Is it hard to become a lifeguard in Ireland?

• 13-11-2014 07:57PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭

I'd be considered a strong swimmer, i go swimming on holidays off of boats (boat trips are great Craic!)

I signed up for a lifeguard course for the beach but transferred to the pool and I'm wondering is it hard?
    I'd have the diving down anyway but I'm not 100% on the other parts..

I'm 17 so I have a feeling I'd be a younger one doing the course.. Would I?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Seanf999 wrote: »
    I'd be considered a strong swimmer, i go swimming on holidays off of boats (boat trips are great Craic!)

I signed up for a lifeguard course for the beach but transferred to the pool and I'm wondering is it hard?

Who is the course with?

I became a lifeguard when I was 15 and lots doing it were around that age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Seanf999

Stheno wrote: »
    Who is the course with?

I became a lifeguard when I was 15 and lots doing it were around that age

'Atlanticcoastlifeguards.com' that may not be right as I just glanced at the email..

Were you swimming constantly up to that? Ie were you training for it or could you just go straight in?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

'Atlanticcoastlifeguards.com' that may not be right as I just glanced at the email..

Were you swimming constantly up to that? Ie were you training for it or could you just go straight in?

I did mine through the Irish Water safety scheme, it included loads of different tests over a period of time including an extended swim fully clothed in open water.

I was pretty fit at the time and swam a few times a week

No idea about atlantic coast lifeguards, I find it hard to believe a five day course qualifies you as a lifeguard though

Edit just looked it up and the criteria for it, over 7 mins for a 400m continuous swim seems slow for a lifeguard.
    I was a lifeguard in the early 90s and beach tests for the likes of the councils were a timed swim of 75m in less than 50 secs.
    That could have all changed though.
    the NBLQ is a UK qualification which appears to be recognised here

I did mine through the Irish Water safety scheme, it included loads of different tests over a period of time including an extended swim fully clothed in open water.

I was pretty fit at the time and swam a few times a week

No idea about atlantic coast lifeguards, I find it hard to believe a five day course qualifies you as a lifeguard though

Edit just looked it up and the criteria for it, over 7 mins for a 400m continuous swim seems slow for a lifeguard.
    I was a lifeguard in the early 90s and beach tests for the likes of the councils were a timed swim of 75m in less than 50 secs.
    That could have all changed though.
    the NBLQ is a UK qualification which appears to be recognised here

Yeah I asked the lad over it and we have to swim 50m in less then a minute and 100m continue front and back..

The reason I'm a little but worried is because I had a case of pneumonia about 2 weeks ago and I'm still on antibiotics! So needless to say my lungs are shot.. I have been able to swim either so I'm not sure if I'll pass the requirements..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 SlowInWater

Its not hard, actually, its too easy as far as I am concerned, being a kid able to swim a few lengths and doing a 4/5 day course is not enough to prepare you for the level of responsibility required.

Cheers yeah it's nowhere near as hard as I was expecting, I'm just back from the first night now, everyone there was saying how it's easier then they expected

Something wrong there, I remember doing my training many years ago and coming home absolutely exhausted

Well this was only the first night, just 6 to 9, today it's 8 to 6.. We havnt touched on spinal injuries yet and from what I heard they're nobody's favourites

What I should add in is that i wasn't wrecking doing the course but I was tired afterwards

Just thought I'd let ye know that I got on grand, past the course, wasn't made repeat anything and I got an open leg fracture for my first aid part when others got asked to put on slings! (Got told I'd make a great surgeon!)