Anti-Irish Sentiment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

conorh91 wrote: »
    I'm really skeptical about these stories.

I'm not saying you or your brother are deliberately making it up, but maybe it wasn't intended the way you're taking it. Most Germans I know don't preoccupy themselves with this issue, in fact I would say it is a non-issue in how they go about their lives.

Whereas, Irish people tend to be very sensitive and preoccupied with it, probably understandably so.

I think the biggest casualty of the Irish recession has been national confidence, and with that perhaps, came a victim complex.

Even asking the question 'does everyone hate us?' betrays an almost neurotic and obsessive approach to our own self image.

This.

There is definitely an unhealthy obsession amongst Irish pepple on how Irish people and Ireland is viewed in the world.

Even in nowadays media I can't help but notice an ongoing thing about Irish personalities and when they achieved something and it always has that undertone of isnt he doing well for himself out in the big bad world the little Irishman.

There definitely is a bit of an ineriority complex thing going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

Shenshen wrote: »
    They would have told him to go talk to the Swiss...

nah, they would only have the gold they took from peoples teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

"And then I would have paid for their dinner..."

Nah, then I would have asked them to recommend some beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Beano wrote: »
    nah, they would only have the gold they took from peoples teeth.

Might well be all that's left of granny now.

I'll get my coat...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

You should have told him you'll go withdraw the money from your account with the German bank we bailed out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

I find completely the opposite, that people abroad, particularly in Spain warm to me more when they realise im not British.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

Riamfada wrote: »
    Just got a text from my brother. Hes over in Spain. Last night he was out having dinner and some Germans sitting at an adjacent table asked him, upon hearing his accent, was he Irish?

He said yes he was. They then made some smart remarks about he could pay for their dinner as they paid for his as well as paying for our country.

Is anti-Irish sentiment coming back? This was probably just a bunch of pricks but I was wondering had anyone else any experiences of it when abroad. I did get raised eyebrows from European travellers when I was in Asia over the Summer when they found out I was Irish. Some other Europeans I met were of the opinion that I shouldnt be able to afford to take a holiday in Asia. Like I owe them and should be at home working to pay them back.

A quick retort like the following would do the trick: We might be broke, but at least we never embraced fascism, mass murder or gave Adolf Hitler to the world. Auf Weidersehen, c#nts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

pauliebdub wrote: »
    I find completely the opposite, that people abroad, particularly in Spain warm to me more when they realise im not British.

Too right, even though I am British.

A few years back I was in Royan, with the wife. We were walking up the road, talking away in English and an old fella walked past and gave us serious evil eye. When he saw the Irish number plate on our car which was parked nearby, all of a sudden he was "ah, Dooblan!" and off he went on how great Ireland was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

If it was me, I think I'd have said nothing and then got up and slowly started moving the table and chairs away from them - when they asked what I was up to I'd have simply said I was moving to avoid being annexed and to make sure they had plenty of Lebensraum.......

.........then I would've pointed to the Americans across the room and suggested the Germans pay for their dinner given the amount of cash that poured into Germany under the Marshall Plan........

EDIT:- then I'd have started bouncing breadrolls across the room at them while singing the Dambusters March!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,273 ✭✭✭Hoop66

If it happened to me, I'd have nuked the Japanese on the other table.

Jesus lads these retorts are so sad.
    Where's the humour and the craic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

The Germans, a group of people in Europe that nobody f**king understands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Boskowski wrote: »

How about walking over and saying to them.......

"For you, ze meal is over. Cooler. 20 days."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

If anything is embarrassing it's the anti-German sentiments in this thread.

Especially the tit-for-tat mud-slinging at a genocide whose memory is usually above politics in the minds of Germans and other decent adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Boskowski wrote: »

Ve at the ECB are having loads of the incorrectly-spelt crack. How about you pixiehead?? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,237 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

...a genocide whose memory is usually above politics in the minds of Germans and other decent adults.

Isn't it well for them?

Better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Intifada

I think outside of Scotland, where it is well ingrained, and a small number of places in England you'd be hard pressed to find anti-Irish sentiment anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭DainBramage

Us Irish like slagging pretty much every other nationality, I hear it everyday in my work place. mostly in a good natured way. But when we are on the receiving end we don't seem to like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭Intifada

Us Irish like slagging pretty much every other nationality, I hear it everyday in my work place. mostly in a good natured way. But when we are on the receiving end we don't seem to like it.

Wait, do you mean to suggest that people prefer to slag others than to be slagged themselves? That's madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,071 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

I think most people would agree that it was Irish tax payer that saved Germany. If I go in to Paddy Power place a bet of €100 on Ireland to beat the Renford Rejects and Ireland lose 10-nil. I don't scream at the counter looking for my money back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

Chris___ wrote: »
    I think most people would agree that it was Irish tax payer that saved Germany. If I go in to Paddy Power place a bet of €100 on Ireland to beat the Renford Rejects and Ireland lose 10-nil. I don't scream at the counter looking for my money back.

Germany have contributed much more financially to the EU than Ireland, Ireland's growth is a direct result of having access to the EU markets via their membership of the EU.

German money contributed in a large part to stabilising the Irish banking sector, if you look at Irish debt obligations they weren't particularly focused on German banks.

In the scenario where the Irish banks collapsed and didn't pay, the german economy takes the pain, makes some sensible adjustments and continues. If AIB and other irish pillar banks went under, the effects would have been much more apocalyptic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

That's mad. I lived in Spain for a year on Erasmus 2 years ago and the Germans I met were all dotes.

One night in particular when we all had a few drinks and the couple of us who were Irish were talking about home or singing Irish songs or something. One of the German girls said it must be so nice to be proud of where you're from.

She said that growing up there was never any pride instilled in them for being from Germany, and in fact that it was only in the few previous years that people even showed real support for the German football team.

She told me that she was ashamed of her country's past, even tho it was years and years before she was even born, and I just thought that was the saddest thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Chris___ wrote: »
    If I go in to Paddy Power place a bet of €100 on Ireland to beat the Renford Rejects and Ireland lose 10-nil. I don't scream at the counter looking for my money back.
    Ireland decided to guarantee the Irish banks, i.e. bet on the Renford Rejects.

And when that money was called in, we asked for our money back. We didn't really mean it, we said.

I cannot understand how 6 years have passed since the 2008 guarantee, and people still think it was Germany who did it.

Germany benefitted, probably, but that's irrelevant. Just because the bookie won in your scenario, it doesn't mean we deserve a refund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Just banter, I think we as a race like to give it out to other nationalities but we can't take it too well ourselves. We get uberly defensive. People just need to relax, everyone is fair game when it comes to ethnic humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭The other fella

The Irish...A great bunch of lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Die Deutschen...ein großer haufen von jungs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

hfallada wrote: »
    I spend the summer in Germany and I have a great sense of humour. But the Germans has to kept reminding that was a joke. Their sense of humour is unique in the sense, it's usually not funny. I have had German friends and they don'tfind what we find funny.

But anyone I spoke to over the summer in Germany loved Ireland. They talk about how they love u2 or the script and that temple bar is amazing. They have Irish bars all over the place. They love Ireland, as Irish people are hard working.

You can find anti sentiment towards any nationality. But you don't hear it about the Irish not being hard working. Most Americans think of irish workers being hard working and get on it. Unlike the French or the germans who question everything

lad no one gets the irish sence of humor, no one!! But then we are for the most part some of the few people that can take the mick out of ourselves and find it hilarious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Just banter, I think we as a race like to give it out to other nationalities but we can't take it too well ourselves. We get uberly defensive. People just need to relax, everyone is fair game when it comes to ethnic humour.

"It's ethnic criticism, Bill."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,612 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Ireland decided to guarantee the Irish banks, i.e. bet on the Renford Rejects.

And when that money was called in, we asked for our money back. We didn't really mean it, we said.

I cannot understand how 6 years have passed since the 2008 guarantee, and people still think it was Germany who did it.

Germany benefitted, probably, but that's irrelevant. Just because the bookie won in your scenario, it doesn't mean we deserve a refund.

wait what?... i dont remember putting a guarentee on jack ****.

for the record i didnt vote for any of those FF clowns... before you try to come back with that one.