Do you like Christmas?

• 24-11-2014 12:34AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭mountsky

Not sure if its just me but for some reason I've totally mixed emotions thinking about Christmas this year, needless to say there's no getting away from the commercial side of things either ugh drain!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

I'm just in it for the food tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

It's like a month away!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Love it. Its all the better with a 3 year old too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

It's a load if ****e. Especially all that crap small talk with relatives you see 3/4 times a year.

Just stuck waiting for dinner having warm rotten cans of Heineken.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭mountsky

Christmas day is undoubtedly the best,can't beat the grub!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Not much. I keep to myself as much as possible. Not a grinch. I won't spoil it, but I always give a sigh of relief when it's over for another year. My two best xmases gave been thousands of miles from home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,711 ✭✭✭C.K Dexter Haven

catallus wrote: »
    It's like a month away!?

I know, can you believe it? Already? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Love it at the moment as I have a very excited five yr old. In general I can be a bit meh about it so I'm enjoying it while I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Merry Christmas the sh1tter is full.

Ah sure its a bit of fun and nice time of year where most are a little more pleasant then normal.

Lights I love so try and get icicle lights up shortly and a few other bits.

Less then 5 weeks to go....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Time off from work. Grub. Getting pressies. Meeting people who've come back from abroad.

Of course, there's the the giving of pressies & the whole 'santy' thang (in my case). Still, it's great to see their little faces.

All in all, the whole idea is grand. Tis something to do in the dark Winter months & generates a few bob for the economy.

Having said that, I'm sure some people dread it for various reasons though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,409 ✭✭✭Nomis21

I've been a bus driver most of my life and every Christmas when I lived in UK I used to organise a trip to Amsterdam for all the Dad's who were alone at Christmas because their ex partners (Including mine) had the kids at Christmas.

We all shagged ourselves stupid in the Red Light area because the brothels were the only places open in Amsterdam on Christmas day.

I don't like Christmas, I LOVE it.

The lights, family, food, gifts, time off, the atmosphere, the cheesy movies, the little feuds, the fire, the food naps, Christmas shopping, everything about it. People need to lose the worldly wise cynicism and surrender to the whole thing and get in the spirit of it.

I won't be going home for Christmas this year, and it breaks my heart not to be with my family.

I missed one year at Xmas when I was stateside, but on the up side we Skyped a good part of the evening and it certainly made it a lot easier,I met up with the Irish crew that day&it was like we were one big family, we were all in the same boat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,737 ✭✭✭CelticRambler

I used to love Christmas when it started on the 24th December and carried on for two (or even three) weeks. Now, I get fed up with people asking me on St. Stephen's Day "did you have (past tense) a good Christmas?" WTF?? You can (kind of) understand the shops having their Christmassy stuff in in November, but what on earth drives people to have a works "Christmas" party in November, or even the first couple of weeks of December. Then the whole lot of them are miserable as anything in January and the schools in France and England are back as early as the 2nd.

So these days, yeah, I like Christmas but would much prefer to see it restored to the right time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭bob50

in a word No Cant stand the commercialisation of christmas

bob50 wrote: »
    in a word No Cant stand the commercialisation of christmas

Yeah, but the time off work, meeting people, the grub & all that.

You don't enjoy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Nothing beats the house on Xmas eve. The excitement, the smell of stuffing, the open fire, singing carols then the little one getting ready for 'danty'. Bliss

Yeah, but the time off work, meeting people, the grub & all that.

You don't enjoy?

I can do that any time if the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

Don't like it nor do I particularly hate it to be perfectly honest. I could take it or leave it. Not the biggest fan of the whole 'you must be happy' aspect to it mind.

I can do that any time if the year

I can't, so maybe that's why I like it.

You can't take time off work? Make dinner? Meet people?
    For 51 weeks of the year?

Load of ****e.

You can't take time off work? Make dinner? Meet people?
    For 51 weeks of the year?

Load of ****e.

God. Well, I work about 50 hours a week, not counting commuting time.

My weekends are usually taken up with work & then spending time with the kids, doing some DIY jobs round the house, visiting relatives, or taking one or other of the kids to some activity or other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I would like it if people didn't mention it until like the week before hand. All the hype and talk of it makes me feel sick of it before it even gets here. I don't like it but I don't dislike it either if that makes sense. What's far more depressing is knowing miserable January is just around the corner. Ugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Ye great craic meeting people you don't want to see and pretending to be happy in their company. Yeaaay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 600 ✭✭✭SMJSF

I like the "buzz" leading up to it, but Christmas day Is awful, Xmas eve is my Christmas day, then it's over for me... I don't even like the food!

Feckthis wrote: »
    Ye great craic meeting people you don't want to see and pretending to be happy in their company. Yeaaay!

Ignore said people like the plague!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 650 ✭✭✭handbagmad

I think I'd like Christmas more if I had children. All the excitement waiting for Santa must be heartwarming.

I generally find it a tough and lonely time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

I like it, i catch myself singing Christmas songs to myself these days, all the pretty lights, its a nice atmosphere. My friend was over last weekend and he asked me what I want to eat, I said christmas dinner! He did actually make me vegan style Christmas dinner :o I just wanted to put cranberry sauce on things tbh but the supermarkets didn't have it so I was a bit gutted.

Chriiiisstmas tiimmee, potatoes and mulled wine...lalala