Bressie's speech on depression

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

Who's Bressie?

International soccer player.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Dracula! wrote: »
    I'm assuming your jealousy clouds your ability to empathise with anyone else's pain. You have a very dark view of the world.

Indeed you are assuming.

So I can't suggest a possibility now lest I be jealous. Or overly cynical.

I've become someone who can't empathize, because I entertained the idea that the music industry might just for once be using psycho-graphic marketing to push a product.

That industry is about 90% marketing. (or maybe thats just my dark view of the world) Now its letting you know about a product linked to an emotive issue.

But dare not to criticize this possibility or you are someone who is both hitler and a racist and that guy whos dismissive of depression.

oh and jealous too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Noobascious

Sorry the whiff of crap from this new movement who think mental illness is to blame for everything. Cash cow for big pharma. They'll take a slice of taxpayers money from the prison/legal system. I was raised tough so I get angry when I'm down. I live in an area where youngsters have a hardon for college and education. Molly cuddled they'll all be suffering from depression when they get older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I knew it.

Good Psychology program at the School of Hard Knocks is there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Dracula!

Wow Hitler and racist. You know that you need to make a factual point in a response to what someone has posted Monocole ?

Godwins law rings true too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Would his music have still been so good if he didn't suffer from depression?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Sorry the whiff of crap from this new movement who think mental illness is to blame for everything. Cash cow for big pharma. They'll take a slice of taxpayers money from the prison/legal system. I was raised tough so I get angry when I'm down. I live in an area where youngsters have a hardon for college and education. Molly cuddled they'll all be suffering from depression when they get older.

Jesus so you have a chip on your shoulder about mental illness, big pharma and college education? Maybe it's better for people to be molly cuddled as you say so that they don't get angry like you when their down? Because that reaction is hardly healthy now is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Don't feed..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

A quick view of his wiki page and it turns out he's a fairly talented fella.

Talented sports man, musician and tv personality.

Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Would his music have still been so good if he didn't suffer from depression?

A lot of great musicians suffer mental health problems!look at the likes of Jeff Buckley,Kurt Cobain,Ian Curtis,Brian Wilson etc.....in fact music often helped these people express themselves more and connect with other people.creative folk are more likely to be depressed in general.saying it hindered it is a cop out.

Wow Hitler and racist. You know that you need to make a factual point in a response to what someone has posted Monocole ?

Godwins law rings true too

Well thats pretty much how you operate from what I've seen.
    If someone dares suggest something you dislike they're jealous or have a dark view or cant empathize with sufferers of depression.

Heres the factual point - you can't properly counter the argument I made of there being a distinct and strong possibility that Bressie likely has a marketing team using depression and/or feeling down in the dumps as a psychographic variable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Yes, depression is serious.
    Even more serious is Bressie currently has a series on RTE called Bressie's teenage kicks" to promote, not to mention the new series of "The Voice" which will be starting in a couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭Dracula!

Well thats pretty much how you operate from what I've seen.
    If someone dares suggest something you dislike they're jealous or have a dark view or cant empathize with sufferers of depression.

Heres the factual point - you can't properly counter the argument I made of there being a distinct and strong possibility that Bressie likely has a marketing team using depression and/or feeling down in the dumps as a psychographic variable.

Ok I'll have a go at countering so if you like.

"A distinct and strong possibility" "Likely" You seem to be drawing conclusions that just because you believe there is a lot of manipulation of the public by record companies that they told Bressie to pretend he was depressed to sell more records and raise his profile to make money. I think you have shown that my initial comment was true. You have a dark view of the world and can't or won't empathize with him. You believe that Bressie would go along with saying he has an illness and letting it be known to the public and his friends family but that it's all an act.

And they call me a cynical ****er, at least I don't accuse someone of using depression as a marketing tool. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

mikom wrote: »
    Yes, depression is serious.
    Even more serious is Bressie currently has a series on RTE called Bressie's teenage kicks" to promote, not to mention the new series of "The Voice" which will be starting in a couple of weeks.

Column inches by whatever means possible.

Pretty standard Z list celeb behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

And they call me a cynical ****er, at least I don't accuse someone of using depression as a marketing tool. :pac:

Sorry who are you again?

Ok I'll have a go at countering so if you like.

"A distinct and strong possibility" "Likely" You seem to be drawing conclusions that just because you believe there is a lot of manipulation of the public by record companies that they told Bressie to pretend he was depressed to sell more records and raise his profile to make money. I think you have shown that my initial comment was true. You have a dark view of the world and can't or won't empathize with him. You believe that Bressie would go along with saying he has an illness and letting it be known to the public and his friends family but that it's all an act.

Nope. I dont believethere is a lot of manipulation of the public by record companies.

I KNOW there is a lot of manipulation of the public by record companies.

This is not a dark view of the world. Its a business view of the world.

Comment somewhere above that he's now got a tv show aimed at teens.
    Maybe its just convenient timing.

Live strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

His band had one deadly song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

It's a tactic Marian Keyes swears by.

Although she does get a bit prickly when it's brought into an interview on someone else's terms, as witnessed by the hiss fit she threw when Marion Finucane brought it up a couple of weeks back.

Sorry who are you again?

I'm Bressie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Bressie asked people to do things to help raise awareness and to get people talking. A guy I know has done just that and will be releasing his talk app soon. He asked bressie to launch it. Bressie's agent or manager said he'd pass it on and bressie would get back to him. He never heard from bressie. Seems to be all talk and no action himself.

That's odd as at just after 19 minutes he speaks about apps and asks why people are not developing them.

Anyway, I don't think the video has been posted so far and so here it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

His band had one deadly song.

I'm sorry but this will always be their best song without question:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Cathy.C wrote: »
    That's odd as at just after 19 minutes he speaks about apps and asks why people are not developing them.

Anyway, I don't think the video has been posted so far and so here it is.

Was just about to post it my self, as no one else had, and hopefully if a few more watch it, some of the opinions on this tread might change.

Wouldn't call my self a fan of Bressie, but did like his bands music, seen them perform, standing just over an arms length didtance from the man him self. His stage persona, the front man image, you never imagine that he was depressed, and in a way, you hqve to agree, that doing something you a passionate about can be great way of dealig with your issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

He must be the only man in history who can survive without sleep for months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 33,615 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

He played for Westmeath, leinster rugby, had a successful band and is a decent looking fella, and also suffers from depression.

Bit of perspective Bressie.
    FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Has he tackled the issue in any of his songs? I'd like a hear it, if he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 374 ✭✭Joshua5

I'd like to share my experience if there's no objections.. I've suffered most of my life with depression and continue to do so. Why is it? I have no idea. Do people know I suffer? No. If you meet me I'm good craic, pretty successful and really put my heart and soul into everything I do. However, nothing is easy. Getting out of bed in the morning even to do the job you love is hard. Going out for a drink or meal after having a good day with your other half can be hard. All for no apparent reason. Even when you are surrounded by people who love you, you will feel alone. Even when everything is going right, you'll feel it's not. You worry about everything to the point of fear, having a good day is as good as it gets. Having a few hours of feeling good a day is second best. Acting everything is ok when you feel like you are the only person on the planet and everyone is against you is the norm. While I realise he may have motives or may not, as someone that suffers I couldn't care less. The fact he talks about it makes me feel normal if only for a moment.

To wrap it up for me, the GP's of Ireland are terrible... I haven't met one I can speak to and trust me I've been through many of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Venus In Furs

Some people don't understand what depression is and what its ramifications are (fair enough - you can't fully understand until you've experienced it, to be honest; although you can come close).
    Some people won't even try to understand it though, and spout out stuff about people needing to get a grip and stop being mollycoddled, and that it's a publicity stunt by celebs (even though a well known person giving people the message that they're not alone, is actually a really valuable one) and what can you do?
    It seems a bit dodge, given the amount of mental illness and suicide, to say to ignore them, but I think they should be ignored, as there's no talking to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 22 helluvalife

Eh guys you can be good looking and have depression. He probably didn't think he was good looking, didn't feel he was living up to his expectations in his careers, just because he had what looks like a sweet deal from an outside perspective doesn't mean he couldn't have been in a hole. TBH I've drifted into depression about everything. I have good looks, do well in college, for all intents and purposes I should be delighted but our brains aren't wired like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭rosedream

Respect to Bressie for speaking up about his depression...but in terms of being more open about mental illness and depression, am I the only one who thinks there should be a spokesperson who actually really, severely been through hell and back?

I know people similar to Bressie who recently spoke up about their anxiety and depression. Now I know there are different ways of handling depression and how it affects someone, but these people would have (like Bressie) good looks, good personality, friends, family, a good support network, a partner, are able to hold down a job. I mean its very easy to feel like you are opened minded about depression when you think that is all there is to it.

But what about those who don't have it? Those who are so severely crippled by it that they cannot function in society, like hold down relationships, jobs, severely negative and would even look like they have a dark cloud above them as they walk down the street, have
    severe issues of suicide, self-harm, etc, literally no support whatsoever. I know one girl who is suffering from it,
    due to bullying for being a rural girl going to school in a urban town, and it's like as if someone switch a light off in her. Whether it is her meds or her in general, it's like she is scared of life, has a daydreamy, sad look on her 24/7. Has no friends because people teased her and made her feel bad for her quietness.

My mum used to teach a boy in school who for his whole 6 years, has no friends because he just never spoke. He used to either sit at the table, in a classroom, or lean on the lockers and stare into space. I remember coz he was in his final year and I was first year so I used to be confused walking past him, wondering why he was on his own. In class my mum said she has to go down to him to ask if he needed help because he would never speak up and even then he would just grunt a reply at her. It was only when he left school that he apparently is getting treatment for depression.

All I am saying is that if people want to be open-minded and accepting of depression, you have to accept it at it's worst as well at it's easiest, and I am just afraid that people won't be educated on the severe forms of depression.