Burglars trod excrement through mother's home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭DeadHand

The recent report on the uselessness of the Gardaí seems to have been forgotten. Sure busting people with plants is far easier work than solving burglaries.

I'd agree.

What really frustrates me is the fervour with which they'll nail honest, harmless people for traffic nonsense, petty drug offences and trivial stuff like after hours.

Contrast this with their apathy toward actual crime and it's clear there is a culture of picking on the easy targets within the Gardai.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

What's the point? It's a small estate and 5 houses were robbed on the one day. Are you putting forward an excuse? Trying to minimise something that happens all over Dublin because 57 out of 62 houses might not have been robbed?

If someone breaks in to your house, violates your home and takes your belongings mark my words you will understand.

My point is that this is typical scare-mongering rubbish in the Indo, this sort of thing happens to a miniscule number of houses, but the Indo love a good old 'someone's having a **** time' story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

My point is that this is typical scare-mongering rubbish in the Indo, this sort of thing happens to a miniscule number of houses, but the Indo love a good old 'someone's having a **** time' story.

So having only a few houses ransacked and a few families' lives ruined makes it a "nothing to see here, folks" kinda thing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Neighbours of my home place have been broken into a few times... Guards know who it was each time but won't do a thing about it... If it had been my house and I knew who did it..the guards wouldn't have to do anything... I'd kick the living ****e out of the little scrotes and leave them on their mammys doorstep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭downonthefarm

Haha ****e all over the gaff Joe
    They took me chrisamas bonus joe

Haha ****e all over the gaff Joe
    They took me chrisamas bonus joe

Having a good laugh at other people's misery?

Stay classy.

DeadHand wrote: »
    Having a good laugh at other people's misery?

Stay classy.

Me hearts breaking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Me hearts breaking

Doubt you be jumping for joy if you were in the same circumstances trying to battle a gang of knobheads
    Michelle believes she knows who the gang of thugs are – a gang of nine to twelve boys and men, aged 15 to 22.

Where are the snipers when you need them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Smidge

I know there are always burglaries every year in the run up to xmas but this year seems to have gone mental.
    I cant remember a year that it was a bad as this. I am hearing of break ins maybe 3-4 times a week of people I know. 4 last week alone.
    Houses ransacked and in a couple of the cases almost entirely emptied out(and I mean emptied, apart from beds/wardrobes/oven/washing they took everything bloody else).
    Its easy money tbh.
    No real consequence to be had for the thieves and plenty of gain. They are cleaning up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

catallus wrote: »
    So having only a few houses ransacked and a few families' lives ruined makes it a "nothing to see here, folks" kinda thing?

Yes. Why aren't the Indo printing a story about the hundreds of thousands of households that daily aren't broken into? Because no-one cares. But they know that printing an 'ah Jasus Joe, it's terrible' story will have people banging on about how society has gone over the precipice and we are all about to start eating each other.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

DeadHand wrote: »
    I'd agree.

What really frustrates me is the fervour with which they'll nail honest, harmless people for traffic nonsense, petty drug offences and trivial stuff like after hours.

Contrast this with their apathy toward actual crime and it's clear there is a culture of picking on the easy targets within the Gardai.
    As you say easy targets. The Guards aren't "useless" by any means, but they are underfunded, undertrained and too much stuck in a collective mindset. Add on top in a very big fcuking way the laws and judiciary in this land that let little Johnny O'Scumbag away with close to murder(not a joke) and the Guards are actually the least of it. I've known enough of their number become very bloody disillusioned with that aspect. That no matter how much time, effort and evidence was brought to bear on the scum, the judges and the law would send them away with barely a slap on the wrist.

This goes triple for crime against property in this country and culture. Assault and bodily harm can be let off with scarily low sentences(when that even happens), but property crime is way down that list.

Personally? I think burglars should be fcuked up and no mistake if caught in the act. Even killed on sight/site TBH. Now granted I am a fascist in many ways, but that's how I see it. I've seen an elderly neighbour, a woman who never harmed anyone and indeed brought a lot of kindness and genuine help to society in her life and I watched her rapidly deteriorate after a burglary by scum. They didn't just take things, oh no, they tore her home apart, even destroyed personal items of no value. Oh and yes they also shát on her floor. Her home and safety was raped. There's no other word for it. In the end this poor woman took her own life. At her funeral, if I had the chance to slip a noose on those human wastes and pull the trapdoor to send them to oblivion I'd have done it in a heartbeat.

Oh and BTW the local lads and lasses in the Gardai were very helpful and went out of their way to help the woman, but...

I'm just grateful that a) I'm handy enough with a recurve bow and a machete and b) I've had a succession of dogs that were very boundary protective and large and aggressive and as a bonus won't take food from anyone but me. So come on down you wastes of humanity. Your carcasses will have some use that you didn't approach in life; I won't have to spend money on dogfood for a week(three days for your stringy oven chips ratboy type). Then again there's usually two ratboys, so grub up.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I heard it was the turd house they targeted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭exgp

In reality it's just another person whining to the media whilst looking for a new council house.
    I heard her on the radio this afternoon. She sounded very genuine to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Yes.

That's cold; and a sad manifestation of the modern "It has nothing to do with me, doesn't affect me" navel gazing self-regarding cop-out culture we have to endure.
    Why aren't the Indo printing a story about the hundreds of thousands of households that daily aren't broken into? Because no-one cares.

Why should anyone care about houses not being broken into? :confused:

Does it make it easier for you to ignore the plight of victims by using such zero-sum morally-equivocating double-think?
    But they know that printing an 'ah Jasus Joe, it's terrible' story will have people banging on about how society has gone over the precipice and we are all about to start eating each other.

Nobody's saying we're all about to eat each other. Stop being hysterical! You're nearly as bad as the Indo!

Wibbs wrote: »
    As you say easy targets. The Guards aren't "useless" by any means, but they are underfunded, undertrained and too much stuck in a collective mindset. Add on top in a very big fcuking way the laws and judiciary in this land that let little Johnny O'Scumbag away with close to murder(not a joke) and the Guards are actually the least of it. I've known enough of their number become very bloody disillusioned with that aspect. That no matter how much time, effort and evidence was brought to bear on the scum, the judges and the law would send them away with barely a slap on the wrist.

This goes triple for crime against property in this country and culture. Assault and bodily harm can be let off with scarily low sentences(when that even happens), but property crime is way down that list.

Personally? I think burglars should be fcuked up and no mistake if caught in the act. Even killed on sight/site TBH. Now granted I am a fascist in many ways, but that's how I see it. I've seen an elderly neighbour, a woman who never harmed anyone and indeed brought a lot of kindness and genuine help to society in her life and I watched her rapidly deteriorate after a burglary by scum. They didn't just take things, oh no, they tore her home apart, even destroyed personal items of no value. Oh and yes they also shát on her floor. Her home and safety was raped. There's no other word for it. In the end this poor woman took her own life. At her funeral, if I had the chance to slip a noose on those human wastes and pull the trapdoor to send them to oblivion I'd have done it in a heartbeat.

Oh and BTW the local lads and lasses in the Gardai were very helpful and went out of their way to help the woman, but...

I'm just grateful that a) I'm handy enough with a recurve bow and a machete and b) I've had a succession of dogs that were very boundary protective and large and aggressive and as a bonus won't take food from anyone but me. So come on down you wastes of humanity. Your carcasses will have some use that you didn't approach in life; I won't have to spend money on dogfood for a week(three days for your stringy oven chips ratboy type). Then again there's usually two ratboys, so grub up.

Wow.I hope nobody breaks into your house Mr Rambo

Wibbs wrote: »

This goes triple for crime against property in this country and culture. Assault and bodily harm can be let off with scarily low sentences(when that even happens), but property crime is way down that list

Yes, the judicary are a disgrace in this country with their bizarrely lenient sentencing they provide no deterrent to crime.

The state (Gardai, judicary) is failing miserably in it's duty to protect it's own citizens... This will lead people to feel isolated and frustrated which will lead to them becoming more militant and violent in their defence of themselves and their property. Which will lead to more bloodshed.

Myself? I fully believe in the Nally approach to home/personal protection. The man should have got a medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭aristotle25

I have to say my experience of the guards has been very good. We had two breakin attempts in the middle of the night about a year ago while we all slept upstairs.

Luckily we heard them and they didn't manage to get in despite doing a good bit of damage to the window.

Anyways on both occasions our local Gardai were here within 10-15 mins and I found them very professional. Of course the burglars were well gone at that stage but the Gardai did a few patrols in their car and overall I just got the impression that they were smart and clued in to these guys and their motus operandi.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I agree A, the Gardai tend to get the shítty end of the stick in public opinion, but it's usually unwarranted. Granted some are about as much use as teats on a bull, but most are trying and trying hard, but they do get worn down with the BS.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

Wow.I hope nobody breaks into your house Mr Rambo
    TBH D, I'm about as macho and rambo as Larry Grayson(look him up you young buck ya :D), but there is a line for me and that line is the threshold of my gaff and those under its roof. If someone crosses that meaning to take from me what is mine and/or threaten those under that roof I will react as forcefully as I can with whatever materials at my disposal. I may, if not likely would fail, but I will try. Like I say there is a line. To help, I have the alarm, the cctv, the external lights, 5 mins away from my local Gardai station(a few of which I know) and the dog, so it's all about the layers. I'm not one of those para types who hears Joe Duffy having a concern **** and thinks me next, but if it happens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭anewme

God love that family living like that.

Seriously guys, she is a single mother taking the kids to Santa and to come home to that.???

Does anyone blame her for wanting to get out of there? Living in a place where you were afraid to leave your house for fear people from your own area are watching you to get what bits and pieces you have gathered.

Trying to build a home for her and her family and scumbags leaving a screwdriver on her bed and dragging S*** through her house, no, not a house, its HOME to a family is bullying and harrassment and quite often the Gardai know exactly who it is.

Fair play to the security firm trying to offer her some peace of mind whilst she has to live there.

Being a single woman at home on her own at home when 2 big guys pushed in my front door to TRY and take the keys of my Brand New Car, I know what this is like.......ironically, when the Gardai came they told me straight away that they had an idea who they were (as they were targetting other towns off the motorway) in a spree and had they got away with my car, it would have been found burnt out not too far away from where this lady lived.

I hope no one making wise cracks on this thread ever comes home to something similar, another one that sickens me is burglars targetting the elderly.

honestly, my heart goes out to that lady and her family.....................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,800 ✭✭✭Lingua Franca

bjork wrote: »
    Apparently it's quite common for burglars to **** in houses they are robbing, nerves or adrenalin or something.

I haven't heard of a case yet where forensics led them back to the perpetrator by testing the stool samples.

Rudy Guede, the fella who sexually assaulted and murdered Meredith Kercher in Italy, was found via a combination of his fingerprints and a floater he left in her bathroom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

So 57 out of 62 were not?

Go away

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

No sense of community in a lot of areas now im afraid. Don't want to sound like an old fella (okay I am) but no way this happens years ago as the men in the area wouldn't have it and would have handed out beatings to any scumbags stepping out of line. Most seem to hide behind their curtains now and ignore the problems.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

if you confront them and kicked the ever living sh!t out of them for entering your property they will have you in court.

Wasn't the law changed recently to allow a degree of self defense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,554 ✭✭✭bjork

Wasn't the law changed recently to allow a degree of self defense?

Yep, batter away as long as they are in your house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 424 ✭✭NotASheeple

bjork wrote: »
    Yep, batter away as long as they are in your house.

And rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

This is not a random burglary,
    shes being harassed by a gang of teenagers .
    they broke into her car on the day she moved in to the house.
    They broke into the house she was renting on the day she moved in.
    broke into her car ,got her old adress .

ITS a common problem,
    a gang of teens pick on a woman,living with kids ,no man in the house .= easy target .
    This happens on every single council estate .
    This is going on a long time.
    I don,t know why she had all her xmas savings in the house.
    why not put it in the bank, or post office .
    This is going on since the day she moved in .
    she knows no one apart from her neighbours ,in the estate .

This is happens every year,
    people buy loads of xmas presents ,
    burglars rob them .
    She s probably seen as a snob or unfriendly cos she talks to no one in the estate.
    AFTER a few weeks she should have installed an alarm ,
    hi security locks etc
    THIS subject comes up on joe duffy show every year.
    SHE says even if the gardai catch them ,
    they are under 18 ,
    eg zero chance of going to jail .

IN some ways the most dangerous people are teens ,
    between 12 and 18 ,
    as they don,t care about the gardai,
    they might be arrested for a few hours and that,s about it .
    even if they are caught in the act .

She can get a transfer to another estate or just wait for it to get
    worse .
    This type of anti social behavior goes on every day .
    Mostly it doesnt get in the papers at all.
    AT lot of the time the tenant moves out and house is boarded up,
    left empty for 6 months.
    Either She turns the house in to a fortress ,
    or else gets a transfer out of there .
    some one rang up joe duffy and said ,
    i,ll fit a state of the art alarm system in your house ,
    motion sensor,panic button,etc
    Presumably free or at a low cost .

I think we don,t have enough gardai on duty ,
    looking for burglars is a low priority ,
    ah sure have you not got insurance ,
    They are more interested in going after drug dealers,
    or someone going 10 miles over the speed limit.

You could confront them,
    arrest em, and call the gardai,
    no need to beat them up.
    HER house is being watched,
    they waited til the house was empty.

100,s of gardai took early retirement,in teh last 3 years
    they don,t have the resources to investigate very burglary .
    UNLESS you have video of someone breaking into you gaff,
    you ,ll probably just get a letter for the insurance company and that,s about it .
    The gardai are probably doing their best with the resources they have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

I love a good bit of poetry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

It's all well and good using excrement for DNA testing but ultimately futile unless you have a DNA database against which the sample can be tested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Frank O. Pinion

It's all well and good using excrement for DNA testing but ultimately futile unless you have a DNA database against which the sample can be tested.
    I pity the guy who works in the Gardaí Shit Collection department.