Bad housemate or am I being OTT?

• 20-11-2014 10:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

Long enough story and I hope I don't come across as a bad housemate myself for posting this but I don't know should I contact landlord or am I being over the top.

Basically, we(Myself and 2 others) got a new housemate recently(3months). Since then he has changed everything in the house to suit him.

He decided that the way we were parking wasn't right so advised us we should park another way. This is a private drive with space for about 6 cars. Now, myself and another housemate didn't bother changing as we couldn't understand what was wrong with the current system.

He bought a drier for his clothes to take the hardness out but felt we should all pay in for it. Again, we have 2 excellent hot presses which are ideal for drying clothes so we didn't need one and we tried explaining that but he went off and got one anyway and wanted the money. I still haven't paid as I don't use it and have no intention of doing so. I don't know how much clothes he goes through but he puts on the Washing Machine and Dryer twice each evening with stuff. Also, another one of his traits is taking out our clothes out of the washing machine when he wants to use it(our washing would have finished, but wouldn't have been left long at all).

He has been taking over the TV room also spreading himself across the couch and not moving for us. He also brings his GF over(no issue with this) but again, they take over the place. One of the other housemates had been sitting down when they came in one night and got up to boil the kettle, when he had turned around they had taken his seat.

The dishwasher flooded 2 weeks ago. Very simple to fix, but he went and messed around with all the buttons and now the computer in the dishwasher has packed up meaning the landlord may have to get a new fitted dishwasher as it is built into the kitchen.

Now the latest thing is the oil. I had been thinking we'd run out of oil soon and the day came. One of the lads put up a note saying it would be €x amount(very reasonable split 4 ways by the way) and could we sort it ASAP so he could order it. Instead, our man decided he would go out and check the tank himself(completely undermined us. Well, he said he found a load of oil it just needed to be tipped(surely when it was put back the laws of gravity would mean whatever was there would....era at this stage it's pointless, nevermind).

We(the 2 of us present) thought it was ridiculous what he did but then he went a step further again....We have the hot water on 24/7. It's fantastic to know you always have hot water and it's been that way long before I moved in but he decided that we'd change that to just use turn it on for an hour in the morning instead. Now We all work but work very different times so his lunchtime is my morning as same with the other lads with different hours.

I got a bit pissed earlier when he suggested that and ended up going out of the house to chill out but am I being over the top? I know if I complain to the landlord he will only call your man who in turn will only start cribbing to us so not sure what to do except move which looks like a great idea at the mo.

Sorry for the long post, my head is just completely wrecked over the whole thing and he tipped me over the edge then about the hot water. Is he a bad housemate or am I just being an unfair housemate???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭bop1977

Ask the other housemates their opinion of him, then if you are all agreed fook him out. He sounds like a right a$$hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

I feel your pain op I had a housemate with extreme ocd,he'd grab my car keys off the table and move my car to different parking spots or if it wasn't exactly in line with the end of the house,I used to drive him mental by moving everything a bit crooked in the house.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Don Kedick

Shoot him in the head, then chop him up and throw him into the dishwasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Don Kedick wrote: »
    Shoot him in the head, then chop him up and throw him into the dishwasher.

The dishwasher is broken!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Find a friendly pig farmer and kill your housemate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,889 ✭✭✭dmc17

petrolcan wrote: »
    The dishwasher is broken!

Shouldn't make much difference either way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I feel your pain too OP, a few years ago I shared a house with three others , at the drop of a hat , two of them would knock the bollox out of each other for the slightest reason .
    The other one was a moody cnut , did I mention she was my now ex wife and the other were my sons .

Thread has potential OP , it could run for weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

If it's a clear 3 against 1 tell him to sling his hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

My housemate woes aren't too bad, but lets just say she didn't have a bin in the bathroom before I moved in and instead used the kitchen paper bag-bin replacement (also didn't have a bin in the kitchen) for her not so sanitary items.

I read over on another forum of two situations I consider to be worse:
    a) the housemate keeps turning off the lights on the guy while he's sitting there eating his dinner
    b) he had to live with the landlord housing junkies, actually shooting up junkies, sleeping/living in his sitting room, while one of his actual housemates defecates in the hand basin every single day.

They are my contributions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Candy_Girl

I don't think I could ever share a house with strangers...tell him to get a grip you all need to have rules that work for all not just him. He sounds like a pain in the ass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 992 ✭✭✭Eglinton

You leave the hot water on 24/7?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

He sounds like a menace that needs to be taken down a peg or two.

You and your housemates need to wrap bars of soap into towels, enter his room when he's asleep, gag him and belt him repeatably. When finished tell him it was 'a bad dream clothes drier boy'.

I had a similar problem in a house share before and this worked for us. Thank me later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Nodster

Tell his mammy he's bringing ladies back to his room - sorted

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Paco Rodriguez

While I agree that the housemate is a nightmare and you need to speak with the landlord to get him out. The landlord won't want to lose numerous rent incomes for the price of keeping one.

But just one thing I can't believe you have a problem with him taking clothes that have finished in the washing machine! You expect him not to put a wash on while your clothes just sit there?

Other than that he sounds like a control freak. I hope nobody else paid for the drier. Ye are already paying the extra electricity cost on its use. I got a chest freezer for our house but never asked anyone to pay. They can use it for free but ill be taking it when I leave.
    When he does leave is he going to buy your share back? I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

He got a drier when ye were against it so thats his problem.

No issue with taking clothes out of the washing machine, so long as they are put somewhere neat and clean.

**** the parking, if it doesnt suit him and nobody is blocked in, thats his problem.

No space in the sitting room, then just ask him to shift his feet, if he doesnt then move his feet for him.

Dont tilt the tank, it gets sludge in the system, though having the water on 24/7 may be a bit expensive, best to see how much it costs 24/7 and switching on occasionally and then have a vote on it.

Try to unplug the dishwasher, leave the plug put for an hour and stick it back in again, or go online and try to find out how to reset it.

He sounds like a twat, chat to your other housemates first, them sit down for a clear-the-air chat. If that doesnt work tell the landlord ye want him out, or all 3 are moving out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Awkward Badger

But just one thing I can't believe you have a problem with him taking clothes that have finished in the washing machine! You expect him not to put a wash on while your clothes just sit there?

Think the problem was partly him using the washer twice a day and not giving the other lads a chance to even get their own washing out before he's in with another load. That'd bug me too. Fair enough if he's going in to wash his clothes and someone has left their stuff there but there's doing your washing and there's taking the piss. Two loads a day is taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I feel your pain op I had a housemate with extreme ocd,he'd grab my car keys off the table and move my car to different parking spots or if it wasn't exactly in line with the end of the house,I used to drive him mental by moving everything a bit crooked in the house.

Anyone who took my car without my permission would do it once, and once only.

Serious no-no.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Who the fúck washes their clothes twice a day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 162 ✭✭costadeldole

Move out, and into another shared house with sound people.
    Problem solved.
    Speaking from personal experience; calling house meetings, giving ultimatums, having rows, or leaving post it notes/rota's on the fridge just escalates the situation, and makes for a negative atmosphere in a shared house.
    I have been through it all, from the diva who always left her washing up in the sink. To the lad who tumble dried his bath towels on sunny days. To the girl who left the immersion on all day, every day; unless you turned it off for her.
    When all said and done, its easier just to vote with your feet. Having it out with them wont improve their behaviour.
    As long as the landlord is getting his rent paid, he wont want to know.

Who the fúck washes their clothes twice a day.

One dark load.
    One light load.
    I do my weeks laundry on the same day; 2 loads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,044 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

This guy needs a serious lecture on the facts of life.
    "That is not the way to behave in a shared house!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

I dont know what was more annoying reading all the things he does. Or the fact u dont have the balls to just say it to his face. Stand up for yourselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

One dark load.
    One light load.
    I do my weeks laundry on the same day; 2 loads.

But OP said he does 2 loads a day.

Are you sure he isn't bringing home stuff from work to wash? I sometimes end up washing aprons at home because the washer in the centre is dodgey. If so, it's a complete abuse of the machine!

One memorable house mate I had also did this.
    She liked waking up to RTE lyric loud on her alarm clock radio.
    Fair enough as she turned it down as soon as she woke and took a shower.
    But then she went on holiday for 2 weeks. And we had the joy of it for 14 days, and 14 nights; loud, with no way of turning the alarm clock radio off.
    Phoned the landlord to come with a spare key for her room. He was away golfing in Portugal for the same 2 weeks.
    When she finally came back there was no apology, she just laughed and couldn't understand why we were all pissed at her.
    You can't put sense where their isn't any.

One memorable house mate I had also did this.
    She liked waking up to RTE lyric loud on her alarm clock radio.
    Fair enough as she turned it down as soon as she woke and took a shower.
    But then she went on holiday for 2 weeks. And we had the joy of it for 14 days, and 14 nights; loud, with no way of turning the alarm clock radio off.
    Phoned the landlord to come with a spare key for her room. He was away golfing in Portugal for the same 2 weeks.
    When she finally came back there was no apology, she just laughed and couldn't understand why we were all pissed at her.
    You can't put sense where their isn't any.

You should of tripped the electric to reset the clock. If it was battery . Ye were fecked anyway haha

Yes we did that.
    It was battery operated plus mains.

Yes we did that.
    It was battery operated plus mains.

At some stage in that two weeks. My shoulder or foot would of kicked that door in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 MidlandBlowin

I dont know what was more annoying reading all the things he does. Or the fact u dont have the balls to just say it to his face. Stand up for yourselves.

Yes I know, I know but I wanted to find out if I was just being unreasonable with the OP.

The heating was left on 24/7 before I ever moved in, it doesn't seem to have that much effect on the bill at all so there's never been an issue to put it on Timer instead. Regarding the clothes, I don't leave them for hours on end to be fair. I've an issue with it more so because I just think it's really rude to be going through other peoples clothes like last week another house mate had his stuff thrown on top of the washing machine which was filthy and ended up having to wash them again. He has the washing machine on twice a day as well as the dryer, I don't know where he gets all the clothes from. Our bill is estimated so we've been lucky so far but we'll be caught for it sooner or later.

One of the lads is really annoyed too, the other...well, if you say jump.......He's very quiet and just goes with the flow.

It's just very frustrating more than anything. I suppose it's the fact that he's moved in, treats the place as his own, only his opinion matters and that's it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

We have the hot water on 24/7.

Are ye made of money??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭lm01

He's being an arse.

Summarise the important points then sit him down and tell him that the house ran fine with things organised this way before he arrived. That's the situation he agreed to move in to and since everyone else is happy with them and they will not be changing.

If he refuses to accept that then go to the landlord and tell him that either he removes that one tenant or he will be looking for two or three new tenants at your earliest opportunity and probably more after that because this person is extremely difficult to live with and your replacements will probably not last long with either. If you've been good tenants before this he will be inclined to listen. Good luck.