€145k taxpayers' bill for prisoners to watch Sky Sports

• 18-11-2014 05:05PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/145k-taxpayers-bill-for-prisoners-to-watch-sky-sports-30754201.html

its a hard knock life...
    New figures provided by the Department of Justice show the Irish Prison Service paid €76,601 last year to multi-channel providers to provide Sky Sports and other channels for inmates.

Money well spent
    "Prisoners do not have Sky Sports in their cells, they have access to basic free-to-air channels."

God help them!
    "PS1 and PS2 consoles are allowed. No PS3 or PS4 are allowed as these can be enabled for internet access.

bit harsh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Eww.... PS2, poor lads, those games do not date well, and not a SNES in sight :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Just think, we could have paid a TD for a year with that money :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Do they have a little graphic of a pair of handcuffs instead of a pint glass at the bottom of the screen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,578 ✭✭✭✭Turtwig

145k is pittance really. Making a mountain out of a molehill. Much we as we like to believe otherwise most people in prison are humans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,293 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Turtwig wrote: »
    145k is pittance really. Making a mountain out of a molehill. Much we as we like to believe otherwise most people in prison are humans.

True

They are also their to be punished for their crimes.

Edit: I suppose having to watch h bog 1, 2, 3 & 4 is punishment enough :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Sky are ripping them off..

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

These scum can play Grand Theft Auto 3?

Disgraceful, I can only buy the first GTA for my younguns.

I'm sure the prison staff get the benefit of watching these channels during their lunch or whatever too? Whole thing is a non issue if that's the case, and I would imagine it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

True

They are also their to be punished for their crimes.

Edit: I suppose having to watch h bog 1, 2, 3 & 4 is punishment enough :D

I'd say "the mask slips" but it actually fell off a while back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Turtwig wrote: »

Humans do not need sky sports to thrive or even survive. We ought to use their time imprisoned to rehabilitate and educate. Any resources available should be targeted in those areas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

I'm sure all those distractions help make the management of potentially troublesome prisoners a lot easier.

I mean, who in their right mind would want to stay in all day watching TV/Sports and playing consoles?

Wait a second....

Sacramento wrote: »
    I'm sure the prison staff get the benefit of watching these channels during their lunch or whatever too? Whole thing is a non issue if that's the case, and I would imagine it is.

Public entities paying for pay-tv for their staff to enjoy on lunch would definitely come under waste of public funds.

What happened to a book, a newspaper, some conversation, a nice walk outside. Do workers need to catch up with Home and Away on their breaks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

The gardai had sky sports in the barracks in Dundrum the day I volunteered for a line up.

Scobe looked nothing like me! He was scrawny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Humans do not need sky sports to thrive or even survive. We ought to use their time imprisoned to rehabilitate and educate. Any resources available should be targeted in those areas.

That would cost far more, and there seems zero appetite among the powers that be to go down that route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

So they are allowed to sit on their arses all day and watch tv and play games?

Put them to work digging ditches then fill in the ditches and make them dig them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,293 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Nodin wrote: »
    I'd say "the mask slips" but it actually fell off a while back.

Ah would you cop on, they have been called bog one and two since the 80's and 3 & 4 got added on when they started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,661 ✭✭✭Fuhrer

Ah would you cop on, they have been called bog one and two since the 80's and 3 & 4 got added on when they started.

Ive never heard that before, what are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Someone in the IPS Head office should ring up threatening to cancel the service and see if they can get 6months free....wonder if the paper would print that story.

I'm sure it helps keeping the lags quiet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

€145k per year on Sky subsciptions comes in at €32 per prisoner per year. Minuscule when compared to the total cost of €65,000 per year to keep em locked up.

Like so many of these things, it's the principle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

FutureGuy wrote: »
    These scum can play Grand Theft Auto 3?

Disgraceful, I can only buy the first GTA for my younguns.

And here I was lamenting the fact that I've just been left behind by the PS4/Xbone crowd.
    These poor bastards have to make do with everything the other side of San Andreas :(

Like so many of these things, it's the principle

What principle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

They obviously aren't taking advantage of sky multiroom

kjl wrote: »
    They obviously aren't taking advantage of sky multiroom

Imagine the craic if they only had the magic eye, warden sticks on All Creatures Great and Small on ITV3...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,687 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

€145k per year on Sky subsciptions comes in at €32 per prisoner per year.

And the €145K was over two years so probably less (unless you've used two years in your calculation)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

Karl Stein wrote: »
    And the €145K was over two years so probably less (unless you've used two years in your calculation)

it's about 1.3c a year per person in ireland

efb wrote: »
    What principle?

Why are public funds being used to provide pay-tv to convicted criminals? There are plenty of free-to-air channels, so it is completely unnecessary. It doesn't matter what it costs, as there are sure to be better uses 145K (or any amount of money) could be put to in the prison services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Karl Stein wrote: »

Ah, my point is thus doubled! €16 per prisoner per year.

They probably spend more on ketchup per prisoner per year.

Why are public funds being used to provide pay-tv to convicted criminals? There are plenty of free-to-air channels, so it is completely unnecessary. It doesn't matter what it costs, as there are sure to be better uses 145K (or any amount of money) could be put to in the prison services.

Maybe it helps keep the peace