Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boards.ie World Manager Application Thread

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Yet again blatent disregard shown for the existing managers.... This is how NOT to look after them, think about if your a d3 or d4 manager and have the time put in and a chance to nab a club like AC preaents itself and all you need do is apply..... Then, its whipped away without viable explanation even though the rules are there FOR ALL OF US, MODS included.....

If I had any eye whatsoever on the AC gig I would be irate at that statement, it basically says the rules apply until we don't really fancy that they app!y...

Anyhow, ita clear as water that current managers are very low down the priority list so unless those that can cause change aound here do so then its the slippery slope I'm afraid to say

Its an outrageous statement to make without proper explanation, other members/managers deserve better than that

Seriously? Every man his dog knows the circumstances regarding the situation in these last few days regarding Baz. Surely it doesn't need to be explained! You know what they say, drastic times calls for drastic measures.

Furthermore, given your earlier reaction to him quitting in the first place, I would have assumed that you would have been the last person to object to any way of trying to get him back.
    GT_TDI_150 wrote: »
    No disrespect guys but the24hr grace given to Baz is up surely ... would love for him to come back but other managers might have an interest in trading into the AC Milan job

He has until 4pm today. That way, there is no reason as to why a new manager won't be installed for Sunday's round of fixtures.
    TheGunns wrote: »
    I think Wilberto was just saying blobby won't get it as he's not an existing manager. That's what I took from it

That's exactly it! All it takes is one manager who's in the game to apply, regardless of manager ranking!

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    I'm confused..
    Are we holding teams for managers that have quit in case they come back? Just wondering because its been what nearly 48hrs since he quit?. Someone just PM him on here or SM to find out if he's coming back.

All I'll say lads, to finish the issue, is that it's not an ideal solution by any means, but it's not an ideal situation.

Oh, and Swoody, epic contributions as ever! :D:) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

Wilberto wrote: »
    Seriously? Every man his dog knows the circumstances regarding the situation in these last few days regarding Baz. Surely it doesn't need to be explained! You know what they say, drastic times calls for drastic measures.

Furthermore, given your earlier reaction to him quitting in the first place, I would have assumed that you would have been the last person to object to any way of trying to get him back.

Ah now hold on.....

Yes I've been on of Baz's biggest supporters in trying to get him to come back, that's there for everyone to see, but firstly, you did not explain that is what you were doing, if you had made that information public in the first place rather than just 'suspending' applications it would have been far more helpful to the current managers (not that they seem to matter but anyway)

and secondly, Baz is a big boy, he knows himself that he has 24 hours to change his mind and the rules were set up day 1 to apply to everyone, now don't get me wrong, I'd love to see him back at AC but to just shelve the whole process which has been put in place for a reason without informing the managers that would have been interested in the gig, is wrong......

Bottom line, I'd love to see Baz come back to AC or whoever (from chatting to him I'd say he could well do with a change) but at the same time, the rules have to be upheld, especially by mods.....

Last point, again I'd like to make known that I've no interest in going for the AC job, this is about how the GW is run, is it for the benefit of the current managers or shelving clubs for 'future' managers, whomever they may be......

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

Applications for AC Milan now open (again :P) :

Closing Deadline : 7th December 2014 @ 16:00

Team | Funds | No. of Players | Avg Rating | Total Value | Division
    AC Milan | 51.8m | 60 | 90 | 222.0m | 1

Managers Applying for the AC Milan vacancy :

Manager | Current Club | Manager Ranking | Total Points | Avg Points | No. of Games
    He who shall not be named | SL Benfica | 22 | 322 | 2.21 | 146

Apologies for only getting back to this now. This is the first chance I've had to get to my laptop. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,035 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

Thought Baz would have took them back over,

So is it closed now?

I am going to be lonely in Lisbon for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

Is this still available? Managing dynamo and would like a crack at Milan, how are applications handled, what do I need to do to be considered? ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭TheGunns

I assume it's still open as Mac only sent out a GW message an hour ago!

Salmon wrote: »
    Is this still available? Managing dynamo and would like a crack at Milan, how are applications handled, what do I need to do to be considered? ?

I think it is closed as per the deadline in Wilberto's post.

It is done on manager ranking, I think you are ranked 54 anyways so had it been still open you would be 2nd in line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭swoody

I think it is closed as per the deadline in Wilberto's post.

It is done on manager ranking, I think you are ranked 54 anyways so had it been still open you would be 2nd in line.

it's still open, benficas application is just a piss take like all the other times he's applied for vacate jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

TheGunns wrote: »
    I assume it's still open as Mac only sent out a GW message an hour ago!

An hour ago? I sent it yesterday??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 680 ✭✭✭Salmon

Yeah I just saw the message there from mac. Hopefully it's still opened!!

MrMac84 wrote: »
    An hour ago? I sent it yesterday??

if be yesterday/an hour ago, then yes you did. :rolleyes:

f59debd60f4b3f7f1aee8832ca160148.png

you sent it today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

:
    swoody wrote: »
    if be yesterday/an hour ago, then yes you did. :rolleyes:

f59debd60f4b3f7f1aee8832ca160148.png

you sent it today
    I only got it today as well. Maybe he's Marty McFly.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,515 ✭✭✭tupac_healy

Eh, I'd like to point out that we played the first friendly of Season 5 (NEW season) on the 4th November.....

Just sayin

Lads I dunno what's going on but that was sent yesterday

I'll have too log a ticket with soccer manager

if your on now, are we in tomorrow?

984.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭JamboMac

Dodging the Marty McFly rumours eh, where's the de lorean?

JamboMac wrote: »
    Dodging the Marty McFly rumours eh, where's the de lorean?

Wilberto has it in his garage, he is looking at finding a new fuel source for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

Wilberto has it in his garage, he is looking at finding a new fuel source for it.
    beer_toast.jpg

Eh, I'd like to point out that we played the first friendly of Season 5 (NEW season) on the 4th November.....

Just sayin

I think this is correct.

So what happens now?

Can we sort this before their money goes missing?

Is it still open for applications or what? I might apply myself.

Or does the Kyiv manager get it as technically he was 1st to apply after the deadline passed with no valid applications?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,917 ✭✭✭✭GT_TDI_150

I think hte implication is that someone would be applying for their second move in this season ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

Some clarity would be good. I know I'd be tempted from war-torn Ukraine.

In the same vain as we sometimes hold a club 24 hours incase someone quit by mistake I think we hold applications 24 hours and see if Baz reconsiders it may have been a simple over reaction

Just quoteing this as people seem too think wilberto just decided too stop people applying for AC Milan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Just quoteing this as people seem too think wilberto just decided too stop people applying for AC Milan

In fairness that was nearly a week ago.
    There should be a new manager in place by now.

I think that was the right thing to do.

Since then though we have had the application process, Wilberto put a deadline on it. That passed around about or not long after your PM got sent (I know it was a glitch ).

More people expressed an interest from the GW Pm.

It turns out that he who shall not be named is ineligible due to the one switch a season rule.

So we don't really know where we are.

We need it sorting asap as there should be a new manager in by now and I fear the money advertised will go back to the bank of SM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

I would have applied but was told it'd be pointless.

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    I would have applied but was told it'd be pointless.

You would think it would be with not having a manager ranking, but the way things turned out you might have been in a position to get the job.

Do whatever ye want lads. I couldn't care less any more.

Is there anything to be said for another vote?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Is there anything to be said for another vote?

Is there anything to be said for having another mass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭Hercule Poirot

Now now Wilberto, chin up buddy, there was a glitch in the GW PM that went around, the fella who won it isn't elligible - the best thing to do all round is just open it up again for one last 24 hour bash - no voting or any of that sh1te!