Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Question. Is it fair to say that this is the worst time of year to try and sell a car ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Question. Is it fair to say that this is the worst time of year to try and sell a car ?

It's probably not a great time with Christmas I suppose most with families will leave it till the new year to look. In saying all that there will still be loads of people looking for particular cars regardless of Christmas. I suppose it depends on the car really.

Bpmull wrote: »
    It's probably not a great time with Christmas I suppose most with families will leave it till the new year to look. In saying all that there will still be loads of people looking for particular cars regardless of Christmas. I suppose it depends on the car really.

Only had two people contact me since yesterday offering me less then I'm asking before even viewing it. I won't mentioned what car it is since I'm sure it would be considered shilling (is that the right phrase ?)

What is the ad like. You could always post a link here and see if anyone can give you any tips on how to improve it. Posters do it all the time so there wouldn't be any issue with it. Maybe you could be lucky over Christmas you might get people out looking while they are off work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

I had my car for sale for 2 months and no calls at all. It's a great car in perfect Nick think it being petrol was against it and time of year maybe. I traded it in in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Fire the link up there, we're here to help, and if someone happens to want to buy it here, then lucky you :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

I bet it was. And someone who was driving behind that truck... Was not funny for me at all.

As MM said, I though it was illegal to do too, but who the feck I will say about it. Garda will just have a laugh.
    I just admire more all people who slow down near puddles like this. I am running on that route for almost half year and always notice car slow down near water. This time I got a proper shower though.

I know what you mean, everytime I'm out running and I notice a car go around a puddle to avoid drenching me I always give a little thanks wave :o

Oh yes, forgot to say, I was charged €30 for 6 wheel nuts in the main stealer today....

6 nuts for four wheels did some of the alloys have 2 lock nuts :pac: ford dealers must be one of the most expensive for parts outside of BMW etc. the price of even oil air fuel filters of them is ridiculous it used to kill me to pay so much for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

The cute boyo's took all the lock nuts off and parked the car up with just 3 nuts on each wheel, so had no option but to buy them. They reckoned that 2 of the existing nuts on one of the wheels weren't the right ones. I knew that, but said I'd change them and have them all the same.

But in fairness they took the locknuts off for free (30 minutes in total, between finding the right key etc) so I didn't mind.

Well that was fair enough. I'd say the mechanics hate seeing cars coming in with problems like that. Reminds me when I had the astra and it had a few coolant leaks. You'd think finding leaks would be a handy job but these one were probably in the worst most awkward spots right down behind the engine between the bulkhead. It was that bad i had to bring it back as they were closing it was a Friday afternoon. They ended up having to strip a good bit of the front of the car wheels bumper etc and had to replace a few of the hoses the mechanic handed me back the keys and the shear look in is face to reflect the hardship he had got :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Ha! a meain stealer wanted 7.50 per nut from me once for the gtv

Anyone looking for an auto electrician around North County Dublin, I'd recommend Airport electrics and autos (google)

Had a very good experience with them recently, and heading back to hopefully get the OHs cd player in the boot sorted as a treat for xmas :) Good service, nice people, clean well run place, and no ****eing about getting work done.

Both myself, OH and mechanic impressed.

Well that was fair enough. I'd say the mechanics hate seeing cars coming in with problems like that. Reminds me when I had the astra and it had a few coolant leaks. You'd think finding leaks would be a handy job but these one were probably in the worst most awkward spots right down behind the engine between the bulkhead. It was that bad i had to bring it back as they were closing it was a Friday afternoon. They ended up having to strip a good bit of the front of the car wheels bumper etc and had to replace a few of the hoses the mechanic handed me back the keys and the shear look in is face to reflect the hardship he had got :pac:

Dad knows the head of the service dept. so.... What was it that they said to me, oh yes, take the four of them nuts, along with the key, and fire them at some car, as long as it's not a Ford :pac: They have no time for lock nuts, or flat blade wipers come to think of it....

Dad knows the head of the service dept. so....

Ironically it was the same in my above case. I wouldn't of liked to see the real bill from a main Opel dealer for 5 hours labour replacing 3 hoses and changing the coolant :eek:

Fire the link up there, we're here to help, and if someone happens to want to buy it here, then lucky you :P

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/nissan-micra-1999-nct-feb-16/8308193

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

So I went for my usual daily cardio session. Pissing rain like no tomorrow, never stopped me.
    Headphones on and just in my little world. The next second I feel like I am drowning... A huge wave of water just covers me completely. Huge shock and massive Wtf in my head. So massive truck, which was carrying logs, went throw a big puddle of water at around 80km/h and not even slowing down for a bit...
    All I could do is shout out **** and put a finger up.... Fecking asshole.

Bad buzz. Happened me when I was a child never happened again. I do stop at puddles wait for cars to go by and then keep moving.
    Isn't it illegal for a driver to do that to a pedestrian?

Don't think so. The driver knows full well what they are doing. Never done it to anybody myself. You might be thinking of that incident in UK, where people were at the bus stop / or walking forget which and a car shot by them and soaked them and the car owners passenger filmed it when they done it and got done for dangerous driving or careless driving. As they were seen to be driving too fast for conditions and dangerously. You know where you drive fast over puddle and car glides on the water.

Looks like a fairly good ad tbh. If it has good tyres you could mention that and when it was last serviced if recently timming belt when was it done mentioning small things like that gives people the impression they won't have to spend money on it when they buy it. I'm sure other will have more to say. Best of luck with the sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Fill out the mileage, you might be missed on searches.

Looks very tidy to be fair.

Looks like a fairly good ad tbh. If it has good tyres you could mention that and when it was last serviced if recently timming belt when was it done mentioning small things like that gives people the impression they won't have to spend money on it when they buy it. I'm sure other will have more to say. Best of luck with the sale.

Yeah I'll include all that, was a bit concerned about putting too much in it. Its not due a service till 96k or March, its a timing chain and recently had its aux belts changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

What does one do when the girl whom you've been with for the guts of 9 years breaks up with you?
    Jesus lads I don't know where to look. . . .

YbFocus wrote: »
    What does one do when the girl whom you've been with for the guts of 9 years breaks up with you?

Ah shyte, you take that beemer back middling fast for starters anyway :o

Sorry to hear that, this is no time to break up :(

Ah shyte, you take that beemer back middling fast for starters anyway :o

Sorry to hear that, this is no time to break up :(

Well I won't fight her for it and it's in her name, I guess I'll just buy an e36 coupe like I was talking about :(

Pretty crap time alright, it's weird because I heard on the radio the other day it's the most common time to break up, the fortnight before christmas!

Well I won't fight her for it and it's in her name, I guess I'll just buy an e36 coupe like I was talking about :(

Pretty crap time alright, it's weird because I heard on the radio the other day it's the most common time to break up, the fortnight before christmas!

Here, look I know you must feel pretty crap, something similar happened a family member not too long ago. Look at it this way, wouldn't it be a million times worse if this happened in say 5 or 10 years time, when ye would have had a mortgage and maybe a few tots thrown in the mix, and more things tying ye together. Onwards and upwards dude. Plenty of time over the xmas to go fishing ;)

If you want to chat PM me :)

Let her have the M6's you despise and take back the ones on it :D

Yeah I'll include all that, was a bit concerned about putting too much in it. Its not due a service till 96k or March, its a timing chain and recently had its aux belts changed.

Stick it in the bangernomics thread. Could help shift it on.

Here, look I know you must feel pretty crap, something similar happened a family member not too long ago. Look at it this way, wouldn't it be a million times worse if this happened in say 5 or 10 years time, when ye would have had a mortgage and maybe a few tots thrown in the mix, and more things tying ye together. Onwards and upwards dude. Plenty of time over the xmas to go fishing ;)

If you want to chat PM me :)

Let her have the M6's you despise and take back the ones on it :D

Thanks Noccy :)

Yes it's all very true but its a big shock, I'm fine and all but have no interest in going to work tomorrow etc!

YbFocus wrote:
    Yes it's all very true but its a big shock, I'm fine and all but have no interest in going to work tomorrow etc!

YbFocus wrote:
    Thanks Noccy 

Ah I know them feels, don't stay moping though, sometimes keeping the old ceann occupied is the best :)

I think it's time to watch all the motorsport documentaries I can until I fall asleep and then up and on to work!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Christ, thats rough, especially given the time of year etc.

If you find yourself in Dublin anytime soon gimme a shout and maybe a shot in the 86 will cheer you up a bit :)

That really crap though.

Christ, thats rough, especially given the time of year etc.

If you find yourself in Dublin anytime soon gimme a shout and maybe a shot in the 86 will cheer you up a bit :)

That really crap though.

Thanks Simon, a look at that beauty would do me :)

Now enough with the negativity, shouldn't be blocking up the thread with my idle ramblings!