Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2014 - Mod Warning in OP, 10/12

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,220 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Ibe as oppose to Markovic for example, I thought he done plenty to deserve a chance this year

Ibe is better off having been loaned and playing regularly.

We should actually maybe have done the same with Markovic to be honest. Was developing very nicely with Benfica, could have done with giving him another year there.

Subscribe to save Boards.ie from closing down: The Bad News

https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Dayum wrote: »
    I'm not really a believer in Brendan Rogers and if I am to be, it will take considerable time yet...

As far as I can see - it was a genuine world class player in Luis Suarez making that entire squad look world class, and even more shockingly, making the manager look world class. Don't get me wrong, I like Rogers, the man....I really do. But this season thus far, from a managerial perspective, has been an absolute car crash to say the least. Is the world falling in around LFC? No, but if we lay all of our cards on the table I think it's fair to say we all thought Liverpool would be doing better at this point in time.

I know the players haven't been performing but that squad just isn't capable of giving the Champions League a right bash and that blame must ultimately fall on the manager. In the summer, Rogers did a Spurs 2.0. Tottenham took the Bale money and splashed with little dividends - Liverpool look to be doing the same.

For a coach that, we can assume, should know a thing or two more than anyone on this board about football and his team, Rogers made a meal of the transfer window. When Balotelli was first linked with a move back to England my ten year old nephew turned to me and said "what idiots would take him?". Let's face facts, the guy may have all the talent in the world but he's just not interested. He wants to live the playboy lifestyle and would rather be out in a nightclub getting pissed on a Tuesday night than in bed at 9pm to be up nice and early for training the next day. Everywhere he's been trouble has followed; he had a brawl with Mancini for crying out loud. Mourinho hated him at Inter, the people at AC Milan said he was the most difficult person to work with. What exactly does this tell us? So why did Rogers buy him?! He's not particularly the kind the of player that's going to chase down balls into the corner flag in the 89th minute and he's not going to get stuck in when it's required. Balotelli wants the ball played to him a certain way and if it's not, that's your fault. That's not the kind of player suited to Liverpool F.C.

What about Mignolet? Prone to the odd blunder. Well, who else was there? How about the World Cups favourite goalie? That Mexican chap with the afro...Ochoa? Went on a free transfer last summer after getting to the knockout stages in Brazil. Wouldn't he of been worth a punt?

For me Lovren has been woeful. Wouldn't a bid for Ron Vlaar at Villa had made more sense? Put a great shift in at the World Cup for Holland and was valued at half the price Lovren was. What about Garay that left to go to Russia? Gerrard is well past it.

So many options. I just think Rogers made a meal of the window.

Bar Balotelli lots of monday morning quarterbacking. Are you basing buying the Mexican keeper simply on the WC.
    That's a foolproof system for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Breaks my heart that it was so obvious that Alderweireld suited EPL so well: http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056842291/814/#post83044271

Southampton, since scooping him up on loan for a song, have conceded 2 in 7 games and 0 in last 4 I think. Gutting, given our own issues continuing despite no shortage of spending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

I'm not really a believer in Brendan Rogers and if I am to be, it will take considerable time yet...

As far as I can see - it was a genuine world class player in Luis Suarez making that entire squad look world class, and even more shockingly, making the manager look world class. Don't get me wrong, I like Rogers, the man....I really do. But this season thus far, from a managerial perspective, has been an absolute car crash to say the least. Is the world falling in around LFC? No, but if we lay all of our cards on the table I think it's fair to say we all thought Liverpool would be doing better at this point in time.

I know the players haven't been performing but that squad just isn't capable of giving the Champions League a right bash and that blame must ultimately fall on the manager. In the summer, Rogers did a Spurs 2.0. Tottenham took the Bale money and splashed with little dividends - Liverpool look to be doing the same.

For a coach that, we can assume, should know a thing or two more than anyone on this board about football and his team, Rogers made a meal of the transfer window. When Balotelli was first linked with a move back to England my ten year old nephew turned to me and said "what idiots would take him?". Let's face facts, the guy may have all the talent in the world but he's just not interested. He wants to live the playboy lifestyle and would rather be out in a nightclub getting pissed on a Tuesday night than in bed at 9pm to be up nice and early for training the next day. Everywhere he's been trouble has followed; he had a brawl with Mancini for crying out loud. Mourinho hated him at Inter, the people at AC Milan said he was the most difficult person to work with. What exactly does this tell us? So why did Rogers buy him?! He's not particularly the kind the of player that's going to chase down balls into the corner flag in the 89th minute and he's not going to get stuck in when it's required. Balotelli wants the ball played to him a certain way and if it's not, that's your fault. That's not the kind of player suited to Liverpool F.C.

What about Mignolet? Prone to the odd blunder. Well, who else was there? How about the World Cups favourite goalie? That Mexican chap with the afro...Ochoa? Went on a free transfer last summer after getting to the knockout stages in Brazil. Wouldn't he of been worth a punt?

For me Lovren has been woeful. Wouldn't a bid for Ron Vlaar at Villa had made more sense? Put a great shift in at the World Cup for Holland and was valued at half the price Lovren was. What about Garay that left to go to Russia? Gerrard is well past it.

So basically he should't get any credit for the good things but shoulder the blame when things go aren't going entirely to plan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

His name is Brendan Rodgers FFS........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Rodgers made a meal of the transfer window and as a way to improve you suggest the Mexican keepr and Ron Vlaar? Couldn't make that up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

NukaCola wrote: »
    His name is Brendan Rodgers FFS........

Ahem...The Rodgers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Dayum

Rodgers made a meal of the transfer window and as a way to improve you suggest the Mexican keepr and Ron Vlaar? Couldn't make that up.

Nope. I'm simply throwing out names that would have been better options than what he did. In other words, while not the lowest common denominator...would have done a better job than what he has achieved thus far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Nope. I'm simply throwing out names that would have been better options than what he did. In other words, while not the lowest common denominator...would have done a better job than what he has achieved thus far.

But they wouldn't have been better options. I'd much prefer having Mingolet in goal than Ochoa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Petr Cech's price tag is £7m on some of the red tops tomorrow.

The Mirror going with Brendan Rodgers wants Berahino in January...£15m-plus :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Well what's the alternative ? Top class striker needed that's available ? I'm open to suggestions
    Edit: BTW I don't think he's the solution either^

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭mosstin

Well what's the alternative ? Top class striker needed that's available ? I'm open to suggestions
    Edit: BTW I don't think he's the solution either

What makes you think Berahino is top class?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Ahem...The Rodgers.

'The Rogers'.....it is known.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,893 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Yep, buying the new flavour of the month from a club that bought him for a relative pittance recently is just what we need,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

mosstin wrote: »
    What makes you think Berahino is top class?

Edited post since , BTW I don't think he's the solution it's just a lack of ambition bidding for him , at least we had an offer in for Sanchez that's all I'm getting at

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Berahino is the idea player

... for Chelsea to buy and rarely play.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 359 ✭✭Kharrell

Looking at a list of players available on a free transfer next summer earlier, Liverpool should be all over someone like Luiz Adrianno. I suppose some people can point to the fact he's scoring goals in the Ukrainian league as something to use against him, but he's regularly been doing the business in the Champions League for years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,738 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Y'know, it's a bit frustrating seeing other teams take a risk on freescoring guys from other countries, while we tend to always go for guys with just 'ok' goalscoring records who have been tested more.

Obviously it doesn't work plenty of times, though it does seem to be becoming more of a success more recently - perhaps the quality of defending is improving in other leagues, so a good record means more?

Just annoying that our last two Dutch league freescoring imports have added so much to the team (Kuyt and Suarez) but we haven't gone back into that market since. Meanwhile Southampton reap the rewards of carefully judging and plucking the gems.

Its about lads with cojones. Self confidence and guts. Those lads had it. Some of the squad have it but they need to take more responsibility.

Certain players look ****ed though. Does Lovren need counselling? A lad like Toure seems to have more mental strength. We need winners in the team.

I want to see more of Leiva, Lallana and Can. I think Sakho has the spirit but has he the technique? I want Flanno back for RB. I want Sterling to be rested, for a while. I want Coutinho to be coached to protect the ball when deep. I want Lovren Dropped. I want Borini and Balotelli up front. Finally, where's Suso as a super sub?

Breaks my heart that it was so obvious that Alderweireld suited EPL so well: http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2056842291/814/#post83044271

Southampton, since scooping him up on loan for a song, have conceded 2 in 7 games and 0 in last 4 I think. Gutting, given our own issues continuing despite no shortage of spending.

Liverpool have got so stupid at dwfending I'm resigning myself to the fact that it wouldn't matter who is brought in at cb. They'll turn crap once they throw on the geansai.

I assume Alderweild has Wanyama and Schneiderlein as a duo in front. It's a screen like that Liverpool need imo for the circus defending to improve.
    It sadly won't alleviate the inability to deal with corners but baby steps and all that.

Whose to say Vlaar would have been any improvement in the Liverpool set up. Lovren wasn't the disaster for Southampton that he has became since joining Liverpool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,303 ✭✭✭✭klose

Hidalgo wrote: »
    Liverpool have got so stupid at dwfending I'm resigning myself to the fact that it wouldn't matter who is brought in at cb. They'll turn crap once they throw on the geansai.

I assume Alderweild has Wanyama and Schneiderlein as a duo in front. It's a screen like that Liverpool need imo for the circus defending to improve.
    It sadly won't alleviate the inability to deal with corners but baby steps and all that.

Im as big a lovren critic as anyone to date but this is a very good point re. Wanyama and schneiderlan. Lovren had those two the majority of the time sitting in front of him last season but he comes here and instead has a 34 y/o gerrard who's legs are going, some change of style for him. Rodgers probably has no interest in a pure defensive defensive mid anyways, proabbly sees them as a waste on the pitch or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

J Mysterio wrote: »
    Its about lads with cojones. Self confidence and guts. Those lads had it. Some of the squad have it but they need to take more responsibility.

Certain players look ****ed though. Does Lovren need counselling? A lad like Toure seems to have more mental strength. We need winners in the team.

I want to see more of Leiva, Lallana and Can. I think Sakho has the spirit but has he the technique? I want Flanno back for RB. I want Sterling to be rested, for a while. I want Coutinho to be coached to protect the ball when deep. I want Lovren Dropped. I want Borini and Balotelli up front. Finally, where's Suso as a super sub?

Suso is injured, agree with much of this, unfortunately it takes the manager to discover some balls as well. He seems desperately conservative in the face of a crisis. He ought to be throwing caution to the wind and trying new player combinations and formations instead of clinging on to players who have let him down and a formation that doesn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Blondie919

I haven't been keeping up with this thread for a good while now due to work so I don't know where the rest of ye stand with regards to Liverpool's poor form this season. But I've gotten to the stage where in the lead up to a matchday I am very undecided whether I'll bother watching them play. Someone posted here before the Chelsea game about taking some time away from watching Liverpool matches and at the time I wondered why someone would do that, and I thought to myself that I would watch them play any day.

But it's now nearly 24 hours till they play again and I am undecided. Do I risk wasting 2 hours of my prized day off to watch a listless Liverpool struggle to beat Crystal Palace, with the near certainty that a loss will ruin my day? Or will I cave in and watch them with the familiar hope and optimism that any seasoned Liverpool fan has?

It's so depressing to have gotten to this stage, 11 games into a season and we have lost 5 already. We are not good to watch. I think I only missed one match all last season. I haven't missed one yet, but there are are couple of games I wished I hadn't seen. Next game is against a team 4th from bottom. I have to admit I can't see us getting a decent result.

Come on Liverpool, make me happy again goddamit!!

Hopefully after this sad rant they'll play like a team that wants to win and actually win. Feck it, I probably will watch it anyway. It's hard not to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,443 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

klose wrote: »
    Im as big a lovren critic as anyone to date but this is a very good point re. Wanyama and schneiderlan. Lovren had those two the majority of the time sitting in front of him last season but he comes here and instead has a 34 y/o gerrard who's legs are going, some change of style for him. Rodgers probably has no interest in a pure defensive defensive mid anyways, proabbly sees them as a waste on the pitch or something.

That just emphasises the fact that a CB shouldn't really have been the priority! We had Agger, Skrtel and Sahko as options along with a few under studies.

We have been screaming for a decent bloody central midfielder with pace but BR just doesn't seem to see it as a priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Blondie919 wrote: »
    I haven't been keeping up with this thread for a good while now due to work so I don't know where the rest of ye stand with regards to Liverpool's poor form this season. But I've gotten to the stage where in the lead up to a matchday I am very undecided whether I'll bother watching them play. Someone posted here before the Chelsea game about taking some time away from watching Liverpool matches and at the time I wondered why someone would do that, and I thought to myself that I would watch them play any day.

But it's now nearly 24 hours till they play again and I am undecided. Do I risk wasting 2 hours of my prized day off to watch a listless Liverpool struggle to beat Crystal Palace, with the near certainty that a loss will ruin my day? Or will I cave in and watch them with the familiar hope and optimism that any seasoned Liverpool fan has?

It's so depressing to have gotten to this stage, 11 games into a season and we have lost 5 already. We are not good to watch. I think I only missed one match all last season. I haven't missed one yet, but there are are couple of games I wished I hadn't seen. Next game is against a team 4th from bottom. I have to admit I can't see us getting a decent result.

Come on Liverpool, make me happy again goddamit!!

Hopefully after this sad rant they'll play like a team that wants to win and actually win. Feck it, I probably will watch it anyway. It's hard not to.

Feel the same way, mainly because I just know what the performance will be like irrespective of the result. The results annoy me and they've been flattering, but the insipid play annoys me more.

When he played Borini, then said "I thoght Borini was outstanding" and dropped him again, that was the limit for me.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

There's people going to the games in the cold and cheering the team on even when we're playing crap.

Yeah, I'll watch the game. All the games. I'll watch them if we're in division 3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭JohnDaniels

Not watch them? Eh, I think you should reassess if you enjoy football. Things may be bad at the moment but I'm gagging to watch a Liverpool football match. 12 games in the next 40 days. Bring'em on :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Not watch them? Eh, I think you should reassess if you enjoy football. Things may be bad at the moment but I'm gagging to watch a Liverpool football match. 12 games in the next 40 days. Bring'em on :)

To be honest, I have done. But then I enjoy watchign international games, champs league games and other matches more simply because they're more entertaining and less predictable.

This is something I've noticed happenign over a few years, mainly because I moved away and I don't watch Football Focus or Match of the Day any more and I've discovered just how overrated the Premier League is generally speaking. Also (as is the case with other leagues in fairness) there's only going to be one of two maybe three teams who are going to be at the top come the end of season. This results in more drama in a one-off match than over a season when it peters out towards the end. Even Man U are beginnign to feel it. I think they'll get back into Europe, but I don't think they (or anyone else) will challange Man City or Chelsea for the league for some time. Liverpool's run last year was an exception rather than a rule and City and Chelsea have beoth spent big in order to ensure it never happens again.

But with Liverpool, I feel they've hit a glass ceiling in that they can't attract the players they need even when they have more going for them than their rivals. We cant throw money at problems like the others can and until we can I don't see anything changing.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,431 ✭✭✭Blondie919

Grayditch wrote: »
    There's people going to the games in the cold and cheering the team on even when we're playing crap.

Yeah, I'll watch the game. All the games. I'll watch them if we're in division 3.

I hear you. Sure Shankly himself said something like "If you don't support us when we lose or draw, then don't support us".

I was just having a bit of a rant but as the hours tick by I am gradually thinking ahead about getting up early tomorrow, looking for live streams and logging into Boards for the match thread. I'll watch them cos at the back of my mind a voice is telling me that if I don't watch this game then I'll miss seeing Liverpool win. I'll watch them cos they are a part of my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Hey lads Danny Ings scored 2 so far today lets get him on a free!!!!!!!

He is in form and just what we need!!!!!

I am joking