Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Logging a Dead Horse

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭Itziger

Being a bit naughty here. Copied and pasting the following from the PRoC* thread I post on. May hit the log on the head, I'll see how the next month or two go.
    *PeoplesRepublicofCork

The following is not a race report:

6 days later, back home, sipping my morning coffee and looking forward to a few short miles in an hour's time.

Training for this my 6th marathon had gone fairly well, although it often left me drained and I was skimping a bit on a few of the sessions. How I hadn't spotted the fact that there were only 2 twenty-milers in the programme, I don't know. And me a fella who the bears in the woods know has problems with endurance. In fact 1 of the long runs I extended by 3k. This is going to be my biggest change next time up. I'll be looking to go longish, maybe up to 24 miles, and get in about 6 runs in total of 20+ miles. I'd also be looking to do a few of those as either progression or last hour of 3 hr run at MP. That's a session I've seen in the Garmin Advanced training programme. I'll be almost ignoring the fancy T sessions but not altogether. I thought the mixture of pace was interesting in some of the workouts in the Daniels plan.

As for the race itself....... There truly isn't that much to be said about it. I stupidly didn't print out a little map of the city and where my hotel was so got a bit lost on Saturday after picking up number and walked a couple of miles extra that I could have done without. The morning of the race went fine and I got a kick out of spotting our own DeSelby..........as well as this lovely 'older' woman I often see on my training route. How weird is that in a group of 15,000 or so!

BANG! We're off. I quickly notice that one of the sub 3 pacers is going fairly sharpish and after a km or two I catch him up and tag on. We're slightly ahead of pace but that's what I was hoping for. The weather, it must be said, was near perfect, but it was quite warm and I wasn't too happy when after just 3k I wiped the forehead and noticed I was sweating a lot. I did have two salt tablets though and anyway the clouds drifted in later so temperature wouldn't be an excuse for failure.

For almost the whole first half I felt 'ok'. I never really felt super-comfortable but I didn't feel under much pressure either. As expected the first 10k in the city were a bit scrappy and twisty and like most I suspect, I was glad to cross the bridge and get out into the 'suburbs'. The water stations were a bit of a mess and continued to be so right up to km 30 as there was a big group with the pacers. I saw at least 4 or 5 people hit the floor, mostly at corners and bends - a couple of them sounded like very heavy falls too.

So, just after halfway in almost perfect time and I'm thinking - pure and simple concentration now lad, keep this rhythm and you could just do this sub 3 crack. Real simple stuff, breathe, relax, keep arms pumping but not like mad.... TWINGE in the right calf. The RIGHT!!!! This particular muscle hadn't given the least sign of cramping in the previous 12 months of running. Not in the 35k training bit, not in the 14 mile MP session........ never. I mean, not even tightness. But there it was the unmistakable sign that things were going to get messy. I tried my damnedest to ignore it and there was a couple of kms where it was so slight as to not make a difference to my pace. At about km 25 I was probably a hundred metres behind the balloon although I can't quite confirm that - I'd have to check a video clip. I knew that if the cramps really hit the sub 3 was over and that 3.02 or .03 would be the result.

When the other calf started to act up and when they got more serious, painful and inhibiting the stride, I fell back a bit more and had to make a call - do I push and push and hope that it all comes right in the last 10k and I can maybe make up 30 seconds and dip under the barrier or do I start a little 'limit your losses' strategy? The very last time I had this debate was around km 29 (I think). A few lads had passed me and I had no option but to let em go, then one guy comes to my shoulder and I said, c'mon, last chance saloon man. I stayed with him for a bout 500 mts I'd say and I think he may have dropped off (!!) then I spot a fella in a red top with a thickish neck. I began to focus real hard on the neck (Try telling this to someone who doesn't run marathons!). It was working till the next cramp and then the moment of truth arrived; the left hammy starts to cramp. It wasn't as bad as Rotterdam or Echternach where on both occasions I spent time sitting/lying admiring the skies but it meant my race was run and I had to pull over a couple of times to straighten the leg and try to ease the cramp. That meant that there were about 11 or 12k to go and I knew the time was ****ed and that this was going to be painful.
    That's when I had to shout down the little voice saying, 'You could drop out here man, don't do any serious damage to the legs'. It was a very wise voice as you can see, but ultimately bull **** as it was the mind playing games. I shuffled, jogged, slowed and walked at stations to the finish. It was depressing and it was slow and it was humiliating but it was what it was. At km 37 we passed near the finish and I could have cried but I just said, keep her shuffling, you're doing grand!! I wasn't.

The finish. YaY! Fellas smiling, celebrating, hands in the air. WTF! Medal, space cloak, water, juice, fruit.... Walk around, return chip... Feeling fairly sorry for myself. After a shower I went back to the finish area and eventually met up with a few Boards lads who had all run spectacular times. A very nice bunch though and they really perked me up. Had a few beers, then a stroll to another place and a cab to another.... I had to leave em soon after DeSelby rocked up. I'll post about the massage I received along with a few tips for the future after this morning's run. First in 6 days but I'm dying to get out there. I must have caught the running bug!

That run I did just now was indeed lovely! Not a crawl either as legs felt fine.

Well, the memory inhibiting drugs seem to have worked. Pisa marathon Dec 21st here I come. Now all I have to do is break the news to herself. Wish me luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Itziger wrote: »
    Well, the memory inhibiting drugs seem to have worked. Pisa marathon Dec 21st here I come. Now all I have to do is break the news to herself. Wish me luck.

Not at all strange that you'd be leaning towards Pisa...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

belcarra wrote: »
    Not at all strange that you'd be leaning towards Pisa...

tumbleweed.jpg

yaboya1 wrote: »
    tumbleweed.jpg

That doesn't look at all like Pisa ;)

Any (or either) of you mad bastids on for it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

That doesn't look at all like Pisa ;)

Any (or either) of you mad bastids on for it??

Not me. I'm finished with marathons for 2014 :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I'm off marathons 'til at least April.
    I'm eager to rebuild my fitness at shorter distances over the Winter and then go longer in March/April to lay down a marker around May.
    Loose plans so far but still difficult to resist the urge of every other marathon that pops up before then!!

Well, didn't think I'd be back in training this quickly. After two initial untimed efforts at the weekend, I did a 15k medium paced bit of work this evening. Then got home and there's no-one here. Did 2k cool down but still no show so I spend 45 minutes in the cool, wet evening air. Not perfect but I think I'm ok. Was ravenous when I eventually got in the door. Had a protein bar and coffee and then immediately had dinner.

I hope to do about 5 days a week for this 6 week spell with less stress on faster stuff, more rest and longer weekend runs. Will decide race strategy much closer to the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,104 ✭✭✭opus

No hanging about I see! Nice to catch up with you in Frankfurt. Best of luck in Pisa & I must go track down that thread on the PROC forum before I forget :)

Copy and paste update.. Pisa back on the agenda after frustrating couple of weeks.

So, time for a little update on training. Said it wasn't worth my while till I had done this week's LR. After the hip problems, I decided to look into a few homemade solutions. I tried foam rolling the groin (To be done in one's room, door closed and loved one warned just in case). It looks suspiciously like you're humping the instrument in question. Then I saw another foam roll video for the hip as well as a few exercises. I definitely felt I was getting somewhere but of course wouldn't know till I went 'long'.

Yesterday I did my first half decent session of 14k with the middle 10 at or faster than MP. I only looked at the watch once and some of the kilometres were above and below the desired pace but `i wasn't worried. Leg felt fine. Then today the big test, could I go longer than 20 without the bloody hip/groin coming at me. So what I did was to get a roll of Kinesio Tape that I bought months and months ago and I applied some for the first time ever. BINGO! Don't know if it was the foam roller, the exercises, the tape or a mixture of all 3 but the pain was more or less absent. Towards the end I felt the top of the leg getting a bit sore but was able to run through it and even upped the pace for the last 2k a little. Total just over 26k.

All in all much happier than this time last week. Will use the tape again for sure and in fact will almost certainly try it on the calf muscles too. I'll be all strapped up, but if it works I don't give a damn. At least it's flesh coloured so I won't look too bad.

Weekly update time.

Hip/Groin is holding up.... Have been given a rolling 2 week plan by a friend of a friend. I've never even met the lad but my running/triathlon buddy who's 51 years old came good with a 10k and a Half pb off the back of training designed by this fella. (As well as an impressive full ironman)

I told him what I've been doing, the old Frankfurt story, my times for 10k to marathon, how often I get out a week and so on. I'm only a little behind the bloke he helps anyway so he'll give me similar targets. This has meant a return to 'quality' which I was thinking of ignoring in run up to Pisa.

This week calls for Tues: 10k easy, Wed: track including 4x2k @3.55k pace, Thurs: 10k medium, Sat: Progression total 18k and Sunday LSR of about 26k. Sure, it can't do me much harm I suppose. The real target, funnily enough, is a Half in March where the TRI lad is aiming for sub 1:20. Me, I'd take 1:20:59 and be bloody thrilled with it. We shall see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

Just catching up on your log now Itziger, great to see ya back up and at it. I know post-race drinking was good in Frankfurt, but reading your report it seems you may have struggled to get enough water down in the big group you were running in?

Best if luck with Pisa training. Maith an fear.

This week has been fairly good. Did the 5 days as prescribed. Back on a track for first time in a while, felt strange. Then this weekend's two runs, I'm wondering if others have ever tried this 'Sat. progression/Sun. easy' mixture. Next weekend calls for 3x5k at MP - whatever that is!! - and then 28k easy the next day.

I'm taking a 'let's see how it goes' approach. Last plan hardly got me what I was hoping for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Best of luck with Pizza/Pisa.

I really hope you nail it as I know exactly how you felt after your last outing.

If your training converts to race time you'll have a big PB in the bag.

TbL

Best of luck with Pizza/Pisa.

I really hope you nail it as I know exactly how you felt after your last outing.

If your training converts to race time you'll have a big PB in the bag.

TbL

TBL, I'm not overly confident to tell ya the truth. I'm parking the sub 3 till I have a bit more experience! M50 next year, so it would be nice to get sub 3 then. I'm hoping for something very like your Valencia time. I'm trying to get the 'I'm a Half Marathon runner' demons to shut up these last few weeks.

I was in the same boat, told the coach that I'd take a 3.08 beforehand. Low expectations and I did better than expected. If nothing else Frankfurt will stand to you as a solid LSR!

Act your age and don't go daft at the start and you'll be fine :)

If you don't go sub 3, we can have an auld lad stampede to sub 3 in 2015.

Loser buys the winner all the Bovril he can drink :)

TbL

I was in the same boat, told the coach that I'd take a 3.08 beforehand. Low expectations and I did better than expected. If nothing else Frankfurt will stand to you as a solid LSR!

Act your age and don't go daft at the start and you'll be fine :)

If you don't go sub 3, we can have an auld lad stampede to sub 3 in 2015.

Loser buys the winner all the Bovril he can drink :)

TbL

I think I'd use it on any chafing rather than drink the stuff. I won't be going mad early doors in Pisa, no worries there.

Midweek update. I'm enjoying this plan so far though it is early days. Today's track session was as follows:

1k@3.45, 2k@3.55, 3k@4.00 and then back down again. Did all the splits at a bit faster but I'm suspicious of the garmin data on an oval 335 metre track. Did the laps in Lane 5 of 6 so nearer 360 approx. as I think the measurement is worse on the inside (tighter bends I suppose messing up the gps)

Felt good all the way and I got the idea that I'd have a good crack at a 10k or HM time now. All I need to do is bring that attitude and feeling to the 42.2k event.

Mrs Itz went and bought me some dodgy looking 'recuperation' product in a pharmacy which sounds like a magic potion going by the blurb on the back. Got a bit of everything in it. Not sure I'd pass a WADA test tomorrow ;)

3 weeks out. Weekend update.

Saturday was down as 18k with 3x5k @ 4.15. Ended up being 20k although I walked most of the 1 minute recovery between.

Sunday, 28k easy.

Don't know how this Sat/Sun combo is going to play out and to be fair to the guy designing the plan, I've only been a couple of weeks on it so it will hardly be definitive.

Just an update going nowhere really. Pisa off the menu for 2nd year in a row. Illness in family. I will try a 42k run on Sunday instead if possible - to honour the event and the person, if that makes sense.

That's unfortunate, hope it's nothing to serious.

TbL

That's unfortunate, hope it's nothing to serious.

TbL

Thanks, man. Wife's Mother on the way out I'm afraid. I'll be playing Ma and Da for my bunch for a few days at least.

I think I might knock this log on the head now. End of year an' all. Did 42.6k solo training run this morning to make up for missing Pisa. Not to bad a run and no cramps. That was probably due to the slower pace if I'm being honest. Did use Kinesio Tape on the calves for first time ever. Got a little spasm or two in the muscle with a few km to go and another right near the end.

3.22.xx

Beats lying in bed surfing the net and sipping beer. (Which is what I'm doing now!)

I think I might knock this log on the head now. End of year an' all. Did 42.6k solo training run this morning to make up for missing Pisa. Not to bad a run and no cramps. That was probably due to the slower pace if I'm being honest. Did use Kinesio Tape on the calves for first time ever. Got a little spasm or two in the muscle with a few km to go and another right near the end.

3.22.xx

Beats lying in bed surfing the net and sipping beer. (Which is what I'm doing now!)

Ya mad daft auld bollix :)

That's some training run!

TbL

Ya mad daft auld bollix :)

That's some training run!

TbL

Well I'd've been doing it anyway if the wife's Mum hadn't fallen ill. Thought, what the heck, nothing much to lose. Haven't done any damage, which is the main thing.

2015 might be my 'Half year' though. March first one up and I'll train for it too.