems to be a big thing - although it seems everyone there is a professor.

The only time I'd use it here is dealing with the Public or Civil Service - for some reason it seems to carry a certain 'cachet' - but that's really the only sphere of professional life in Ireland where it seems to offer something.

EDIT: I know if my wife uses the 'Doctor' title when talking to me, I've done something and I'm fooked - and not in a good way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭DeepSleeper

I get the impression reading this thread that people dont have a problem calling those with PHD's Dr.

But people with PHD's have a problem calling medical clinicians Dr.

I think both of those statements are misleading... Plenty of evidence on this thread for people who think someone with a PhD who uses their correct title is a pompous ass and lots of evidence too for people with PhDs (like me) who have no problem referring to a GP or NCHD as Dr

And with reference to another recent comment about a guy with a PhD who insists on being addressed as Dr... Well, an ass is an ass and sending him to Templmore to be a Garda, to a seminary to be a priest or to a university to complete a PhD isn't going to change that - he's still an ass! But that doesn't mean that all with the same qualifications are asses...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Like several posters, I hold a PhD, but I left the academic world and work in business now.

I have Dr as a title on some official documents etc as I did want to have it physically written somewhere (a little reward for myself after all that misery and slogging). In general, I don't use the title, but I would pull it out if I thought it would confer an advantage.

End of day, I am "Dr. dudara". I was awarded that title by my university and its up to me if I want to use it.

Vojera wrote: »
    Not the case for a PhD. You can work every hour God sends and if your research doesn't work out there's no consolation prize. It doesn't matter how much work you've put in, if you can't get enough quality chapters out of it and pass your viva, you leave with nothing. A good supervisor should ensure that doesn't happen, but there's always a risk when you're researching something "new".

Probably true but I understand the failure rate is less than 1%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

He has a great MBA and a "morning grooming routine" what a woman... I mean what a so called man.....peasant.

Ah, you're a physicist. That goes a great deal to understanding your revoltingly poor physical hygiene.

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_RQjQvxtmK8A/S8MFflcnHHI/AAAAAAAAC3U/ZLbisnDmHUI/s1600/Denzil.PNG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭airuser

I only use mine on official reports and the likes. A couple of friends call me Dr for a laugh and it confused the postman once when one sent a card to Dr Everly Warm Whimper.

I can't stand people who sign themselves BA, FRCS, MPSI, MA (hons) Eng, etc on day to day emails or letters.

Yes, I agree.

Probably true but I understand the failure rate is less than 1%.

Your supervisor would never let you submit if your work wasn't up to scratch.

A better metric would be to compare how many start a PhD versus how many get one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Ah, you're a physicist. That goes a great deal to understanding your revoltingly poor physical hygiene.

Worst comeback ever. :pac: Not witty or cutting or incisive. These darn inferior Level 9s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Flyer28 wrote: »
    Recently I came across a business card for a medical consultant where he had given himself the title 'Mr.'

Now I have heard before that there is a convention that consultants are addressed as 'Mr' rather than as a lowly 'Dr.', but putting it on a business card struck me as a particularly silly case of self importance from one who should know better.

My understanding is that 'Mr' is a title of respect that only others can confer on you......and you should never apply it to yourself either verbally or in writing unless specifically invited to do so.

I'm in my early 40's and only learned about consultatants being addressed as Mr last year and I'd imagine there is a huge percentage of the population that are completely unaware of the title so putting it on a business card is possibly lessening their importance in many cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Dr Nic

No thsts not correct.
    Only Surgeons want to be called mr.
    Consultants in medicine aka physicians are still called dr.

If you cut & sew (and havent a clue what you're doing) you get the mr or miss tag.

Obs & gynae can be either. Opthalmic the same

Dr Nic wrote: »
    No thsts not correct.
    Only Surgeons want to be called mr.
    Consultants in medicine aka physicians are still called dr.

If you cut & sew (and havent a clue what you're doing) you get the mr or miss tag.

Obs & gynae can be either. Opthalmic the same

It goes back to the origin of 'surgeons' - who evolved from barbers.

Learned doctors took their oath 'to do no harm' literally and so would sit and read out instructions to the barber-surgeon who did the cutting. The barber-surgeon was not medically qualified and was a simple Mr.

This is probably the American version of above

BS: Bull****
    MS: More ****
    PhD: Piled Higher and Deeper

Not funny.

Edit: I apologise, I thought you were denigrating these until I realised you yourself have a PhD. I take it back.