Dun Laoghaire's "Walking Dead"

And methadone clinics don't work, they come in to get their high then hang around the area taking other illegal substances. Was a program on TV about people being on methadone for 20 years.

You don't get high off methadone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

You don't get high off methadone.

Then why are they always off their face when you see them ? it is a synthetic opioid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,006 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

They're campaigning because they don't want to have to "put up with it", nor should they be forced to "put up with" anything they disagree with. You disagree with that opinion, yet I wouldn't tell you "You'll just have to put up with it!".
    the clinic is going to have to go somewhere, so some people will have to put up with it whether they want to or not. its life

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I was hoping for a zombie walk in Dun Laoghaire, quite disappointed now :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I was hoping for a zombie walk in Dun Laoghaire, quite disappointed now :(

You need to get there before like 10am when they are collecting it.

Then why are they always off their face when you see them ? it is a synthetic opioid
    It is an synthetic opioid but it doesn't produce a high. It just stops withdrawal. If there were off their face, it would probably because most methadone users also simultaneously use heroin as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Well that illustrates the fact that society cannot be ruled by individual desire.

Nobody is suggesting that though? If a group of individuals feel the same way I do for example, they have every right to campaign against the locating of a methadone clinic or homeless hostel in their neighbourhood.

the clinic is going to have to go somewhere, so some people will have to put up with it whether they want to or not. its life

As I've reiterated time and again - I wouldn't particularly care where else it went as long as it wasn't in my neighbourhood. That is indeed, as you put it - life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

This is the same Dun Laoghaire that was a kip even back in the seventies? It had a drug problem before Ireland had a drug problem. It's in their back yard since day one. The methadone clinics are just one visible symptom. They have ideas about themselves that were never reflected by the reality. Posh me hole. Kip more like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

This is the same Dun Laoghaire that was a kip even back in the seventies? It had a drug problem before Ireland had a drug problem. It's in their back yard since day one. The methadone clinics are just one visible symptom. They have ideas about themselves that were never reflected by the reality. Posh me hole. Kip more like.

There has always been quite an antisocial element in Dun Laoghaire alright. I personally think it's a lovely place, bar the knackers. And the new library of course.

Three methadone clinics though! Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Dun Laoghaire. Was a kip, is a kip and always will be a kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Dun Laoighre isn't a rough place by any means, near enough to some council estates from Ballybrack and Sallynoggin and whatnot but overall the people it attracts are fairly decent. The methadone clinics really do make the town so much more unattractive, to the point that I'd always pick the alternative if it came down to it. It's just not nice seeing junkies off their head pestering you at the bus stops or screaming that they'll bate the guy across the road.

With that said, the solution isn't just to move them to another town so they can deal with the problems, but surely 3 in the same town is bad planning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭Tail Docker

There has always been quite an antisocial element in Dun Laoghaire alright. I personally think it's a lovely place, bar the knackers. And the new library of course.

Three methadone clinics though! Really?

I agree 100%, I grew up there and still bring my kids for walks down the pier and love it, but there was always a big scanger element and it was always rough if you vaguely looked closely.

They do love putting methadone clinics in erm, "great" locations - slap bang in the city center, so the tourists can play too, and bang where people come off the ferry.... Bord Failte eat yer hearts out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

The clinic has been there for decades and the problem has been there for decades. It doesn't take Einstein to figure out it doesn't really work and just draws in junkies for their hits who then hang around and cause various problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Dl is fairly bad, there is a clinic in my local chemists and the area is grand for the most part but i went to college out there and do be in the area often enough isnt fair on the locals. They should havd meth clinics near garda stations or underground in the sewers :-|

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭masculinist

I always thought Bray was a little bit dodgy. Dun Laoghaire too ?

My long standing opinion is that the effect of the location of methadone clinics is to wage war on the locals who have to put up with it . They should all be out in industrial estates in the middle of nowhere, not right in the middle of tourist trails or near families where they cause the most damage. As for the homeless shelters and hostels , I'd be more lenient on them. I feel sorry for most of them. Many of them are just not mentally equipped for looking after themselves properly.

Lone Stone wrote: »
    Dl is fairly bad, there is a clinic in my local chemists and the area is grand for the most part but i went to college out there and do be in the area often enough isnt fair on the locals. They should havd meth clinics near garda stations or underground in the sewers :-|
    they will have them where they get the planning to have them. in the sewers is not the place, rabel rabel diatribe

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

My long standing opinion is that the effect of the location of methadone clinics is to wage war on the locals who have to put up with it . They should all be out in industrial estates in the middle of nowhere, not right in the middle of tourist trails or near families where they cause the most damage.

the locations picked for them which happen to be near families and tourist trails were the best places as they have large access to public transport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Are the junkies just all the ones from around the area or what?

Imagine the damage done to our tourist industry by crime and just the spoiling of the beauty of some stunning city centre architecture because its infested with these filthy zombies ? It sounds awful but thats what you become when you become addicted to hard drugs. Sugar coat it and expect even less to be done about it. On top of this is a complete desensitization to hard drug addiction among the next generation of kids in those areas for whom someone out of his head on smack is a familiar and daily occurrence.

the locations picked for them which happen to be near families and tourist trails were the best places as they have large access to public transport.

Dont' Heroin addicts qualify for disability payments ? This includes a free travel pass on top of a nice set of benefits for something self inflicted. Hard working people somehow manage to get there and back to industrial estates to do their jobs using public transport. Is there something wrong with expecting a drug addict with zero responsibilities and all day free to use his free travel pass to travel free of charge to pick up some free drugs for himself at a methadone clinic in an industrial estate and perhaps hang out at a drop in centre with counselling there too ?

Imagine the damage done to our tourist industry by crime and just the spoiling of the beauty of some stunning city centre architecture because its infested with these filthy zombies ? It sounds awful but thats what you become when you become addicted to hard drugs. Sugar coat it and expect even less to be done about it. On top of this is a complete desensitization to hard drug addiction among the next generation of kids in those areas for whom someone out of his head on smack is a familiar and daily occurrence.

Dont' Heroin addicts qualify for disability payments ? This includes a free travel pass on top of a nice set of benefits for something self inflicted. Hard working people somehow manage to get there and back to industrial estates to do their jobs using public transport. Is there something wrong with expecting a drug addict with zero responsibilities and all day free to use his free travel pass to travel free of charge to pick up some free drugs for himself at a methadone clinic in an industrial estate and perhaps hang out at a drop in centre with counselling there too ?
    the locations were picked for a reason. that reason being full access to public transport over other places including industrial estates. i don't make the rules i'm just giving you the information.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭drumswan

That's exactly how the world works actually (fortunately for me really) - enough people object to something, it gets changed, or closed down. In this instance, well, we'll use your example above -

The people of Monkstown aren't going to care about the people of Dun Laoire, they'll only care if an attempt is made to foist a treatment centre upon them, that they don't want in their town either.

It's the epitome of NIMBYism, and I'm only saying I can understand where both sides are coming from, but I would support the views of the local residents in the area who do not wish to have methadone clinics or homeless hostels located in their area. I wouldn't want them in my area either. Where they're located after that is beyond my concern.

But they are located in your area and have been for decades. Someone has to live with them and that someone is you unfortunately.

the locations were picked for a reason. that reason being full access to public transport over other places including industrial estates. i don't make the rules i'm just giving you the information.

The only reason they were picked was because of the lack of influence of the locals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,923 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

I've lived in Bray for years and years and I actually don't think I've ever heard of a methadone clinic? Is there one around at all? i've never really seen zombies walking around the town at all.

A few scrote kids is about the height of it and to be honest the numbers of them has died down significantly over the last 10+ years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,610 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

The only reason they were picked was because of the lack of influence of the locals.

Which translated means unregistered or low voter turn out in the local area

because the locals know they will have to go somewhere and that they will have to put up and get on with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

drumswan wrote: »
    But they are located in your area and have been for decades. Someone has to live with them and that someone is you unfortunately.

I don't live in Dun Laoire so no, fortunately for me I don't have to live with them, and I wouldn't want to live with them, so that someone won't ever be me.

Just by way of curiosity - would you want a methadone clinic and a homeless hostel in your back yard?

I dont' live in Dun Laoghaire either but I can see whats fair for people in all neighbourhoods - Move the junkies to industrial estates away from tourist trails and families. The benefits from happier more likely to return tourists, a more positive marketing of Dublin and other cities via word of mouth which you couldnt buy with any money and more wholesome family experiences will be worth any small investment and benefit us all. I am surprised Dublin business owners and inner city families dont complain more about this . Junkies make the city centre an unpleasant place. You cant use the boardwalk in the city for example without feeling like a potential target of crime from someone desperate for a fix - rendering investment in the boardwalk a waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

DL a "kip", pull the other one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

I don't live in Dun Laoire so no, fortunately for me I don't have to live with them, and I wouldn't want to live with them, so that someone won't ever be me.

Just by way of curiosity - would you want a methadone clinic and a homeless hostel in your back yard?

What is it about a methadone clinic or homeless hostel that you think is so sinister? Do you think those who use these services are plotting together how they're going to destroy an area?

There's a methadone clinic in my area but you wouldn't know it's there. Why? Because the majority of people who use it keep to themselves and are not out to cause grief.

I dont' live in Dun Laoghaire either but I can see whats fair for people in all neighbourhoods - Move the junkies to industrial estates away from tourist trails and families.

can't be done, its to costly, the families will have to put up i'm afraid. the 2 tourists that come probably know whats going on anyway, unless prices come down tourists won't be coming to rip off ireland.
    The benefits from happier more likely to return tourists, a more positive marketing of Dublin and other cities via word of mouth which you couldnt buy with any money and more wholesome family experiences will be worth any small investment and benefit us all.

it would be to huge of an investment that i can't afford my tax money going on at the moment so it wouldn't benefit me. personally i don't want wholesome family experiences anyway, the less families and children around the happier i am.
    I am surprised Dublin business owners and inner city families dont complain more about this

because they know they have to put up with them and they are going somewhere whether they like it or not. thats the reality. nobody likes it but its still the reality non the less.