Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning in OP, 10/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I wouldn't entertain him getting fired this season, next season will be massive though. If we underperform again you can sack him on balance of poor v good seasons.

The chap worked wonders last season, that shouldn't be lost out of sight.

Really? If he finishes outside the top 10, which if continues the way he's going, will happen, you'd give him another season?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 359 ✭✭Kharrell

Out of curiosity, if Rodgers were to be sacked, who would you lot want in realistically?
    Saurez really papered over a lot of cracks that Rodgers didn't see and now the cracks appear when he has gone. Ye were very unlucky ye went on that patch of good form before saurez came back last year.

I'm a fellow United supporter, but honestly, do you ever stop trying to wind up opposing fans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

I wonder how we would look in morzadecs alternative table thing he used to do last season? Probably on about -5000 pts id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Bigger question is has Rodgers lost the dressing room? In this reporters opinion, yes, yes he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Kharrell wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, if Rodgers were to be sacked, who would you lot want in realistically?

Thats it really there is feck all else out there who would take over mid season.

As bad as we have been we wont get relegated and wont be troubling the top four

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,447 ✭✭✭richymcdermott

As I was the biggest supporter for Rodgers he has to go , I am fed up with his team selections and the signings he has brought in are laughable.

I might be wrong but was he the one that said they would not pull a spurs ?

Time for him to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,714 ✭✭✭doc_17

Brendan has got to go. I'd do it before Wednesday too, there is nothing in that team that indicates there is a winning mentality there, and that can only come from a good manager or a great player. Right now we have neither. When we lost Louis, we lost more than a player.

The players we bought were mostly good players with potential to be better, at the moment they are just muck. They need a manager who has more experience at the top level. I'd offer Rafa whatever it takes to get him back.

Rafa did a good job a few seasons ago when he came in when things were falling apart at Chelsea. As much as I'd like to see it, it won't and probably shouldn't happen.

Pretty surprised many are calling for Rodgers head already.

Fickle fickle fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,040 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

The weird thing about if Klopp went there is that some of Rogers' signings would actually suit Klopp's style of football better than it does the current managers.

Lovren, Markovic and Lallana would all suit the Klopp system.

Thats the problem for Rogers, he has brought in players that clearly don't suit what he wants to do on the pitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I wonder is Brendan waiting for Gerrard to leave in Janaury on a free so he won't be seen as the man who droped a club legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Lads, could Stevie pull off a Garry Monk?
    Yes or no.

martyos121 wrote: »
    Yes or no.

No. He'd insist on playing himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭garra

I don't think klopp will be going to Liverpool.

Realistically Liverpool will always be a place just below arsenal/man utd/man city/Chelsea. I would say arsenal

Arsenal would seem a natural fit for him in the premiership, but I don't agree that those 4 teams will always be above Liverpool in terms of attracting talent. At the moment they are, very much so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Yes or no.

No.

If it were to happen I'd much prefer it was an 80's Kenny Dalglish over a Garry Monk.

Yes or no.

Is Monk not spoken for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Slippery when wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,646 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

rarnes1 wrote: »

Fickle fickle fans.

Its incredibly hard to back him when every decision he makes seems to backfire....

Is Monk not spoken for?

Oh God, that is the kind of reply I was dreading/expecting/looking forward to!

Well played.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 359 ✭✭Kharrell

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Thats it really there is feck all else out there who would take over mid season.

As bad as we have been we wont get relegated and wont be troubling the top four

Yeah, I was thinking about it there during the end of the game. There's no names that come to mind available for the time being. I think Rodgers will see out the season at any rate, but as I said in the match thread, for what seems blind loyalty to some players. Looking abroad, maybe someone like Klopp or Garcia would be a good choice if available. I wanted United to go for Garcia the moment Moyes was sacked.

It's great for United, but from a purely football perspective, I just cannot believe my eyes in seeing how Liverpool's defence has got worse than last season. Rodgers had to improve on that front with Suarez leaving. Lose 30 goals, but concede 10 or 20 less. Defies logic.

Elmohamady, the Hull right back, just dribbled with the ball, then completed a pass to a teammate.

Cheeky £25m bid in January?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

I just wish Rodgers would trust his signings.

What's the ****ing point in building this big squad full of young talented footballers and then ignoring them when everyone else is utter ****?

Markovic has played 4 games this season. Can has played 6. What have those in place done to keep them out of the side?

We're at the stage where it pretty much can't get any worse. Getting in players who will actually fight will, win or lose, mean we can have a modicum of pride in the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,750 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Think we'll be getting an interview now in a min on SSN..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,033 ✭✭✭garra

Fickle fickle fans.

It's the inflexibility in his tactics and the poor demeanour of the team that has knocked people's confidence in the manager to lead the team out of this slump. I like Rodgers but we've been playing absolute muck this year and he is chiefly responsible for this mess we're in.

The club needs a shake-up but I'm not in favour of change for change's sake. If there is a really impressive candidate free at Xmas, this option must be considered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

The one thing that really irritates me is the cost of the defence since Rodgers took over and they're still horrendous. How much were mignolet, Moreno, Lovren and Sakho combined? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Sideshow Mark

The one thing that really irritates me is the cost of the defence since Rodgers took over and they're still horrendous. How much were mignolet, Moreno, Lovren and Sakho combined? :confused:

How often have they played together?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I'd say Mignolet and Lovern were the only 2 he bought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,750 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Terrific start... Lambert excellent etc etc

Low in confidence, tempo/intensity dropped, poor goals conceded

No-one to blame but themselves, he takes responsibility as the manager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Kharrell wrote: »

I'm a fellow United supporter, but honestly, do you ever stop trying to wind up opposing fans?

Just because I support an opposing team dosent mean I can't have an opinion.

Rodgers is losing it. Blaming the 'young players' on today's defeat while saying nothing about the likes of Gerrard, Johnson, Lovren or Skrtel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

An absolute shambles today. Rodgers persisting with crap is really starting to piss me off.

Rodgers is losing it. Blaming the 'young players' on today's defeat while saying nothing about the likes of Gerrard, Johnson, Lovren or Skrtel.

He's hardly losing it. If he start blaming those players then he'd be losing it. End of the day if he needs the experienced players to stick by him because if he loses the dressing room he's definitely a goner.