Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

using your PhD title

• 31-12-2014 02:51PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6 CosmoCramer

I gather there are quite a few PhD graduates on boards. I wanted to ask what do people think about using the title 'Dr' before their name outside the professional sphere. To put this question in context, I'm NOT a Phd grad, but know lots of people who are.

Some of these people use the 'Dr;' title outside of the professional sphere, in social contexts, and for general purposes. Is this socially acceptable? For example, using the Dr title in mail correspondence, on bank/credit cards, etc.

What do you guys think? My own personal viewpoint is that such usage should be confined to professional purposes, and not beyond that!

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.

• CMod ✭✭✭✭

I don't have one but if you're filling out forms that have a dr/ms/mr/whatever I suppose it's most accurate to pick the Dr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 Ste-
    ✭✭✭

Dr. Dre doesn't have one either but he calls himself a doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 The Backwards Man
    ✭✭✭✭

I don't even call my doctors Dr. I call them John, Emer and Ken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 blindside88
    ✭✭✭

If I had a PhD I'd be using dr. Everywhere, even when booking a hotel :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ytpe2r5bxkn0c1
    ✭✭✭✭

I only use mine on official reports and the likes. A couple of friends call me Dr for a laugh and it confused the postman once when one sent a card to Dr Srameen.

I can't stand people who sign themselves BA, FRCS, MPSI, MA (hons) Eng, etc on day to day emails or letters.

• If I had a PhD I'd be using dr. Everywhere, even when booking a hotel :)

Big mistake , same for flights etc , someone gets sick and your fecked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 CosmoCramer

jh79 wrote: »
    Big mistake , same for flights etc , someone gets sick and your fecked.

Yes, I definitely think only real doctors should be allowed to use the title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 riaganach
    ✭✭

I have one and I'm allergic to using any title, even professionally. Plenty of smarter people than me don't have PhDs. The only thing a PhD title tells me is that you've worked your ass off for a couple of years.

• Yes, I definitely think only real doctors should be allowed to use the title.

MD is for real docs . Doctor is the correct term for anyone with a PhD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 UpCork
    ✭✭✭

I'm a PhD, but I only use it if dealing with academic things. I don't work in academia at he moment so I don't use it in a work capacity - although boss likes us to write our qualifications after our name in our signature - I've resisted so far as it makes me cringe a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,461 o1s1n
    Master of the Universe
    ✭✭✭✭

If you can't write me a cert to get a day off work you're not a real doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 RDM_83 again
    ✭✭✭

Personally if I was going to down that route I would move to germany and become massively overqualified and chain them together.
    Herr Professor Doktor RDM has a certain ring too it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 CosmoCramer

Even though they are not real docs?

• Even though they are not real docs?

They are MD's that people mistakenly refer to as "Doctor".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 RDM_83 again
    ✭✭✭

And surgeons are called MR or Mrs/Ms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,323 Witcher
    ✭✭✭✭

There was a trend of people putting their qualifications in their name on FB a few years back. Still on the go apparently:

www.facebook.com/help/community/question/10151594225367469/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 evolving_doors
    ✭✭✭✭

Using it outside professional capacity is just being a pretentious git as it serves nooooo propose whatsoever.

Signed: Armelodie (Grade 5 Pianoforte ABRSM (Pass)), ECDL, Water Charges Applicant (Payment Pending).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,046 Wabbit Ears
    ✭✭✭

meh, whatever makes them happy, Hows about you study for a búttload of years to achieve a title and then judge?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 Ice Storm
    ✭✭✭

A teacher in my secondary school had a PhD and insisted on being called Dr.

Fair enough, it was in a professional capacity but he got some amount of stick off the students for it. It must have been more hassle than it was worth having to correct people all the time and explain to the fresh crop of first years each September that he wasn't a medical doctor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 Gongoozler
    ✭✭✭

At work one of the ways of knowing a crazy is someone who has the little letters after their full name. Those who aren't doctors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,305 ted1
    ✭✭✭✭

Even though they are not real docs?

They are real doctors, just not medical ones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 efb
    ✭✭✭✭

In a professional capacity only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ghostchant
    ✭✭✭

For the first year after I got my PhD my gran addressed my birthday/Christmas cards with 'Dr.'. As far as I remember it's the only time I've used it (or, more accurately, had it used for me). Even she's not arsed now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 Tarzana2
    ✭✭✭

On your correspondence is grand. I know a guy who uses it on his Twitter page even though he now works in a field completely different to his PhD subject. As in, a different industry entirely. That strikes me as very pompous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 mickstupp
    ✭✭✭

Not sure if true, but my friend works with a bunch of Germans and says they like to stick down whatever qualifications they've got all the time, even just in simple office emails. One even insists on Dr. Dr. Whatever as she has two PhDs.

Again... not sure if true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 Baggy Trousers
    ✭✭✭

Anyone with a PhD that calls themselves "doctor" is a complete ponce.
    It usually means they were too afraid of the big bad world to leave college ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,305 ted1
    ✭✭✭✭

It comes in handy in engineering as there's plenty of people out there who call themselves engineers but have no qualifcation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,169 dlouth15
    ✭✭✭

They are MD's that people mistakenly refer to as "Doctor".
    Well they do have a doctorate, though most medical practitioners in Ireland don't have MDs.

• Anyone with a PhD that calls themselves "doctor" is a complete ponce.
    It usually means they were too afraid of the big bad world to leave college ;)

Some jobs in the big bad role require a PhD just to be considered for an interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 Woshy
    ✭✭✭

My husband uses his with the bank as we thought it would help make us look better on our mortgage application! Otherwise he doesn't use it outside of work.

He'd like to but he knows it would make him look like a knobhead!

Welcome!

It looks like you're new here. Sign in or register to get started.