Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,856 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Ah come on, someone needs to resurrect it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Ah come on, someone needs to resurrect it!

Done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RichFTW

You left out the end bit, post #3461.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Ha I was quite proud of that conversation

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Who was the poster that called young a disgrace because he saw him in a night club in London when young was injured?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭Hococop

Who was the poster that called young a disgrace because he saw him in a night club in London when young was injured?

Was that not sturridge?

I could be wrong

What a great chuckle that brings

That was genuinely a great night's craic in here. It was both equally unexpected and needed at the time, considering that the lack of signings since Shaw and Herrera was starting to take its toll on the overall mood around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

I'm not saying that's the case because I didn't see many Levante games last year myself, but I find it hilarious that people are able to make such ridiculous statements based on nothing but statistics that don't necessarily mean anything.

I saw him at the world cup were he looked solid.

Combined with the fact he was also named keeper of the year ahead of courtois and kept 15 clean sheets would make me believe that someone's statement of him being the best keeper in Spain has some legs.

I'm not saying its true just that the stats paint a believable picture.

Would ye look at what we have become. Reminiscing about past glorys, past times.

Sure who would do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

I follow Blind on Facebook, he's a bit of a goofy character :) More pics here.

2413998100000578-2875221-image-m-55_1418688528753.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭SherlockWatson

beno619 wrote: »
    I saw him at the world cup were he looked solid.

Combined with the fact he was also named keeper of the year ahead of courtois and kept 15 clean sheets would make me believe that someone's statement of him being the best keeper in Spain has some legs.

I'm not saying its true just that the stats paint a believable picture.

Frazer Forster has the most clean sheets in the league so far this year. (I think)

Does that means he's now better than Courtois, De Gea, Cech and Hart?

Of course not, stats mean very little in the grand scheme of things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,008 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

jebus that jacket on Carrick is awful

advertsfox wrote: »
    I follow Blind on Facebook, he's a bit of a goofy character :) More pics here.

2413998100000578-2875221-image-m-55_1418688528753.jpg

Oh christ, Shaw is wearing those black skinny jeans with no socks again, the shame :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

a bleedin man-bag?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Did you watch any of their games?

I'd take a stab at no.

I actually follow most of la liga games the way I would premier league games so yes I have seen them play lots of times.

judging by that comment you have never seen him play or never even heard of him before the world cup

Lol, you gotta love Balague. He has Navas in goal for his El Clasico best XI despite Navas never actually playing in an El Clasico.

no, he has picked his best 11 players that are available to play in that el clasico.

Toni kroos, luis Suarez, ivan Rakitic had also never played in el clasico

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I just heard some rubbish about Herrera and scamming matches in Spain off a guy in the kitchen in work? What iz diz?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Blind looks bit Homeless.

EVENFLOW

a bleedin man-bag?

It's a satchel, Indiana jones has one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I just did one of those snort laughs, in work....worth it though!

Jesus the delusion and denial becomes so strong at times

Trilla wrote: »
    I just heard some rubbish about Herrera and scamming matches in Spain off a guy in the kitchen in work? What iz diz?

Old news, nothing serious as far as I remember, it's the same thing that Gabi was involved in months ago, pretty sure all the headlines are just sensationalist garbage that people are picking up on.

bangkok wrote: »
    I actually follow most of la liga games the way I would premier league games so yes I have seen them play lots of times.

judging by that comment you have never seen him play or never even heard of him before the world cup

Levate were a solid defensive unit before he came, they have been a safety first team for years,the clean sheets are not solely down to him and his spectacular performance alone or anything though I do think he is a very good keeper.

Using his clean sheets as some sort of proof of his ability is a red herring though, without his defence he doesn't get those 15 clean sheets. It would have been better if you gave some examples of saves you saw him make, how he commanded his backline or his box, some situations where he took up excellent positioning to cut off angles and make the goal smaller etc

Course, the chances are you haven't really seen that much of him to be able to do that, just relying on his stats and the fact he won goalkeeper of the year, his only actual competition there was Courtois tbh and I am somewhat surprised he won it ahead of him, but not absolutely shocked or anything. Can't say I studied his game all that much last year, I do know he impressed me at times when I caught Levante games, but again, it is tempered by the fact that Levante defended very well as a unit.

He was part of the unit and I think he has a shot at taking over the number 1 spot at Madrid, but I don't think he has it in the bag just yet, he will get a chance to prove he is the man for the job though imo.

Players doing well at other clubs and then coming to Madrid, particularly players at other, smaller, Spanish clubs, don't always make the grade at Madrid, even very good players, like Illemarendi, Canales etc have shown just how good they are but had the career stalled by joining Madrid.

There is still hope for the former, but Canales was one hell of an exciting talent when he was signed by Madrid, now he is being linked with Aston Villa and playing for David Moyes :)

Trilla wrote: »

I believe the technical term for it is, "Old News"

Or maybe he's right, and every single scout in Spain who sees him week in, week out, didn't think the BEST goalkeeper in Spain was worth a massive 10m.

Meh, maybe other teams came in, I am sure they did tbf but Madrid are a very hard one to resist of course :)

nothing to do with transfer fee, Barca and Real know that every team in spain is up to their eyes in Debt and they can take players on the cheap from them.

Rakitic was one of the best players in spain last year and barca signed him for 14m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Crimson King

According to physio room, by the 28th December 4 of the 6 remaining players on the treatment table will be able to return and the only players with no return date are Thorpe & Rojo. Things might be changing for the better lads, wonder with LVG can do with a fully fit squad?

I think Rojo was taken out as a precaution. Hopefully so.