Was alcohol involved when meeting your current partner?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I'd be drinking heavy whenever I'm on a night out and I'd have a naggin before any date I have. I'd take a benzo/thenzo instead, but they are hard to get hold of most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

*does complex math*

That.....that....*rechecks fingers* .....THAT MEANS YOU DATED FOR TWO YEARS BEFORE GETTING MARRIED!!!!

Hmm. Yes extremely short for Irish standards :D

Most Irish blokes date for at least 10 years before being dragged to the alter :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Macavity. wrote: »
    I'd be drinking heavy whenever I'm on a night out and I'd have a naggin before any date I have. I'd take a benzo/thenzo instead, but they are hard to get hold of most of the time.

A naggin before a date?

That's mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Not sure if my story would be classified as having drink or not. Got talking through boards, met up, got drunk and kissed. So drink was involved but once we had already gotten to talk to each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

A naggin before a date?

That's mad

And for job interviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Good idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

No, we were both sober.

I wish I was drunk now though because he is blaring some action movie exceptionally loudly from the other room and driving me crazy. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭Auldloon

Yes I asked her if she'd like to have a threesum with me and my then girlfriend....she said no but was obviously impressed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

He was drunk, I was not. I'd only had a couple of drinks. Literally a couple of drinks, not the Irish version of a couple where it's actually 5+. :pac: If I was also drunk it probably would have gone nowhere. We may not have even got talking because I'm a horribly messy drunk. He's a fairly contained drunk so I didn't even realise he was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,998 ✭✭✭Satriale

I may have had a pint or two, but it was only to try and bring me down a bit off the fistful of yokes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

In a pub but hadn't been drinking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

No were friends from when we were really young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

No, we met online.

There first time we met offline, he had been driving up to Dublin to meet me, I had cooked dinner but had no alcohol.

We're neither of us great drinkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

First encounter yes as met her in a club. First date not a drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I've known him about ten years so couldn't say for sure if alcohol was involved when we met, but there was definitely a lot of dutch courage required the night I cross-eyedly roared at him "I've always liked you you know" and lobbed the gob. Vaguely remember falling into a bush on the way home too. Oh well, it all worked out in the end.

When you say cross- eyedly ? Is it possible he thought you were roaring at someone else ?

Nevertheless tis grand romantic story .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

When you say cross- eyedly ? Is it possible he thought you were roaring at someone else ?

Nevertheless tis grand romantic story .

I had him fairly cornered :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭TheBrinch

baaallixed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

We were dancing in the disco, bumper to bumper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Ruu wrote: »
    We were dancing in the disco, bumper to bumper.

Did he find your jumper? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

No, I'm not really a drinker tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

But seriously, op, or anyone out there wondering how to get a lady to smell your willy.

Tea! If you are out and want to bring a girl home, I'm guessing she is drunk enough at that stage so don't offer her more alcohol. Offer her tea and a movie. No one will say no that, of she does say to have beer.

No self respecting girl will turn down tea and a Disney movie at 4 in the morning after sipping on bad decision juice for the evening. Then lob the gob and stick it inside her

I never knew that tea was code for come back and ride me before and turned down a hot girl for it one night.I genuinely thought she wanted to just have tea and I was gasping for another few bottles!ended up going out with her in the end but she thought I was allergic to her after I turned down the tea !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I thought that was coffee/dvd? didn't realise that dvd was code for that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,314 ✭✭✭caustic 1

No drink involved, I did ask him for a cigarette though, married 22 years went out 5 before that. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

doovdela wrote: »
    I thought that was coffee/dvd? didn't realise that dvd was code for that...

What if they call your bluff?what's an appropriate three in the morning , looking to get fresh movie?I take it silence of the lambs of something like that would be completely off the cards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

I am talking sober general flirting no drink involved situation?

I don't know what you mean by silence of the lambs situation in this case Smurgen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

I've had 3 girlfriends, all met out when I was plastered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Alcohol was a big factor in both meeting and losing her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I've had 3 girlfriends, all met out when I was plastered.

That must have been awkward?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭The Strawman Argument

smurgen wrote: »
    I never knew that tea was code for come back and ride me before and turned down a hot girl for it one night.
    The problem with this is that it makes it really difficult to sincerely ask someone to come back for tea and conversation :(