Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

tanko wrote: »
    If you think it's bad here you should see where she came from:D

AH HERE!!! BANNED :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Fair enough, what kind of carcase weights and grades would you be hoping for?

390 to 420kg. Won't be any weight restrictions in Jan. They'll be on 7 or 8kg for the last 3 weeks. We were cut for over fat on the last bunch 3 weeks ago. Once bitten, twice shy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

A few weans VIqpibQ.jpg

Tanko, fine looking stock! Are any of them suitable for breeding or what is your plan for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,546 ✭✭✭tanko

The red ones are off FZF, OZS and HCA so hoping they might be suitable replacements. The CH has been on here before;) so hoping she'll make a cow also.

A few weans VIqpibQ.jpg
    The red ones are off FZF, OZS and HCA so hoping they might be suitable replacements. The CH has been on here before;) so hoping she'll make a cow also.

The first good thing to come out of Leitrim so😝

Tanko, what's the hca heifer like? Bil put ~8 bf cows in calf to hca for me, wasn't my first choice but there you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Got a bit of company for the sim bull! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,546 ✭✭✭tanko

Mac Taylor wrote: »
    Tanko, what's the hca heifer like? Bil put ~8 bf cows in calf to hca for me, wasn't my first choice but there you go.

I've used HCA a lot the last few years but I still don't know what to make of him. He's very easy calved on heifers, the calves are grand, leggy but wouldn't be the widest or have a lot of muscle. Have two 3yr old heifers off him calving in the spring. I see from my icbf report that calves off him which I've sold have killed out quite well, some r+ and u grades. He's a safe option on heifers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭mf240

Shh! Were trying to sleep.

p8uzd9ISj

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

390 to 420kg. Won't be any weight restrictions in Jan. They'll be on 7 or 8kg for the last 3 weeks. We were cut for over fat on the last bunch 3 weeks ago. Once bitten, twice shy

What fat score was over fat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

If you think it's bad here you should see where she came from:D

Heard it was rough alright. Dog rough. :-o

I hope she's lucky with ya. She's a smashing heifer with a lot of breeding in her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

just do it wrote: »
    What fat score was over fat?

Of the group of 11, One of the feckers was fat score 5. And four others were 4 or 4+. Never had ones like it before, and my dad questioned the factory like **** about it.
    We rekon they had to cut for something as we were getting a good price "for that week"

Of the group of 11, One of the feckers was fat score 5. And four others were 4 or 4+. Never had ones like it before, and my dad questioned the factory like **** about it.
    We rekon they had to cut for something as we were getting a good price "for that week"

So they don't want them any fatter than 3+?

Got caught with a light cow recently - carcase weight around 230kg. Told the price of €3.25 I was quoted was based on a carcase weight of 300kg.

Live and learn - I'll have to be make sure the prices are set in stone before they leave in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

just do it wrote: »

Live and learn - I'll have to be make sure the prices are set in stone before they leave in future.
    Best of luck to you on that mission :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭welton john

My first pic!Hca heifer week old off a shx heifer

XaGn0S6h.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dh1985

My first pic!Hca heifer week old off a shx heifer.

http://www.img.ie/index.php?module=thumbnail&file=1qcu1.jpg

I am having difficulty opening that. Any one else in the same boat

think i made a b####x of that

You wouldnt be the first

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

^^^ Best I can do John. Very small image.

You somehow managed to use a url that got us to download the image :D:pac:

My first pic!Hca heifer week old off a shx heifer

XaGn0S6h.jpg

Very nice. Is she streching in the photo or is she that well defined already

dh1985 wrote: »
    Very nice. Is she streching in the photo or is she that well defined already

Think the photo flatters her a bit shes handy enough.She'll be bucket fed so should be a nice replacment.

Any reason why you will bucket feed her and not on the cow

dh1985 wrote: »
    Any reason why you will bucket feed her and not on the cow
    Sorry, she's off a dairy sh x fr. She never kept last year.Sold her today

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

6XKsuf.jpg
    Just a nice photo...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Replacements

More

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Is there any advantage to mealing them when they are for replacements?

Muckit wrote: »
    Is there any advantage to mealing them when they are for replacements?
    The bigger ones wil get meal for another fortnight, im ai'ing some tomorrow and i want to keep them settled. there are some of them only 360-370 kg that will get a kilo a day for the winter and bulled the end of march and theres 2 that will hang round until the end of next year. i wouldnt usualy do this but they have serious eurostars and its a bit of an experiment. basicaly i want to keep them moving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Must remember this, for when I get stuck again;