Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Our 17 year old uni student evicted from digs

• 11-12-2014 4:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 14

HI all,

We've a 17 year old son who's currently in year 1 at WIT, he's in college halls of residence (well it's a house with about 10 rooms across from the campus, I don't know the full details but apparently he didn't pay the rent (official story I've got is that, his rent for october was stolen, and the rent for November he had to live on, as he'd had Octobers rent stolen, I was under the impression that rent wasn't for living on; but hey ho......More likely he's pissed the money away like a pratt!).

He told us that, 'Last Friday a workman from the uni knocked on the door and told him he had to get out of the room and subsequently changed the lock to the room.' So for the last few days he's been sleeping in the room of a uni friend, with all his possessions locked in his old room. They won't give him access to even get a change of clothes.

Yes I know he's an idiot! But is what they have done even legal?

I'm going nuts here for all intense and purposes I've a 17 year old son, who a day ago I thought was doing ok at uni, whose actually essentially bloody homeless!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

If he's in a house that the owner is in, he's a licencee and has very little rights, not like leasing a flat/house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭edeldonlon

Why don't you ring up the accommodation office and find out what is actually going on. He is 17 years of age and he may like to tell some white lies

The number is +353 (0) 51 302615

I'm sure he must be finished next week for christmas, he might be able to stay at friends until then and find somewhere new for after christmas. Also have a look at the contract that he/you signed and see what it says.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 christopherb

Stheno wrote: »
    If he's in a house that the owner is in, he's a licencee and has very little rights, not like leasing a flat/house.

No it's a digs organised by the college, through their student accommodation services, I think the uni own the house, not a private landlord. But either way I thought there would be certain protocol that would be need to be followed before they can just lock the door on kids and say sod off, and we're not giving you your stuff back until you pay up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,964 ✭✭✭✭looksee

He is under 18, you are entitled to ask questions and they have a bit more responsibility towards him (duty of care) than if he were over 18. At the same time you will probably find you will have to be responsible for paying for his accommodation as he is under age. One way or another the bank of mum and dad will be paying!

PS, Getting in first...WIT is not a University, and for some reason calling University 'Uni' seems to rub people up the wrong way. I dunno. ::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

It might be worth asking him to forward you a copy of the contract he signed when he moved in. Have a read through it before you ring the place.

The College accomdation in Waterford is managed by a management company to the best of my knowledge.

Have you asked your son was he served an order to vacate the premises?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

I have a feeling you arent getting the truth at all. My parents are LLs and the amount of parents that will start a conversation extremely aggressive on "how dare you evict my son/daughter over x,y,z". But yet my parents have evicted them for something totally different.Their son/daughter has made up a story on why they were evicted. My parents just evicted someone this month for anti-social behaviour(getting sick all over the house, waking up the house constantly, leaving out keys on the street, bringing home random guest etc.) His rent was never on time. Yet he made up some BS story on his eviction to his father. He also did tell his father he had already received several warnings.

I seriously believe your son isnt telling you the whole story at all. Phone the LL or accomdation officer. Then you will get the real story. I would also look at his Xmas Test results to see the whole picture.

looksee wrote: »
    He is under 18, you are entitled to ask questions and they have a bit more responsibility towards him (duty of care) than if he were over 18. At the same time you will probably find you will have to be responsible for paying for his accommodation as he is under age. One way or another the bank of mum and dad will be paying!

Wish it were that simple, but were both unemployed, we struggle to send him 60 euro a week to top up the 300 a month grant he gets (we hadn't been unemployed for long enough for him to get a full grant, when he applied) So the bank of mum and dad is closed!

If I can get this mess sorted out the one thing I will be doing is taking over the account his grant gets paid into and making sure the rent get paid before all else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,290 ✭✭✭Oregano_State

Everyone in the UK calls University 'Uni'. I spent the past year doing a masters over there and at first I found it annoying but now I'm used to it and tend to use it when I'm talking. Dunno what my point is, but there you go.

Anyway OP, it sounds like your lad has most likely had a right good time for his first term in, erm, uni, and it looks like you will be picking up the tab as others have said. I would agree that calling up the landlord/whoever runs the accommodation is the best person to talk to about this. Possibly in future you should obtain the bank details of your son's LL and transfer the rent money directly, to prevent any unforeseen mishaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭anonyanony

HI all,

We've a 17 year old son who's currently in year 1 at WIT, he's in college halls of residence (well it's a house with about 10 rooms across from the campus, I don't know the full details but apparently he didn't pay the rent (official story I've got is that, his rent for october was stolen, and the rent for November he had to live on, as he'd had Octobers rent stolen, I was under the impression that rent wasn't for living on; but hey ho......More likely he's pissed the money away like a pratt!).

He told us that, 'Last Friday a workman from the uni knocked on the door and told him he had to get out of the room and subsequently changed the lock to the room.' So for the last few days he's been sleeping in the room of a uni friend, with all his possessions locked in his old room. They won't give him access to even get a change of clothes.

Yes I know he's an idiot! But is what they have done even legal?

I'm going nuts here for all intense and purposes I've a 17 year old son, who a day ago I thought was doing ok at uni, whose actually essentially bloody homeless!

www[dot]prtb.ie/media-research/publications/licensees-in-private-rented-accommodation

3. persons occupying accommodation in which the owner is not resident under a formal license arrangement with the owner where the occupants are not entitled to its exclusive use and the owner has continuing access to the accommodation and/or can move around or change the occupants

Sounds like he is just a licensee so they have the right to evict him.

Everyone in the UK calls University 'Uni'. I spent the past year doing a masters over there and at first I found it annoying but now I'm used to it and tend to use it when I'm talking. Dunno what my point is, but there you go.

Anyway OP, it sounds like your lad has most likely had a right good time for his first term in, erm, uni, and it looks like you will be picking up the tab as others have said. I would agree that calling up the landlord/whoever runs the accommodation is the best person to talk to about this. Possibly in future you should obtain the bank details of your son's LL and transfer the rent money directly, to prevent any unforeseen mishaps.

Exactly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I think you have learned a lesson.

1. Do not trust your 17 year old son to pay his rent. You will have to pay it for him.

2. He is evicted. That's it. I would guess they had very very good reason to do so.

3. You cannot afford him being a moron.

I would advise that you pull him out for a year and send him back next year as he obviously is not mature enough yet but then you'll be paying full fees for the next year.

I think a stern talking to at Christmas and tell him that you have no deposit so he will have to commute. Where in the country are you based?

Call the college and get a copy of his timetable/ attendance if available.

I think you have learned a lesson.

1. Do not trust your 17 year old son to pay his rent. You will have to pay it for him.

2. He is evicted. That's it. I would guess they had very very good reason to do so.

3. You cannot afford him being a moron.

I would advise that you pull him out for a year and send him back next year as he obviously is not mature enough yet but then you'll be paying full fees for the next year.

I think a stern talking to at Christmas and tell him that you have no deposit so he will have to commute. Where in the country are you based?

Call the college and get a copy of his timetable/ attendance if available.

Pulling him out for a year may not be that easy, as he won't get a grant again for another first year. Hopefully he'll scrape through exams and if not, repeats. Then take control of his rent for the next semester. Is Waterford the nearest college to you that does this particular course? Would he be in commuting distance? I know many students from Clonmel area commute daily. At 17, he's still very young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭MouseTail

I would agree that you are probably nit getting the full story, warnings were ignored I wager.
    Priority is to get access to the property to collect his belongings, contact the Landlord to arrange this.
    if he has been partying hard I would worry about his grades and attendance, a stern talking to is in order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Mary63

I own a student apartment and its let.

You owe the owner two months rent and you are on here whinging about it.

Do you think myself and other landlords are operating a charity service.Put the rent money in the bank account or else drive down tonight and help your ds pack his stuff so the poor landlord can find a new tenant asap.

Busted! I'm a blow in from London originally. :)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Do most people just hang around this forum to pass judgement and criticise? I dont think the OP will be any the wiser on what to expect/do when they ring the accommodation office after reading through this thread so far.

She will be asked to pay back rent and be told her son is evicted that's what to expect.

It would probably be good to offer some suggestions then?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

anonyanony wrote: »
    She will be asked to pay back rent and be told her son is evicted that's what to expect.
    For sure, and on the legality of making a 17 year old homeless without at least contacting their guardian? Seems a bit strange to me

The boy deserves no sympathy for sure, but people still have rights in these cases and the OP could do with knowing theirs not post after post telling them how to discipline their son, this shouldn't be the place for it

The landlord has rights too and the most important is seeing that money lodged into their account every month.

For sure, and on the legality of making a 17 year old homeless without at least contacting their guardian? Seems a bit strange to me

The boy deserves no sympathy for sure, but people still have rights in these cases and the OP could do with knowing theirs not post after post telling them how to discipline their son, this shouldn't be the place for it

He not homeless he has his parents home to live in, we don't know what notices they gave him but I doubt they just changed the locks on a whim

edeldonlon wrote: »
    Why don't you ring up the accommodation office and find out what is actually going on. He is 17 years of age and he may like to tell some white lies

The number is +353 (0) 51 302615

I'm sure he must be finished next week for christmas, he might be able to stay at friends until then and find somewhere new for after christmas. Also have a look at the contract that he/you signed and see what it says.

Thanks, I will be on the phone to them tomorrow. Unfortunately the contract he/my wife signed would be locked in his room, so I've no idea if it's a regular lease or he is classed as a licensee. I guess we are guarantors (this'll be fun!)

White lies! I'm gonna kill him!

hfallada wrote: »
    I have a feeling you arent getting the truth at all. My parents are LLs and the amount of parents that will start a conversation extremely aggressive on "how dare you evict my son/daughter over x,y,z". But yet my parents have evicted them for something totally different.Their son/daughter has made up a story on why they were evicted. My parents just evicted someone this month for anti-social behaviour(getting sick all over the house, waking up the house constantly, leaving out keys on the street, bringing home random guest etc.) His rent was never on time. Yet he made up some BS story on his eviction to his father. He also did tell his father he had already received several warnings.

I seriously believe your son isnt telling you the whole story at all. Phone the LL or accomdation officer. Then you will get the real story. I would also look at his Xmas Test results to see the whole picture.

The only bit of this I actually believe is that 'he's been locked out', the rest of his story? Blah complete bollox. And yep I agree 'full story' unlikely.

Miaireland wrote: »
    It might be worth asking him to forward you a copy of the contract he signed when he moved in. Have a read through it before you ring the place.

Locked in the room.
    The College accomdation in Waterford is managed by a management company to the best of my knowledge.

Have you asked your son was he served an order to vacate the premises?

I've asked him for a full list of all communication with the accomodation office with explicit instructions that he leaves nothing out, at the moment he's a meeting with SVP, he's told me he'll do it after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭griffin100

Most colleges use a licence to reside rather than a lease for college owned accommodation as it gives the students no tenancy rights. That said I doubt a college will turf out a first year this close to christmas exams without lots of notice and even then it would be unusual (unless gross misbehaviour is involved). You should contact the college and make sure that it is a college owned property. If it is you can try and do a deal with the college where the arrears are paid off over the rest of the licence period. Your son should also contact the SU and ask their welfare officer for assistance. There may also be an internal student advisor he can go to for advice. He's not the first 1st year to piss his rent away so it's not like they won't have dealt with this before.

That said this is WIT and I don't know their track history in situations like this. I do know however that for the colleges I deal with there is a very clearly defined set process in place and sudden unannounced evictions do not happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

OP . It sounds like your son is a liar and a dishonest individual. Might be the lesson he needed that mom and dad didnt teach him. He will have to man up and face his responsibilities or your going to facing trouble in years to come with unpaid bills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

The only bit of this I actually believe is that 'he's been locked out', the rest of his story? Blah complete bollox. And yep I agree 'full story' unlikely.

He wasnt locked out. He was leaving his keys on a Dublin street to let his brother in. What do I have to gain making up a story on boards? You only ever here the stories of LLs unfairly withholding deposits on liveline. Not how difficult Irish students are to rent to. Irish Students are a nigthmare to rent to. German students are demanding about expecting to have issues resolved same day. But they dont phone you at 3am to tell you they are locked out and there is no one else in the house to let them in.

My parents are LLs for nearly 20 years. You would believe what they have heard and seen tenants do.

He wasnt locked out. He was leaving his keys on a Dublin street to let his brother in. What do I have to gain making up a story on boards? You only ever here the stories of LLs unfairly withholding deposits on liveline. Not how difficult Irish students are to rent to. Irish Students are a nigthmare to rent to. German students are demanding about expecting to have issues resolved same day. But they dont phone you at 3am to tell you they are locked out and there is no one else in the house to let them in.

My parents are LLs for nearly 20 years. You would believe what they have heard and seen tenants do.

He is saying he doesn't believe his own son's story not yours, that's what I got from the post anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

My Dad has three rules, no students, no unemployed and good references. Why anyone would rent to students is beyond me, its asking for trouble.

Anyway OP, best to get onto the accommodation service. Id highly doubt that he's telling you the full truth, they might shed some light on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,314 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

anonyanony wrote: »
    If the digs are tied into WIT, eviction may be the least of his worries.

From http://witcampusservices.ie/accommodation/faqs/faqs.php
    Furthermore you will be liable for all rent owing if you have a contract signed.

From http://witcampusservices.ie/accommodation/guide_lines/index.php#rent
    Late payment of rents will incur a €100.00 fine per term and a €50 fine for pay monthly. Rent is due on the first day of each Term. Unpaid rent is deemed late after this date.
    Seems you'll have to pay a fine as well as the late rent.
    Perhaps the son has put his mates number down as "the parent", so the real parents don't get the bad news?
    My Dad has three rules, no students, no unemployed and good references. Why anyone would rent to students is beyond me, its asking for trouble.
    Because if you're near a college, you can charge what you want. If it's single glazed with a rat problem, rent to a load of first years. If it has good heating, rent to 2nd years, etc. Look at Maynooth; artificially high rent when the students are there, because they can charge that amount.
    I've been a student in Carlow IT. I can safely say that I've seen a lot of crap on both sides of the fence, with crap landlords giving crap digs to students who in turn don't give a toss about it. And excellent digs having the walls boxed, and doors going missing. One landlord had a front door that unless you locked it, it was always open :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

OP - If you stood guarantor for your son, how on earth did your son sign a contract as a minor and you didn't get a copy? Surely YOU had to sign it as his parents??

Something isn't adding up here...

What have I got to do with homeless people dying.

I look after me and my family and if students dont pay me rent for my accomodation they are subjecting to wear and tear that means less money for my family.
    I have to pay rent elsewhere for my own student dd so why on earth would I allow your son to live rent free.

The homeless person who died near the Dail had two houses bought for him by his mother.Why is this fact being ignored.

If the OP thinks he is going to make me feel bad about someone dying on the street just because I expect rent to be paid when its due,well thats not going to happen.
    You have reared a spoiled selfish brat who is telling you porkies.I wouldnt worry about where he will be after christmas,he will probably fail all his exams and leave college anyway.You can give him his old bedroom back,that is if you havent rented it out.

Its your problem anyway so sort it out.

Also your son is now squatting in another students apartment and he has no right to be there.I hope the accomodation officer is told about this and makes sure he leaves that accomodation immediately. The person renting that apartment had no right to allow your ds to move in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

Mary63 wrote: »
    Its your problem anyway so sort it out.
    OP is a worried parent. While there is an obligation to the son's landlord, it is natural and understandable that a parent deals first with a child in difficulty, even if the child caused the difficulty.

It's a bit heartless to push to have the landlord's concerns pushed to the top of a parent's agenda.

Its a bit heartless to have parental concerns pushed to the top of the landlords agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭roshje

Also your son is now squatting in another students apartment and he has no right to be there.I hope the accomodation officer is told about this and makes sure he leaves that accomodation immediately. The person renting that apartment had no right to allow your ds to move in.[/QUOTE]

Hmmm no room in the inn:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

OP . It sounds like your son is a liar and a dishonest individual. Might be the lesson he needed that mom and dad didnt teach him. He will have to man up and face his responsibilities or your going to facing trouble in years to come with unpaid bills.

Harsh! He's only 17 for God's sake. I agree it was daft of the OP to unleash the boy on the big bad world and expect him to behave as a mature adult. Neither would I trust the boy to pay the rent - Not when the money could be spent boozing, clubbing and birding. It was always going to be a recipe for disaster.

I can just imagine my parents' reaction to that - They would tell me in no uncertain terms. I got myself in the sh1t - I can get myself out of it too. I would be telling DS to get his backside in gear and get a job to start paying his Mum and Dad back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 yerone

Mary63 wrote: »
    Also your son is now squatting in another students apartment and he has no right to be there.I hope the accomodation officer is told about this and makes sure he leaves that accomodation immediately. The person renting that apartment had no right to allow your ds to move in.

Yeah make sure the 17 year old kid is put out on the streets ASAP!

He did something something stupid, not the OP. Everyone knows that whatever he did to get kicked out shouldn't have been done but it's been done now. OP asked for advice on how to proceed going forward so passing judgement on their parenting skills don't help much...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Digital Society

Id say hes old enough to sort it out himself. Leave it off and see what happens.

Gonna be a very, very expensive life lesson if he has to drop out or repeat. No second chances with Government grants these days.

Stay on the mates couch as long as possible. Throw them a few quid and stay in college. Feck all else you can do.

Im familiar with those apartments and i can tell you theres no break ins there. Some ones telling porkies. Most likely he just didnt hand up rent for a long time.

Obviously if it really happened hed be on the phone to you the next day anyway.

He is sleeping in the room of a uni friend more than likely without the landlords knowledge,am I right OP.

How is throwing his mate a few bob going to make this right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,368 ✭✭✭The_Morrigan

Locked pending review.

I'll reopen the thread tomorrow once ye have all calmed down and had a read of our charter.

/Mod

Mod Note:

Ok folks - I've deleted a lot of off topic posts in this thread.

There is a charter available for those of you unsure of the rules - it can be found here

From here on in, I would like civil, constructive and on topic posts only, if you've a problem with a post then please report it and leave the moderation to the mod team.

Also, a gentle reminder that 'txt spk' is not permitted here, that is inclusive of abbreviations for relatives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,179 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

OP, was your son in official IT accommodation?

I was under the impression that most of the official places required up-front payment for each term - which makes me think he may have been in a situation that means the Accommodation Office won't be much help, apart from giving you background information about the

As well as the other suggestions above, I would review his banking arrangements: the only way that he could think "my rent was stolen" is a reasonable excuse is if he's paying cash. IMHO this isn't a wise idea, for all sorts of reasons ranging from cash security thru to establishing a payment history for when he eventually looks for a mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭beechwood55

I have a friend whose 17 year old daughter was offered a place in a college and they checked out the campus accomodation. They were on the verge of accepting it when they were asked how old she was. They said 17 and immediately the offer was withdrawn. The rules stipulated adults only (18 and over) and there was no deviation whatsover allowed. They found her accomodation in a house and they are very happy with that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭bluemartin

All my children were only barely 17 starting college and from day one with all of them the rent was paid from their parents's bank account so there was never an issue with it going unpaid. Granted I had plenty of other bother with them all from losing keys and mobile phones to spending their food money on alcohol, parties etc etc, all part of growing up. Mind you they are all in their twenties now, well adjusted and thriving in their careers.

So OP just take over the rent as he is still quite young most people his age are probably stuck in some useless transition year, so don't worry he will turn out just fine. People forget they were all young and foolish themselves once upon a time.

• Registered Users Posts: 141 ✭✭Th3B1tcH

OP
    I would try get a copy of his lease from Campus or probally is a standard lease for all campus accomodation so perphaps can look at a mates also there least then you'll know where you stand concerning what if anything you're liable for under 18's cant sign a contract very silly if college slipped up.
    While I agree with other posters your not getting full story a minor cant just thrown out and his stuff held (they may be holding stuff hoping you contract them to sort) .
    I wouldnt pay anything unless you signed if you didnt its there mixup.

(no need for replys start about LL needs be paid I fully agree LL's got it tough and pay them is my 1st bill then esb etc but in this case its a college and a minor they should run proper as a business not a small private LL)

The notion that under 18's can't enter into a contract has been mentioned a few times now. There are situations where this is allowed, one of the most common is motor insurance, and they fall under the necessity element. Insurance if you own a motor is a necessity, a lease agreement if you are renting could also be considered a necessity, food and education items can also be included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Ah-Watch

I did 4 years in college in WIT and very very rarely did I see anyone evicted and if it was it was for a very very good reason. Tbh I have little pity on him, yes that sounds harsh but I didn't get a grant , nor did I get money off my parents but I got through it- it's not easy but if he wants to be in college then get a part time job, again I appreciate there aren't that many around but if he wants to be in college let him work for it not with hold rent from the landlord- it's not their fault so they should be paid before he goes out and spends rent money on other stuff. The student assistance fund could have helped him somewhat if he was struggling but there's definitely more to it than meets the eye here and WIT don't throw students out on the street like that so I'd imagine they're within their right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 481 ✭✭Deenie123

Glad to see the good folks of boards.ie who've never made a mistake and never put a foot out of line are out in force about a 17 year old kid screwing up.

OP, there's something fundamentally not adding up here - not least of all their refusal to give him access to his own possessions. An owner can't evict a licensee and refuse to return their belongings, or am I wrong? So something strange is afoot if they're retaining his belongings. They don't have to allow him back in, but surely they are obliged to return what is not theirs??

The second thing I would suggest is to find out who owns the accommodation. If the college owns the accommodation and he's a registered student then they still have a duty of care to him. He's a child.

I have no doubt (and to be fair, I don't think the OP is in any doubt) that the kid has messed up, drank the rent, insert other actions/inactions here, got evicted. However, the parents not being informed at all and refusing to return his belongings sounds odd. I wonder if the accommodation does belong to the college?

And honestly, if somewhere is going to accept a 17 year old kid as a tenant/licensee, they have to put in place systems to deal with the fact that they're aren't adults, should not be expected to, and generally cannot behave like adults. I.e. parents must sign and must be involved if there's a problem.

OP, I think YOU need to go to WIT and sit down and talk to people face to face and sort this out, he's a kid who more than likely has no life experiences to draw from. He probably does not have the skills to deal with this himself and won't be able to get the best outcome for himself by himself.

Also, if a student's circumstances change for the worse since their application they are eligible to have their grant reviewed upwards. Pursue this, if he applied now and would be entitled to the full grant, he more than likely IS entitled to the full grant now.

• Registered Users Posts: 13 tictoc

I lived on Campus Accommodation for two years in WIT. Rent is paid in September and again in January. It is run by auxiliary services. I only ever saw someone evicted once and that was for sub letting.
    Around now college Christmas Day happens and mad shenanigans go on around the place so it may be something to do with this.Irrelevant of who owns place Student Union (WITSU) can be a very good place to get further advice.
    Really hope you get sorted, I loved my time in WIT and hope once this is sorted so does your son.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

Deenie123 wrote: »

OP, there's something fundamentally not adding up here - not least of all their refusal to give him access to his own possessions. An owner can't evict a licensee and refuse to return their belongings, or am I wrong? So something strange is afoot if they're retaining his belongings. They don't have to allow him back in, but surely they are obliged to return what is not theirs??

The second thing I would suggest is to find out who owns the accommodation. If the college owns the accommodation and he's a registered student then they still have a duty of care to him. He's a child.

And honestly, if somewhere is going to accept a 17 year old kid as a tenant/licensee, they have to put in place systems to deal with the fact that they're aren't adults, should not be expected to, and generally cannot behave like adults.

I don't think you are right on these points. They do not have a duty of care in the sense of what you are referring to, there is a minimum age you must have reached before you can attend third level institutions. Of course they must provide a safe learning environment, prevent discrimination/ bullying etc but they are not responsible for providing food/shelter/ drinking money etc for students.

As for being a "child" but if I'm not mistaken, anyone above the age of 16 can be tried in court as an adult so to say WIT are responsible for the OP's son because he is only 17 is a stretch.

OP gave you phoned WIT accomodation yet to find out their side of the story ?