The lack of physical fitness in the Garda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 931 ✭✭✭Chrissybhoy

Always thought this from growing up to now most of the Gardai are not fit and overweight. Maybe 2 out of 10 are fit. Should there be regular fitness tests to keep Gardai on their toes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

Always thought this from growing up to now most of the Gardai are not fit and overweight. Maybe 2 out of 10 are fit. Should there be regular fitness tests to keep Gardai on their toes?

Should there be a test for keeping brain dead morons from posting on the internet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

On topic, do you remember a few weeks ago there was a tiger kidnapping in malahide, and the ert were disparched. They chased, but didn't catch two of the kidnappers, who were described in the news as being in their forties and overweight.

So the best of the best couldn't catch two fat forty year olds. I'm sure the lads hid in the woods or something, but I got a chuckle out of it.

Edited for fairnesss: a friend of mine is a garda and is an absolute beast. Seriously, pure muscle, an absolute monster of a man, wouldn't even think of doing anything even remotely illegal if it meant I had the likes of him chasing me down.

I think there should be a dedicated strength and fitness programme that all Garai have to follow and adhere to. Think about when you go to somewhere like Holland and the police are all huge, it makes you think twice before acting the maggot.

keith16 wrote: »
    Should there be a test for keeping brain dead morons from posting on the internet?

True. Not the topic tho you should start a thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

You can't judge the entire force based on the unfit ones left patrolling the GPO. There was a very small rotund one female Garda that use to patrol henry St/GPO. Im surprised she passed physical as she was obese.

Most Garda I meet are in good shape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,211 ✭✭✭Owen_S

The below video is from the Garda Press Office. As you can see, any able-bodied person could complete the test with ease. It is also interesting to see that there are different strength and endurance standards depending on gender - which makes no sense as you would face the same tests in the real world regardless of which kind of genitalia you possess.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JcyFOFs5QU

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Hold the Cheez Whiz

I do believe that anyone with a front line policing job should be required to pass an annual fitness test.

This.

The last time I visited my family in the US, I could not believe how sloppy so many of the police officers were. Like, could not bend over and tie their shoes fat. There should absolutely be an annual fitness test (sprint and distance running, push-ups, climbing/obstacles, etc). Hell, the existing standards aren't even that high (something like a 9-minute mile pace for 1.5 miles in Chicago).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Beaner1 wrote: »
    They're definitely way fitter than the average populace. Place is full of high level runners, rowers, field sports players.

Maybe a portion of the male guards are but 95%of the female guards ive dealt with have arses the kardashians would be proud of

Owen_S wrote: »
    The below video is from the Garda Press Office. As you can see, any able-bodied person could complete the test with ease. It is also interesting to see that there are different strength and endurance standards depending on gender - which makes no sense as you would face the same tests in the real world regardless of which kind of genitalia you possess.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7JcyFOFs5QU

I agree that when it comes to frontline public safety work, there should be some common strength benchmarks for men and women. That said, women are never going to have the upper body strength of men. But sometimes skills can be complementary - in the US, for example, where there is a greater emphasis on community-level policing in inner-cities, female police officers are seen as better able to diffuse conflict, in part because it takes the male posturing aspect out of street confrontations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,992 ✭✭✭Mongfinder General

nc19 wrote: »
    Maybe a portion of the male guards are but 95%of the female guards ive dealt with have arses the kardashians would be proud of

Are you on drugs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

What a load of absolute poisonous crap you have posted here. Does anyone feel intimidated by their presence? Get a fucking grip.

To be fair, that was badly worded but his point stands - personally I can't help but snigger at half the gimps that patrol the area of town I work in, they wouldn't have a hope in hell of catching me running, and I'd be stunned if they were able to handle any physical altercation whatsoever. I'd be inclined to say that anyone causing a public disturbance would be more inclined to stfu on orders of the luas security than the gardai.

If a rock gets put through your window by a kid you would like the Gardai to come back with the culprit not stop and go back to the patrol after the kid makes a 5 second dash. I've seen it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

What a load of absolute poisonous crap you have posted here. Does anyone feel intimidated by their presence? Get a fucking grip.

Yes people do. If you had ever dealt with abusive guarda you would feel intimidated by them. Even the "good" ones won't defend you but side with their colleagues.

I get human nature and why it happens but it doesn't make it right or acceptable. Don't ever forget the carry on at the May Day march. People trained to identify people were unable to ID the people they work with. All of them should be ashamed over it along with all involved never getting a promotion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,252 ✭✭✭chrissb8

The gardai. Fat and incompetent slobs on the street. Harsh. Who cares. They're what should be protecting us. They should get an absolute bollocking for being so largely overweight waddling around bursting out of their vests. Most of them I see on the street doing a patrol wouldn't catch a skinny scumbag making a dash. A vigorous fitness test should be the norm, every 2 months. It would be regular enough for them to stay conscious of their weight, fitness and set a reasonably high standard. Like any profession there is a degree of training. There's is being able to catch offenders and for them that means having to be able to stand a good chance of doing that.

My Dad who is 60 would outrun half these ejjits. I don't mean to fat bash because honestly be the way you want I do think being largely overweight is stupid and really inexcusable in the long run (everyone slips up or has bad breaks) but obviously I'm not going to judge someone on that. When it comes to someone putting their good faith into you to see that justice is done when you've been wronged you can bet I will get critical of the rotund, no self control police in Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,096 ✭✭✭Liamario

Physical fitness, mental fitness, intellectual fitness and just fitness of all kinds seems to be lacking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

lack of physical fitness in the Garda..

I wouldn't know, never been chased by one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭phelixoflaherty

How can ya run in steel toe capped boots?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Genuinely concerned about the lack of fitness in the garda, the recruitment process appears to be an absolute joke too, how can overweight applicants be let in to begin with. The large majority of garda in my own city are all worryingly over weight, i've seen some obese garda nevermind overweight, its a sight to be seen.

Surely this is being addressed? honestly from the outside looking in, the vast majority of them lack the obvious effort to maintain or even want to be physically fit, its laughable. Also a lot to me also seem like grown children with badges, wrapped in cotton wool straight from mammys house to the big bad world.

really though, does anyone really feel intimidated or safe by the presence garda offer? i think their relationship with the public is terrible, there laughed at but surely there has to be measures of monthly or even annual fitness testing where a certain level has to be at least maintained....
    What city might that be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

Turtyturd wrote: »
    You should google the story of the young boy who fell down the well and not one member of the police force was slender enough to fit down and rescue him. Bunch of marshmallows.

I think his name was Timmy O'Toole.

For every anecdote like that, there's a hero Guard, I don't think its ever helpful bashing someone for not doing something we wouldn't either.
    Here's a hero commended in a local paper http://www.offalyindependent.ie/news/roundup/articles/2014/11/15/4033885-offaly-gardas-heroic-water-rescue/

"Garda Peter Daly(29), who hails from just outside Tullamore, risked his own life by swimming out to sea to save a man who had gotten into difficulty off the East Pier in Dun Laoghaire, Dublin on June 29, 2012"

Fair is fair now. There's tons of great guards.

Originally Posted by Turtyturd
    You should google the story of the young boy who fell down the well and not one member of the police force was slender enough to fit down and rescue him. Bunch of marshmallows.

I think his name was Timmy O'Toole.
    An Ri rua wrote: »
    For every anecdote like that, there's a hero Guard, I don't think its ever helpful bashing someone for not doing something we wouldn't either.
    Here's a hero commended in a local paper http://www.offalyindependent.ie/news/roundup/articles/2014/11/15/4033885-offaly-gardas-heroic-water-rescue/

"Garda Peter Daly(29), who hails from just outside Tullamore, risked his own life by swimming out to sea to save a man who had gotten into difficulty off the East Pier in Dun Laoghaire, Dublin on June 29, 2012"

Fair is fair now. There's tons of great guards.

http://simpsons.wikia.com/wiki/Timmy_O'Toole

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 279 ✭✭thomur

Was at the Scotland match on Friday. Straight away noticed the difference with the police there. You would not mess with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

OP I see your point but I get the impression your post is purely a garda bashing exercise rather than genuine concern.

The vast majority of gardai nowadays are very junior and under the age of 35 and I'd say the vast majority are fitter than most. You may have a lot of older and unfit guards in your area but in my home town you'd be hard pressed to find overweight or very unfit gardai. I'm not saying they're all super fit but obese or overweight they're definitely not (and I'm from a veryarge town with a large garda station)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Macavity.

Funnily enough, I never really see any Gardai around at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

no need to get all butt hurt on us, take off the defensive blinkers and see things for what they are, being the gardai for the best part are a very unfit organisation.

On intimidation, ask the criminals, im pretty sure a shoplifter would think twice if a physically fit imposing garda was on patrol vs the norm e.g the unfit garda who can't do his job outside a squad car, lets be honest.

You would be surprised at the few amount of times a garda would actually have to run after someone. Its not something that happens all that often.

Guards are taught self defence, restraints etc in templemore.
    I'd prefer my gardai to be capable of investigating crime, its really more important.

The town I grew up was full of older guards, some a little overweight, some a lot overweight.
    The never had to run after anyone because they had good local knowledge & knew everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

How can ya run in steel toe capped boots?

That's only the start of it. Add in a cumbersome and weighty stab-vest, metal ASP, pepper spray, cuffs, possibly a torch, utility belt, radio. Then do all that in trousers designed for show, not for go, shirts made by the cheapest, and having to wear a poxy tie. Depending on the situation, include a jacket and high-vis, or the plastic, unbreathable high-vis. And also in heavy, unfit for purpose boots, as you mentioned. Now, granted, the fittest would not have much problems, but it still adds weight and reduces your ability to move.

Also, because it's not a requirement to keep a certain level of fitness, like it is in most other police forces, there's less intent there for the member. Couple that with shift work, working on days off, 60+ hour weeks, and add in family time, so there's definite lack of sleep, horrible sleeping patterns, bad diet, spending most the time sitting, be it inside or in the cars (beat is nearly non-existent now). Add in money troubles, stress, depression for some. There's a lot of factors to consider, and i know most people would take that extra hour in bed, attempting to catch up on missed sleep. It takes a lot of planning to keep fit when you're on frontline policing, especially if you didn't have the fitness bug beforehand.

Tough. They chose the lifestyle of being a guard. Why should they be excused. You get used to living a certain lifestyle eventually. Barmen, construction workers, doctors, firemen. All with crazy shifts and hours and yet alot of them keep themselves in shape. Bad diet? why would that matter if you ate well and exercised it wouldn't affect too much. Like alot of people in Ireland I know a gardai or 3 and one of them is drugs bust the other is a street beat cop and the other one is a detective. All different hours but like most jobs they are given their days off in advance and actually are active in GAA and other sports. It doesn't exactly scream stress. This isn't New York 1980's it's Ireland which for the large part is still relatively quiet. There is no excuse for their weight end of. Exercise 3 or 4 times a week isn't that hard to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

chrissb8 wrote: »
    Tough. They chose the lifestyle of being a guard. Why should they be excused.

I'm not saying they should. I'm giving reasons.
    You get used to living a certain lifestyle eventually.

You do, but remember the roster changed over a year ago and completely changed any routine most members had. And even after all this time, the majority of members will not be able to tell you what they're working next Tuesday. And now it looks to be changing again.
    Barmen, construction workers, doctors, firemen. All with crazy shifts and hours and yet alot of them keep themselves in shape.

Barmen are on their feet the whole time. Construction workers are on their feet the whole time (albeit, there's a lot of overweight construction workers out there too), doctors move around more than Gardaí and have set, normal working hours. Firemen use the time between calls to use their work gym.
    Bad diet? why would that matter if you ate well and exercised it wouldn't affect too much.

Because even if you bring in a cooked meal from home, there are days you won't get a chance to go back and eat it, and you eat on the fly, a common occurrence. Especially on lates and nights, when the only thing you might be able to get is a takeaway. You can only eat sandwiches some of the time, sometimes you need more sustenance.
    Like alot of people in Ireland I know a gardai or 3 and one of them is drugs bust the other is a street beat cop and the other one is a detective. All different hours but like most jobs they are given their days off in advance and actually are active in GAA and other sports.

That's great if you get to keep your days off. As it is, especially now, you're either in court on your days off, or called in because of protests. Grand having an intent on an active lifestyle, the job doesn't always let you have it.
    It doesn't exactly scream stress. This isn't New York 1980's it's Ireland which for the large part is still relatively quiet. There is no excuse for their weight end of. Exercise 3 or 4 times a week isn't that hard to do.

Are you a Garda? No, so you cannot comment on any stress they may have. It's a highly stressful job, one with little to no thanks.

Well if I know and talk to Gardai I certainly can give an opinion that they've told me what their jobs like. Although they can be busy at times they have their lifes that they mostly can attend to. You make it sound like it's all go go go for them all the time. The fact is it's not. Gardai are in court only once or twice a month because the fact is that they are called to scenes of crimes where there are already eye witnesses to testify. They largely don't have to be in court unless they see a crime first hand or there is a lack of cctv or other evidence. How do I know this? because I have talked to them. Lot's of jobs are stressful. Yet again so what. Don't go gorging yourself on foods that aren't good for you. Thankless? who cares?! it's their job! You make it sound like they go above the call of duty all the time. The thing is they don't.

They have the time to spare an hour most days to go the gym or some other exercise. Gardai get gyms paid for and even have gyms in some stations. Loads of people are even busier then them. It's called self control and discipline. Something that most gardai are severely lacking. There should be no leeway. Their job is to catch criminals and they should stand a good chance of doing that from the best equipment they can get to being in the shape to stand a good chance of doing it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

I'm very fit but I'm overweight.....