Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning in OP, 10/12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

I blame the GAA.

Since Gerrard started watching the fcuking GAA he's all 'Take your points, the goals will follow'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

A third of the season in and we are looking worse each game. I don't believe Rodgers deserves until the summer, if performances stay like this till January he should be fired. You can't keep living off last seasons results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

rossie1977 wrote: »
    spurs had 20 points after 12 games last season..

So?

I'm clearly talking about blowing the wad from your best player's sale on players that don't work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭mada999

klose wrote: »
    Cant wait for the same team and tactics on wednesday, absolutely no pity for rodgers here his persistance with gerrard johnsom skrtel etc... Will cost him his job amd rightfully so if he keeps going this way.

if we lose like this on Wednesday he will be gone imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,714 ✭✭✭doc_17

Adding Carroll into that list negates any argument made to be honest!

Maybe, but adding Balotelli to the squad negates any benefit in getting rid of Carroll. These are serious times, our keeper is poor, defence brutal, midfield anonymous and strikers would barely get into a relegation threatened team.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Jesus christ.

I've heard people say the definition of insanity is doing the same thing again and again and expecting different results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,385 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    So thats it yeah?! Forget everything that happened last year. Rough times for sure but sacking the manager is not going to solve a single thing.

Going on everything he's done this season, yes. He's shown no sign that he knows what's wrong, nevermind that he's capable of making the decision to turn things around. His signings this summer, to a man, have failed to improve the team in anyway and his team selection suggests that he has no idea on how to get the best out of this squad of players right now.

He has to show at least some sign of improvement in the next three or four games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The Mata deal can't be done soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Rodgers looked very nervous today even when we were winning 1-0. Id say he could be under serious pressure soon. What is it going to take to drop Lovren,Johnson,Skrtel & Gerrard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭delw

Maybe we should all ask santy for a world class striker & dm ( or manager :( )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

If you sack a manager you need to hire a manager so who would be available mid-season? Should he be given time (I mentioned Pardew with that in mind) or would no improvement by January mean its better to sack and take a chance on someone but as I say, who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

mada999 wrote: »
    if we lose like this on Wednesday he will be gone imo

If we lose on Wednesday that's 5 defeats on the spin his job will be under severe threat then. Can he turn it around?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 655 ✭✭✭RED L4 0TH

He does need to man up and drop Stevie tho.

And maybe not renew his contract next season too. His decline is shocking (and sad) to witness. With the Palace counter-attacks, he really struggled to get back into a defensive position. Pace totally gone.

Turtyturd wrote: »

Not good enough tbh.

We need world class in, not has beens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

I am struggling to think of any available managers I would rather.

Biggest problem is its all so slow. A complete world away from the counter attacks of last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

Turtyturd wrote: »

What's the Mata you, hey?

Why you looka so sad?

It's a not so bad.

It's a nicea place.

Ah, shut up a you face!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,126 ✭✭✭✭noodler

We need a clear out but there are still things Rodgers could be doing.

Toure in, Johnson and sorted out, Gerrard either up or dropped, can in, two up top.

Only five points behind fourth but you can't escape the clear gap in quality when you watch the other contenders play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,251 ✭✭✭mada999

If you cant even match an opposition team in work rate then you need to have a look at the manager....

1. Bought muck players
    2. Does not see that 1 up front is not working
    3. Needs to drop players that are clearly not playing well
    4. Failed to replace Suarez with anyone of quality... brought Balotelli in at the last second after saying the wasnt going to sign him..

As someone else said, not one of the players brought in has made us any better... it's a shocking waste of money..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,747 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

The decline from last season has been shocking - I'd even go so far as it's been more dramatic than United last year under Moyes.

This season has clearly shown that the entire team was being carried by Suarez. Without him they haven't a clue where to even start. Gerrard is past it unfortunately and needs to retire gracefully. Mignolet has had so many howlers in his time with us that he needs to be replaced ASAP, and Rodgers himself - I dunno, spent over 100 mil in the summer and we're not far off a relegation battle? What does that say?

This season is a write-off anyway. We need to start thinking about next year now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,222 ✭✭✭✭rob316

He's just too stubborn, he is under serious pressure now. Loose Wednesday and he is gone I'd say. If he bought all these players his is rightly on the block. This is just disgraceful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,567 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Rodgers out.
    Gerrard and Johnson dropped.
    Lovren and Skrtel dropped.
    American owners out.

Iago Aspas back as player-manager-owner.

I've cracked the code lads, be grand.

That's the problem isn't it? If Rodgers does go, who can we realistically get in? Don't think going back for Rafa would be the right decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

So do we just hobble along until Gerrard retires?

I wonder does Stevie enjoy getting humiliated every week?

I think this actually feels worse than Hodgson. With him there was no respect - he had no achievements with or without the club so it was easy just to make him the target of unadulterated hatred straight from the off.

We're playing just as badly at the moment but it's made twice as frustrating because what came before from a manager that's shown flexibility and delivered the best football any fan under 30 has ever seen and from players that consistently delivered last season.

People need to stop blaming the signings. The team we have available, even without Sturridge, is a lot better than Hull, Palace, Newcastle, West Ham, QPR and most of the teams we've struggled against this season.

Rodgers get's 0 points for his management of the squad he's had available this season. Persisting with demonstrably off-form CBs, persisting with Gerrard, Johnson and 1 up front.

It's just maddening. It feels like I'm taking crazy pills. There's no explanation. A four-year-old would be able to see what's wrong. I don't believe that Rodgers is so ****ing stupid that he can't see the problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭GotTheTshirt

Carra talking alot of sense on Sky at the mo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Rodgers wanting Berahino and Redmond in Janaury really speaks where we are as a club now if they are the answer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

He's not getting fired even if we lose on Wednesday. The owners are unlikely to overreact as much as some of the posters on here are. He deserves time to get this right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I'd leave him till next season if he drops the stubourness when it comes to certain players and a clear transfer policy that isn't a battle of wills between him in the committee is implemented.

We might not win the league but our competitors for the 4th place trophy (Arsenal/United) are equally sh*t, and we should go close/possibly win the CL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Rodgers can be a good manager, I've just no idea why he isn't being one right now. We've had one and a half very good seasons with him, and now he's starting to make it look like it was all Suarez and Sturridge's doing. Chap looks like he hasn't a breeze what he's doing and his transfer reputation is in tatters.

He's not getting fired even if we lose on Wednesday. The owners are unlikely to overreact as much as some of the posters on here are. He deserves time to get this right.

I wouldn't be so sure. They've shown in their time at Boston that they can be pretty trigger happy when needs be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Rodgers wanting Berahino and Redmond in Janaury really speaks where we are as a club now if they are the answer!

He told you this over breakfast did he?!?

Although personally i think Berahino is going to be a star.