Rubbish tyres on the majority of cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

Ferris wrote: »
    Not any more...

Haha... brilliant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,653 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Great thread. I only wish it could be duplicated in After Hours or the likes so people would see it, instead of preaching to the converted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

A few years ago, A fella i know, got a puncture on the way home one evening.

He was driving on 225/50 R17 a 10 Reg S40

He didn't have the car long and was fitted with Pirellis PZeros all around when he bought iy.

He was telling me what happenend and got charged €140 for the tyre.

I didn't say anything at the time, but took a quick look at the tyre and the date stamp was 2 years old. Which was older then the feckin' car.

The tyre place saw him coming and a pulled a fast one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ferris

Veloce wrote: »
    I rang around looking for some rear tyres earlier this year.

Me: "what have you in stock for 245/45/18?"
    Mechanic: "what car are they for?"
    Me: "Nissan 350z"
    Mechanic "hmm... just having a look here... we have Acceleras in stock... they're grand... put them on all my family's cars"

From dashcam thread:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Roger Mellie Man on the Telly

tossy wrote: »
    the last place i rang when asked what i was putting them on,i replied a Ferrari 360 , your man nearly choked on the Euro signs he could see in front of him, i'll ring you back with a price i'll ring you back he promised - never heard from him again, i guess he worked out 225/40/18's dont fit a 360 lol.

Thanks for making me laugh. Very funny! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,039 ✭✭✭MJ23

We were talking tyres one night in the pub, (exciting stuff). I said had put 4 new Firestone's on the car. Mid-range, I know. Lad I was with said "why not go to yer man up the road and get a few cheap part worn tyres"?. I said "well I wouldn't buy cheap part worn shoes, so I definitely wouldn't buy cheap part worn tyres". He looked at me bewildered, as if I was an eejit for wasting my money on decent tyres. The same fella has a phone that's worth more than his car. So I don't know why I was trying to reason with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭Dartz

Was a fair doozy of an accident on the N3 earlier today... went passed it heading out to meet friends for a game.

Nothing like tonight for showing the value of a good set of shoes on the car. Was rock solid going down the M50, inspite of standing water.

One thing I'd never cheap out on is tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

MJ23 wrote: »
    We were talking tyres one night in the pub, (exciting stuff). I said had put 4 new Firestone's on the car. Mid-range, I know. Lad I was with said "why not go to yer man up the road and get a few cheap part worn tyres"?. I said "well I wouldn't buy cheap part worn shoes, so I definitely wouldn't buy cheap part worn tyres". He looked at me bewildered, as if I was an eejit for wasting my money on decent tyres. The same fella has a phone that's worth more than his car. So I don't know why I was trying to reason with him.

Dont see anything wrong with part worns as long as you know how to choose them.

Got 4 x Continentals for €200 before with over 6mm thread on all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

I didn't say anything at the time, but took a quick look at the tyre and the date stamp was 2 years old. Which was older then the feckin' car.

The tyre place saw him coming and a pulled a fast one.
    I wouldn't be worried about a 2 year old tyre.
    The recommended expiry date is 5 years for most tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

I got new set fitted when I was picking up the car, just checked and they are budget Accelera PHI tyre. I havent had much if any problem with them so far, even in the wet. They are a summer tyre, so what type of tyre should Irish cars be using if you dont have the option of changing from summer to winter? It would seem to be summer mostly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,397 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

I used to only drive with a top quality tyre like a Michelin Primacy that cost €200, but in recent years I've been moving to cheaper brands. Am now using a Kumho Ecsta that cost €130. I've tested the tyres in the wet to see the stopping distance, and found there was no discernible difference, both were excellent. The wear is also probably that bit better on the Kumho's, with them needing replacing after about 20k miles, as opposed to 15k miles for the Michelin's.

I think at the premium level, some of these supposed high performance tyres are a scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭kooga

I used to only drive with a top quality tyre like a Michelin Primacy that cost €200, but in recent years I've been moving to cheaper brands. Am now using a Kumho Ecsta that cost €130. I've tested the tyres in the wet to see the stopping distance, and found there was no discernible difference, both were excellent. The wear is also probably that bit better on the Kumho's, with them needing replacing after about 20k miles, as opposed to 15k miles for the Michelin's.

I think at the premium level, some of these supposed high performance tyres are a scam.

i agree with u on the kumho back in the early 2000s i had a couple of alfa 147s 1.6 and 2.0 and always had kumhos on them....215/45/17. couldn't fault them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

Ok so I just spent 280 on 4 new tyres ,the brand is called NDA or possibly WNDA the fitter said they were good tyres but not as good as the Falken ones which were 440 for 4 , are they ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭kooga

youtube! wrote: »
    Ok so I just spent 280 on 4 new tyres ,the brand is called NDA or possibly WNDA the fitter said they were good tyres but not as good as the Falken ones which were 440 for 4 , are they ****?

could be wanli ultra high performance ****!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

There's WANDAS too...either way I'd prefer the Falken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,797 ✭✭✭sweetie

Do a fair bit of driving in my Puegot 5008 and when my previous set of Hankooks wore down I remembered seeing the Uniroyal rainsports recommended on here and reading some more reviews I got a set of 4 in Blanchardstown tyre centre earliet this year. A month later two of them had been replaced; one the sidewall ripped when the missus drove ver a kerb, the other got a puncture in the sidewall that wasn't repairable. I'll be sticking with my hankooks from now on methinks. When I pay decent money I expect good performance not a product with an inherent weakness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭Hachiko

youtube! wrote: »

that NDA probably means the manufacturer of that junk has signed a sneaky non disclosure agreement with all buyers to be not responsible for any accidents that may result in fitting said tyres.

why not pay 100 odd euro to get a respected brand.

440eu is not dear for a decent brand of 4 tyres, I paid well over 150gbp for 1 bridgestone here in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Volvoair

Was having a look at car tyre brands recently on both cars I was looking to buy and cars parked up. I would say on cars not on their original factory fitted sets that not even 1 in 3 cars have any decent quality brand on them, just the cheapest rubbish possible to purchase. This is not limited to your average car it's on high end stuff too, some people just don't put a value on their safety.

not everyone has the 100+euros per tyre to spend.
    if you drive within the limits of your car ,the majority of tires will do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Volvoair wrote: »
    if you drive within the limits of your car ,the majority of tires will do the job.

But when you are unexpectedly in a situation where your car is pushed beyond its limits the quality tyres prove their worth.

I don't get why people can't get this. It's like a badge of honour with some people to get them as cheap as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Sheldons Brain

In the context of the cost of running a car, tax, insurance, fuel, servicing etc, the marginal cost of tyres is not significant. Tyres would do a couple of years for many drivers, so the marginal cost of better ones would be a Euro a week.

Let's hope that you do not have to stop because someone else hasn't followed your advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭Pappacharlie

Reading this thread with great interest. Might I suggest a web site www.oponeo.ie for great value even on the top brands. I got 4 Michelin Primacy 3 225 55 R 17 97Y at €143 each. Totally agree never skimp on tyres.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

I have a question re: tyres and the NCT?

Is it possible for to have two different branded and thus different threaded tyres on the back axel for the NCT? Eg. Michellin on the rear left and firestone on the rear right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

what seems to keep being mentioned in this thread by some is that its ok to buy cheaper lower quality Chinese tyres provided your a normal driver and don't go fast. TBH thats just not the case IMO anyway. Sure cheaper tyres might be fine for your average drivers 99.9% of the time. But its the 0.01% of the time when something unexpected happens and the tyres suddenly become the difference between you stopping safely and crashing/ causing an accident thats when it counts. When your standing on the brakes trying to make an emergency stop the Chinese tyres just aren't good enough. No mater what way you look at it on a wet road standing on the brakes a bridgestone/ michelin/ goodyear etc is going to bring you to a stop quicker, over a shorter distance and in a more controlled way than any triangle or wanli crap that just the way it is.

So looking at it and saying oh I'm not a fast driver the cheapest tyres I can get will do is a seriously flawed logic. Them small four patches of rubber touching the road are the only that connects the car to the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Stinicker wrote: »
    I have a question re: tyres and the NCT?

Is it possible for to have two different branded and thus different threaded tyres on the back axel for the NCT? Eg. Michellin on the rear left and firestone on the rear right?

Unfortunately it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,927 ✭✭✭Brussels Sprout

Interesting thread (although it does turn into a bit of a circle jerk at points)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

CiniO wrote: »
    Unfortunately it is.

Really? I was getting a new tyre once and the fella told me it has to be the same brand as the other tyre on the axle or else it was a fail?

Also what's the benefit of having the same brand? Is it so they both have the same stopping power? Would it be best to replace both on the axle at the same time?

I ask as I'm due to replace one soon, and this thread has made me decide to not go the cheap route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

Spent 260 on four new tyres for the car last month but the wife and I drive like absolute pansies so really couldn't care less. They are legal and the car will get me from A to B that's all that matters for us. In this day and age it's a struggle to just keep the yoke on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,265 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

I thought all tyres had to have met a certain safety standard and carry an "E" mark to prove that they had passed this standard. I have four 14 inch tyres of different names on my 206. It's not though I asked for any particular tyre at the tyre centre when I needed one - I just took what I was given. One of the tyres that came with the car is a Pirelli, the other is a Michelen and the other two, I can't remember. There's great thread on all of them. Could the less expensive chinese tyre be every bit as good as the Pirelli? I have a silvercrest Microwave and it's a damn site better than the Samsung it replaced?

That is a really bad way to have your tyres is it not. You could have four totally different tyres on your car all designed differently and maybe all with different types of tread. If you have to brake in on emergency each tyre could react differently one might have good grip and some might have only a little or no grip and the outcome might not be good. Its best to at least have both your front tires the same and both your rear tires the same at least then there will be some consistency in how the car handles and brakes.
    Personally myself I think its crazy if people want to take such risks as the four tyres on your car are the most important safety feature on it as they are the only part off the vehicle that is in contact with the road and its how good there contact with the road is that will determine iff you car stops in time and safely when you need to brake not the ABS or EBD or any other fancy electronic systems it has. So think of that people the next time you are buying tyres for you car.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭corkgsxr

Van just gets goodyears, bike only gets Bridgestones.

Go people not see things like if you come round the corner and there's a massive flood or child or broken down car and you have to stop fast.

Or in adverse conditions eg snow or diesel spill or all sorts will really show the difference between good and cheap tires.

I'd be honest I'd favour good tires on front. Like herselfs coupe. Triangles on the rear. Pozenzas on the front. And with full ebc pads I'll stop so fast your face pulls. It can corner so hard your face is side window shaped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭EazyD

sweetie wrote: »
    Do a fair bit of driving in my Puegot 5008 and when my previous set of Hankooks wore down I remembered seeing the Uniroyal rainsports recommended on here and reading some more reviews I got a set of 4 in Blanchardstown tyre centre earliet this year. A month later two of them had been replaced; one the sidewall ripped when the missus drove ver a kerb, the other got a puncture in the sidewall that wasn't repairable. I'll be sticking with my hankooks from now on methinks. When I pay decent money I expect good performance not a product with an inherent weakness.

Just sounds unlucky tbh, I've owned 3 full sets myself and were never a problem, likewise with numerous family/friends who have them. Yes the sidewalls are relatively soft but hard kerbing can ruin any tyre to be fair.