210lbs 6'2 progress (pics)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Oh Arnold Tanzarian, you'd hate me. I'm fat and use 'crossfit plates' and grunt and stuff. Terrible.

**not at you Lloyd, buuuut....

Nothing gets me more in the gym than some f*cking dweeb spiking a bar into the ground while grunting and shouting like he's a big deal, while lifting mediocre lifts.

It's like.. I get it - you've a small dick, but the only people you're impressing with your display of machoism is the vacant morons who think a 100kg clean, or a 75% of bodyweight snatch is impressive.

Sure, drop the bar - but don't slam the f*cking thing into the floor.

Its disrespectful. It's dangerous. And it's damaging the equipment I'M trying to train on.

With your sh*tty little lifts it might not matter if the bar's a bit warped, but put some real weight on it and come and tell me the effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,906 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

...AND PUT THE F*CKING PLATES BACK WHEN YOU'RE DONE!

But if I don't leave a load of 20s and 25s lying around everywhere how's everyone going to know how cool I am? And when I leave them on the bar too??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,238 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Hanley wrote: »

Nothing gets me more in the gym than some f*cking dweeb spiking a bar into the ground while grunting and shouting like he's a big deal, while lifting mediocre lifts.

It's like.. I get it - you've a small dick, but the only people you're impressing with your display of machoism is the vacant morons who think a 100kg clean, or a 75% of bodyweight snatch is impressive.

Its disrespectful. It's dangerous. And it's damaging the equipment I'M trying to train on.

With your sh*tty little lifts it might not matter if the bar's a bit warped, but put some real weight on it and come and tell me the effect.
    You'd hate my gym. Eejits do that and there isn't even a platform. They are happy to just make **** of the bars and the floor. The only free floor space in the gym for deadlifting has bloody potholes in it now. Deadlifting with a wonky bar and even wonkier floor - every deadlift becomes suitcase deadlift.

Have to watch this again

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭chopper6

People have to start somewhere..not everybody is capable of 2x bodyweight benches and the self-congratulation and self-promotion that goes with it.

chopper6 wrote: »
    People have to start somewhere..not everybody is capable of 2x bodyweight benches and the self-congratulation and self-promation that goes with it.

It was said in the context of the 'Look at me' brigade who throw the gear around the place so people can look over and see how much they had on the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,762 ✭✭✭Thud

my recent pet peeve is people using the collars (there's only a few sets in my gym) to secure 5kg plates onto the EZ curl bar...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭Slobbery

Oh Don't get me started on people that leave the toilet seat up.... or down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,904 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Jon North Bar Slamming your 85kgs Clean and Jerk is dreadful. Shouting and roaring and unnecessarily attention whoring your way through workouts is also a bad thing. But...

- I think it's important to be excited about training;
    - I think it's okay to be passionate and to bring intensity when the weight is heavy for you;
    - I think it's cool to be happy when you've made a PB lift;

We aren't all working out in a Russian training hall and it doesn't have to be deathly serious, 'don't step over the bar' type funereal quiet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 202 ✭✭Arnold Tanzarian

This exactly..plus 1

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    Jon North Bar Slamming your 85kgs Clean and Jerk is dreadful. Shouting and roaring and unnecessarily attention whoring your way through workouts is also a bad thing. But...

- I think it's important to be excited about training;
    - I think it's okay to be passionate and to bring intensity when the weight is heavy for you;
    - I think it's cool to be happy when you've made a PB lift;

We aren't all working out in a Russian training hall and it doesn't have to be deathly serious, 'don't step over the bar' type funereal quiet.

There's a difference between what you've said and what we're talking about though.

You can love training and not sound like a wild boar having vigorous sex.

It was said in the context of the 'Look at me' brigade who throw the gear around the place so people can look over and see how much they had on the bar.

The loudest,most annoying and least repsectful people in the gym are the spotty-backed monsters with the bandanas and the big red faces.

The E europeans are always shouting at each other and the irish lads are always guffawing at the tops of thier voices..if that's not "look at me" i dont know what is.

They also tend to be the worst offenders for "super setting" ie leaving mounds of various dumbells around the place,****ing plates on the ground and hogging equipment.

The loudest,most annoying and least repsectful people in the gym are the spotty-backed monsters with the bandanas and the big red faces.

The E europeans are always shouting at each other and the irish lads are always guffawing at the tops of thier voices..if that's not "look at me" i dont know what is.

They also tend to be the worst offenders for "super setting" ie leaving mounds of various dumbells around the place,****ing plates on the ground and hogging equipment.

Looks like you're not disagreeing.

People lifting lighter weights weren't necessarily being singled out as the only people that do it. Just one of the groups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

People who do single out lighter lifters here, I suspect you of just being cowards if you're somehow more okay with stronger people doing the noise / bar abuse thing.
    You'll claim you just don't see any strong people doing it but that's irrelevant anyway since you brought the culprits' lifting ability into it as a principle against them. #2 most likely rationalisation will prob be "his training is obviously more important to him" or something. Be against it or don't.

People who do single out lighter lifters here, I suspect you of just being cowards if you're somehow more okay with stronger people doing the noise / bar abuse thing.
    You'll claim you just don't see any strong people doing it but that's irrelevant anyway since you brought the culprits' lifting ability into it as a principle against them. #2 most likely rationalisation will prob be "his training is obviously more important to him" or something. Be against it or don't.

The old gym I used use, the only a$$holes there were the bigger guys. They'd ask if you'd finished with the rack and if you said 'No', they would loiter until you either finished or, as tended to happen, they just made you feel uncomfortable enough to move on earlier than intended.

I use Raw now and I was always impressed by how helpful the stronger guys were to the likes of me. And they were a lot stronger than the a$$holes in the other gym.

Tl;dr Being a gym douchebag has nothing to do with size or strength

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭dartstothesea

Most of the things people are on about here, I've never even seen anyone doing. In the moment I get irritated with some fresh baby college boys being in the way loads, but sure it's their gym too if I stop and think about it. Everyone just try not to smell too bad or eat tins of fish in the changing room please.

I have to say I've had only positive interactions with the people in my gyms, but they are divils for leaving plates everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,799 ✭✭✭COH

Everyone just try not to smell too bad or eat tins of fish in the changing room please.

LOL - I know EXACTLY who you are talking about here

Looks like you're not disagreeing.

People lifting lighter weights weren't necessarily being singled out as the only people that do it. Just one of the groups.

But they were singled out...

Let's compile a list so just to make sure none of the clowns that fling equipment about feel singled out.

Then we can pit in "henceforth referred to as The Clowns" and be on our way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

Thanks for posting your pics.
    I've had a crap day at work and staring at you for the past 5 minutes has made it a whole lot better :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

There's a personal trainer in the gym that I go to who gets the plates for his clients when they're doing exercises. He walks over with the plates and then ****s them on the ground. He doesn't give a **** about them at all. Now, the gym is a bit **** itself but the plates are covered in rubber. It's no surprise that the rubber has come off most of them. The 10kg are not 10kg anymore.

He's a very experienced weightlifter and has numerous quaifications. All sorts get up to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭juke

RomanGod wrote: »
    300g cottage cheese (i know but trust me on this)

Added cottage cheese to my own version of a protein biscuit snack.... I was skeptical, but man, they add a lovely texture, absolutely inspired! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

There's a personal trainer in the gym that I go to who gets the plates for his clients when they're doing exercises. He walks over with the plates and then ****s them on the ground. He doesn't give a **** about them at all. Now, the gym is a bit **** itself but the plates are covered in rubber. It's no surprise that the rubber has come off most of them. The 10kg are not 10kg anymore.

He's a very experienced weightlifter and has numerous quaifications. All sorts get up to it.

Yeah there was a personal trainer in my gym before (I said 'was' because he's currently injured after slipping discs in his spine from continually using terrible form on Deadlifts), who would leave bars full of plates all over the floor and never cleaned up after himself, until one day when a worker asked him to put them back, to which he replied "f*ck off, I pay my fees for you to do that". What a complete d*ckhead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,025 ✭✭✭JJayoo

You can love training and not sound like a wild boar having vigorous sex.

Brilliant :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭RomanGod

juke wrote: »
    Added cottage cheese to my own version of a protein biscuit snack.... I was skeptical, but man, they add a lovely texture, absolutely inspired! :)

It's all about the texture. I mess around in the kitchen every night after work. Recently ive been eating a lot of oatmeal which I make with water (no milk) so its pretty bland but I've started adding a spoon of honey. Only one spoon and you can still taste it with the last bite. Cayenne pepper on my scrambled eggs is also another favourite in the morning

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,188 ✭✭✭DoYouEvenLift

New Pet hate in the gym: sorry to anyone who partakes in it but has to be said. CROSSFIT/ "college powerlifting club" lads are wrecking my head in the gym, I mean really really wrecking my head! Im no longer a student but frequently use the university gym during the week and it has been overcome with these geeky overweight fat and completley out of shape guys shoving bars over their head this way and every other other way , always with the special crossfit plates too which look massive but are really not if ya look at the weight theyre actually carrying.!

The thing that really bugs me is when they just let the bar drop from above their head (prob about 8/9feet in the air) and just let it slam off the platform board, 99% of the time followed by a fairly feminine roar out of them just to let people know theyre an animal. complete tools if i do say so myself!

I mean I can get why some people dont like RG for his reasoning for going to the gym (I dont agree with it but I can understand why some people could ) but I honestly have no time whatsoever for these guys. I was deadlifting this morning, needed a good bit of focus , had the beats in and the tunes pumping just after my pre WO all buzzed up! Then platform next to me all I see it this student younger than myself 2 stone overweight doing crossfit lifts over his head and banging down the bar from over his head. I was genuinley worried he could fall and crash onto my platform,and worried for his and my own safety. Clowns is all they are, havent a clue what theyre at, theres a bunch of them that go to my gym and youd see them in their "powerlifting club" gear..nothing against powerlifitng whatsoever, but these spooks are not powerlifters at all. Just joined a club when they joined college looking for new buddies, im gonna snap one of these days when I accidently take 2 scoops of pre WO and just lose the plot with one of them who roars loudly when Im tryna focus.

ANYWAY..rant over..Happy Lifting lol

I don't like cross fit either but do you mean bumper plates? They're not solely cross fit plates, but obviously a lot of them use them. They're just better for more commercial gyms because they reduce the noise when dropping weights on DL's, snatch and grab etc. Even better if they actually have proper Olympic platforms since rubber hitting rubber will be the quietest compared to some sh!t gyms that only have steel plates and no platforms, that can get really noisy lol.

This is why I think there needs to be more niche gyms specifically for bodybuilders and powerlifters who want total comfort in the gym environment where they can just make all the noise they want without being judged by other people who are there for cardio and machines or whatever. Ideally a gym with lots of space and individual platforms... and a crazy sound system where people can add playlists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 OneShay

Great progress dude. Congrats! Id just like to ask a question about your lifts.

You mentioned earlier in the thread that you went from 18-15stone during this cut and that your lifts were no longer at their previous levels, certainly understandable, but i was just wondering if you could share what sort of drop you are talking?

I ask because I did a cut at the beginning of this year and my numbers in terms of body weight and my lifts were quite similar to yours (admittedly not quite at your level) and I lost a bit more strength than I was hoping. Im always interested in comparisons so as to give myself a better idea of whether im doing certain things drastically wrong or whether my losses are pretty much what is to be expected.

I would of course understand if you didnt feel like sharing.

Congrats again bro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭RomanGod

OneShay wrote: »
    Great progress dude. Congrats! Id just like to ask a question about your lifts.

You mentioned earlier in the thread that you went from 18-15stone during this cut and that your lifts were no longer at their previous levels, certainly understandable, but i was just wondering if you could share what sort of drop you are talking?

I ask because I did a cut at the beginning of this year and my numbers in terms of body weight and my lifts were quite similar to yours (admittedly not quite at your level) and I lost a bit more strength than I was hoping. Im always interested in comparisons so as to give myself a better idea of whether im doing certain things drastically wrong or whether my losses are pretty much what is to be expected.

I would of course understand if you didnt feel like sharing.

Congrats again bro.

It was from 18 to 14 stone altogether. A loss of 4 stone over 8 months. Strength loss was notable after August when I really dropped carbs. Never tested my 1 rep max though during cut, just basing it off what my working weight was before/after.

Loss of strength in bench. Could rep 125kg very easily, went down to 105kg for working reps

Squat, 180kg for reps down to 155kg. Funnily enough my front squat didn't drop from 120kg for reps during the cut. Probably because I never tried going heavier than that during my bulk

Deadlift wouldn't be fair to include because I stopped doing deadlifts for a large portion of the cut

Bear in mind a lot of my isolation lifts stayed the same, just bench and back squat dropped. My overhead pressing was still strong, dips and my pull up form was a lot better due to less bodyweight to control so felt I could hit my back more

** will check 1 rep maxes come January. At the height of my bulk it was roughly

3 plate bench
    5 plate squat
    6 plate deadlift