Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread - See Mod Warning in OP, 09/11

I thought Depay was a formality when LvG got the job. I was sure he would sign after the World Cup.

Maybe there's one of the world famous deposits down on him :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

I signed Laporte in FM14, turned out to be a good bit of business. Naturally this means if we do sign him in real life the form will work out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

kryogen wrote: »
    I signed Laporte in FM14, turned out to be a good bit of business. Naturally this means if we do sign him in real life the form will work out

Also the man to sign in Fifa 15 too. Or 14.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Man UTD is a company/business what have you. I said it was similar in terms that they were willing to take the short term hit in order to make a long term profit, which they are well on track to do. That comparison of the loss in order to make a profit side was obviously what I was getting.

Stating that I think we are like Sony, a video games company is just you strawmanning when its clear I wasn't comparing the companies.

I didn't state that you think United are like Sony. I said that you were equating a company product decision (Sony PS3 blu-ray decision) with an LBO strategy (Glazer take-over of United), which you were. Equating the two is nonsense.
    What evidence do you have to support your claims btw? I'm sure the Glazers would have lost a lot of money had it not worked. Do you have anything to support how great a risk it was and how close it came, if at all, to failing? because it looks like a roaring success right now.

The Glazers would have lost their investment of £272m. You can describe that as a "lot" if you want, but it's relatively small in the grand scheme of things. The rest of the money required to buy the club (£560m) was borrowed against the club and their ownership of it (source: Red Football lmt offer for Manchester United PLC & 2006 Refinancing Investment Memorandum (see page 11, The original transaction)). For the equity they put up the Glazers got to work with an £832m investment (the total cost of buying the club). As is the standard practice with LBOs they took on higher risks to maximise the upside while dumping as much of the risk onto the target company (United) as they could.

Judging the amount of risk undertaken based on the current - or let's say "final" for the sake of argument - outcome is completely wrong. It's like a poker player who judges his play based on the outcome of the bet rather than the choices he made with his hand in the game. And to call it a roaring success is ridiculous. You do know that the Glazers ended up selling 10% of their stake in the club during their debt refinancing don't you? There's no way that can be described as a roaring success for an investment plan.

With regards to evidence that the club was put at risk, I'm not going to go into detail on that with you. It has all been discussed at extreme length on this forum before; see the United Financial Situation thread for that. The bottom line is this: football is unpredictable by design, any financial plan that requires a club to maintain a level of success in order to meet debt repayments means the club is being put at unacceptable risk. It isn't unacceptable risk for the financial investors in this case, they are only putting up a relatively small portion of the money at risk and they don't care about the club, it is unacceptable to any fans who want the club to continue existing in a healthy state in the long term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Some people could hav been worried 10 years ago, they were entitled to. Sure they didn't know anything of the deal or details, they were fed mis truths. They haven't changed their mind.

But they really shoul be changing their mind by now. There is no shame in changing your mind. You don't always have to stick to your guns.

Good job on steadfastly refusing to acknowledge the existence of the counter argument presented.

Start the conversation off with mocking of those who hold a different opinion to you and then finish it up with an offer of clemency for anybody who "admits they were wrong". Well played.

Question for you lads (Your Airbag and Pro F)

Have you ever actually agreed on anything? :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

panic-buttons.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,937 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

sure we can have valdes in nets for the next game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

So sign valdes up just incase

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Pro. F wrote: »
    Good job on steadfastly refusing to acknowledge the existence of the counter argument presented.

Start the conversation off with mocking of those who hold a different opinion to you and then finish it up with an offer of clemency for anybody who admits they were wrong. Well played.

Hey, at least I offered? You don't see that stance around here that often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭madcabbage

Rafael had a fairly gammy one a while back if I remember correctly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

Pro. F wrote: »
    I didn't state that you think United are like Sony. I said that you were equating a company product decision (Sony PS3 blu-ray decision) with an LBO strategy (Glazer take-over of United), which you were. Equating the two is nonsense.

The Glazers would have lost their investment of £272m. You can describe that as a "lot" if you want, but it's relatively small in the grand scheme of things. The rest of the money required to buy the club (£560m) was borrowed against the club and their ownership of it (source: Red Football lmt offer for Manchester United PLC & 2006 Refinancing Investment Memorandum (see page 11, The original transaction)). For the equity they put up the Glazers got to work with an £832m investment (the total cost of buying the club). As is the standard practice with LBOs they took on higher risks to maximise the upside while dumping as much of the risk onto the target company (United) as they could.

1. Judging the amount of risk undertaken based on the current - or let's say "final" for the sake of argument - outcome is completely wrong. It's like a poker player who judges his play based on the outcome of the bet rather than the choices he made with his hand in the game. And to call it a roaring success is ridiculous. You do know that the Glazers ended up selling 10% of their stake in the club during their debt refinancing don't you? There's no way that can be described as a roaring success for an investment plan.

2. With regards to evidence that the club was put at risk, I'm not going to go into detail on that with you. It has all been discussed at extreme length on this forum before; see the United Financial Situation thread for that. 3. The bottom line is this: football is unpredictable by design, any financial plan that requires a club to maintain a level of success in order to meet debt repayments means the club is being put at unacceptable risk. It isn't unacceptable risk for the financial investors in this case, they are only putting up a relatively small portion of the money at risk and 4. they don't care about the club, it is unacceptable to any fans who want the club to continue existing in a healthy state in the long term.

1. Thats the point I was making that your missing. You think there wasn't a plan for every eventuallity accounted for. Do you think selling a 10% stake was a suprise move just because thats how it was reported in the papers? You think they hadn't foreseen this? We are talking a long term plan here. We are talking decades. The Glazers are dealing in these terms to leave a legacy behind for their future family. Malcolm Glazer is dead, he would have had plans for the future of UTD financially so his family could continue as he did in life but more succesfully.

Equating an 832m combination of their own money and money borrowed against the club, to a poker style risk is nonsense. We signed a 750m sponsorship deal on top of the other deals we have place. To claim that as a huge success is not stupid. Its accurate.

Just because this news is drip feed to you and us through the media doesn't mean the Glazers got lucky. Its extremely shortsigthed and arrogant to think so. This level of financial recovery and ultimate success is down to very good financial planning and intelligence.

2. It would be hard for you to do so accuratley. Of course there was an element of risk. Like i said there is an element in crossing the road. Given where we are heading there is a massive gap in the level of risk you think you predicted in the early years compared to the planning and success the Glazers planned for and predicted.

3. When UTD had a nightmare season last season and still managed to secure the greatest sponsorship deal in the history of sport shows how obvious the fact that UTD being the most suopported club in the world allows us such suppar on field results and to still grow out of depth. The Glazers knew it. Did you forget this huge point and variable or just not include it because it undermines your entire point?

4. Rubbish. The Glazers have done nothing but support the club and buying players and up grading the training facilities.

No, point 4 is just wrong there YA, I haven't actually read the rest, but skimmed and caught that bit. No way, The Glazers do not give one **** about the club other then it being an asset and a cash cow, they have done plenty besides supporting the club (they contribute nothing personally) and buying players, upgrading facilities.

They pay off a debt they levied on the club, using the clubs income
    They have taken "loans" from the club
    They take their dividends from the club etc

They do plenty besides "support" the club

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

No hysteria? Don't tell me what to do.

We're doomed!

No, point 4 is just wrong there YA, I haven't actually read the rest, but skimmed and caught that bit. No way, The Glazers do not give one **** about the club other then it being an asset and a cash cow, they have done plenty besides supporting the club (they contribute nothing personally) and buying players, upgrading facilities.

They pay off a debt they levied on the club, using the clubs income
    They have taken "loans" from the club
    They take their dividends from the club etc

They do plenty besides "support" the club

Of course they do.

Of course they pay off debt using the clubs income. This is a bad thing? What other income are they going to use when we are generating such revenues. We just dropped 160m or so and have broken our club record transfer record twice in succession and the British record once.

The fact we are course so well financially allows them to do this. All the planning, carefull planning allows them to do this.

Every club owner wants his club to make money and withdraws from it. If those points are against the Glazers, if your using loans from the club as an example then almost no club owner cares about there club.

Do you think in our debt free day nobody was getting their fair share? Just becasue we are financially under the microscope in this social media day an age, with everyone painting the crisis story doesn't reflect the reailty.

My understanding of those financial posts is $$$$$$$

Of course they do.

Of course they pay off debt using the clubs income. This is a bad thing? What other income are they going to use when we are generating such revenues. We just dropped 160m or so and have broken our club record transfer record twice in succession and the British record once.

The fact we are course so well financially allows them to do this. All the planning, carefull planning allows them to do this.

Every club owner wants his club to make money and withdraws from it. If those points are against the Glazers, if your using loans from the club as an example then almost no club owner cares about there club.

Do you think in our debt free day nobody was getting their fair share? Just becasue we are financially under the microscope in this social media day an age, with everyone painting the crisis story doesn't reflect the reailty.

I have zero interest in getting in to one of those long drawn out back and forth things with you on this, I thank you for agreeing with me though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Do any of one of us here actually have any background in these big purchases?

I know we have a few in finance alright, maybe a degree or 2 in economics

I have zero interest in getting in to one of those long drawn out back and forth things with you on this, I thank you for agreeing with me though ;)

Lol, that the most blatant strawmannig wind up I've heard in a long time, but done tounge in cheek enough to be passable.

Just for the record, I agree about the fact of what their doing not the intention behind it.

Don't worry I have no interest in a long back on forth on this, considering I proably have one on the way already :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,561 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Dear Man Utd Board,

Please buy Séamus Coleman asap.

Yours every and all Man Utd fans everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

We already have a rb who is great going forward but questionable defensively. We need competition for rb not spending a fortune on Coleman when we need central defenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RichFTW

Of course they do.

Yes, this is a bad thing. They are using the club's income to pay off the Glazer personal debt that was used to buy the club. What part of leveraged deal do you not get? The Glazer debt is being paid off, not debt used to improve the club. Bar this year, the Glazers spent nowhere near what our rivals did since they took over.

You and others seem to think they planned every single scenario and had numerous contingency plans. They took a risk. A risk that was leveraged against the club. They bet that Ferguson would continue to make top 4 and be competitive without spending a lot of money. Thus they would be able to meet interest payments and pay off the debt over a number of years as they could predict a constant income. Also they bet that they could increase revenue given their past experience in sports management.

In hindsight it worked out. If it didn't, the Glazers would have cut their losses, the bank would have taken ownership of the club (as the loan was leveraged against the club) and done a firesale of assets and/or shares in order to get back their money. Club would have been screwed. Even more so than Leeds screwed.

I admire them as business people as they did a good job commercially. I'm not sure any other competent CEO wouldn't have done the same though. Someone put up figures here before showing that all the major European clubs had increased their income along the same lines as United in the same period. United isn't some unique financial performance.

Usually a club has loans which are due from investing in training facilities, stadium, players etc. A loan used to buy the club is not the same thing. A loan used to buy the club benefits the Glazers; a loan used to improve the club benefits the club. That is one of the major issues.

A fair share that most owners take is expected as they made an investment and expect a return. The Glazers didn't make the same investment. They leveraged their investment meaning the club pays the bulk of the investment through interest & loan repayments, thus using money that otherwise would have been used to improve the club.

And for other posters, you don't need first hand experience of corporate takeovers to know what the Glazers were trying to do. Basic-ish common sense of finance would do. It's not that complicated, they took a risk and it paid off. Hindsight is 20:20 so it looks like a great deal originally.

I promised myself I wouldn't get dragged into another finance argument but I feel you are ignoring Pro. F's points based on past arguments/battles. Also this is the internet so nobody listens to anyone really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Nuts102 wrote: »
    We already have a rb who is great going forward but questionable defensively. We need competition for rb not spending a fortune on Coleman when we need central defenders.

A RB who averages 12 apps a season

A joke because of his injury problems or a genuine claim?

Cause you know he doesnt average 12 games a year surely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

A joke because of his injury problems or a genuine claim?

Cause you know he doesnt average 12 games a year surely

A guess that wasn't too far off in the league averages 14 a season

His injuries have to become a worry at some point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,342 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

I just seen De gea dislocated his finger. The injuries will never let up

A guess that wasn't too far off in the league averages 14 a season

His injuries have to become a worry at some point

Bit harsh to judge him over his first couple of years though isn't it? He was a kid!

His injuries are a feckin nightmare though

Excluding this year he has played in half the league games (roughly) between the 3 seasons of 2011-14 (19.66 league games per season)

He needs to be made of less glass for sure though, no argument there at all. This year is a big one for him, he is 24 now and has all the tools to be the best right back in the world (imho) but his durability will hold him back and ultimately lead to him needing to be replaced if it does not improve.

His injuries are a worry for me at this point, I will be hoping he has a season like he had in 2012/13 when he actually made an impressive (for him) 40 appearances for us in all competitions :)

Big year ahead