Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Trivial things that annoy you Part 43

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Is the buy and sell even a thing anymore

Most people use Facebook groups "Items for sale in Mayo" etc or Adverts. I don't know if the actual buy and sell newspaper is a thing anymore.

Anyway, quit hogging the thread, you seem very trivially annoyed today and it's trivially annoying me every time i pop in to see peoples latest complaints :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I'm doing this 5 things that make you happy thing so you'll be happy ill be all positive and not moany

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Yeah good idea ill have a look in the buy and sell and see if there's any decent fakes

Get him a nice carigan...............and a dildo, in the event he does not like the cardigan, he can go **** himself:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭nicki11

Grabbing a yogurt to eat on the way out, only for it to make me ill all day because I'm allergic to soy and didn't check before I ate it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Smoke detectors going off when you make toast. :mad:

Tell me about. I've one out in the hall and even the fumes of a fart will set the fecking thing off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,087 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Smoke detectors going off when you make toast. :mad:

Yes and the batteries always seem to die in the middle of the night....chirp...chirp...chirp.:mad:

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

People on their phones, but on hands free, walking around. Seriously, you look like you are talking to yourself. The times I've thought someone was talking to me, only to realise they are on the phone. There was a man walking around Lidl this morning, clearly on some kind of business call, yapping so loudly, you could hear him halfway up the shop. Tis sad, really...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

On my way home this afternoon I passed a guy in an apartment complex chatting very loudly on his mobile while his I'd guess 4 year old son wandered around playing with a sweeping brush in the middle of the road, mostly unsupervised by the father. A woman drove into the complex at the legal speed limit and when she braked to avoid hitting the child the father, finally noticing his child in the road, started shouting at her to 'drive more slowly next time you come in':confused:

As if that wasn't bad enough when she and her family got out of their car to enter their home further down the street he followed them down still shouting at her that she was driving too fast. She wasn't, he's just a piss poor parent when it comes to supervising his child if that incident is anything to go by. There seems to be a total lack of personal responsibility by a lot of parents when it comes to their own kids.

Oh Jesus Christ, that just made me feel sick. What an irresponsible moron. The poor woman must have got some fright, if she had hit the child, no doubt she'd be in the wrong. It never ceases to amaze me, the amount of parents who leave their children unsupervised on estates. Toddlers out wandering, with kids not much older "in charge". I saw it recently while driving on another estate. I had to do a 3 point turn to go back the way I came. There was a toddler on the road, I could not see him above my rear window, and not an adult in sight. It boils my blood:'(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

Yes, I'm complaining about it. I went to school in the 70's/80's in the same town at the same schools and a lift to school was a rarity. Kids aren't going to drown if they get wet. Do you think allowing kids to walk to school in the rain is some sort of child neglect? It wasn't the short walk from the bus that got us soaked, it was the standing in the pissing rain trying to get across the road in school run traffic jam for 10 or 15 minutes that was the problem.

Point still stands, you want kids to get soaked walking to school just so you don't have to get as wet while you wait to cross a road.

smash wrote: »
    Point still stands, you want kids to get soaked walking to school just so you don't have to get as wet while you wait to cross a road.

You don't actually have a point.

Bratty children going "viral". Since when did tantrums, hysterical crying or a child scolding their parents become cute or funny? Did I miss the memo. I did, didn't I

You don't actually have a point.

You gave out about parents collecting kids from school because it was raining and you got delayed for a few mins crossing a road. It's not a trivial annoyance, it's just selfish.

My point is that the amount of traffic on the roads to drive kids to and from schools on a daily basis is ridiculous and that it was so bad on that particular day that it was impossible to get across the road on our way home. You seem to think that it's unfair to get kids to walk to school. It's your kind of attitude that's contributing towards childhood obesity. Kids are ridiculously cosseted, I say kids but driving teenagers around when they're old enough to walk or cycle to school is just nuts.

The mammies really do need to cut the umbilical cords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭Fame and Demise

People who don't sneeze properly. Like they hold it in like they're ashamed of doing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

#E30LA seriously Bob???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Why are the offices I need in college only open from 11-12:30 and 14-16? 3.5 hours during times Im most likely to be in lectures or labs. To make it better its at the other side of college from the building im mainly in!

My point is that the amount of traffic on the roads to drive kids to and from schools on a daily basis is ridiculous and that it was so bad on that particular day that it was impossible to get across the road on our way home. You seem to think that it's unfair to get kids to walk to school. It's your kind of attitude that's contributing towards childhood obesity. Kids are ridiculously cosseted, I say kids but driving teenagers around when they're old enough to walk or cycle to school is just nuts.

The mammies really do need to cut the umbilical cords.
    Giving a child a lift to avoid getting drenched by walking or cycling in the rain is contributing to childhood obesity... Fcuking lol.

At the end of the day it's down to the individual parent. To me, walking home from school in the rain, isn't as bad as walking to school. At least they can get out of the wet clothes straight away. Sitting in wet clothes in school isn't such a great idea. I suppose you would have to ask yourself, if your work is within walking distance, and its belting down rain, are you going to walk and be happy to sit in damp socks and shoes. Presuming you don't have time to be faffing about changing clothes. Most of the kids I see on the way to school aren't wearing decent coats. Very hard to get a teenager to wear untrendy rain gear.

I wouldn't leave kids to sit in wet clothes the entire day, like what was said above, at least on the way home they can have a warm shower and dry clothes afterwards.

What really grates my tits though are parents who actually drive their kids into the school yard, right down to the door. There's two schools right next door to each other here, one school doesn't let parents drive in, and the other one does be packed because god forbid you drop them in the vicinity. Nope, the door.
    You wouldn't be well dealing with that level of simpleton on a regular basis

Old Not Wise, I'm starting to understand your bus frustration. I'm standing on the bus, and about 3 people back from me, there's this young one with a fully grown ronnie, I have actually never seen a young one in as desperate need of a wax. Good lord. How do people not notice these things? How do their friends not tell them? If that was one of my friends, I'd tell them. And id hope they'd tell me.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

My gears are grinding right now.

Mountain of junk mail through the door this morning, and they've been hoarding it somewhere, in that one of the biggest pieces in it was a poster size flyer for a hardware shop in Drogheda, who were celebrating their 25th anniversary with a big one day sale, and all manner of special prices and offers.

Only one problem. it arrived this morning, the 12th, and on looking at it more closely, the special offers and low prices were for the weekend OF THE 8TH. I can't believe that they didn't get to An Post in time to be distributed, so that makes it look like they've been leaving the sack of freebie post until they had a quiet day. Nice for them, but not good for the businesses that paid to have the flyers printed and distributed, in that all it's done now is annoy me, first because it's a mountain of junk that I have to pay to get rid of, and second because having looked quickly at the offers, there were a couple there that were of interest, but after the event, they won't be there or at that price.

I'd also like to be able to put the envelope from prepay power back in the post to be returned to them and cost them the postage to do it, I'm disgusted that the energy regulator even allows them to trade, as their charges are way out of order when compared to the same service from the main suppliers.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

Socks bursting in to flames when you try to dry them in the microwave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

grundie wrote: »
    Socks bursting in to flames when you try to dry them in the microwave.

dafuq?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Giving a child a lift to avoid getting drenched by walking or cycling in the rain is contributing to childhood obesity... Fcuking lol.

It's not just in the rain though, is it? Traffic is fúcking chronic when school term starts, regardless of the weather. When they're off, commuting is a joy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

IMHO, all children should walk or bus it so I don't have to spend my mornings in a rage, stuck in traffic on the M50. During the summer, it's grand. When the kids are in schools it's a nightmare.

Let the little fcukers get the bus, I say. Totally selfish and I don't even care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

IMHO, all children should walk or bus it so I don't have to spend my mornings in a rage, stuck in traffic on the M50. During the summer, it's grand. When the kids are in schools it's a nightmare.

Let the little fcukers get the bus, I say. Totally selfish and I don't even care.

Walk, bike, bus, stay at fcuking home but stop dropping kids off at school in cars when you live 10 mins walk away. It's a fcuking disgrace. It is of no benefit to anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭yeppydeppy

My gears are grinding right now.

Mountain of junk mail through the door this morning,

I had a "No junk mail" on my letterbox and it helped but I was still getting stuff mostly via the postman so I added another sticker: "Addressed mail only" and I haven't had junk mail since.

Trivial annoyance: the burn I got on my finger won't dry up and is still sore since Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,898 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    It's not just in the rain though, is it? Traffic is fúcking chronic when school term starts, regardless of the weather. When they're off, commuting is a joy.

that reminds me, I have to walk past a school every day. If I'm doing it when school starts or finishes, there's a row of cars on either side of the road. It's a narrow road with a narrow footpath and cars park right up on the footpath. There's been many times and I've had to walk onto the road to get around the cars. It's bad enough that I have to, but there's a feck load of kids trying to as well. So some stupid parent endangers all these kids because they're crap at parking and refuse to park in the car park that's two minutes away.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

yeppydeppy wrote: »
    I had a "No junk mail" on my letterbox and it helped but I was still getting stuff mostly via the postman so I added another sticker: "Addressed mail only" and I haven't had junk mail since.

Last week, I seen some lads delivering leaflets and ignoring the signs. As the chap approached the door, I let out a roar "READ THE SIGN", the no junk mail sign on my door. He stopped for about 2 seconds. Then walked to the door and posted the leaflet. I opened the door, and let out the biggest commoner accented 'Heyer you' and tapped the sign. He walked back, muttered sorry and took the leaflet back.
    The f*cker knew exactly what he was up to.
    Grayson wrote: »
    that reminds me, I have to walk past a school every day. If I'm doing it when school starts or finishes, there's a row of cars on either side of the road. It's a narrow road with a narrow footpath and cars park right up on the footpath. There's been many times and I've had to walk onto the road to get around the cars. It's bad enough that I have to, but there's a feck load of kids trying to as well. So some stupid parent endangers all these kids because they're crap at parking and refuse to park in the car park that's two minutes away.

On my drive to work, I drive through Ballyfermot and have to go past 2 or 3 schools in a row. I have to admit, I've never had kids running out in front of me, or causing problems that could lead them to being hit by a car.
    The only problem is the parents parking thier cars absolutely anywhere. This morning for example, someone parked right at the gates of the school, on the No Stopping Here written in big yellow writing on the ground. They blocked a bus, and caused traffic to backup to the roundabout in Ballyer. Quite the acheivement.
    Then there are the idiots that want to do a U-Turn after dropping the kids off, or the others that put on thier indicator and just drive from thier parked position expecting traffic to stop for them.

At my sons school, there is none of this nonsence any time I've done the school run.

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    Well lets face it, if it's raining the traffic is going to be crap anyway because Irish people still can't drive when the road is wet. :D