Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*******Motors Chat - Round 7*******

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Micksgarage have an extra 10% of everything until midnight Tuesday. Use voucher code: XMAS10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Does anyone know of a website where I can check if a car was imported and if possible when it was?

Motorcheck.ie just pop the reg in and it'll come up on a red box in the right corner if it's an import. Can't tell when without looking at the log book :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

YbFocus wrote: »
    No fecking way!! If you passed I would have known the car I'm sure of it!
    Was I loaded or empty at that stage? It was making terrific noise when empty going down the quays so had to try quieten it!
    You were probably flipping out :D

Edit: Threw up a post in the something I did thread so ye can have a laugh at our amateur hour mechanics :)

It was empty! Haha, I was very patient :D

Bpmull wrote: »
    Micksgarage have an extra 10% of everything until midnight Tuesday. Use voucher code: XMAS10

Yess!! I'll have them fuses for next to nothing :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭Dartz

So, had a family get together tonight. Everyone drunk but the designated driver and for once, that wasn't me.

We were having a discussion on the way home from the party between the three of us sloshed out of our heads, and the designated driver who was stone sober. (The poor thing. ) At the same time a bacon wagon pulls alongside the passenger door and I decided that, who better to ask than the exports. So I rolled down the window.

He rolled down his. There's cursing and discussion in the car behind me and the driver catches on to what I was going to do and triggers the electric window to close it off, but it's too late.

In the fullness of drink, I yell at the cop...

"Hey! What's the ****ing speed limit on this road? None of us know."

Needless to say, we got pulled over and given the full breathalyser thing and everyone was mortified and I am now forbidden from drinking at any family gathering ever again. But at least we found out what the ****ing speed limit was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

The back of the primera stepped out of line tippin around a tight slippy right this evening. Back left tyre will have to be retired to the spare wheel when I get home tuesday. It got some extra time because it's a bridgestone on the rear but its day has come.

Just looking at the various insurance companies and what they offer online. Axa seem to offer loads, the option to log in and add a driver there and then at any time etc, whereas allianz don't even offer anything,you need to contact them on the phone, and hold for about half an hour between 8 - 6 Mon to Fri and 9 -1 on a Sat. I think that technology has moved on somewhat that they can offer an online service like the other providers. It'll be a deciding factor when I go for renewal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭scottp68877

Motorcheck.ie just pop the reg in and it'll come up on a red box in the right corner if it's an import. Can't tell when without looking at the log book :)
    Thanks a lot that will do the job fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Sobanek wrote: »
    It was empty! Haha, I was very patient :D

I'd say you were patient when you remembered some boring van being in your way :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

God dammit, I hate the nature of petrol heads. It's a curse I am telling you.
    I got a perfectly good scooby, fresh nct, which it passed like a boss, tax for next 3 months, everything on it is perfect and it could drive to the moon and back......... But still, I am itching for a change! I hate that!

For some reason I just want something big, automatic, Luxurious and lazy. Maybe even buying gs 300 for pennies put a tax for a year and still be left over with a ton of money after selling scooby...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

OSI wrote: »
    And then you'll pull an SG and buy back your Scooby 3 months down the line while your GS300 sits in the corner with half the wires ripped out trying to trace that one minor fault that just puts you into a rage.

I know man. I told my mechanic/friend that I am itching for a change amd that u might sell scooby. He almost gave me a slap with that look that you give to your dog, when it did something bad "fuuu! Bad dog! Bad dog!

Are newer shape is250 are awful too? I remember when they were brand new, that they were suffering from a lot of electrical crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Had the interview, me mouth was as dry as a 100 year old fanny :D
    Think it went well, I didn't mention I need time off nor did I mention anything about money except for what I'm expecting which I don't think they will accept tbh.
    I have to give one months notice to my employer but I don't get it that much. If I need to start work in February, do I have to hand in my notice by the end of December or could I just give it to them in January?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

bear1 wrote: »
    Had the interview, me mouth was as dry as a 100 year old fanny :D
    Think it went well, I didn't mention I need time off nor did I mention anything about money except for what I'm expecting which I don't think they will accept tbh.
    I have to give one months notice to my employer but I don't get it that much. If I need to start work in February, do I have to hand in my notice by the end of December or could I just give it to them in January?

Since we are going into a new year you could hand it in early Jan and use all your holidays from 2015 as notice plus whatever extra you have to take and start the new job earlier.

String wrote: »
    Since we are going into a new year you could hand it in early Jan and use all your holidays from 2015 as notice plus whatever extra you have to take and start the new job earlier.

I can see them telling me to go fook myself if I ask for all my days off plus handing in my notice :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String

bear1 wrote: »
    I can see them telling me to go fook myself if I ask for all my days off plus handing in my notice :D

It's allowed, but I would only do it if you are not on good terms with them, otherwise could put them under some pressure. If you get the job and not starting til Feb, hand in your notice asap and just say you will work till you start in your new job unless you want to get out of there as soon as possible.

String wrote: »

As OSI just explained this is 100% incorrect.

Generally speaking, do Motor Factors have clay bars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Generally speaking, do Motor Factors have clay bars?

God yeah most would noccy, won't have a selection but surely they'll have something there.

Well car is booked in with a mechanic tomorrow. Having a hard time starting in the mornings so getting the glow plugs changed out, and gonna get him to drain the power steering fluid and top up with the right stuff (my fingers are crossed hard for that to work out! The thoughts of a new steering rack or pump makes me feel nauseous.. :o )

Well the mechanic took my power steering fluid out and replaced it with "the right stuff" from Peugeot.

Both the mechanic I'd been using for years (who called me stupid and went on a mad rant when I told him this is what I wanted to do - drain the fluid and replace it, rather than attempt to swap out the pump), and the new guy I'm using both had the same opinion.

(in fairness though, the new chap was respectful and decent about it, rather than acting like a massive wanker).

He said "look, I can do it for you. It'll cost you about €30. I don't think it'll make much difference, and I still think you'll need a new pump, but if you want to give this a shot first, I'll happily do it for you".

So I gave him the go ahead to do it.

Goes to show what a simple fluid change can do. Steering's back to being good as new. Not a bother on it at all. It could well be a short term fix, but it looks permanent (I've been regularly watching the fluid and reservoir and keeping an eye on it in the engine bay and such, and it's not spitting it back up any more, no more noise, nothing out of place at all...).

So there ya go. Just like all the lads on the Peugeot forums said, mechanic wanted to put in a new pump at a cost of about €500, but all that was needed was a €20 bottle of the proper power steering fluid for the car.

What I need to do now is figure out what my plan is. I'm not sure if I've now encountered every issue the car is gonna throw at me. I've put the guts of a grand into it, and it seems to be running well. I could sell it with a clear conscience.

So do I sell it on now while it's running smoothly, before any other issues rear their heads? Or do I hold onto it knowing I've faced most of the troubles it can really throw at me, and drive it til it dies? :confused::o

Can't seem to pick a side.

Next car I buy is gonna be a 99 Micra or something. Something that doesn't know the meaning of the word 'problem'. Something that I can literally pick up and throw in the bin when it starts to go wrong! :pac:

YbFocus wrote:
    God yeah most would noccy, won't have a selection but surely they'll have something there.

Okey dokey, that's all I'm missing to wax the cars, and I didn't fancy having to travel to halfords.

I've a pack of blu tack there i've been meaning to attempt a 'claying' with. Haven't gotten around to it just yet, but I'm very curious to see if there's any difference.

Last time I clayed a car wasn't my own, so had to do it properly, but definitely interested in trying the blu tac out..

OSI wrote: »
    Holidays are earned pro-rata, so if he finishes up in January he'll only be entitled to whatever his annual leave is divided by 12. Which is probably less than 2 days for most people.

Yep, I've got 26 days per year so 2.16 days per month. Which means for December I'm only entitled to those 2.16 days.
    I'll of course be using them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

I've a pack of blu tack there i've been meaning to attempt a 'claying' with. Haven't gotten around to it just yet, but I'm very curious to see if there's any difference.

Last time I clayed a car wasn't my own, so had to do it properly, but definitely interested in trying the blu tac out..

There's a discussion here about it: http://www.cleanyourcar.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=5323

Some saying it will leave marring and residue on the paint. I have taught about this before now but at the risk of having to do it again I don't see the point in using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Would you get a velvet wrap on your car?

240FBBCD00000578-2874307-image-a-25_1418641991095.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,403 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

For fun, maybe. :D

Not permanently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE the smell of burning oil in the morning :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

I LOOOOOOOOOOOOVE the smell of burning oil in the morning :pac:

Where's it coming from!?

At the side of the N25 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Where's it coming from!?

The engine bay :pac:

It had a leaky gasket before I bought it which was replaced when I picked it up, most of it is just the left over oil burning off the manifolds, HOWEVER my recent attempt at putting in oil last week went something like this due to the wind, need to give it a power wash soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

The engine bay :pac:...

Aaah Jaysis... :pac::pac::pac::pac::pac::pac: