Long hours on feet?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 371 ✭✭Frog Song

Skechers Go Walk. I also work long hours on my feet and was recently getting aching pains in my legs, so bad that I thought I had varicose veins, my legs were even aching hours after work lying in bed. Was recommended Skechers Go Walks and the pain disappeared instantly, I can't recommend them enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

I did bar work ages ago and always meant to get a foot spa but never did. A basin of water was heaven after a double shift though. If the soles of your feet go like lunar surface get some Mycil powder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭GalwayGirl26

+1 for the Sketchers Go Walk; my sister is a nurse and had them for work; thought they were hideous until I tried them on and my feet entered Nirvana. I've been converted!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

Ecco shoes are by far the most comfy shoes imo, I have serious problems with one of my feet and they are the only ones that help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

chakotha wrote: »
    I did bar work ages ago and always meant to get a foot spa but never did. A basin of water was heaven after a double shift though. If the soles of your feet go like lunar surface get some Mycil powder.

Naah, just bathe them in a bowl of water with a good strong dash of mouthwash in it. Leaves your feet fresher than a daisy. My feet were wrecked from wearing wet boots all day every day on boomtime building sites, I tried everything, till I tried the mouthwash. One go and it was sorted. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭Boo2112

Another sketchers go walk vote over here, they're like slippers they're so light and comfy!! I do 12 hour shifts in a busy restaurant and they are an absolute godsend! Only thing is I have quite wide feet so they hurt me on the sides for a while as they were quite thin but I sorted that with a pair of moulded insoles from elverys, totally recommend them aswel! Could walk to the moon and back with that combination!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭heldel00

+1 for Skechers go walk. If it's more dressy you need then there is a brand called "heavenly feet". Don't have a pair but others at work swear by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

+1 for sketchers go walk. On my feet for 8hrs a day & they do the buiz...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 479 ✭✭In Lonesome Dove

Another vote here for ecco shoes.

A little over 10 years ago, when I was a student and broke, I needed a new pair of shoes. I went to Dunnes and picked up a pair of runners for about 30 euro. For someone on my feet all day and walked a lot due to not having a car, the shoes fell apart in a matter of weeks. I went back then to my favourite brand which was Fila (I think at the time).

I changed my shoe around 2006 to sketchers and they were my favourite for a long time.

Back in 2011, I changed the brand of shoe I went for to Ecco and I never looked back. They came recommended to me from my brother who worked long hours in a hotel.

Many years ago I had a factory job which involved standing at a bench all day. My back was fcuked standing all day. If I was moving or walking about it I don't think I would have found it as bad but the standing just killed. I don't know if a shoe would help standing all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,913 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ecco are great... a bit nanna looking but your feet will be happy

10 million lesbians can't be wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Is the OP male or female?

If male I'd recommend Rockport shoes too, Debenhams have them reduced in their sales quite a lot, have gel in the soles and are extremely comfortable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,462 ✭✭✭blinding

Naah, just bathe them in a bowl of water with a good strong dash of mouthwash in it. Leaves your feet fresher than a daisy. My feet were wrecked from wearing wet boots all day every day on boomtime building sites, I tried everything, till I tried the mouthwash. One go and it was sorted. :)
    Any particular type of mouthwash ?

And what exactly were the symptoms that your feet were experiencing .

Thanks in advance :)

blinding wrote: »
    Any particular type of mouthwash ?

And what exactly were the symptoms that your feet were experiencing .

Thanks in advance :)

Any, I used to feck in half a small bottle of the Tesco cheap stuff into a big basin of warm water.

Mine, and most of the lads I worked withs, feet were ruined from always being wet - wet boots all day long on sites, even changing your boots every day didn't help. I went to Doctors, so did most of the others - feet getting cratered like the surface of the moon and stinking to high heaven (yeah, lovely). Some things helped, but nothing worked 100%. It used to drive me nuts. Then I tried the mouthwash/warm water footbath. Did the job right away and have never had feet problems since. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

Any, I used to feck in half a small bottle of the Tesco cheap stuff into a big basin of warm water.

Mine, and most of the lads I worked withs, feet were ruined from always being wet - wet boots all day long on sites, even changing your boots every day didn't help. I went to Doctors, so did most of the others - feet getting cratered like the surface of the moon and stinking to high heaven (yeah, lovely). Some things helped, but nothing worked 100%. It used to drive me nuts. Then I tried the mouthwash/warm water footbath. Did the job right away and have never had feet problems since. :)

Would a high quality pair of boots not prevent your feet being wet all day? That sounds like torture going around with wet feet all day

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    Would a high quality pair of boots not prevent your feet being wet all day? That sounds like torture going around with wet feet all day

Dear boots, cheap boots, changing socks, doesn't matter, if you are plodding through muck and water/sweating, your feet get soaked regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,709 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I can not stress the importance of good quality shoes. I recently spent 150 on a pair of clarks gortex shoes, they are heaven for my feet. Cheap shoes are a false economy you will get a few months out of them where as you could get 2 years out of a clarks shoe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Ecco shoes seem to be designed for people with moderate to severe foot deformity and other orthopaedic impairments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,918 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Maybe talk to your doctor, or your work doctor, and ask to be sent to a specialist on this? Friend of mine did this (security woman), and got orthoptic shoes. Compositors I used to know wore pressure stockings on medical advice. But it's medical advice you need, not AH advice.

I hope you're also getting your legal requirement of sit-down breaks between hours of standing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,407 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

New Balance runners are the only way to go. It's like walking on cushions, although depending on your job they may not be acceptable.