Campaign to save Benjy, the Gay Bull from Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fcukin eejits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,746 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Actually thought that was a Republic of Telly or Savage Eye sketch until half way through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

*sigh*... more gay bull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

They assume that because he will not ride any of the cows that he is gay. Maybe he is suffering from erectile dysfunction or depression. Perhaps they should pop a few Viagra into his feed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

The Limerick man continued: "As a gay man myself, I know only too well what it is like to be treated indifferently, that's why I hope we can give Benjy a second chance in life whilst helping to bring attention to the problems facing all gay people everywhere around the world, and of course the many other Benjy's that are brought to slaughter on a daily basis who are not so lucky."

It's a f*cking bull, dude. Jesus H. If this is all these lads have to be worrying about then they are doing alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭LETS GET NAKED

£1,825 raised so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,669 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Wouldn't be surprised if it's a scam to get money out of gullible people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

zetalambda wrote: »
    They assume that because he will not ride any of the cows that he is gay. Maybe he is suffering from erectile dysfunction or depression. Perhaps they should pop a few Viagra into his feed.

Maybe all the cows are just ugly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Third comment on that video from ARAN (Animal Rights Action Network), anyone who's ever heard yer man John Carmody from that group will know that he's as mad as a box of (ethically reared) frogs.

Exhibit A:http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/joan-burton-under-fire-over-skin-a-cat-remark-30590888.html

Exhibit B:http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/icrime/fur-flies-as-animal-rights-group-turn-to-shock-tactics-166633.html

Exhibit C: http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/love-hate-to-blame-for-duck-slaughter

EDIT. I knew he wouldn't be too far away from this either.

http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/gay-bull-who-failed-herd-4625273
    Now campaigners from the Animal Rights Action Network have purchased him from a frustrated South Mayo farmer – and he’s set to live out the rest of his days in Britain.

Through an intermediary, ARAN’s John Carmody contacted the farmer involved and made an offer.

Mr Carmody confirmed a deal has been struck.

He said: “As a gay man myself I know what it is like to be treated indifferently. That’s why I want to give Benjy a second chance in life while helping to bring attention to the problems facing all gay people around the world as well, of course, the many other ‘Benjys’ thatare brought to slaughter on a daily basis who are not so lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

i have gary friends they're cool and if u disagree ur wrong and if u hav a problem with gary ppl u have a problem wit me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭Corvo

*scans After Hours*

*spots Gay Bull thread*

MORE DRINK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,541 ✭✭✭RobYourBuilder

Would this money raised not be better spent on campaigning for a Yes vote in May?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Third comment on that video from ARAN (Animal Rights Action Network), anyone who's ever heard yer man John Carmody from that group will know that he's as mad as a box of (ethically reared) frogs.

Exhibit A:http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/joan-burton-under-fire-over-skin-a-cat-remark-30590888.html

Exhibit B:http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/icrime/fur-flies-as-animal-rights-group-turn-to-shock-tactics-166633.html

Exhibit C: http://www.sundayworld.com/top-stories/news/love-hate-to-blame-for-duck-slaughter

I support your diagnosis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

zetalambda wrote: »

........but that might make him go on a bull ridin rampage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭Custardpi

Would this money raised not be better spent on campaigning for a Yes vote in May?

No silly! That's only for unimaginative people who want practical, meaningful equality & boring stuff like that. Attention seeking muppetry is the really important cause of our times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

Hang the fcuker off a hook end of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

The bull might not be gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,678 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

RTE radio did a documentary on this story. It's an entertaining listen

https://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2019/0817/1069356-benjy-the-little-gay-bull/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,910 ✭✭✭Nollog

https://www.channel4.com/programmes/my-gay-dog-and-other-animals

He's been castrated because he turned out to not be gay, according to a channel 4 show I watched recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,641 ✭✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

i heard he was sent to live on a farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

I smell a fish.

Don't all farmers use artificial insemination now? It prevents infection.

I am pretty sure every farming course mentions it.

You have bovine inseminators etc. They have to be licensed.

That would be one hell of a movie THE INSEMINATOR!

Pretty sure him being gay would not make a diff.

Are most cattle still bred naturally?

Even if they are could the farmer not just take his sperm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,496 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

RTE radio did a documentary on this story. It's an entertaining listen

https://www.rte.ie/radio1/doconone/2019/0817/1069356-benjy-the-little-gay-bull/

More Liberal agenda BS from RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,638 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Missed a trick there. Sacrificing a bull to the old gods might have lifted the curse...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,584 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

/\/ollog wrote: »

He's been castrated because he turned out to not be gay, according to a channel 4 show I watched recently.
    Oh for the love of god. Would they not do that anyway??

Its a lovely story he gets to live. Bit lacking common sense though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

/\/ollog wrote: »

Only earthly use for a castrated bull is the meat grinder as soon as they're fat enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,205 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I smell a fish.

Don't all farmers use artificial insemination now? It prevents infection.

I am pretty sure every farming course mentions it.

You have bovine inseminators etc. They have to be licensed.

That would be one hell of a movie THE INSEMINATOR!

Pretty sure him being gay would not make a diff.

Are most cattle still bred naturally?

Even if they are could the farmer not just take his sperm?

The farmer only paid something like 2k for him.
    Bulls that go to Ai stations could be over 30k and are usually bought by the Ai stations.

If the farmer wanted to use the bull for Ai. He'd have to pay for the services of an Ai station and if he wasn't a licensed inseminator, pay for an inseminator.
    It'd make more sense just to use the semen of the bulls in the catalogue and Ai man.

75% of suckler cow matings in Ireland are by stock bulls due to being less labour intensive and cost, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,664 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

The farmer only paid something like 2k for him.
    Bulls that go to Ai stations could be over 30k and are usually bought by the Ai stations.

If the farmer wanted to use the bull for Ai. He'd have to pay for the services of an Ai station and if he wasn't a licensed inseminator, pay for an inseminator.
    It'd make more sense just to use the semen of the bulls in the catalogue and Ai man.

75% of suckler cow matings in Ireland are by stock bulls due to being less labour intensive and cost, etc.

Wait what? There's a catalogue for bull semen? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 20,070 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Wait what? There's a catalogue for bull semen? :D

Damn right there are.

https://www.doveagenetics.ie/about/catalogues

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Lil Sally Anne Jnr.

Gave £40.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,664 ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

_Brian wrote: »

This is Rory, 6 years old, xxx kg of pure Irish bull, likes cows and grazing.

If interested please call ... :pac: