Love/Hate (v2) [** Spoilers **]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Did I miss something? What happened the whole Noelie/Fran story? Was it just left for that episode?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Noelie's playing the long game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Really really good episode again last night. It's been great since the weak opening episode. The one complaint about last nights episode was the out of the blue "and here's Janet spending time with her son" segment. It felt totally out of place and pulled me out of enjoying the show to thinking "ok, in what way is this random sequence of events going to have immediate consequences". It was just too obvious and felt shoved in there to create a conflict. They made a weak attempt to organically fit in this Janet/Aaron/Nidge story by referencing it a couple of times but it didn't work for me. It had the subtlety of a pipe bomb in Frans front window when the whole Gardai number thing could have been brought in earlier and left us waiting a episode or two guessing will Janet get busted.

Anyway, it's a small complaint. The rest of the episode was quality and it's all coming to a head now for the finale. Can't believe the season is nearly over already. Wish they'd extended it to 8 or 10 episodes. The pace at which they go through the story can be thrilling at times but it sometimes feels rushed.

I started counting how many times people got in and out of cars after the second ad break. I counted 11 times. I have many more great observations if people want to hear them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

KKkitty wrote: »
    What if Fran makes Dean's death look like a suicide or an accident?
    Blay wrote: »
    He committed suicide by beating his own head in?:pac:

I couldn't help but laugh at this.

Like the old 70s/80s cop show excuse when they beat up a prisoner, he fell down the stairs guv.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

Absolutely way too much happening at the moment to squeeze into 6 episodes, The Fran escape scene was basically 90 seconds of screen time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 portarlington speakers

Why is it such compulsive viewing? I can't miss an episode.

Absolutely way too much happening at the moment to squeeze into 6 episodes, The Fran escape scene was basically 90 seconds of screen time

Sure that's how long it would take in real life, why make it longer ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭MojoRisinnnn

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Sure that's how long it would take in real life, why make it longer ?

Sorry I meant from when he went into the showers and stabbed himself to when he's back at Deane's house, as a poster said above, It just feels there's far too much going on that it's taking away from each story line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,470 ✭✭✭✭SteelyDanJalapeno

what was the significance of the bone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,446 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

For real?

I'll second this. Was it Noelie's mother's finger? I can't remember

It's Git's finger.

Not Cig's, Git's.

what the hell is going on in this thread?

I hear there's a new Drama coming to RTE soon, starring yer man from The Wire, supposed to be about Dublin Gangland, any of you lot hear anything about it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

IRA man Git loughrane raped Siobhan at the start of season 3, resulting in Tommy and Darren killing him. His body was buried up in the mountains near Frans caravan. Fran, being the nihilistic mad bastard that he is, decided to keep one of his bones as a lucky token. Deano and Fran were joking about in the pub saying ''I've a bone to pick with you Nidgey''. Siobhan questioned Dean on this 'private joke' when he was out of it, and he told her that it was Git's bone. Thus, Siobhan went up to search for it tonight as a means of evidence. Nidge had **** all to do with Git's murder, but most people are assuming that Siobhan will try and get the detectives to plant it in his gaff and frame him for it.

From two pages back....srsly people...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭changepartners

The Scottish truck driver doesn't make sense.. at all...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

His accent isn't that bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭yipeeeee

That's what I was sayinall too conveniently thrown in.

Oh he knows aido then bang, he's the driver for nidge.

Rosy Posy wrote: »
    From two pages back....srsly people...

And only 2 episodes ago.

This thread will be used in a scientific study outlining how things like smart phones, tablets and widely available internet are having a massively detrimental affect on the youths attention span.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,267 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

yipeeeee wrote: »
    That's what I was sayinall too conveniently thrown in.

Oh he knows aido then bang, he's the driver for nidge.
    Wasn't aido told to find a driver?

Been reading this thread for awhile now even though I have never posted. I have to say, without meaning to attack any one person, but the silly questions are becoming unbearable!
    Can't somebody make a separate FAQ type thread? There is only so many times I want to read through pages of who is Cig and who is Git and what happened to Linda.

As for the show itself, there are 2 things I am curious about...

1) The Keith Duffy scene at the end of season 4. Seems a bit strange that nothing ever came of it? It seemed like they were going to make a bit of a story out of that.

2) Fran vs Noelie: Whats going to happen with this? Unless Fran goes back to prison it seems like a bit of a story that went nowhere. Suppose we'll find out a bit more next week.

I have no idea at all how next week will go down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭Beano

irishgeo wrote: »
    Pretty disappointed with the love hate fans here, the guards do know where Fran lives.

After they find the dentist body in the canal the moynighan tells his colleagues to pick that ****er Fran up.

I wonder where they went to get him?

As people have already said Fran has a house as well as the site with the caravan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

ThisRegard wrote: »
    And only 2 episodes ago.

This thread will be used in a scientific study outlining how things like smart phones, tablets and widely available internet are having a massively detrimental affect on the youths attention span.

in fairness some people might not have watched it untill this season ..

but yeah it's surprising.

Actually I have one, I was watching an ep from S3 and Fran said to Darren : "You're allright Dazzler - even if you did kill my dog"

?

Darren killed Frans dog ?

I can't rememeber that now ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Lucy and Harry

Siobhan thinks she is great with the bone but there is no link to Nidge unless Fran admits he and Nidge hid the body together.Tommy killed Git is she going to tell the cops that.The bone thing cant work against Nidge.

I bet the Garda on the show put pressure on the writer again and said let Fran out I like him.And we can have another cowboy and robber shoot out.I liked the last one.The writer said but but it looks silly to do it again and the Garda says are you the owner of that vehicle outside?So there you have it without a spoiler Fran gets shot by hero Garda or Cig.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 23,267 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

90% of the silly questions are trolls though

the_monkey wrote: »
    in fairness some people might not have watched it untill this season ..

but yeah it's surprising.

Actually I have one, I was watching an ep from S3 and Fran said to Darren : "You're allright Dazzler - even if you did kill my dog"

?

Darren killed Frans dog ?

I can't rememeber that now ...

But the finger thing though was explained by Deano the week before to Siobhan.

The dog thing, Fran set his dogs on a minor character and Darren bashed it, eventually killing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Well to be fair to her the prospect of acid in her face was a great incentive to drive off
    It's possible that she saw Fran and Dean driving in and legged it, assuming that Siobhan was fooked.
    Fran will confront her and find Git's bone. Since both hate Nidge, I'd say the two of them could come to some sort of a deal to plant Git's bone on Nidge?
    Fran's too volatile for that. He'd lose his temper and beat lumps out of her or kill her rather than plan a devious frame-up.
    cofy wrote: »
    Patricks son is not out of hospital yet, if he has a bad turn, Patrick could seek further revenge, but maybe that is too much for one episode,
    I think Patrick's big speech about being tied to a soul for all eternity when you kill them in part explained why he wouldn't be the "eye for an eye" type to just kill Warren as revenge for his own son. He recognises that it was an accidental shot, that Nidge's target was him and not his son.
    What it does is increase the urgency for Patrick to do something.
    kryogen wrote: »
    Right, I enjoyed the episode, only had one stand out moment where I felt like my intelligence was being insulted so thats not bad at all really (the dog failing to draw attention to Siobhan)
    If the dog was hungry, he'd want a good aul drink of the blood, probably wouldn't give much of a crap about Siobhan. They're bred and trained as fighting dogs, not guard dogs, so wouldn't instantly care about an intruder, and if they're hungry would be more interested in getting a drink from Dean.
    The Garda getting the phone number from the phone shop, and just calling up the cop shop then seeing immediatley it text another number of a "known heroin dealer" - loada boo-hockey.
    Note it texted the number of the known dealer's partner. We've seen in the series that Nidge often borrows Janet's phone, so that's not exactly miles off.
    Omackeral wrote: »
    But creative license is a given for any show and shouldn't be judged too harshly against real life procedures, it's for our entertainment at the end of the day.
    Indeed, and it is explainable to a certain extent. We see Fran basically limping to the toilet; if they believe his injuries are severe and have left him weak and in pain, the escorting Garda might be a bit complacent about what he's doing.

If they opened a book on it, I'd probably put money on something outlandish happening next week. Something like Siobhan trying to plant the finger on Nidge, getting discovered by him and having to kill him instead.

Rough guess, at the moment, Nidge flies off to Spain with Terrance while his driver whacks Siobhan, Fran kills Trish and Patrick kills Aido (who was driving the car when his son was shot).
    At some point the Scot will be caught by Aido, banging his missus, and will get a bullet and then they'll find out he's a cop and all hell will break loose.

I've been saying from the start of this season though that if Nidge doesn't meet his end, the show will be jumping the shark. He has a huge number of people who'd be happy to see him dead (even Janet!) and a dwindling number of people who can or will protect him. If it doesn't happen next week, then it'll happen early in the next season. Otherwise it's a bit of a farce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I got the feeling Terrace didn't buy Siobhan's story. He did that classic thing of letting her dangle and then overcook the story.

That would let them see who the number is texting immediately would it.
    ask a cop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,285 ✭✭✭✭walshb

This git bone issue. Are they really going to try and make this the Nidge downfall? Seems ridiculous.