Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

10 round numbers- How many of these can you run in 2014?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Just double checking something I think I already know......

Do you need to be a club member to compete in the shorter events (400m, 800m, 1 mile, 3k)?

Let's say I'm not a member of a club, but wanted to have a go at all 10 round numbers in 2015. Would that be possible?

If so, how would one go about recording official times at those distances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,514 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Just double checking something I think I already know......

Do you need to be a club member to compete in the shorter events (400m, 800m, 1 mile, 3k)?

Let's say I'm not a member of a club, but wanted to have a go at all 10 round numbers in 2015. Would that be possible?

If so, how would one go about recording official times at those distances?
    For the 400m, 800m it would pretty much have to be on a track, though it has been said that a time trial would be sufficient (personally I prefer the idea of a race, as at least it gets runners out to try the other distances). For the mile/3k etc there are organized races for those distances outside of the club environment (e.g. Fit4life). This xmas for example, there should be a number of organized GOAL races, such as the one that is being organized in my local park, by a philanthropic boards poster.

So (for the 400m & 800m) going to a track yourself, running the required amount of laps and hitting the lap function on your watch would be sufficient?
    I thought all times had to be recorded in official races. Seems I was wrong?
    I think this should be the case tbh (even though it doesn't exactly suit me)

So (for the 400m & 800m) going to a track yourself, running the required amount of laps and hitting the lap function on your watch would be sufficient?
    Yep. According to the accepted rules, you should be good. Given that I missed the 400m by just over 2/10ths of a second, not sure what my time would have been, had I been self-recording.

This is my reason for the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

I thought all times had to be recorded in official races. Seems I was wrong?
    I think this should be the case tbh (even though it doesn't exactly suit me)

I'm pretty sure no-one has done that to date for any time entered and, personally, I'd prefer if it was an official race but I don't know what the official rules are. Finding all the races in the one calendar year is part of the challenge! Hence, the yearly scramble for 400m/mile and 3k races by the marathon guys...

I don't know where you're based, but this alone would be a good incentive to join a club!

Does that apply to all of the distances? If so, I'd like to propose a change for 2015 that only official races count. Otherwise, I'll just do all the longer distances in training!

Sacksian wrote: »
    Does that apply to all of the distances? If so, I'd like to propose a change for 2015 that only official races count. Otherwise, I'll just do all the longer distances in training!
    I'd agree with you, that I reckon it should be in official races only, though I reckon official splits (e.g. an official 1/2 marathon split during a marathon) should still be acceptable. It does make it harder on the likes of Yaboya, but to be honest, if you're targeting all of the distances in the 10 round numbers, you should probably be in a club environment anyway, as it'll make it easier to hit those distances (greater access to races, access to track etc).

I'd have no problem with an official split but, at the same time, I think the logistical difficulties involved in fitting in different races over 10 different distances (and some form of preparation for each - or not) is part of the challenge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

I'd agree with you, that I reckon it should be in official races only, though I reckon official splits (e.g. an official 1/2 marathon split during a marathon) should still be acceptable.

Given that we all agree split times can only be official splits and not garmin records, it would be a bit odd to take a stopwatch/garmin record for a full distance time.

yaboya, get yourself to a club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

I think as it currently stands, any times run on a track as a time trial can count, therefore 400m, 800m, Mile, 3000m, 5000m. However for the 400m I don't think this is a great idea. Hand times can be wildly inaccurate over sprint distances. IAAF says to add 0.24 for 100m and 200m, and just 0.14 for 400m, but this assumes that an experienced, qualified hand timer is doing the hand timing for a race. Your mate Billy from down the road who doesn't know anything about track running will likely be way off, as would the auld fella who's reactions may not be up to the level required. I remember running a 100m race once, and three guys were timing it. One guy got me at 12.7, and another guy at 13.2. For these reasons I think 400m should be restricted to a race only. Anyway, who wants to run a 59.9 on your watch and have that doubt in your mind? The same goes for relay splits.

Garmin times off track are a complete no-no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Calvin Johnson

Name|400m< 60secs|800m< 150 secs|1 mile< 5min|3k< 10min|5k< 20min|5mile< 30min|10k< 40m|10miles< 1hr|Half Marathon< 90mins|Marathon< 3hrs
    gaz200||2.15.77||||||||
    dna_leri|56.48|2.04.72|||17:05|29:27|36:23|||
    Thewolf_ie|||||17:54||38.46|||
    pa4||||9:24|15:52||34:49|||
    Krusty_clown||2:18.88|4:49|9:39|15:52||33:36|56:48|1:15:52|2:35:03
    BeepBeep67||2:17.4|4:57|9:51|16:52|28:51|36:33|59:45|1:25:22|
    KielyUnusual||||9.26|17.21|27.11||58.42||
    Chivito550|54.88|2:15.69|||19:46|||||
    RayCun||2:27|||18:27|29:50|||1:23:07|2:56:42
    Toblerone1978|||||18:40||39:38||1:27:26|2:59:11
    DrQuirky|||||16:12|27:39|34:38|58:19|1:17:27|
    ecoli||||9.20|17.21|27:45|34.10|57.27|76.12|2.59.25
    srunner||||9:34|17:08|28:22||||
    Diablo Verde|||||18:54|29:57||||
    skeleton_boy|||||17.55||37.27||1.23.50|
    yaboya1|||||17:15|29:58|37:07||1:20:17|2:59:11|
    Itziger||||||29:50|37:07||1:22:31|
    Conavitzky|||||17:00||36:55||1:28:12|
    Dublin Runner|||||17:03|28:44|35:27||1.18:17|2.50:50|
    jebuz|||||16:27|||56:57|1:15:40|2:46:59|
    Timmay|||4:39|9:34|16:19||||||
    Basster|||||18.59||39.16||1:27:05||
    pconn062||2:12:75|4.56||18.01||39:01|||
    rom||||||||||2:58:48|
    eldiva|58.32|2.00.49|4.38||15.37||||||
    Gavlor |||||||37:16||81.14|2.59.01|
    Martyboy48 |||||19:46||||||
    blockic|||||18:11||||1:24:35||
    clear thinking||2.23.9|||19:41||||||
    aero2k||||||29:56|36:46|||2:58:05|
    davemcmahon |||||18:43||39:09||1:28:29||
    happygoose |58.09|2:08|4:53||16:21|27:48|34:34|56:29|76:08|2:46:38|
    PaulieYifter|||||18:49||38:10|||2:58:06|
    Sacksian|55.6|2:02.09|4:37.53|9:23.93|16:15||||1:25:05||
    Pointer28|||||19:53||||||
    CR 7|||||19:58||||||
    Calvin Johnson |||||19:27||||1:29:57||

Only two so far...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Only two so far...

And they're the 2 easy ones!

I'm only marginally better. Ok, I'd get the 5k like, but very few races here at the distance.

Of the 'distance' ones, are we agreed that the 10 miler is the toughest? All things being equal - which they never are.

Itziger wrote: »
    Only two so far...

And they're the 2 easy ones!

I'm only marginally better. Ok, I'd get the 5k like, but very few races here at the distance.

Of the 'distance' ones, are we agreed that the 10 miler is the toughest? All things being equal - which they never are.

Of the ones I've tried for, the 10 mile is the toughest. So to answer your question - yes.
    I've never had a go at the shorter ones. The 400m & the mile look the most challenging of those to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Name|400m< 60secs|800m< 150 secs|1 mile< 5min|3k< 10min|5k< 20min|5mile< 30min|10k< 40m|10miles< 1hr|Half Marathon< 90mins|Marathon< 3hrs
    gaz200||2.15.77||||||||
    Timmay||2:01|4:39|9:34|16:03||||||
    happygoose |58.09|2:08|4:53||16:21|27:48|34:34|56:29|76:08|2:46:38|

Hmmm surely broke 60sec for 400 during an 800 but no official splits. Actually on hindsight I'm raging I didn't get the finger out on that final lap of the beermile and actually run sub60, it was officially timed by I think KCs extremely accurate and certainly not booze affected hand timing! Always next yr! Nothing over 5k ticked off, zero ambitions to bother any day soon either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

gaz200||2.15.77||||||||
    happygoose |58.09|2:08|4:53|9:40|16:21|27:48|34:34|56:29|76:08|2:46:38|

Got there with this thing, finally! 9:40 for the 3k tonight at the AIT Baseline Meet. First time I've ran indoors and it was a great experience, if a little hurried for me. Races were running 30 mins ahead of time. I just about made it for my 300m but ran a 41:72 for it which I would've taken going down.

Broad mix of entrants there and it was quite well organised. Some top quality runs on the night, the stand out being Travers with an 8:07 solo and weaving through traffic. McGeehan ran a 1:30 or so 600 straight after her 3k, think it was about a 9:20.

happygoose wrote: »
    gaz200||2.15.77||||||||
    yaboya1|||||17:15|29:58|37:07|1:20:17|2:59:11|
    happygoose |58.09|2:08|4:53|9:40|16:21|27:48|34:34|56:29|76:08|2:46:38|

Got there with this thing, finally! 9:40 for the 3k tonight at the AIT Baseline Meet. First time I've ran indoors and it was a great experience, if a little hurried for me. Races were running 30 mins ahead of time. I just about made it for my 300m but ran a 41:72 for it which I would've taken going down.

Broad mix of entrants there and it was quite well organised. Some top quality runs on the night, the stand out being Travers with an 8:07 solo and weaving through traffic. McGeehan ran a 1:30 or so 600 straight after her 3k, think it was about a 9:20.

Congrats on completing the challenge.

Didn't know you were running the 300. What heat were you in? I was in the second one.

Mageean ran 9:11 I believe. She looked like she was cruising it. Didn't realise she ran a 600 after.

Cheers!

Didn't know it was that fast. So I was told, I was out doing a cool down when the 600s were on, perhaps I'm was told wrong. Any sign of results online? How did you go?

I was in Heat 5, it was scheduled after the 3k when I entered, seemed to have been brought forward closer to today, if I knew the schedule as it panned out I would've done the 3k and the 600 after instead.

Nice evening down there, something different, especially this time of year.

How do you find running indoors v outdoors?

Cheers!

Didn't know it was that fast. So I was told, I was out doing a cool down when the 600s were on, perhaps I'm was told wrong. Any sign of results online? How did you go?

I was in Heat 5, it was scheduled after the 3k when I entered, seemed to have been brought forward closer to today, if I knew the schedule as it panned out I would've done the 3k and the 600 after instead.

Nice evening down there, something different, especially this time of year.

How do you find running indoors v outdoors?

Got on ok for a first ever indoor race. 40.47. Wanted sub 40 but inexperience indoors and a head cold the last few days probably cost me that. Managed an 8.05 in the 60m which was a bit of craic. Indoor running is completely different to outdoors over 300m and 400m, particularly with having to break. There's a great buzz to running in such an intimate venue though that you don't get outdoors. Really looking forward to all the big races post xmas.

Good going all considered so. I'd be left of dead in the blocks in a 60, fair play, fair clatter of sprinters down for the 150 I'm sure a lot would've been in the 60.

Great selection of races in AIT from Jan-March. Looking forward to getting down there again on the 11th January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

Hearty congratulations on being the first to complete the 10 round numbers happygoose!
    That's some spread of times.
    Out of interest, what time are you least happy with on the list and what do you feel is your best?
    What would you consider your optimal distance? Would this change throughout the year as you focus on different things?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

That's some range! Congratulations!!

Hearty congratulations on being the first to complete the 10 round numbers happygoose!
    That's some spread of times.
    Out of interest, what time are you least happy with on the list and what do you feel is your best?
    What would you consider your optimal distance? Would this change throughout the year as you focus on different things?

Cheers Kiely.

I enjoyed the 10 mile, I'd say it's the best of the 10, it was around the time of nationals and the Clubs training was leaning towards a few distance athletes competing there at the time so I was in my best shape around July. The mile time is weak.

I haven't a clue what my optimal distance is although I would like to find out. All my times are pretty level although I never do anything much in terms of sessions specific to middle distance. I'm curious to see where a bit of effort at that end of the spectrum will get me. I'm relatively new to running and never went near anything on a track until last year. I've only ran one proper 800 and 1500. I might chance having a lactate test in order to see of that'll shed any light on it, for curiosity sake if nothing else.

I didn't really have a focus in 2014. I enjoy doing races, I probably race too often, but I'd miss them if I wasn't competing. Next year I hope to limit myself to the shorter end of things and get a good range of times from 200 to 5k, and maybe jump a hurdle or two :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Cheers Kiely.

I enjoyed the 10 mile, I'd say it's the best of the 10, it was around the time of nationals and the Clubs training was leaning towards a few distance athletes competing there at the time so I was in my best shape around July. The mile time is weak.

I haven't a clue what my optimal distance is although I would like to find out. All my times are pretty level although I never do anything much in terms of sessions specific to middle distance. I'm curious to see where a bit of effort at that end of the spectrum will get me. I'm relatively new to running and never went near anything on a track until last year. I've only ran one proper 800 and 1500. I might chance having a lactate test in order to see of that'll shed any light on it, for curiosity sake if nothing else.

I didn't really have a focus in 2014. I enjoy doing races, I probably race too often, but I'd miss them if I wasn't competing. Next year I hope to limit myself to the shorter end of things and get a good range of times from 200 to 5k, and maybe jump a hurdle or two :)

You may have said this already, but do you mind telling us your age and background. You say you're new to the sport, so even more impressive. If you're young you should try to find where your real talent lies and get serious on the times in that or those distances. Well done in any case.

I know it's all kind of 'makey-uppey' stuff, but that's a really great achievement, and having that kind of spread of talent is superb. I don't necessarily think that you have to specialize in one area at the cost of all others (everyone should be encouraged to dabble in some alternative areas), but certainly focusing training in one region should see some significant gains, particularly if your training has been pretty generic.

Here's your vdots (IAAF points) for the relevant times:
    400 - 71.75 (477)
    800 - 66.29 (588)
    Mile - 61.01 (520)
    3k - 61.15 (550)
    5k - 62.98 (585)
    5 mile - 60.87 (N/A)
    10k - 61.63 (611)
    10 mile - 62.52 (641)
    1/2M - 61.78 (613)
    Marathon - 58.57 (599)

332121.png

The vdot system (which doesn't really translate across spreads) suggests that your strength is in the shorter stuff, while the IAAF tables rates your 10 mile as your best performance, and suggests you should stick to the longer stuff (up to half). I guess you gotta figure out what you enjoy the most!

Congrats again.

*Edit*: Here's my chart. I'd disregard the 400/800m vdot figures as they're a a bit skewed. You can see that I trained for the 5k/marathon, and all of the others were 'just turn up' races.

332119.png

Well done!

In terms of future training, I'd go with what you enjoy or are most motivated to do - I think you'll get the best out of yourself that way.

For everything above 400, the shorter distances doesn't have to mean less running so, if you like mileage and long runs (or just like running generally), you can still do them all!

*Edit*: Here's my chart. I'd disregard the 400/800m vdot figures as they're a a bit skewed. You can see that I trained for the 5k/marathon, and all of the others were 'just turn up' races.

332119.png

Your VDOT figures are still amazingly tight over the distances - I presume that's a function of aerobic development?

I don't think the 400/800 figures are that much use generally for anyone - an untrained first 400 is a good bit higher for me than my 800, which was more or less the focus for my last summer. Times in 2014 for 5k/3k/mile are very consistent, but much lower than the 800 time, which would also make sense.

And then a massive cliff after 5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

I know it's all kind of 'makey-uppey' stuff, but that's a really great achievement, and having that kind of spread of talent is superb. I don't necessarily think that you have to specialize in one area at the cost of all others (everyone should be encouraged to dabble in some alternative areas), but certainly focusing training in one region should see some significant gains, particularly if your training has been pretty generic.

Here's your vdots (IAAF points) for the relevant times:
    400 - 71.75 (477)
    800 - 66.29 (588)
    Mile - 61.01 (520)
    3k - 61.15 (550)
    5k - 62.98 (585)
    5 mile - 60.87 (N/A)
    10k - 61.63 (611)
    10 mile - 62.52 (641)
    1/2M - 61.78 (613)
    Marathon - 58.57 (599)

332121.png

The vdot system (which doesn't really translate across spreads) suggests that your strength is in the shorter stuff, while the IAAF tables rates your 10 mile as your best performance, and suggests you should stick to the longer stuff (up to half). I guess you gotta figure out what you enjoy the most!

Congrats again.

332119.png

Is there an online calculator for the current IAAF points or do you have to trawl through those archaic pages of data?

PS I see what you did there on your Vdot chart - changing the scale on one axis... ;)

dna_leri wrote: »
    Is there an online calculator for the current IAAF points or do you have to trawl through those archaic pages of data?
    No, but that's a damn good idea.
    dna_leri wrote:
    PS I see what you did there on your Vdot chart - changing the scale on one axis... ;)
    I can't take credit for that! It was all Excel 2010's work. Interesting that there's less variation in HappyGoose's trend lines, suggesting he's a better rounded competitor.

Thanks folks, some kind words there, fair play, nice to see how the numbers stack up against each other too.

In relation to my background -
    I've a similar one to many on here, a convert from GAA during my 30's which I played at a reasonable level. I spent my 20's faffin about as ya do, I don't regret it, a life for a young person in athletics involves massive sacrifice whereas if you're in GAA you can just toddle along without giving up too many nights out :)

I ran a 3:54 in DCM off that GAA training in 2009. Six 12 mile runs and a 16 miler in training. It was a horrible experience. I went back to GAA in 2010 and gave up in 2011 when I started running properly. I did a lot of cycling that year too, joined a Club in August, ran a 1:23 half and a 2:58 DCM.

Respiratory problems and an operation in 2012 had me out for most of the year, I entered Berlin but had to defer.

I went back to the GAA in 2013 and tried managing both until June when I ditched it. In terms of athletics I was filling in for my Club on XC and National League teams. I ran decent consistent mileage albeit with a couple of chest infections which led to breaks. I managed to break 17 for the 5k and ran 2:49 in Berlin. I tried track for the first time and had a good first full XC season.

This year my times got better, I plugged away at the training knowing I turn 35 and with that possibly having a chance to be competitive at a Masters level. A lot of athletes don't bother with the Masters but I think it's something that is attractive for 'returnee runners' yet to hit pb's and win medals, as many on here are, as opposed to seasoned athletes who are past their best times.

I won't add much specific training in 2015, I don't plan on doing anything too long so I will add a bit more quality at the expense of some volume. Ill work on areas that I've neglected that I think will help - core, flexibility, drills, etc. I need to chip away at where I'm weak.