Zero positive comments in FB Post about Bishops response to same sex marriage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

I stopped paying attention to the church and its minions years ago.

such a unique thought process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Lollers.

Such a friendly place, like YouTube.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭hfallada

My local priests is senior in the Catholic Church in Ireland. I used to go to mass to hear him speak about the topical issues in modern Ireland. It kills me when the priest informs you that the reading is a metaphor for this and goes on some safe talk for 10 mins about loving one and another.

But my local priest was at least in his 80s would talk about how separation an be justified and how even Divorce is the right solution for some people. He even talked about how porn, which was funny when he was describing to the church that was full of mainly 70+ women.

The Catholic Church in Dublin is progressive. Diarmuid Martin isnt like the other Bishop. He isnt living in 1930s Ireland. He openly talks about the issues of the church in Ireland like abuse. He allowed the Dublin church files to be viewed. Where as most bishops are refusing to allow the Gardai to see their church files on abuse.

Even this week he announced he is giving some of the church buildings to be used to help with Homelessness in Dublin. Not everyone in the church in Ireland is bitter and has dated views. Diarmuid Martin is progressive and for once in a long time, people are talking favourably about the Catholic Church.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

such a unique thought process.

What is not unique is the fact I know of people who had their lives destroyed by these frock wearing freaks. We had a particular nasty b*****d as a teacher who thanks to his sick pervert ways sent more lads to Cork prison than to UCC. The sooner the blight of organised religions are gone the better for the human race.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

hfallada wrote: »

The Catholic Church in Dublin is progressive.

And yet for all the liberal ideas in the world, it's still bankrupt and shrinking
    When religion is progressive it folds in on itself, watering it down and it loses respect in the eyes of logically minded people. On the other hand it eventually becomes progressive and people leave it in its droves. It's fuked either way.

Those who follow a code/principals tend to so because it doesn't change, after it can be changed willy nilly, it's not a law, that's the attractive part. Its based on discipline and doesn't erode with the waves of time. Religion even habit is supposed be impenetrable because that's what we are, what else do we have but our habits?

Islam is booming for a reason, it offers power to young men, power and happiness through violence (in this life) and a sort of inititation, it's a rugged real thing to them. The Catholic church has had it's symbols but they all sort of ring false, hollow, people are looking for role models and something to fill their soul and they're not getting it from consumerism and are distraught at the wishy washy sermons they hear at Churches. That is why Catholism is dying in the West, they'd be better off returning to Latin and going hell and brimstone, at least the mystery the aura of something external would be restored. I guarantee numbers would rise dramatically.

• Site Banned Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Shiraz 4.99

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/poll-shows-rising-support-for-same-sex-marriage-1.2029307

Irish Times Poll today says 81% in favour of Same Sex Marriage only 19% against.
    When undecided voters or those who refused to respond are excluded,
    the Yes figure rises to 81 per cent with 19 per cent on the No side.

That shows an increase since the last poll in October, when the figure, excluding
    undecided voters and those who refused to answer, was 76 per cent for Yes to 24 per cent for No.
    Back in November 2012, the margin was still closer, with 64 per cent Yes and 36 per cent No.
    The referendum is to be held next April or May.

The bishops will have to count on the 2nd coming to get this turned around.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,905 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

From the campaign in France which was raised against the undermining of traditional marriage, the Church stepped back from it. From that is was shown how well that was conducted: underscoring the political establishment craven kow-towing to PC-isms and animus towards the traditional values. Thus in Ireland the lazy premise of essentially vote yes or else you are evil would be showed to be the hollow posturing it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,445 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

I can see both sides of the argument if I am honest.

It is just the changing of social norms. In the future we probably have Genetically Modified Babies. There will be no need for procreation so the Gender of couples will be an irrelevance.

You want a Blue Eyed, Blonde haired child with high intelligence that looks like a cross between Panti Bliss and De Valera?

No problem!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Manach wrote: »
    From the campaign in France which was raised against the undermining of traditional marriage, the Church stepped back from it. From that is was shown how well that was conducted: underscoring the political establishment craven kow-towing to PC-isms and animus towards the traditional values. Thus in Ireland the lazy premise of essentially vote yes or else you are evil would be showed to be the hollow posturing it is.
    What, exactly, is traditional marriage? Am I in one, married, two kids?
    Has divorced undermined marriage, traditional or otherwise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

I can see both sides of the argument if I am honest.

It is just the changing of social norms. In the future we probably have Genetically Modified Babies. There will be no need for procreation so the Gender of couples will be an irrelevance.

You want a Blue Eyed, Blonde haired child with high intelligence that looks like a cross between Panti Bliss and De Valera?

No problem!
    Procreation has nothing to do with marriage. Unmarried people have exactly the same.access to assisted human reproduction as married people. And being gay doesn't mean you also want to procreate any more than every straight person wants to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭Philo Beddoe

Who will rid me of these turbulent priests?

I don't really think it's a case of vote yes for the sake of being PC. I'd imagine many, many people in Ireland know someone/relations who is homosexual and want equal rights for them. After all, it is civil marraige and doesn't require the Church to change it's stance or change practices in the event of a yes vote.

I agree that the Church has every right to voice its opinon but it will be largely unaffected by a yes vote, at least in practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

But do they not realise they are a lightening conductor for public hatred.
    If it were a private company it would keep it's head down for a few decades.

It basically is a private company - business is still good, just not so much in Ireland at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,445 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

lazygal wrote: »
    Procreation has nothing to do with marriage. Unmarried people have exactly the same.access to assisted human reproduction as married people. And being gay doesn't mean you also want to procreate any more than every straight person wants to.

That was the point I was making it will be artificial procreation designer babies.
    Which will completely eliminate the need for natural procreation between a man and a woman.

Look at the possibilities if the DNA of a person could be chosen and manufactured/altered.
    Rather then just getting sperm/egg at random.
    Far in the future people could go baby shopping and get bespoke babies!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Saying "vote yes or you are evil" is a lazy premise, but nobody's really saying that. They're saying a no vote is intrinsically homophobic and grossly discriminatory, which isn't a lazy premise but a point of view that's very nearly impossible to disprove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

Akrasia wrote: »
    A lot of the clergy are holding these positions because they are told to by the heirarchy, not because they actually believe them anymore.

While it's impossible to quantify, I guarantee you that there are plenty of priests and bishops who are still in ministry that no longer have faith in either the catholic church, or the faith, but they are trapped because they have nowhere else to go and too much already invested in their career.

"My boss told me to" isn't an excuse to saying and doing ****ty, harmful and hateful things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,821 ✭✭✭floggg

lazygal wrote: »
    What, exactly, is traditional marriage? Am I in one, married, two kids?
    Has divorced undermined marriage, traditional or otherwise?

Is your husband around slap you around, rape you and take other wives? Are you allowed own property? Did he pay your father for you?