Capitol Cineplex Memories

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭Roar

There was also the Coliseum cinema, which is where the Leisureplex is now.

There was a cinema where the Everyman is now that was called the Palace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭Going Strong

There was the Lee on Winthrop Street which was tiny. The Classic on Washington Street was a right tip of a place. I remember it being dirty and smelly so didn't like going there. The Savoy on Patrick Street - I only saw it in its final days but my parents recalled the glamour of it. I liked The Pavillion - it looked like the classic 'Picture Palace' - all gold paint, ornate plasterwork and red velvet. The only cinema I never visited was The Cameo on Military Hill. I tried a few times but was told, literally, to "F**k off! Regulars only!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,587 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

I think the first time I was ever in the Capitol I went to see Thumbelina (that was 20 years ago!), the last movie I saw in there was War of the Worlds in 2005 which was shortly before it closed. It was a great cinema in a perfect location, pity it's gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭evilivor

Gamb!t wrote: »
    Last I heard was it would be expanding the English Market and that the Capitol site will be used for restaurants and Cafes.
    There's certainly ongoing works in there at weekends.

Capitol cinema site went up for sale last month on instruction from NAMA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭ofcork

There was also a cinema on the south mall below Jacobs called the assembly rooms don't remember it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭evilivor

There was the Lee on Winthrop Street which was tiny. The Classic on Washington Street was a right tip of a place. I remember it being dirty and smelly so didn't like going there. The Savoy on Patrick Street - I only saw it in its final days but my parents recalled the glamour of it. I liked The Pavillion - it looked like the classic 'Picture Palace' - all gold paint, ornate plasterwork and red velvet. The only cinema I never visited was The Cameo on Military Hill. I tried a few times but was told, literally, to "F**k off! Regulars only!"

Lots of photos etc here

https://www.facebook.com/thegoldenageofcorkcinemas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Where the was the cinema on mac curtain st?

Leisureplex was a cinema back in the day(the old col), it was corks 1st purpose built cinema in cork and think the everyman had a screen for a while to.... oops never read this page the question was answered all ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Judes

I need a boardsie to confirm this "memory" - as the Capital used to be a big part of the film festival in the 80's and if "memory" serves me right - the actor/Director Sir. Richard Attenborough once did a talk there - could have been around '84/'85. I've been trying to google this over the years to see if I am correct. Please somebody put me out of my misery - if it wasn't him, who was it :confused: Thanks, Judes

Very hard to find images of the Capitol online, there aren't many

Here's one from 1957 when there was a flood on Grand Parade

zzzCorkFloodingCapitolCinema1957EveningEcho_large.jpg

And the trailer for the film that was playing there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Sofa King

My aunt used to work at the ticket box in there and we always got free tickets from her (well, she said they were free unless she paid for them separately herself, although we didn't care as kids).

I remember going to see Hook & Jurassic Park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I just remember it being a kip unfortunately. My only vague memory is leaving halfway through a film due to the overwhelming smell from the toilets which were at the back of the auditorium.

It was common enough at afternoon showings in The Capitol to find yourself the only person present - especially with less 'mainstream' films. Happened to me a few times.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I didnt realise there was so many cinemas in the city at one stage.

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

I didnt realise there was so many cinemas in the city at one stage.

There were tons of cinemas in the past due to television being unavailable.

I don't think any TV was on air in Cork City until RTE launched in 1961. So it's likely that local cinemas survived longer.

The east cost & border areas mostly had access to tv from the early 50s onwards and more channels after RTE launched due to overspill signals from the UK.

Cinema was probably more important in Cork until Cork Multichannel (UPC's ancient ancestor) rolled out cable TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,266 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Sticky carpet is my abiding memory.

Roar wrote: »
    Ditto. I think they have done - they definitely took all the seats anyway. And it'd be impossible to see as it would be so dark in there. Can only imagine the amount of rats and pigeons occupying it now!

Heard that when they opened it up just before Queenie's visit, probably to check it out security-wise, there were signs that folks were breaking in and using it as a shooting gallery, and not the funfair type.

Sticky carpet is my abiding memory.

Heard that when they opened it up just before Queenie's visit, probably to check it out security-wise, there were signs that folks were breaking in and using it as a shooting gallery, and not the funfair type.

The boards over the windows at the back of the building, on the laneway into the English Market, were always being pushed aside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭forzacalcio

Best memory letting off Fart Gas in the back row when I went to see that movie Medicine man and being bored out of my tree. It absolutely stank.

First movie there was Home Alone I think, I remember seeing the Turtles too, it was very easy to jump into the next film for free.. Worst memory was being stuck in the double seats watching Philadelphia and being pushed in next to a randomer....awkward to say the least :D

Ive a memory of seeing who framed Roger Rabbit but I think that was the cinema by either where HMV is or the Savoy, anyone know which one it could have been or when there was a cinema there?

I met a mate of mine as we were going in to The Capitol once. We were stopped by the doorman. "Is that food in your bag?" says he. ""Just a couple of books." says my mate. "Oh yeah? Then why are they giving off steam?" - I looked down and there indeed was steam rising from his carrier bag with a distinct aroma of kebab and chips about it. I fecked off inside and left them to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭sham2

Showing my age and I'm not that old but I remember seeing Jaws with my dear old dad first time around in 1975. They had rubber sharks in the shop but my dad wouldn't indulge me.
    Also remember seeing James Bond: The Spy Who Loved Me in 78 I think and of course Star Wars several times, Raiders of The Lost Arc etc. All in the Capitol. Nobody mentioned the groovy light show on screen before the show where this psychedelic coloured stuff was projected on to the screen. We used to try and make out shapes of things. Simpler days.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭valoren

I remember when Michael Collins was released in November 1996.
    The film had it's "premiere" in the Capitol with a fancy laminated brochure and all!

With Collins being a corkman, rumours spread that Liam Neeson would be attending or at the very least, Alan Rickman or Stephen Rea.

Standing out in the cold waiting and waiting, as the great and the good of Cork showed up for the showing, but no sign of any stars :(

I also remember going to see Titanic in screen one and being absolutely bewildered at the rapturous applause at the end. I had never known of a film being applauded before.

valoren wrote: »

I also remember going to see Titanic in screen one and being absolutely bewildered at the rapturous applause at the end. I had never known of a film being applauded before.

Only time I can remember that happening was Beauty and The Beast. Saw that in screen 2 in the Cineplex, the entire crowd just burst into applause at the end. With good reason too, that film is a masterpiece.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Ive a memory of seeing who framed Roger Rabbit but I think that was the cinema by either where HMV is or the Savoy, anyone know which one it could have been or when there was a cinema there?

I saw it in The Lee cinema anyway. Savoy was long gone at that stage.

Didnt they have to have a "piss break" for Titanic so they could change the reel because it was such a long film? Or was I dreaming that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

Didnt they have to have a "piss break" for Titanic so they could change the reel because it was such a long film? Or was I dreaming that?

There was a break, but not sure it was designated as a piss break :P
    Titanic. Dragged there by my girlfriend. Awful cheesy dialogue.

valoren wrote: »
    I remember when Michael Collins was released in November 1996.
    The film had it's "premiere" in the Capitol with a fancy laminated brochure and all!

With Collins being a corkman, rumours spread that Liam Neeson would be attending or at the very least, Alan Rickman or Stephen Rea.

Standing out in the cold waiting and waiting, as the great and the good of Cork showed up for the showing, but no sign of any stars :(

My personal favourite was the Irish première of Alexander. The RTE reporter on the scene was like (Paraphrased) "Sure who cares if it's a big stinking pile of poo, it's got local lad Colin Farrell in the lead role!"

Screen one

1012018_491541050926567_1673595774_n.jpg?oh=172c06bf6e18ca68833b3900723c18ac&oe=54D4853B

I remember it being so much bigger! Also this was taken after the seat upgrades - no double seats!

Found it here https://www.facebook.com/thegoldenageofcorkcinemas

I saw it in The Lee cinema anyway. Savoy was long gone at that stage.

It was definately on Patrick Street anyway, and Im 99% sure it was in the HMV building...Was that a cinema? Where was the Lee cinema?

The HMV building was the Pavilion cinema.

The Lee cinema was on Winthrop street, next to Brown Thomas. There's a casino in there now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Lee was where that arcade or whatever it is is on Winthrop St, across from the Vodafone shop.
    Pavilion was where HMV is (first cinema I was ever in - saw ET).
    Savoy was.....errr.....in the Savoy!

edit: myself and Roar got there at the same time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭chakotha

I saw the Empire Strikes Back in the Capitol. Would have been to other movies there before that but I can't remember which ones. I think the the first one I saw in the Ciniplex was the Doors.