Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How was 2014 for you?

• 22-11-2014 12:50am
    Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭

So, I know there is still 40 days left in the year but I thought I'd start this now (in AH of all place, ohhh the humanity!). Title is pretty self explanatory.

For me, it's been a weird one. From realising a college-long dream to losing a person I care about very much, from making friends to losing a close one due to the horrid illness knows as depression it's been quite mixed. So, how has the year been for you? Any goals you hit? New Years resolution still in check? Or has it been just another normal year where you've mixed the good with the bad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Is it that time of year already? Better get my new years gym membership soon! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Is it that time of year already?

We'll have the pubs closing on good Friday thread shortly...

:eek::eek: Oh teh hoomanity joe!

but really, this years been alright for me, learned an awful lot this year, made new friends, got rid of the cnuty ones, so im happy :)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

:eek::eek: Oh teh hoomanity joe!

but really, this years been alright for me, learned an awful lot this year, made new friends, got rid of the cnuty ones, so im happy :)
    That is good going! That's a good goal to have every year! It's harder than it looks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Its been a ****e year for ireland. Politicians takin us for a ride the whole time. Fatcats lining their pockets up in dublin wile we sit here hashing away day in day out to pay for water that falls out of the sky. Sooner we have revolution the better. Look at countries like mexico killing their politicians yet here we are giving garda escorts to the jokers running this country into the ground.

mrkiscool2 wrote: »
    That is good going! That's a good goal to have every year! It's harder than it looks!

Tis indeed! but sure the way i look at things when it gets crap like that is, in a few months/years time you won't even remember them

• Registered Users Posts: 9 scalp

Give me depression any day - try living with someone who has bipolar. Then again hey-ho still breathing. I guess I wouldn't take on anyone else's problems at the same time

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭WomanSkirtFan8

So, I know there is still 40 days left in the year but I thought I'd start this now (in AH of all place, ohhh the humanity!). Title is pretty self explanatory.

For me, it's been a weird one. From realising a college-long dream to losing a person I care about very much, from making friends to losing a close one due to the horrid illness knows as depression it's been quite mixed. So, how has the year been for you? Any goals you hit? New Years resolution still in check? Or has it been just another normal year where you've mixed the good with the bad?

For me, it's been pretty much a fairly mixed bag with various ups and downs, to be honest. Can only hope that 2015 will be better!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Terrible, even worse than last year.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,170 ✭✭✭Wompa1

I received a pretty exclusive award in my area of work for my second year, which I wanted to do, to prove it wasn't just a fluke. Some people get it and don't get renewed because they get found out. I feel like I proved myself. I started a new job, working with some really cool and smart people. I got to learn some new things. I got a puppy.

It was going great, until last Saturday. One of my best friends and one of my only friends where I am died(living abroad now). He had cancer but was told things were looking good. Unfortunately, the chemo killed him. Got an e-mail from him saying he was finishing up his chemo this week and wanted to meet up after the week after Thanksgiving...which would have been 2 weeks from now.

The last time we met up, he was saying a lot of cryptic sh1t. He was scared. Heartbreaking.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭uch

Every Year is Feckin Marvelous once you're still alive

21/25

• Registered Users Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Anyone got any plans for Paddys day?

uch wrote: »
    Every Year is Feckin Marvelous once you're still alive

true enough alright! learn to take and appreciate each day as it comes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

That year went by insanely fast.

How was it? Grand.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,870 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

Use spoiler tags lads, I haven't finished it yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

A combination of brilliant and sh1t.

Met my OH, fell in love.
    Started an exciting new job.
    Worked more than I've ever worked in my life and started having panic attacks.
    Moved to a new city that I'm not quite sure of.
    Lost a close friend.

I think really that last one will define 2014 for me. The rest of them, well that's just life, but I'll never see my friend again and that's an enormously difficult pill to swallow.

That year went by insanely fast.

How was it? Grand.

it did actually didnt it?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,687 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm ending this year happier than I was last year, so I guess that's a good year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

it did actually didnt it?

It really fooking did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

Fast. 2014 was very fast. Good? Dunno tbh. It was too quick to really follow. I hope 2015 can be savored a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

It has been the worst year of my life, I think, but before the end it'll be the best

Less shít than 2013 was.
    A lot shíttier than 2012.

A mixed result, one could say. I'm sure 2015 will be totes amazeballs though....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Fast. 2014 was very fast.

A good summer is alot of the reason, found this and last year flew.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭In Lonesome Dove

Last January Garth Brooks came to Dublin and announced his gigs. My sister and I went battling for tickets and were lucky to get tickets. For some time we were both dealing with the aftermath of muck being thrown upon on backs. All that kinda melted away as we looked forward together in anticipation for the gigs. My sister travelled to croke park on the day of the announcement in the hope that her guessing would be correct and the artist would turn out to be Garth Brooks. She met him, got his autograph and her picture taken with him and it provided a huge emotional boost for her and I was so happy for her too. For the first time in ages she was lifted. The first part of the year flew so fast and looking forward to the gigs helped that. Anyways, it never happened and it was a huge crash down. Unfortunately we're not holding any hope or light for him to return to Ireland and that's dampening.

After this, another family member emergrated.

Another family member living abroad, had a baby and that was very exciting but it is very hard because they are on the other side of the world and the distance is so big.

All in all, it's been a sh1t year with sprinklings of other bullsh1t and worries.

All in all,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭Laura Palmer

losing a close one due to the horrid illness knows as depression
    Wompa1 wrote: »
    It was going great, until last Saturday. One of my best friends and one of my only friends where I am died(living abroad now). He had cancer but was told things were looking good. Unfortunately, the chemo killed him. Got an e-mail from him saying he was finishing up his chemo this week and wanted to meet up after the week after Thanksgiving...which would have been 2 weeks from now.

The last time we met up, he was saying a lot of cryptic sh1t. He was scared. Heartbreaking.
    beks101 wrote: »
    Lost a close friend.

I think really that last one will define 2014 for me. The rest of them, well that's just life, but I'll never see my friend again and that's an enormously difficult pill to swallow.
    Jeez folks, that's absolutely awful. Condolences.

It was an uneventful year for me, which when put into perspective like the above, is a good thing. Well work has been quite sucky for a while, but I've started upskilling and looking for another job. It's something that's easy to have a contingency plan for (and the jobs market does appear to be improving where I am - I know that's not the case throughout Ireland by any means though) even if it can be kinda soul-destroying at times.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Better than 1993, but not a patch on 1978.
    It reminded me of 1989 in a lot of ways

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭Kevin McCloud

Senna wrote: »
    It reminded me of 1989 in a lot of ways

That was a year of big snow and the power went out xmas eve.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

2014 sucked a big bag of dicks, as did 2013 and I'm sure 2015 will aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

It was eventful.

I got married, bought my first home, got a pug puppy, applied to be a foster carer and did a course.

Think I've been happy this entire year, first time I've been able to say that in years :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭lulu1

2014 No major highs No major lows so it went pretty ok for me wont complain if 2015 is the same