Is there any volunteering that I could do tomorrow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

My girlfriend works in the volunteering sector and for the past 2/3 weeks she's been dealing with a lot of people only interested in volunteering on Christmas day (not saying that this is the intention of the OP). She points out that there's training involved, possible vetting and a lot of planning gone in to events before Christmas day so people just can't really turn up at things out of the blue. She's mentioned to a few people that there's more than one day in the year that they can help out and has got the head ate off her on the phone by people feeling indignant.

A lot of organisations like to keep their volunteering spots for Christmas Day for their volunteers that have been committed to them for a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

People being turned away has nothing to do with fussiness.

It has to do with insurance, health and safety, Garda vetting, child protection and an individual's ability to do a task well.
    I've seen first hand people being declined with regards to volunteer roles because they are just not suited or pose a liability to other volunteers and the public.
    Over the years it's gotten more involved. You have to get garda vetted and sent in application forms now. The whole process for that alone takes four weeks.Then you get clearance etc. Then they assess your skill set and then you chose when you want to do it.

Even if you have been volunteering for years you still need to do garda vetting every time you re apply.

It's more the rigamarole. You get a copy of a passport or drivers license etc. You put down every address you have lived and what year and then they ask have you ever been charged with or convicted of an offense in my case I answer no. Then it's confirmed by the guards. Then you send your c.v and what experience and skills you have and what your schedule is or what work you do etc. And you are told what they need.

If you did have an offense and you have to tick yes there is a line saying 'What is the nature of the offense?'.

Once you do all of this it really depends on what they need. Some need a commitment for a few months some you can go when you like for a few hrs. And some do a rota every week or month.

The DSPCA could never allow someone with a conviction for animal or child abuse on site for obvious reasons. And some people sadly do actually volunteer for less than altruistic reasons.

I have done a lot of volunteer work running up to the Christmas but I am not doing anything now until the new year. Christmas is a tough time to volunteer OP. Everywhere is crowded.

It will take four weeks usually for you to be vetted and get the application forms in anyway. So do that in Jan if you still want to. You can't get vetted by your local Garda station you have to give the info to the organisation and they send the forms to the Garda Central Vetting Unit.

It's a pain in the butthole but it's great craic once you get started. You meet some lovely people. Also I find the summer is a great time to volunteer. Especially if you have to be outdoors a lot. Thank GOD this was a mild winter. I hate being cold!

But do try in Jan you will find something that suits you :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

People being turned away has nothing to do with fussiness.

It has to do with insurance, health and safety, Garda vetting, child protection and an individual's ability to do a task well.
    I've seen first hand people being declined with regards to volunteer roles because they are just not suited or pose a liability to other volunteers and the public.

Exactly.

It might be volunteering but it's still a job. They can't just give their materials/food to any Tom, Dick or Harry who comes up to them and expect them to go hand them out or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

....happy Christmas to them that are out tonight and getting in now. Or waking early (alarm bombs). I'll be doing a bit myself come the new year if I'm up to it.

Best wishes and this season was designed for you if anyone.